What the hell is wrong with port?

I think Port get overrated a bit because of where they finished in 2007.

That was a particularly weak year, given the Eagles finished the H&A in 3rd spot with a heap of injuries to their best players, and the Kangaroos, as workman like as they can be, finished top 4. Sydney, Adelaide and St Kilda had dropped off the pace and the likes of Hawthorn weren't quite there yet. Geelong were clearly the best team that year, with no real competition, yet people still rate Port for finishing 2nd.

Injury free season + Burguoynes putting their heads down + Pearce no more 2nd year blues + Boak (u said u dont regret getting him over selwood) + all of your senior players putting in maximum effort after last year. I just thought it would all come together this season. I had the Dogs and then the Saints underneath you guys. I did this a long time ago though. Still it could happen. It's only round 2. St Kilda were going shithouse at the midseason break, look at where we got.

I just think you've got issues that run pretty deep. Kane Cornes for example. Sure he wins a ridiculous amount of the ball, good for him and his DT, but what impact does he actually have on a game? He racks up at least half of his stats in the defensive fifty, and at least half of those are directly from kickouts when he stands in he back pocket waiting for a cheap kick. He gets so many 1-2's, and I think 5 Shannon Hurn disposals are more damagaing than 25 of Kane's.

I have been saying this for the last 5 years. He is a totally honest player and great trier but he doesn't hurt the other team and isn't constructive for PAFC. Unfortunatey he has reached his peak and wont get better. PAFC should trade him.

I think there were a few structural issues today... WC put on a good zone to slow down the run (Which, if we didn't, would've hurt, we saw that in the third when Port we're coming back), but especially in the forward line... Motlop was the only one to stand up, and the forward line was all over the place... Despite all the missed kicks, they couldn't set up in front of goal (A fair % of SS's from 45+ degree angles), and lack of rebound pressure for the second half when we were trying to get out of the 50.

In the first quarter we couldn't get the ball out of their 50 cleanly if our life depended on it... Most of it was just bombing with some great manning up and area set ups by the Port players. That disappeared in the second half (They also sorta started kicking straighter which meant we didn't need to get it out of their 50 :p)

Port are a better team than they showed today. I expect em to bounce back, not to the degree some suggest, but a good young team none the less. Some great youngsters on the HB line and through the middle, just need some ruck depth and forward structure with an intimidating forward down the middle if they are going to play their style... Westy is hopefully okay, but didn't look great, but is still too weak to dominate up there... Tredrea looks sus, but pulls out some better form once further away from the preseason.

I wouldn't say the Port faithful should worry, just shouldn't expect what everyone else is expecting.

Still love Carlile :thumbsu:

We're not as good as 50% of people say we are, and we're not as bad as the other 50% of people say we are.

They come to play one week and put on a shit performance the next. What's going on over there?

Its called being a bottom 8 side. Good one week. Shithouse the next. It seems, thats what we'll be like all year.

Depends who you're good against and who you're shit against. ;)

Face it. WC played ok. Port were crap. I have followed port as they usually trounce WC. They were rattled from the start today. Motlop came to play, that's all. Sorry for all those that had C Cornes as captain in DT/Sc today.

They come to play one week and put on a shit performance the next. What's going on over there? Do you reckon the Brogan incident has distracted them? Thoughts please

Who said they came to play last week, they beat Essendon but were woeful doing it. For large periods of the 2nd and 3rd quarter Essendon had the running but their own skill level let them down, a better team would have beaten Port last week easily. Junk time in the last 10 mins of the game when Essendon realised they couldn't win is what blew out the margin.

Port have plenty of good young players, but are all a bit similar.

Carlile is the stand out he will be the next Mal Michael monstering FF's for a decade plus. But Chaplin and Pettigrew are far to loose to be considered elite defenders, any team with them in the backline will leak, particularly Chaplin (who looked a player) who may as well just give the ball to the opposition he turns it over that much.

Forwards - Motlop. But the bloke can't be expected to do it all. Ebert, great kick, shithouse kick at goal for some reason most of the time tho'. Tredders - Shot. Stick him at FF and don't allow to lead out more than 20m from goal. For a guy who had his best pre-season he's now been towelled up by 2 no-names. Hoff needs to fill out.

I don't see why there was so much optimism at the start of the year. With the exception of Carr it's the exact same team, there is no reason to think they will be any better than last year. Superstars are one year older and slower and the kids aren't ready to carry the team and no one actually believes Carr will be the difference. Salopek is classy, Boak is the same but just looks down on confidence.

A lot of their players are called downhill skiers, I'm not sure thats the right term but guys like Rodan, Pearce, both Burgoynes look great when the game is flowing their way, quick, creative skilful for the most part but none of them are great at capturing momentum and get the ball back when Port are in trouble. When Port are winning, they are the best on the ground, when Port are losing it's the Cornes boys best on the ground. That effort of Kane late in the game wasa good example, got a dodgy handball from Thurstans heading over the goal line, couldn't take it over handballed it away, then followed up and smothered the Hunter shot at goal. You don't see that from some of the others who don't work both ways. Evidenced by the media work. When Port wins, everyone wants their head on. Look what happens when they lose, out comes Kane, it was noted a few years back he seems to be always the one and the media got sick of talking to him. Why? because he could at least hold his head up.

You don't think he runs around like a headless chook heading towards goal?

When do you see him really chase hard going the other way. He's no Rioli, Davey or Lovett when it comes to running down from behind.

A lot of their players are called downhill skiers, I'm not sure thats the right term but guys like Rodan, Pearce, both Burgoynes look great when the game is flowing their way, quick, creative skilful for the most part but none of them are great at capturing momentum and get the ball back when Port are in trouble.

Correct.

choke.jpg
Well even my missus saw this one coming.

She watches, supports and knows a bit about footy and when I went through all the pros and cons with her regarding the Eagles pinching the Powers midfield assistant coach and one of their ruckmen suspended against the Powers great record against the Eagles and their love of Subi's Open spaces combined with 4 players playing milestone games including a 200, and a 150 game milestone she simply said.

They'll be expected to stand up for the milestone games and consequently the pressure will get to them and like the Dockers they will choke.

Out of the mouths of Babes!!

We're not as good as 50% of people say we are, and we're not as bad as the other 50% of people say we are.

Spot on. Port are one of probably a dozen sides that are middle ranged... not really top 4 quality (but 1 or 2 inevitably can sneak into that spot)... not really bottom 4 material (yet 1 or 2 will drop/tank to that spot).

I'm not really hugely excited that the Eagles knocked them over today. Slightly surprised, yes, but not bigger than knocking over Adelaide, St Kilda or Essendon at home last year.

You don't think he runs around like a headless chook heading towards goal?

When do you see him really chase hard going the other way. He's no Rioli, Davey or Lovett when it comes to running down from behind.
His tackling pressure is fine and he was our best player last year. Admittedly, he hasn't got enough of the ball in the first two games, but when he gets it, usually something good happens.

Round 2, and Hell i thought they were a bottom 4 team, anything above that is progress i guess.

West coast were very good, Selwood gave Burgoyne a bath, Kerr was back to his old ways, Cox dominating the ruck, People sometimes underestimate that the eagles still do have some brilliant players in the ranks

Port are going to look good next week against Melbourne. I think teams are getting a little excited at the prospect of getting an easy win.

Chornes might have a big one to make up. He had a huge game against the Dees in 07.

trouble is you rebuilt that side over 3 years of 'revolution' and yet its still just another 'average' side, due to Choco stacking it with the same young downhill skiing receiver midfielders.

my team is going to play hot and cold all year too and be a midtable side, but 1/3 of my squad had played about 2 games.

What the hell is wrong with port?