Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

It's certainly closer than the one given and perhaps yours is closer again. That said, it's not quite right either when drifting to the "refuse to help" and "every 2-3 years" part. I don't think that's a fair assessment. It might be shoddy workmanship, but there is definitely some effort there.

Regardless, I don't feel any need to apologise to anyone for things I didn't do. The history of mankind is that of expansion, invasion, subjugation, displacement, slavery, so on and so forth. Where Australia fits into that would be but a footnote, not a chapter. I'd spend my whole life running around the world saying sorry if indeed I was somehow responsible for the ills of human history.
After 200 years of oppression, which they still feel is ongoing, we need more than to say sorry to right the wrongs of the past. They need real recognition and to feel in control of their own destiny. And most of all they need to feel accepted.

You shouldn't feel the need to be sorry for what your ancestors did, however it is good and just to try and right those wrongs in a reasonable manner.

Pretty much this. Also interesting to note that Goodes never said the boos were racist. In fact last year he said he wasn't affected by it. Robbo, Pridham, and the rest of the media gang are the ones calling the boos racist.

yes the media is throwing this racist label around. which is pissing everyone off because most people are not racist and that the outlet of expression for that is adam goodes because it seemed to all start with him.

My opinion is that the boos started from (as Dermie has suggested) the way Goodes stages for free kicks.

Just like when a player - say Vickery clocks someone he receives boo's very time he goes near the ball after the incident.

The reason for this is that an AFL crowd is like theatre, the audience is seeking the 'bad guy' to single out.

That player, just as in Goodes case, isn't really a bad guy. They've just been selected to play that role and there is a mob mentality with the crowd and people just bandwagon and join in.

I believe that most people aren't booing for racism reasons. I think there is a very small minority that possibly turned it into that, and some that are booing just because everyone else is and have no idea why and it seems like fun.

In any case, it's snowballed and definitely needs to cease immediately. It is undeserved.

It's possible that this issue will become so big that it initially has a very damaging effect, but will ultimately have a positive effect.

the greatest example of targeted booing in Australian sport was that of Wally Lewis whenever he came down to Sydney.

the undertones are clearly different here.

Being a lions supporter in SA I have watched many games live down here. AKA seemed to get relentlessly booed every time by the crowd back in the day. Being new to AFL back then after moving down and previously being a rugby supporter I was surprised how aggressive mass sections of the crowd would behave relentlessly towards a player. Kinda used to it now

Seems pointless trying to argue what % of the crowd boos for what % like we can put it in a pie chart

I was just going off what people answered in the poll above. As I said in my earlier post, I don't care what reason people like to choose for booing him. If you do it, you're a flog.

In WA on the weekend, absolutely it was herd behavior. But then it was when Watson and Selwood copped it over there too. Where the media outrage?

Of course we defend/ignore the behavior of our own flogs. Like the Swans fans that use to call Buddy a "one season wonder" or drug user. Now he plays for them, he's a star and he is a better human because of the Bloods culture. That's tribalism, thats sport. Do I boo Puopolo or Lewis for staging? No. Do I boo Selwood and Monfries for the same thing? Yes. Internally do I like any of the 4 doing it? Absolutely not!

Booing Goodes is now a sport, but this would've all went away earlier if the media didn't stir the pot, the Swans didn't play the race card and if they simply went to the AFL before Indigenous Round, discussed the spear dance, did it pre-game with the school children and made it into some about the round. Instead, it was done in a manner that had the potential to cause issue and hate and now people are surprised it did. And if you call him, the AFL or Sydney out on it, you're racist and don't get it. It's been a PR disaster and could've been stopped months ago. Now, it's a run away freight train.

I just don't like the name calling and finger point from one side, when both really are to blame and just being tribal about their POV.

Absolutely spot on Habitual. Couldn't have said it any better myself.

How much change in the behaviour can you expect when you have people like Miranda Devine, Rita Panahi pandering articles to their racist audience.

Miranda Devine articles especially have been utterly sickening not sure how she has a job in writing.

Bullshit.

it's average plebs with insignificant little lives filling empowered by the mob.

Rather elitist to be calling members of the crowd average plebs with insignificant lives don't you think?

Frankly I do not attend Swans games. No atmosphere and the fact the big guy has to rev up the chant for the Swans is kinda embarrassing

I never said anything about whiteness or national pride. The poster admitted that he hated Adam Goodes for standing up against racism and telling a few uncomfortable home truths (FACTS) about this country's history and current state.

It's not a contradiction to think this is a great country while admitting that there are troubling moments in our past that continue to reverberate and need addressing. Perhaps you struggle to hold two views at once but I don't.

It has nothing to do with 2 views. Racism exists in every country and culture around the world. That is no different in australia but to say a person is an awful human being because he doesn't think he should be ashamed of being a descendant of those who came before him is not on. By your thinking anyone whose fore fathers committed a crime must forever be named and shamed as the same. Never should we forget the wrongs of our past but in that we can never move forward if we keep throwing those mistakes into the faces of the new generations and of those generations to come.

Pretty much this. Also interesting to note that Goodes never said the boos were racist. In fact last year he said he wasn't affected by it. Robbo, Pridham, and the rest of the media gang are the ones calling the boos racist.

If Adam Goodes came out in the media 2 days ago and said 'I disagree with my club president, old mate Robbo, Michael O'Loughlin, Lewis Jetta and the rest - I don't believe that booing me on the field is overtly racist', then this wouldn't be an issue would it..

He doesn't need to say it personally, he's got a PR team doing his labeling for him.

Hes not special there. How many players have been called a f*wit by the crowd for acting the fool on a football field? So Mark Williams was treated the same as everyone else, yet Goodes is treated differently. Differently to every other black player in the AFL. At what point will you start to see that its not about colour? I know that goes against you desire to claim everyones a racist, but facts are facts.

Mate, you misread my post. I agree with you.
Willo incited the crowd, the crowd gave it back. Cause and effect stuff, similar to my belief about Goodes.
Buddy copped it because he was successful and a smart arse. Australian's don't warm to smart arses, unless they are in their side or taking 10 for at the MCG, then you can be the biggest piece of garbage on earth, nobody will care. Just the way Australian are.
71 indigenous players, 1 targeted. Not a race issue, initially. Potentially an element there now though.

I agree that personally that I won't be booing Goodes anymore because he is obviously affected by it beyond the sporting arena. However I think there should be a clearer line as to what's acceptable behaviour and what's not. Either booing is acceptable or it's not. You don't change what's acceptable depending how many other people are booing or how frequently they are booing.

It's quite simple really my friend!

When someone cries out that it is hurting them & they would like it to stop, then that is about the right time to stop.

This was done about 8 weeks ago. Goodes said back then that it was affecting many of his friends & loved ones.

Some individuals, including Jordan Lewis:thumbsu: came out & said they clearly didn't like his treatment.

Others, Dermie:thumbsdown: have continued their own personal agendas in their dislike of Adam for what ever reason, & used that agenda to cross the line on why they think he shouldn't be upset by it, or that he should toughen up.

These people would NEVER speak like that to Adam's face.

Why doesn't Dermie perhaps speak to Adam about it.

Speaking of weak. Why can't Derm just cop it sweet from Rebecca Wilson when she has called him out for his stance on the matter?

If Adam Goodes is upset that it is affecting too many of the people he cares about, let alone himself, then his standing in the game alone should be enough to deserve the respect & that it's time to stop.

Now Dermie may have had very good reason as to why he really dislikes Adam, be it the slide against Gibson or the goal that snuffed out the Hawks in the 2012 GF on one leg, but even after seeing that he & Jetta were visibly shaken by it after the the West Coast game, the best thing he should have done would have been to zip it.
NO!
The self righteous one chose to push his agenda against Goodes/ The Swans, even further.

I take my hat of to Lewis. He is not afraid to speak out & also kudos to Matty Lloyd who has changed his stance on the matter after realising that it was clearly affecting people!

Who said that? I don't think anyone on here is talking about banning all booing.

Your own Swans boss said it - booing Adam Goodes is racist. The media is driving that message on. Quit being disingenuous. It's so old.

You act as though the feeling of abuse at booing would end at Adam Goodes. What makes you think that if you think there are racists in large sections of the crowd? If racism is rampant as many claim in this country, it will just move to a different indigenous player for a "made up reason" until booing them is considered racist too.

Alternative argument - can you stop booing just so we can STFU about this.

ASADA and now this ...I want the good old days of the 2010's when we all just hated each other for footy reasons.

mtwmyg.png

"Micky, Oh get off me / Micky O I said No"

Micky O has came out in defense of Goodes appealing to the common decency, the same bloke that paid an alleged rape victim $200k for her silence. He prefers his victims to sit in the corner and count their hush money.

How much change in the behaviour can you expect when you have people like Miranda Devine, Rita Panahi pandering articles to their racist audience.

Miranda Devine articles especially have been utterly sickening not sure how she has a job in writing.

it'a all about the clicks.

something the owners of this forum would be ecstatic about right now too.

no wait. we shouldn't criticize. we wouldn't want to hurt her feelings and make her quit right?

If Adam Goodes came out in the media 2 days ago and said 'I disagree with my club president, old mate Robbo, Michael O'Loughlin, Lewis Jetta and the rest - I don't believe that booing me on the field is overtly racist', then this wouldn't be an issue would it..

He doesn't need to say it personally, he's got a PR team doing his labeling for him.
But it is racist so why would he lie?