Roast Your Least Favourite Cats Player

• Thread starter Thread starter muttweed

Stokes first, and that's about it. Varcoe still avoids contests too often for my liking. These days apparently you have to admire such players, I don't. What's worse is he can do it when he wants to.

I'll never forgive Stokes for 2008 though. As far as I'm concerned telling the coach you're fit for a Grand Final when you know you aren't is much, much worse than what Johnson did the year before. Then to pay the club back he gets mixed up in cocaine deals.

In my opinion Stokes will always have a dip, but Varcoe no way, never forget Stokes trying to roughup Kozsinski, makes me laugh just thinking about it.
And the big fella wasn't happy!

In my opinion Stokes will always have a dip, but Varcoe no way, never forget Stokes trying to roughup Kozsinski, makes me laugh just thinking about it.
And the big fella wasn't happy!

Yeah, that was hilarious. Unfair size advantage.

I love him, but I reckon SJ is a player most opposition players hate to be put on. He mocks, is a huuuge smartass and he is really cocky. Didn't he say something like "Welcome to the Stevie J show" to Campbell Brown? And on GF day with his 4th goal "**** you ****"? Gotta love him, but he must be a REAL pain!

Yeah, that was hilarious. Unfair size advantage.

I love him, but I reckon SJ is a player most opposition players hate to be put on. He mocks, is a huuuge smartass and he is really cocky. Didn't he say something like "Welcome to the Stevie J show" to Campbell Brown? And on GF day with his 4th goal "**** you ****"? Gotta love him, but he must be a REAL pain!

Not wrong! between the two of them they create the crap that leads to goals so it's a good thing? that's footy lets face it!
It's not for the purist athete that's for sure, but hangin' crap has its place. :D

Not wrong! between the two of them they create the crap that leads to goals so it's a good thing? that's footy lets face it!
It's not for the purist athete that's for sure, but hangin' crap has its place. :D

And Chappy! How about Chappy vs Melbourne last year!!! Haha :D

I don't hate Leigh Colbert for two reasons.

1) The senior players at the club basically forced his hand to leave because they couldn't deal with a player so young captaining the Cats. Typical of the stupid culture we had in the past.

2) The compensation we got in return was more than adequate.

Not enough Geelong fans realise this. I was mates with one of his North teammates around the time he moved there, and totally changed my opinion of some Cats players once I'd heard Leigh's side of the story.

Why wasn't it made public then? Why weren't the coach and administration exposed for such terrible management?

If there are legitimate reasons fair enough, but very few things annoy me more than players saying "there is a real reason behind this, but I'm so morally superior it's best I not say". Either put up or shut up.

Why wasn't it made public then? Why weren't the coach and administration exposed for such terrible management?

If there are legitimate reasons fair enough, but very few things annoy me more than players saying "there is a real reason behind this, but I'm so morally superior it's best I not say". Either put up or shut up.

Usually agree with most of what you say, but in this case, it is true what has been said about Colbert, and it may just be that he is too dignified/ classy to get involved in point -scoring. Thought it was gross at the time when he left us, and the alleged reasons, but the truth about our "senior" players at that time which came out later on reflects what we were back then- losers.

But getting Mooney et al has been critical anyway.

Usually agree with most of what you say, but in this case, it is true what has been said about Colbert, and it may just be that he is too dignified/ classy to get involved in point -scoring. Thought it was gross at the time when he left us, and the alleged reasons, but the truth about our "senior" players at that time which came out later on reflects what we were back then- losers.

But getting Mooney et al has been critical anyway.

YEHHH Moondog!:heart:

If there are legitimate reasons fair enough, but very few things annoy me more than players saying "there is a real reason behind this, but I'm so morally superior it's best I not say". Either put up or shut up.[/quote]

Fair enough to,this is all news to me,my understanding was he couldn't agree to the new contract containing the injury clause and wanted out.
Simple as that.

Brent Grgic.

gee this is a good call, bit obscure but totally reasonalbe.

reckon only very few who have played the game at AFL level have been any softer than Grgic.

looked half-interested and like he maybe had a valium problem (totally baseless speculation for the record !).

he was half-decent at Melbourne too, which makes his efforts in the hoops all the more disappointing.

Anybody else see Ronnie burns walking down the aisle at the premiership parade in geelong this year?

WTF

have to love rockin ronnie - as Bob Davis said, they ruined him when they taught him how to play rather than playing on instinct

for me this is one of those rare times when I don't have a least favourite player. I think I'm in Nirvana ... :D

Rockin Ronnie is a star:thumbsu:

love the Marngrook footy show, different views than the typical advertised crap you gotta put up with on the footy show. They also have a far better guest list nearly every week than any other footy show.

Ronnie seems to still have a genuine love for the Geelong footy club and seems to be the type that got along with everyone and still does today.

Darren Forseman was a player I didn't quite like as much as the others, he didn't seem to enjoy the physical side of the game

Ill put up. I spent time at GFC around this era. The likes of Buddah Hocking were a disgrace to Colby. Any of you would have done the same as he did. There is a reason Buddah has never been remotely entertained for a position at Geelong...
First of all loved Buddha as a player and bloke and got to know him through a mate - he used to get us into the rooms over here and we played a lot of golf with him. However the resentment he showed authority in the twilight of his career was astounding - he was openly rude to the assistants and Gareth Andrews several times in the rooms before running onto the ground. Can totally see why the Cats would be careful , even leaving the Steve H situation out of it.
On topic totally agree with those that have named Justin Murphy , douchebag

Easily VARCOE! got plenty of natural, but goes missing to often for long periods and makes his mind up to avoid physical contact well before the contest.
When we're on top, he's a great front runner.

This..

Easily VARCOE! got plenty of natural, but goes missing to often for long periods and makes his mind up to avoid physical contact well before the contest.
When we're on top, he's a great front runner.
Apologies DTC, wasn't my thread.

You spent a lot of 2011 crapping on about Varcoe going to cost us big time in the finals. The GF must have been hard for you to watch. How long will it take you to appreciate Varcoe's role in the team? He needs to be able to continue to be a gut runner in the last/4 of a huge game like a GF, and we need at least one outside player who can be there when it counts, and can run like he does, and finish like he does. And you have no idea about what he's been instructed to do by coach and medical staff.How do you explain his "survival " all last season when you were calling for his axeing. People like you must sit there analysing all his contests, and climax if he is seen to avoid a contest. CS is certainly not one to appreciate cowardice, and he played Varcoe in every game last year, except for the compulsory week off.

Don't mind if you dislike him, but the reasons are boring and outdated.
As Ninty said, he is still underrated, and has huge upside.

You spent a lot of 2011 crapping on about Varcoe going to cost us big time in the finals. The GF must have been hard for you to watch. How long will it take you to appreciate Varcoe's role in the team? He needs to be able to continue to be a gut runner in the last/4 of a huge game like a GF, and we need at least one outside player who can be there when it counts, and can run like he does, and finish like he does. And you have no idea about what he's been instructed to do by coach and medical staff.How do you explain his "survival " all last season when you were calling for his axeing. People like you must sit there analysing all his contests, and climax if he is seen to avoid a contest. CS is certainly not one to appreciate cowardice, and he played Varcoe in every game last year, except for the compulsory week off.

This. Varcoe has enormous potential, and even if he doesn't always perform up to it, he's still a very handy player to have. Would walk into most teams' 22s.

Having said that, doesn't matter how good/bad a player is, you can still be a little stiff towards them.

Nice try VD....but...you can take a mule to water...