Troy Broadbridge Missing

SaveFeriss said:
Meaning no one has found a dead or injured animal, implying they got out before the tsunamis hit the coastlines.

Implying THEY knew.

How do you they might have been sweeped out with there owners. There is one dog waiting on the wrecked Indonsia wanting for it's owner.

Sylvia Saint said:
There's a Troy Broadbridge dedication website up:

http://www.geocities.com/troybroadbridge/

BTW, if you think TP has been heartless in this thread, then you should check out the comments made by some Magpies fans in the guestbook. Absolutely disgraceful.

I'm not saying they definately did, but it's not hard to pretend you're someone else when signing a guestbook..

Whoever wrote the comments were just after attention, so ignore them or get the bloke who keeps the site to delete them.

Back to Troy - hope is fading. There's a bit of me that still believes he'll pop up somewhere, but it's pretty obvious that's just my optimism speaking.. :(

Jim Boy said:
Just because there is an earthquake, even a big one, doesn't mean there is going to be tsunami. Just look at the earthquake nearish to tassie just the week before.

Anyway Indonesia was always going to be rooted. The tsunami would've reached the first bit of Indonesia in something under 10 minutes. In that time the earthquake itself had knocked out communications. And I'm not convinced that even if the Jakarta authorities knew for certain and had time, they would have done anything anyway. Allowing a tidal wave to wash through Aceh could be seen by Jakarta as a good opportunity to literally wash away GAM.

For countries further afield, more could certainly have been done. However tsunami warnings were played down by the Thai authorities after tourist operators had complained in the past about false alarms scaring the tourist market. In Kenya, the authorities did act, riot police cleared the beaches on a day traditionally popular for beach holidays. The result was only three dead out of 150 or so in East Africa.

And there is always the warning signs about water rapidly retreating. The only person I know who was directly involved was visiting family in Sri Lanka and at the beach at the time. He is also the tsunami specialist for the International Oceanography Commssion and as such, realised the dire portent of the water immediately and took appropriate action in the short time left.

Tsunamis depend on how the earth's plates move underwater during an earthquake. If they move horizontally there is little threat of a tsunami. It's when they move vertically, as was the case recently that tsunamis form.

After reading the messages on the tribute site, it is disgraceful but I do not believe that they are Collingwood supporters.

If anything Collingwood supporters understand where Melbourne are coming from (Millane) even though there is considerable difference in the demise of those players.

taff wa said:
After reading the messages on the tribute site, it is disgraceful but I do not believe that they are Collingwood supporters.

Everyone likes to believe their fellow supporters are above reproach, however these idiots are just as likely to be Collingwood fans as much as any other club.

Of course it is possible that they are Collingwood supporters (IMO they are not). And and you are right they could be supporters of any of the other 14 clubs as well and just trying to make out they are Collingwood supporters.

As written above, the person/s who wrote those comments are very disturbed.

SaveFeriss said:
I honestly cannot believe some of the things posted there. I hope there is a moderator or the site owner can delete them. They should ASAP:mad:

Christ I just read the first page.....dont want to read any more. Some people really are dragged up. I wouldnt even sign that page now just because of the disgusting things wrote there! :(

I hope that the ppl who are trying to find him, find him alive.

Seriously, some of you really need a good kick up the arse for the disgusting comments you have made on page one.

goal_umpire said:

Seriously, some of you really need a good kick up the arse for the disgusting comments you have made on page one.

I agree they are heartless pigs

goal_umpire said:

Thats for sure.

Demon now races for recognition
By Chloe Saltau
May 30 2002

When he was 17, having just anointed himself the third-fastest under-18 hurdler in the land, Troy Broadbridge decided the Olympics were "a long way out of reach".

He needed to slice four seconds off his 400-metre time to compete at senior national level, and figured he would be better off sticking with the game, football, he had recently returned to after turning to the track when he was 10.

"When the next summer came around I had a choice between footy, doing a pre-season with Port Power, or going on with athletics. I decided to head out to the Power and ended up getting picked up by Melbourne," Broadbridge explained.

That was 1999, around the time the Demons were excluded from the first round of the national draft and the first three rounds of the 2000 draft for salary-cap breaches. When fellow South Australian defender Anthony Ingerson's knee tendinitis finally forced him into retirement last season, Melbourne risked, in football manager Danny Corcoran's words, being "bereft of key defenders".

An unwavering commitment to the "long-term project", as coach Neale Daniher describes Broadbridge, had been born. And a "succession plan", of which he has been an integral part since being taken on to the club's rookie list, began.

For all the anonymity Broadbridge has enjoyed in Melbourne as an emerging member of the Demons' back line, his surname is well known in South Australia, where his father played in seven grand finals for Port Adelaide.

"He was regarded as one of the real hard men of South Australian football," Corcoran said. "But Troy has . . . made his own name here." With 20 senior games, and plenty more accumulated with Sandringham's first and second VFL teams, Broadbridge can rest assured the football world is starting to take note of his name. While Alistair Nicholson takes the opposition's No. 1 forward, Broadbridge, at 180 centimetres, has been pitched against short and tall opponents, from Trent Croad to Simon Garlick.

Daniher said the 21-year-old would have good and bad patches, but he took careful note of the athleticism he brought to contests during the Demons' narrow win over the Kangaroos last weekend.

"He couldn't quite catch (Brent) Harvey and (Leigh) Harding, but he gave them a bit of a scare," Daniher said. "He's probably not a key-position player now, but maybe in three years' time he'll have the strength."

Indeed, having spent many of his teenage years on pursuits other than football, Broadbridge is only now beginning to feel that the game is not rushing past him in the kind of blur that characterises his memories of last season.

"Each week I seem to pick up something new," he said.

"Coming to Melbourne's been the best thing, because there's a lot of focus on footy." He thinks his home town - he grew up in the Adelaide Hills and his younger brother plays junior footy for Port Adelaide - can become very much like a "fishbowl". "I think that kind of pressure probably hurts a lot of blokes when they go over there. I'm sure it wouldn't have been good for me."

SaveFeriss said:
Meaning no one has found a dead or injured animal, implying they got out before the tsunamis hit the coastlines.

Implying THEY knew.

I heard a guy being interviewed about this yesterday on the radio, they were talking about the native animals, sumatran tigers, orangutangs etc. & he said that it is because animals seem to have a sixth sense, which alerts them prior to disasters.

mantis said:
I heard a guy being interviewed about this yesterday on the radio, they were talking about the native animals, sumatran tigers, orangutangs etc. & he said that it is because animals seem to have a sixth sense, which alerts them prior to disasters.

Humans have it to.... Its called intuition and deja vu.... but we are too wrapped up in other things in the world like worrying about money, work, love etc... that we don't take notice of any of the signs... so our 6th sense never realises its full potential.

Its why animals and children often have premonitions or a child will tell you they have spoken to a recently passed away grand parent. Their minds are pure and if they see or feel something they believe it because their minds havent been polluted by schooling where you are brainwashed into thinking that certain things are real and not. Thats why kids believe in Santa Claus because they see or hear something and to them its really happened.

total package said:
Humans have it to.... Its called intuition and deja vu.... but we are too wrapped up in other things in the world like worrying about money, work, love etc... that we don't take notice of any of the signs... so our 6th sense never realises its full potential.

Its why animals and children often have premonitions or a child will tell you they have spoken to a recently passed away grand parent. Their minds are pure and if they see or feel something they believe it because their minds havent been polluted by schooling where you are brainwashed into thinking that certain things are real and not. Thats why kids believe in Santa Claus because they see or hear something and to them its really happened.

Yes.

once again, very glad that we live amongst people who care so much for a truly great human being. I try and justify his decision to help his wife before him, and when i look at the love of my life, i respect him so much more...

ExTasDeeMan said:
once again, very glad that we live amongst people who care so much for a truly great human being. I try and justify his decision to help his wife before him, and when i look at the love of my life, i respect him so much more...

Ok...playing devils advocate for a second... and I am not trying to lessen what he did but..... wouldnt any guy do that for a girl that he was in love with? I know I wouldnt want to live knowing I watched my wife/girlfriend die... I'd rather die trying to save her than live the rest of my life without her. I don't think what Broadbridge did was any different than what 99.9% of us would do in the same situation with someone we loved.

TP... Im not sure extassdeeMAN was reffering to a wife. Not that it matters.

My first real GF came up for a visit in July. I hadnt seen her for 8 years and she'd been married in the meantime..and divorced, or annulled to be more accurate.

But on her honeymoon they went to the states, and they were mugged in LA. Her BRAND NEW HUSBAND ran away like a child, leaving her to fend for herself.

This 'man' was from a certain culture that doesn't hold women in the highest regard. The moment they were married he told her that she was no longer to be a music teacher, she would no longer be allowed to drive the car.. And she will from now stay home and have babies and kiss his filthy ass.

99.9% I believe to be a massive exxageration. I think 30-40% would be a more modest estimate. Let's face it, most people are selfish.

Total Package said:
Ok...playing devils advocate for a second... and I am not trying to lessen what he did but..... wouldnt any guy do that for a girl that he was in love with? I know I wouldnt want to live knowing I watched my wife/girlfriend die... I'd rather die trying to save her than live the rest of my life without her. I don't think what Broadbridge did was any different than what 99.9% of us would do in the same situation with someone we loved.

Until truly faced with a Life/Death situation no-one can truly say how they would react.
We'd all like to think that come crunch time, we'd be calm, clear thinking and selflessly protect those that we love.
Keep in mind that this goes against a natural instinct for self preservation.
I hope that no-one ever has to face a situation such as this, you may find that it is no-where near 99.9%.

Total Package said:
That's still not very nice not to help somebody who you love out in that situation. Do me a favour and get rid of that heartless attitude that you have got because it isn't the time to be heartless, it is time to pull your weight and show some support to those around the world who have been caught up in this horrible disaster.:mad:

Troy Broadbridge Missing