Postive And Negatives in GF

From the outside looking in -

Positives -

McGovern! Wow you have a player here, wait until he can play the Josh Gibson role full time when you get Emack and Brown back.

Schuey + Gaff - there's a reason our club has tried and tried over again to get these 2 back to melbourne, absolute stars.

Your structures - it's very plain to see how sound your strucures, like other teams though it can be difficult to execute against us at G

Age/player demographic - Your sides profile yesterday suggests you should enjoy the next 5-6 years, I'd be shattered if I was a weagles supporter and I didn't see a flag, you look primed just don't do a Port.

Negatives? Not my place to talk about that.

On a side note, there's a stark difference in class of the supporters of the Eagles and our last 2 opponents in GF's Sydney and Freo. Top end footy club with top end and classy supporters, it was a pleasure to have you guys in melbourne. Enjoy the offseason :)

He goes at around 60% which is similar to guys like Gunston and Franklin.

Haha, making my point a bit there, Franklin is hardly the Matty Lloyd of goal kickers. His unpredictable kicking has been one of the features of his career, especially early. Don't get me wrong Kennedy is fine, goal kicking is not a weakness but its not his greatest strength either. Set shots within 50 at not difficult angles were near certainties for the best full forwards who've played. With JK its closer to 50/50. When he lines up you never get that feeling like with some players that its as good as in the bag. Just something he will be a better player from improving is all I'm saying. Its the area where his most significant improvement has come, and hopefully there's more to come. I'd still take him over a Matthew Richardson or Nick Reiwolt in front of goal.

On a side note, there's a stark difference in class of the supporters of the Eagles and our last 2 opponents in GF's Sydney and Freo. Top end footy club with top end and classy supporters, it was a pleasure to have you guys in melbourne. Enjoy the offseason :)

Spare a thought for us. Half of us are related to Dockers supporters. :(

POSITIVES

McGovern's two goals in the final quarter. Gun.

Is he better suited as a CHF or FF?

How could you not be excited for 2016 with this forward line!

HF Yeo Kennedy Darling
FF Cripps McGovern Lecras

POSITIVES

McGovern's two goals in the final quarter. Gun.

Is he better suited as a CHF or FF?

How could you not be excited for 2016 with this forward line!

HF Yeo Kennedy Darling
FF Cripps McGovern Lecras

Take Darlings role as CHF, he's a true KPF.
Darling to trim down and become the next Gunston.
Newman to come from nowhere and take Hills spot
Duggan to rest in the FP and kick 30 in 2016.

Commiserations guys, you are a great club and will be a force to reckon with again next year.
I was at the game and was very impressed with your supporters, top people , several congratulated me on the win, really class acts.
Dockers need to take a look at how you guys roll.

According to them mate (Dockers), they're the pride of the west.. ;)

Commiserations guys, you are a great club and will be a force to reckon with again next year.
I was at the game and was very impressed with your supporters, top people , several congratulated me on the win, really class acts.
Dockers need to take a look at how you guys roll.

Thanks for keeping them out of the GF (although I think we might have beaten them) because I'd rather anyone else win it than the Dockers.

What a pain in the dick. It's even worse today than it was yesterday.

I hope we haven't blown our only chance at a flag for a while. It's bloody hard to make the grand final, as the Dockers have shown missing out on the last 2 since their maiden appearance in 2013 despite being competitive in each season. I really thought we had enough firepower and talent on our list to take this one home, but unfortunately hunger and intent on the day trumped both.

We pretty much didn't tick a single box which got us the win in the qualifying final against them. We bought no pressure whatsoever, their backline was able to walk it out on most occasions which just made their uncontested marking game even the more simple to play, and our midfield was a disgrace.

What's worse is that apart from a very small period, it was like that all game. We changed nothing, we tried nothing (apart from the McGovern Yeo switcheroo after the game was iced), or if we did.. it failed. You would struggle to find a player other than Gaff who won his position.

It's times like these where you wish you weren't obsessed, just a fan.

Lxrirkx.jpg

This was a pretty big positive after a long day of negatives. Crown Casino, about 1am after the GF.

After the game, sorry. Hence the long day of negatives.

He was understandably pretty flat. Shook his hand and told him he played a great game, he thanked me, but you could tell he was kinda going through the motions.

Was with Lycett, who is hugeeee. No pics though. Saw Masto as well as we were leaving, took a quick pic with 4 ladies (what a pimp) and jogged off.

After the game, sorry. Hence the long day of negatives.

He was understandably pretty flat. Shook his hand and told him he played a great game, he thanked me, but you could tell he was kinda going through the motions.

Was with Lycett, who is hugeeee. No pics though. Saw Masto as well as we were leaving, took a quick pic with 4 ladies (what a pimp) and jogged off.

Awesome stuff. Looks like you could bust a few packs too mate. Put the boots on and try and get a run at EP then you never know :D:p:thumbsu:

Positives+
Sheppard and Gaff are still pretty young and only last year were pretty weak players in the contest. Both really stood up yesterday as leaders of the club, especially shep when we were under the pump. Huge turnaround.

Shuey showed his potential as a gamebreaker, he probably would have been our best if he had handballed over the top instead of kicking twice, those two decisions cost us 2 probable goals.

Gov forward, kicked two goals and looked more likely than the Coleman medallist, bodes well for next year when ezy is back.

We miraculously made a grand final after the player most would have rated as our best went down before the season even started.

Negatives -
The web was absolutely found out at the G. It was noticeable almost straight away, the web just didn't work, there was just far too much room against a skilled team like hawthorn. I know its a big ask to change what we have been doing all season on the spot but given how obviously it wasn't working and how easily they got over the top of the web I wish we had tried man on man because I thought we were doing okay in the contest. Given you can only win a premiership at one place I worry about our chances next year to win at the MCG using the web. Will probably change our setup when ezy comes in though who is so often our last man/saviour.

A few players crumbled mentally in the grandy as we suspected some might given our inexperience in finals and youth.
Darling quite frankly was insipid all finals serious. Needs to take a long hard look at himself. That kick inboard at defensive 50, that double fumble dropped mark... a few of his contests were just weak.
Sinclair crumbled a bit in the GF which was disappointing after 2 really good finals, same for Naitanui just no presence.
Yeo, Sheed - just weren't ready yet, however huge kudos to YEO's conversion which was absolutely clutch.

Our veterans/leaders mostly were crap and didn't lift in a pressure game. Priddis was okay but Kennedy, Lecras and Hurn were pretty poor and missed chances they needed to take. Kennedy not hitting the scoreboard at all was pretty poor.

If we had taken our chances, been more accurate not dropped crucial marks etc. we actually were right in it. The problem was with every error and lost opportunity we made the hawks kicked a goal going the other way.

Summary:
Overall as a team we were overawed by the occasion and as some might expect we just weren't ready to win a GF yet. I am hoping that this would be our "one before the one" which is so often the case but given how badly we were beaten I am a little concerned we won't get mental scars from this. Our web was ineffective at the MCG which is a concern for next year.

With mackenzie back, an older hawthorn and freo, another year into duggan, yeo, sheed and co I see no reason why we couldn't win next year. We are currently $5 second favorites to Hawthorns $4 with freo at $8.

Positives -

First goal to some classic Shue head tossing

Seriously though the biggest positive is our 15 minutes either side of half time. We were in serious trouble and the guys really tried hard. Our execution was still abominable but we were willing ourselves back into it with sheer determination.

Negatives -

Our skill level was deplorable and for too much of the game our guys played from inside their shells. We were 2013 bad for large portions which was really disappointing to watch. Hawthorn brought some fantastic pressure but the additional unforced kicking errors, missed handballs and dropped marks deprived everyone of seeing a contest.

Overawed by the occasion and our leaders were poor in rallying the team I felt. Much of the game felt like too many players were ball watching and waiting for someone else to make things happen. We were so stagnant which compounded the pressure on our guys with the ball.

Hawthorn didn't miss in the first quarter. We weren't clicking, as has happened a few times this year but the Hawks didn't let us off the hook with many errors of their own and their finishing was fantastic. We may have been able to right the ship better if we had run in at quarter time with the Hawks at 3.2 or 4.1 - at least they would have seemed mortal at that point :cry:

Have a gander at this story.

Negative to cover all negatives

BRING MAX HOME

Finals celebrations for one family have been dealt a cruel blow, with the death of a Perth Grandfather in Melbourne. Max Vinten suffered a heart attack while at the Grand Final Parade. His family was desperately raising money to bring his body back home, when a Perth business generously offered to cover the costs…

to be honest, the game felt like Hawthorns all day. The ball bounced away from our players and to the Hawks advantage. That Hodge banana goal, and the Smith goal from the boundary - give me a break. If those go through the footy gods are smiling on you. Doesnt matter what our team is doing. Got that feeling from midway through the 3rd when we had double the number of scoring shots to Hawthorn but trailed by 2 goals. Just knew it wasnt our day.

So we now know what Masten's like in BIG games.

Happy for him to be traded - got too many of his calibre, and all are better than him.

Well done McGovern and Shuey.

to be honest, the game felt like Hawthorns all day. The ball bounced away from our players and to the Hawks advantage. That Hodge banana goal, and the Smith goal from the boundary - give me a break. If those go through the footy gods are smiling on you. Doesnt matter what our team is doing. Got that feeling from midway through the 3rd when we had double the number of scoring shots to Hawthorn but trailed by 2 goals. Just knew it wasnt our day.

We never had twice the scoring shots midway through the third, and never got closer than about 4 goals o_O

I just turned on Fox Footy and the replay was just starting (it's on every bloody time). I was going to turn it off but I watched the first few minutes. I forgot that we got off to a pretty good start... Naitanui's clearance, Shuey's goal followed by Hutch putting down Lewis, Sheppard's intercept mark, then Darling gives away a 50 and I turned it off. :( I wouldn't suggest anyone does the same because it'll make it feel even worse.