Pets Things that please me

• Thread starter Thread starter THRILLHO

Well something that pleases me in my field of work is finding out our brand has outsold our rival brand last month for the first time in SEVENTEEN years. Both these two famous brands create local products but mainly rely on imported products to get business done. Of course, both brands will only be dealing in imported products in the next couple of years as sadly, they have stopped local manufacturing. They are not our main rival but we've been directly behind them for (as I said) seventeen years. This puts us in fourth place in our field which is one of the most competitive markets out there.

I'm sure if you put two and two together, you can figure out the particular brands I'm talking about.

When a certain poster in the exers thread uses the proper nickname for Jeff Garlett instead of the crap one he made up. That pleases me.

I didn't make it up. RedmanWasHere came up with it. I liked it because of the food theme we had going... Soup, Sauce, Garlic and the two Spuds... etc

Well something that pleases me in my field of work is finding out our brand has outsold our rival brand last month for the first time in SEVENTEEN years. Both these two famous brands create local products but mainly rely on imported products to get business done. Of course, both brands will only be dealing in imported products in the next couple of years as sadly, they have stopped local manufacturing. They are not our main rival but we've been directly behind them for (as I said) seventeen years. This puts us in fourth place in our field which is one of the most competitive markets out there.

I'm sure if you put two and two together, you can figure out the particular brands I'm talking about.

Do you work for Mitsubishi? And is Ford the company you overtook?

Ford v Holden..?
Bingo.

Still a bit behind the top three - Toyota, Hyundai and Mazda - but we've been experiencing steady growth the last six months so its great news for us!

I thought you said the brands weren't main rivals? Aren't Ford and Holden direct competitors in the marketplace?
Sort of. You're direct competitors with everyone else in the marketplace but a common misconception (mainly due to bogan Aussies who only believe in two brands of cars) think this is the case but to be honest, I don't see Holden as much of a competitor. Their Commodore is superior to our Falcon but a majority of our overseas products are better than theirs (IMO). Also, they have the HSV brand while we have discontinued FPV. Ford has pretty much been out of the country since it was announced they were officially leaving after 2016.

I always thought they were similar in terms of price, market share and range, and were thus direct competitors.

Speaking of growth, Hyundai's improvement from both market share and quality perspectives is nothing short of an economic miracle. It's probably representative of the sheer improvement in manufacturing processes in South Asia over the past two decades (sans Mainland China and India, who are still absolutely shithouse in nearly every statistical measure).

I think it's a trend. Like a rite of passage that car makers need to go through.

Japanese cars were rubbish when they first started making them. Then by the 1980s people were buying them because they were reliable and cheap. Nowadays people equate Japanese cars with quality.

Korean cars were rubbish when they first came out too. Remember the 1990s Hyundai Excels? Cheap and not all that cheerful. Now people wouldn't think twice about buying an i30 which was the fourth highest selling car in the country last year.

China and India are the next cabs off the rank. Geely, Great Wall, Tata etc. Pass. Give them a decade or so to work out how to cheaply build cars that aren't utter shit and they'll start to gain some market share. Etc.

Thailand is the odd one out because no one really associates it with car making. There are no Thai brands for sale here, just cars made in Thailand by already established brands.

I think it's a trend. Like a rite of passage that car makers need to go through.

Japanese cars were rubbish when they first started making them. Then by the 1980s people were buying them because they were reliable and cheap. Nowadays people equate Japanese cars with quality.

Korean cars were rubbish when they first came out too. Remember the 1990s Hyundai Excels? Cheap and not all that cheerful. Now people wouldn't think twice about buying an i30 which was the fourth highest selling car in the country last year.

China and India are the next cabs off the rank. Geely, Great Wall, Tata etc. Pass. Give them a decade or so to work out how to cheaply build cars that aren't utter shit and they'll start to gain some market share. Etc.

Thailand is the odd one out because no one really associates it with car making. There are no Thai brands for sale here, just cars made in Thailand by already established brands.

I understand your point and it's valid to an extent.

South Korea and Taiwan in particular are countries (yes, I know Taiwan is "technically" listed by the UN as a part of the PRC, but it's a self-governed and regulated sovereign state, so screw it) with region-leading income equality, stable marked-based economies and sustainable growth.

India and China are experiencing an exponentially growing middle class, but salient inequalities consistent between urban and rural populations are rife, manufacturing processes have not improved relative to growth, infrastructure is underdeveloped in manufacturing and special economic zones, construction of plants and factories are built with little regard for the environment and only perpetuate pollution problems, particularly in the cities and in rural areas that lie along large rivers such as the the Ganges and the Yangtze, and economic growth is unsustainable in both countries.

I doubt we'll see the same the improvement in quality from Indian and Chinese automakers that we have in Taiwan and South Korea. Certainly not in the next two decades anyway.

Taiwan is a small player in the car industry. Their annual production is decreasing.

Not dramatically. The last year or so it's fluctuated between a 7 percent growth in Q1 2015 to a 3 percent decrease in Q1 2016.

It's largely representative of a stalled, but stable economy.

I was more referring to quality assurance and that production problems, salient inequality and unsustainable growth in China and India will hamper the progress of the automotive industry in the next couple of decades.

Sort of. You're direct competitors with everyone else in the marketplace but a common misconception (mainly due to bogan Aussies who only believe in two brands of cars) think this is the case but to be honest, I don't see Holden as much of a competitor. Their Commodore is superior to our Falcon but a majority of our overseas products are better than theirs (IMO). Also, they have the HSV brand while we have discontinued FPV. Ford has pretty much been out of the country since it was announced they were officially leaving after 2016.
Interested as to why you think this is the case?

I'm a Holden man (you know, without the mullet and flanno) but I'd heard from a few that thought the Falcon was better.

Interested as to why you think this is the case?

I'm a Holden man (you know, without the mullet and flanno) but I'd heard from a few that thought the Falcon was better.

Sales wise, the Falcon has been dropping for a while - when we realeased the FG MK II, it was marginally different from the FG; when we released the final ever model FG-X, the main differences were SYNC2 (Bluetooth system; touch screen with sat nav and reverse camera as well as connectivity with emergency services in the event of an accident), front and rear parking sensors, rain sensing wipers and a different colour roof trim. The overall look of the car was pretty much the same - very subtle differences but nothing to differentiate it from the previous model.

When the Commodore released the VF, it was a whole new ball game - the features and things you could get on the car were far superior. Compound that with the fact that there are probably more Holden fans out there than Ford fans and also the sales of Commodores are still fairly steady whereas the Falcon hasn't been selling well for a while. The problem is the factory has all but given up on the Australian made product, which is incredibly sad. A lot of people are waiting until the last minute to purchase the very last Falcon that's made - these people will probably miss out because the orders need to placed pretty much now.

I won't go into all the boring details about how it works from point of order to actually driving away in your new car, but its unnecessarily convoluted to the point where its frustrating for us dealers. It gets to the point where we recommend our overseas product over our local stuff because its easier to get into. Even the Territory which has always been a strong seller has slowed right down. Holden isn't experiencing the same problems with regards to local manufacturing as they have always been fairly steady and the Holden brand is always going to be doing pretty well in that regard. Plus I think they are two more years off shutting up shop.

Their advertising is better too. When the last time you saw a Ford Falcon advertisement - excluding an EOFY sale or something of the like? Whereas the VF commodore is constantly touched upon to remind people that its there. Then you have other things like the Ford Kuga, Ford Focus and other overseas built models that people are not able to obtain straight away because they haven't even been built yet! It's backwards. We have plenty of Dealers with XR6s and Falcon Utes in stock that they can't open a door on and they are advertising the models we can't even get into the country!!

I could go on a bit more about the differences but they are the main things. In my opinion the Falcon drives better and is better for towing and has better features but as both a Ford man and a Ford salesperson, of course I'm going to say those things. At the end of the day, it comes down to sales and the reason Ford outsold Holden is due to our hero car, the Ranger. The Falcon is having very little impact on our sales at this moment.

If you're that desperate to get rid of the Falcon ute, ill trade you my BF XR8 ute for a new FG ute to match my sedan :p

It's people like you that are the problem - expecting a straight swap for their old shitboxes. :p

Two mistakes Ford made were the 2.0L Ecoboost engine in the Falcon - in a nation of revheads that was NEVER going to take off and discontinuing the XR8. Also, discontinuing the Falcon Wagon.

*Sigh*

Thank goodness we have a lot of good overseas product to get excited about. Just need to get it here now. :rolleyes:

When no one's in the staff room, I go in and grab a complimentary muffin when I've already had one.

Mischief to the max.

When no one's in the staff room, I go in and grab a complimentary muffin when I've already had one.

Mischief to the max.
Wow! Such badassery. Steer clear of you.

I miss this
We have a courier who comes in here all the time and takes a shit in our customer's toilets. One day, our sales manager just told him "mate, if you have to shit, do it out the back" - fair enough - he always stinks our the toilets. All of us know that the customer toilets are not to be shit in and go out the back.

The top bloke from tpg that took 3 minutes to get our wifi fixed. What a champ.