Prediction Player Claim for 2018 - Adam Treloar

Dad, aged about 60, was walking past a building site when a Doberman charged at him from the back of a ute. Reflexively Dad kicked the Doberman as it leapt at him.

Dad quelled the beast but badly tore his right hammy.

Doctors said his mobility would be shot for a couple of months. A week later he was back hobbling around his normal route. The Doberman was now chained in the ute and didn't even snarl at him.

Forgot what the moral of this story is. In any case, get well Adam.
Think it had something to do with Ben Reid being the GOAT

AFL.com reporting he is out till August.

The bye round may just give him a shot at playing a final.

Freakish injury puts star Pie out until August

COLLINGWOOD star Adam Treloar is set to be sidelined until late August after a meeting with a specialist on Tuesday confirmed he has damage to both of his hamstrings.

AFL.com reporting he is out till August.

The bye round may just give him a shot at playing a final.

Freakish injury puts star Pie out until August

COLLINGWOOD star Adam Treloar is set to be sidelined until late August after a meeting with a specialist on Tuesday confirmed he has damage to both of his hamstrings.
That website wouldn't know any more than the Herald Sun or the club itself. AFL.com.au always spins things on the positive side.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Some interesting logic here. Apparently Treloar's hamstrings are doomed because he's a Collingwood player, but we still shouldn't risk him this year unless we're definitely winning the flag because he might reinjure his hamstring(s)

I hear he is going to Germany next week for surgery performed by the crack team of Dr Frankenstien and Dr N Riviera (Hi everybody ! )
Hamstrings will be warm and as good as new.
Back in 3 weeks ..

The Sun was out briefly today, did you see it?

Mate I just spent a week telling people who saw the Carlton game as a "danger game" that we were NO chance of losing. This has nothing to do with positivity vs negativity.

It's reality at the moment with Collingwood and injuries.

Dad, aged about 60, was walking past a building site when a Doberman charged at him from the back of a ute. Reflexively Dad kicked the Doberman as it leapt at him.

Doctors said his mobility would be shot for a couple of months. A week later he was back hobbling around his normal route. The Doberman was now chained in the ute and didn't even snarl at him.

giphy.gif

Murphys situation is very different to treloars. I felt for bob when he missed out on being a premiership player but if we win it this year and treloar misses out I wouldn't really care. Treloar still has plenty of years left in him and I hope he recovers fully to continue striving for success.

Treloar loves our club...I’d be gutted for him. He came to Collingwood because he thought our list was capable.

Mate I just spent a week telling people who saw the Carlton game as a "danger game" that we were NO chance of losing. This has nothing to do with positivity vs negativity.

It's reality at the moment with Collingwood and injuries.
But this just isn't true

"Because this is Collingwood.
Where hamstrings dog players for the remainder of their careers"

You might be able to find a handful out of probably 1000 hamstring injuries which would be no different to any other club

Like dogs but that is so funny.

IF my eyes haven't deceived me, the miracle of this kick is that it starts as forward tumbling punt but then starts spinning backwards as the camera position changes.

James Manson is the only man on the planet who might have accomplished such wizardry.

If we make finals without him it would be a great effort given all the other outs we have.

There has to be a tipping point, you can't have 14 guys on the injury list and still expect to finish top 4, or even top 8 in such a competitive and even year. Having said this, next year there doesn't look to be too many sides improving like a bullet, if and that is a monumental if, we get players fit we will have an excellent chance at a flag, particularly if we land Lynch.

But what did Sam do?

I'm sure he will want to come back ASAP, but I think if Sunday has taught the medical staff anything they should probably take his opinion on his own body with a grain of salt...

If we make finals without him it would be a great effort given all the other outs we have.

There has to be a tipping point, you can't have 14 guys on the injury list and still expect to finish top 4, or even top 8 in such a competitive and even year. Having said this, next year there doesn't look to be too many sides improving like a bullet, if and that is a monumental if, we get players fit we will have an excellent chance at a flag, particularly if we land Lynch.
North might actually be contenders next year.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

But this just isn't true

"Because this is Collingwood.
Where hamstrings dog players for the remainder of their careers"

You might be able to find a handful out of probably 1000 hamstring injuries which would be no different to any other club
Actually it was AT playing with his Dog at half time that caused it. Howe has the Frisbee to prove it and JDG witnessed it.

as long as we get to sign JDG before Lynch or anyone else.

Arguably the list has changed but going into the year you would say that best 22 would have the below which is literally half the side. and you actually compare it to Adelaide and arguably we have more talent out then they do

best 18
Treloar
Reid
Elliott
Moore
Varcoe
Wells
Aish

arguably bench
Goldsack
Fasolo
Broomhead

I am not sure why some posters are having a go at posters showing concern about the hamstring injuries. It is not as if we have a great record on managing those type of injuries.

I am one of those wait and see, fingers crossed but not upset and can understand others views.

How a hamstring can cost you two months of footy
Leave a comment

Treloar out for at least two months with double hamstring injuries

The news that Collingwood star Adam Treloar will be out until late August after injuring his hamstring is probably puzzling for long-term AFL fans who are accustomed to hamstring victims missing only two to three weeks. Why then will Treloar be out for so long?

Treloar joins a lengthy list of players in recent years who have had severe hamstring injuries, many of which, like Treloar, have required surgical repair. These include Max Gawn, Jordan Roughead and Ben Sinclair.

b9502a71a67a0fcb02949dc134ca1858c320ad05

A closer look at the tendons inside the leg.

Photo: Supplied
One of the very first to have surgery to repair their hamstring tendon was Treloar’s coach Nathan Buckley. Buckley had hamstring problems for much of his career and despite working incredibly hard to try and overcome the problem, it just kept tearing. Eventually Collingwood’s orthopaedic surgeon Julian Feller decided to operate and have a close look at Buckley’s hamstring. During surgery he discovered to his surprise a split in the hamstring tendon. Feller repaired the hole and Buckley had no further problems.

As medical practitioners we had always been taught that a muscle consisted of a central muscle belly with tendons at either end of the muscle which attached to the bones. What Buckley’s injury made us realise was that the tendons at either end of the hamstring actually extended for some distance into the belly of the muscle itself (see image right).

Usually hamstring muscle injuries occur where the muscle fibres attach to this central tendon. It is when, in addition to the muscle fibres, this intramuscular part of the tendon is damaged, that problems arise. Even though the make-up of this part of the tendon is different to the usual tendon such as the Achilles, they share one common feature – they don’t heal well.

When the intramuscular tendon is partially torn, it is managed with a lengthy rehabilitation program. It is when the tendon is completely torn and retracted that surgery is required. The only way doctors can determine the exact extent of the injury is with an MRI scan, which is why everyone at football clubs anxiously await the verdict on Monday mornings.

The reason that the tendon injuries are such a problem is that they take a lot longer to heal and they have an increased likelihood of recurrence. A world-first study performed by Melbourne radiologist Jules Comin and his colleagues at Imaging @ Olympic Park and published in the American Journal of Sports Medicine in 2012 showed that the average time to return to play for those with a tendon tear was 72 days, compared to 21 days for those without tendon damage.

A British study published in 2015 showed a recurrence rate of 60 per cent in injuries that involved the tendon.

While these tendon injures have been mainly documented in AFL players, probably the highest profile injury of this kind was Australian cricket captain Michael Clarke’s hamstring tear in the 2014 Adelaide Test. Clarke had surgery to repair the tendon eight weeks before the start of the 2015 World Cup and was on a tight timeline set by the selectors to be available to play in the second game of the tournament. Clarke made it by the deadline and went on to lead Australia's World Cup triumph, but it was touch and go.

The rehab time following both the partial tears treated with rehab alone and the complete tears treated with surgery have been getting shorter and shorter as AFL physios gain more experience at managing these injuries. Whereas a few years ago an injury such as Treloar’s would have kept him out for three months which would have meant missing at least the start of the finals, nowadays two months is the average time which should have the Collingwood star back just before September.

Peter Brukner is Professor of Sports Medicine at La Trobe University