Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

Oh come on. You're a bigot if you're sick of the perpetually outraged? SJW is fine.
"A pejorative term for an individual who repeatedly and vehemently engages in arguments on social justice on the Internet, often in a shallow or not well-thought-out way, for the purpose of raising their own personal reputation."

Urban Dictionary work for you?

So it is meant to be about people who are just in it for the lulz, shutting stuff down, slacktivists clicking like on Facebook so they can be seen to be doing the right thing in front of their friends.

What it seems to have devolved into is "anyone who has an opinion that what I say doesn't match some left-of-centre ideal".

It is a lazy way to argue a point. You can do better.

First the minutes applause
Turning of the backs
Now the banner

.... For Gods Sake
"And now, let's turn the table on racism with turntables, featuring DJ Matainavora with a very indigenous remix of You Will Never Tear Us Apart!"
Wouldn't you love to see that at the next Port game?

.... Or maybe they just hold an opposing point of view

To which I believe they are entitled
Who else is entitled to a point of view?

Different penalties, different reaction by family and friends , compassion and forgiveness in the case of manslaughter being accidental or unintended

This is what is missing in this whole fiasco

And all due respect - we are talking about someone being called a name and having their feelings hurt
Not murder

You missed the point, again...outcome is still the same for the person at the receiving end.

Among the more stupid things I've read in my life tbh.

I just can't accept this. My experience in establishing common ground with people of different cultural perceptions screams to me that inflexibility like this is most counter-productive (not to mention pretty arrogant).

I am shocked that you don't accept this. Shocked I tells ya.

But given that by your estimation that was one of the more stupid things you've read I can understand why!

I'm actually anxious about the Geelong v Sydney match. If he gets booed all game with every touch again this will be all over the media more than ever.
he won't, cats are not up to it. they have a long history of celebrating their own failure.

also it isn't a key contest in the seasons context. Unless goodes reverts to form and well, you know

the word flog is used on BF because you get carded if more descriptive

Good point, so who did say it was racist?
Caroline Wilson in the Age in the 2104 GF edition, rather than mention the actual game she said the racist boos from Hawthorn were a blight on the game. I don't think she remembered that Gibson was Injured in a collision with Goodes earlier in the year.

As you would in his position.
You cannot presume to know what I would have done.
Would I have flown off the handle at a child in front of a national audience and a stadium full of people without knowing for sure what she meant?
Doubt it very much. Would I have made a complaint for the AFL to investigate if I felt that aggrieved by a child's comment? Who knows. Would have wanted to be 100% sure before I made a Federal Case out of it.

Yep... he ran with the racism angle

What were his exact words about it the next day? I know they've been posted but I don't have the links.

Are you being deliberately obtuse? Pretty sure you know he went with "face of racism is a 13 year old girl" line. Even 12 hours after the event.

So, let's knock that over. On the field, after the game, the next day. We've heard this part. You think that wasn't fair.

No. It was unfair to accuse her of a racial slur - not once, at the time, not twice, after the game and certainly not the third time at the press conference without some sort of investigation on his part. He's dead set lucky if you ask me, that her parents were not "Tania and James Hird" types and took him to court over it.

What position did he finally arrive at?
"Finally" being the operative word.
Finally, AFTER labelling her the "face of racism" he conceded that she may have not had the benefit of an education or parenting that would have prevented an outburst of this nature in the first place. He had ample time to consider his words.

How does that match up with your position?

It doesn't.[/QUOTE]

No, I was thinking more along the line of the 'ban the boo' crowd.

Another of your made up things to get outraged about. Nobody wants to ban the boo.
Until Sydney play Collingwood next week, you should stand in front of the mirror and practice your booing.

You cannot presume to know what I would have done.
Would I have flown off the handle at a child in front of a national audience and a stadium full of people without knowing for sure what she meant?
Doubt it very much. Would I have made a complaint for the AFL to investigate if I felt that aggrieved by a child's comment? Who knows. Would have wanted to be 100% sure before I made a Federal Case out of it.

Yep... he ran with the racism angle

Are you being deliberately obtuse? Pretty sure you know he went with "face of racism is a 13 year old girl" line. Even 12 hours after the event.

No. It was unfair to accuse her of a racial slur - not once, at the time, not twice, after the game and certainly not the third time at the press conference without some sort of investigation on his part. He's dead set lucky if you ask me, that her parents were not "Tania and James Hird" types and took him to court over it.

Finally, AFTER labelling her the "face of racism" he conceded that she may have not had the benefit of an education or parenting that would have prevented an outburst of this nature in the first place. He had ample time to consider his words.

It doesn't.
[/QUOTE]
Why do all the pro-booers fail to cite his comments in full?

You missed the point, again...outcome is still the same for the person at the receiving end.

So an accidental death is no worse than a murder - dead is dead after all eh?

Think before you respond.

"A pejorative term for an individual who repeatedly and vehemently engages in arguments on social justice on the Internet, often in a shallow or not well-thought-out way, for the purpose of raising their own personal reputation."

Urban Dictionary work for you?

So it is meant to be about people who are just in it for the lulz, shutting stuff down, slacktivists clicking like on Facebook so they can be seen to be doing the right thing in front of their friends.

What it seems to have devolved into is "anyone who has an opinion that what I say doesn't match some left-of-centre ideal".

It is a lazy way to argue a point. You can do better.

There was once a great poster named essjayw. A man before his time. Who would have thought that poster would have a pejorative term named after him and that of a social justice warrior. The world never ceases to amaze. I hear he is now a SJW by name and by actions.

Why do all the pro-booers fail to cite his comments in full?

You mean where he called her "the face of racism"?
And then went on with some other palaver after to justify that statement?
Those comments you mean?

Quote away

He had all night to think what he would say and thats what he came up with. A gotcha moment for the "cause" regardless of the age , education and circumstances of the child.

Was she given the oportunity to say "yes I called him an ape. I didn't realise it was racial, I'm sorry - he's big and hairy" ?

And this is the crux...where has been the forgiveness in all this?

Those comments you mean?

Quote away

He had all night to think what he would say and thats what he came up with. A gotcha moment for the "cause" regardless of the age , education and circumstances of the child.
You know the bit about how it was not her fault and she was innocent. Go and look up his comments in their entirety.

Read my post

He did that after he had three times claimed her comment was racist.
3 times......

It doesn't.

I can't believe you still haven't actually looked up what was actually said.

So, the next day:

"To come to the boundary line and hear a 13-year-old girl call me an 'ape', and it's not the first time on a footy field that I've been referred to as a 'monkey' or an 'ape', it was shattering."

Eddie McGuire: "I thought Adam showed tremendous leadership in that situation to not only put his own issues aside but also to head more to the issue rather than just the headline."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...e-was-racist-says-mcguire-20130526-2n64f.html

"To hear a 13-year-old girl call me an ape ... it was shattering," Goodes said.

"Racism has a face. It's a 13-year-old girl."

Goodes said the fan's offensive remarks had shocked him.

"I was just like, really? Wow could that happen?"

"I don't know if it's the lowest point in my career, but personally I've never been more hurt.

"It felt like I was in high school again being bullied. I don’t think I’ve ever been more hurt by someone calling me a name. Not just by what was said, by who it came from."

"People need to get around her. She's 13, she's uneducated. If she wants to pick up the phone and call me, I'll take the call."

"I've got no doubt in my mind she's got no idea what she was calling me last night."

"It's not a witch hunt. I don't want people to go after this girl."

Goodes later revealed the girl had called him to apologise. He tweeted: "Just received a phone call from a young girl apologizing for her actions. Lets support her please #racismitstopswithme #IndigenousRound."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...day-to-apologise/story-fni5fan7-1226650256245

So - subaru you're wrong.

When asked by the media, he called for people to leave the girl alone. That he would accept a simple apology. That the girl needed support.

Do you accept that what you have thought about this situation is incorrect? That Goodes and yourself share the same view of the girl involved? Will you get over it and move on?

Those comments you mean?

Quote away

Was she given the oportunity to say "yes I called him an ape. I didn't realise it was racial, I'm sorry - he's big and hairy" ?

You are not getting it.

The face of racism was not a flag waving young bogan, a nazi tattooed ****wit or a white hooded dickwad it was a 13 you girl mimicking what she hears. Think about it.