Adelaide Oval Review

Why you ask, everyone was happy and signed the agreement, now its a free for all bashing the SANFL because of their magical powers to get what they wanted. Forget the SA Governemnt and AFL, they were powerless to stop the Multi Billion dollar corporation from getting what ever they wanted, because of these so called magical powers forcing the entire world to bow to them! A truly remarkable thing are the SANFL!

Remember when you arguing about contracts Marty? Those legally binding lease agreements. That was one of the cornerstones of your argument Marty. It is actually one of the ones that was close to making some semblance of sense. The SANFL had these agreements in place and thus without going into a massive and costly legal battle, of which the government and the AFL had no stomach for, the SANFL pretty much had it their way.

The SANFL will get at least that PLUS the amount they get from SMA memberships, corporates etc, PLUS the income they get from Footy Park.

Why do the SANFL need so much more than the WAFL?

How else are they going to attract superstars like Mitch Thorp to their league!

If the AFL wanted to govern football in this state, they could easily stop funding teh SANFL and providing grants for the SANFL which will then give them control.

As for Adelaide and Power governing football in thsi state, not worthy of a response

There is always a choice!

According to you and your mate Chris Davies this is happening anyway. And what they are subversively doing is funding it with a better stadium deal to the SANFL that sees the 2 AFL Clubs, struggling, because you know, that's what the AFL is all about ensuring their Clubs struggle in lieu of a healthy SANFL.

As for control of this State, I reckon you could get Port to endorse anyone other than the SANFL in control.

Remember when you arguing about contracts Marty? Those legally binding lease agreements. That was one of the cornerstones of your argument Marty. It is actually one of the ones that was close to making some semblance of sense. The SANFL had these agreements in place and thus without going into a massive and costly legal battle, of which the government and the AFL had no stomach for, the SANFL pretty much had it their way.

But But the SANFL are financial dimwits that to a lot of posters on here and say the SANFL dont know what the hell they are on about. Because of their stupidity they have no idea of what it costs to govern football in this state according to 99% of Posters. Or they could be using the funds they want to run an illegal brothel or night club?

They must have totally arsed something to be in such control of the future of footy in SA, either that or they are magical.

The whole issue with this stadium deal is the SANFL believe they need a certain amount to govern football in this state, the clubs dont actually care about these costs and care about their bottom line. So the arguement will go on, Im sorry if I believe in South Australian footy having played and volunteered my time towards grass roots footy. I respect your want to become a Power in the AFL but I would rather see SA grass roots footy prosper more so. I barrack for them still see them as a Corporate entity with having full time and part time paid staff Salaries of ridiculous amounts and then think about how many volunteers go into running a club in say the Hills leaugue and feel they need more support!

According to you and your mate Chris Davies this is happening anyway. And what they are subversively doing is funding it with a better stadium deal to the SANFL that sees the 2 AFL Clubs, struggling, because you know, that's what the AFL is all about ensuring their Clubs struggle in lieu of a healthy SANFL.

As for control of this State, I reckon you could get Port to endorse anyone other than the SANFL in control.

No the AFL provide $1 million in funding is what I said! You are missing the point stop focussing on the SANFL its about football in thisi state.

Throw up some bodies that would run footy in this state besides the SANFL?

It's probably Trigg and/or Chapman's fault we signed. But that doesn't preclude us from renegotiating in a process designed at the start to facilitate this. The mechanism was put in place as not to leave clubs at a disadvantage. Then the argument is "the clubs should not be able to take advantage of a mechanism put in place to specifically look after their interests, which is written into the signed contract because they shouldn't have signed the contract in the 1st place"

Perhaps the SANFL should have refused to sign if they were not happy to conduct a review in good faith? The SANFL agreed to review. The review won't be complete until the clubs are happy to sign.

No the AFL provide $1 million in funding is what I said! You are missing the point stop focussing on the SANFL its about football in thisi state.

Throw up some bodies that would run footy in this state besides the SANFL?

Which is nothing. It could be a lot more but the SANFL are too interested in their own self worth rather than football in this State by making adjustments for the betterment of the league and funding. You talk about football in this State whilst blithely ignoring that football in this State is in a dreadful position. We have a 2 team AFL town where one is permanently destitute despite the fact that it has more members and better attendances than North Melb and the Bulldogs and Melbourne. The other, which has the ability to be #1 or #2 at worst in the financial stakes just survives rather than kicking this competition in the teeth.

Half the SANFL clubs are poorer than most Ammo Clubs in this town, the others have rolled the dice with bringing in way to many substandard AFL footballers who swan over, get over-paid for their talent and what the League should bear, win some flags before pissing off home but keep their head above water due to onfield success and other income streams not associated with SANFL assistance.

You talk about grassroots footy, you want to know how to have a healthy grassroots scene? Win AFL premierships. Nothing will make kids pick up the sport more than seeing the 2 best football assets this State has, have success. Kids are not out in droves asking their parents to buy them footy boots because Norwood win another flag.

The SANFL control a second tier comp, they need to step aside, ensure the 2 AFL Clubs are as successful as they can be and reap the benefit of that. At this point the SANFL are content in allowing every professional Club (all 10 of them) under their control financially wallow whilst doing SFA for the ammo and country leagues.

And the second part is easy, it would run the same way the NTFL and TFL are now run. Your problem is you think SA needs the SANFL, it doesn't, certainly not in it's current format. It would be A OK with it tweaked. There is just a lot of 'reds under the beds' hysteria involved when it comes to any discussion about the SANFL.

Which is nothing. It could be a lot more but the SANFL are too interested in their own self worth rather than football in this State by making adjustments for the betterment of the league and funding. You talk about football in this State whilst blithely ignoring that football in this State is in a dreadful position. We have a 2 team AFL town where one is permanently destitute despite the fact that it has more members and better attendances than North Melb and the Bulldogs and Melbourne. The other, which has the ability to be #1 or #2 at worst in the financial stakes just survives rather than kicking this competition in the teeth.

Half the SANFL clubs are poorer than most Ammo Clubs in this town, the others have rolled the dice with bringing in way to many substandard AFL footballers who swan over, get over-paid for their talent and what the League should bear, win some flags before pissing off home but keep their head above water due to onfield success and other income streams not associated with SANFL assistance.

You talk about grassroots footy, you want to know how to have a healthy grassroots scene? Win AFL premierships. Nothing will make kids pick up the sport more than seeing the 2 best football assets this State has, have success. Kids are not out in droves asking their parents to buy them footy boots because Norwood win another flag.

The SANFL control a second tier comp, they need to step aside, ensure the 2 AFL Clubs are as successful as they can be and reap the benefit of that. At this point the SANFL are content in allowing every professional Club (all 10 of them) under their control financially wallow whilst doing SFA for the ammo and country leagues.

And the second part is easy, it would run the same way the NTFL and TFL are now run. Your problem is you think SA needs the SANFL, it doesn't, certainly not in it's current format. It would be A OK with it tweaked. There is just a lot of 'reds under the beds' hysteria involved when it comes to any discussion about the SANFL.

Post of the year :thumbsu:

The SANFL control a second tier comp, they need to step aside, ensure the 2 AFL Clubs are as successful as they can be and reap the benefit of that. At this point the SANFL are content in allowing every professional Club (all 10 of them) under their control financially wallow.

You really want to run the same way as the TFL, maybe have a quick google. With that comment alone I know you know nothing. Go AWAY

Have a read about the history of the TFL, and gee their collapse was caused because wanting to be part of the AFL, go figure!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tasmanian_Football_League

"The league disbanded due to a dwindling of clubs able to financially cope"

Sounds a lot like the SANFL!

Really the 2013 Premiers of the league dropped out so they couldnt even defend their premiership.

You can bag the SANFL as much as you want, but you know they are financially savy unlike aneales thoughts, where Im not sure where they come from

Have a read about the history of the TFL, and gee their collapse was caused because wanting to be part of the AFL, go figure!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tasmanian_Football_League
Your comprehension of that is no better than anything else. And you should go read more of it. I have a family member who plays in this League by the way.

It collapsed as a result of the TFL Clubs overspending on players despite dwindling crowds and sponsorship. The Clubs had a $200,000.00 salary cap, the TFL were so piss poor in managing their Clubs that by the end of the 1998 season 8 of them were in crippling debt as the TFL steadfastly refused to address the Club's spending and looking at decreasing the salary cap.

The AFL were that shocked by the Biggs report, which by the way suggested that they start from scratch in a new independent Leage, they intervened. The AFL assuming some control for the back end of 99 season and 2000. At the end of 2000 after crushing debt, through no fault of the AFL, it was disbanded. Through total mismanagement and failing to see that the local State League clubs cannot continue to run at that level of expenditure with the AFL now the biggest part of the sport, their local comp imploded. And that was without an AFL team in the State. We have 2.

Their collapse had nothing to do with wanting to be part of the AFL. It collapsed before the AFL got there, and even they couldn't fix it until trying again 9 years later.

Really the 2013 Premiers of the league dropped out so they couldnt even defend their premiership.

You can bag the SANFL as much as you want, but you know they are financially savy unlike aneales thoughts, where Im not sure where they come from

Are they? At the moment noone in football in this state has any money. Port dont, Adelaide dont, the SANFL dont, the SANFL clubs dont. So who has money? How are they financially savvy?

They refuse AFL funding so they can have a salary cap significantly higher than any other state league which their clubs cant afford, so they can attract ex-AFL talent that the clubs cant afford which also puts junior development on the back burner which forces more SANFL players that should be playing at that level to seek more money in the country/amateurs and lowers the return of draft compensation money to the clubs.

The WAFC are financially savvy. The SANFL are not.

They refuse AFL funding so they can have a salary cap significantly higher than any other state league which their clubs cant afford, so they can attract ex-AFL talent that the clubs cant afford which also puts junior development on the back burner which forces more SANFL players that should be playing at that level to seek more money in the country/amateurs and lowers the return of draft compensation money to the clubs.
To which, Shippy is on the radio going on about how Ammo/Country Clubs are being irresponsible in paying the players too much and wanting to impose a salary cap on them!!! At least some of those country and ammo clubs are able to pay for their players using pokie money or vineyards and aren't putting themselves in are terrible position. I'd argue Padthaway and Penola would be better run Clubs than any of the SANFL clubs.

You really want to run the same way as the TFL, maybe have a quick google. With that comment alone I know you know nothing. Go AWAY
Not to mention, you clearly have no idea about the history of Tasmanian football which has always been a sporting Hatfield and McCoys. Out of that whole post, you chose to latch on about Tasmania, which is still in a better position now than it was from the mid 80' to 2008.

A combination of AFL commission appts and SA Football commission appt's in a much stable SA will work fine, much like it does in the NT who also had a stable group of Clubs, unlike Tasmania who have had about a dozen incarnations and competing competitions and the Clubs have a history of pulling out of one league for another.

Just wondering Marty, do you support a SANFL club? Are the clubs your concern or is more the over arching job the SANFL as a body does to support "grass roots footy" in this state?

to add to the above I'd like to know if Marty is
1) a paid up member of the Crows, if so how many games he attends.
2) is he a member of a SANFL club and how may games he attends
3) how old Marty is, not in a derogatory sense but his posting on this matter reflects a die hard SANFL club supporter that hasn't come to terms with the direction and change in the footy landscape.

Not questioning who brings in the crowds to AO, teh governemnt are using AO and its half a billion investment on more than just watching an AFL game. They need a good portion of these returns to benefit the whole state in Footy and Cricket, after all it is the whole states half a billion dollars not the SANFL's, SACA's, Crows Members, power Members or the AFL's money that put this together!
Yeah but if it is as you say and the SANFL do not have any obligations to do the review, then why didn't they just tell the clubs to get stuffed?

Let's see in 5 years time, now that the SANFL aren't burdened with the debt and overheads of running two AFL clubs and have liquidated a substantial portion of their asset base, how poor the SANFL clubs are.
The rainy day fund! They'll be exactly like they were before the AFL licenses and being 'burdened with debt and overheads of running two AFL clubs'. You're a Sturt supporter, how do you not recognise that?