Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread

60 odd years Doggies supporters waited. We are 24 years. This rebuild believe it or not is exactly what we had to do and it will pay off. If you can"t see it or wait I can't help you.
you dig it the most, batty.......

60 odd years Doggies supporters waited. We are 24 years. This rebuild believe it or not is exactly what we had to do and it will pay off. If you can"t see it or wait I can't help you.

Dees supporters have been waiting since 1964, Saints supporters have been waiting since 1966.

Correct me if I'm wrong but we tried to recruit Rockliff and Shiel over recent seasons as mature mids.

It's not that were not trying to get senior bodies in, its just that we have to convince them to come.

One semi-positive thing from Gerard Healy last night when dissecting the Blues with Caro on 3AW. They were both of the opinion that SOS had cut the list too hard and now paying the price.

However, Gerard finished by saying the Carlton list obviously had some great young talent and if they had a couple of bigger bodied, more experienced mids they would be "rocketing up the ladder".

Mate, you can't even gather my point in pretty straight forward posts, so I'll probably refrain from bookmarking anything you post.

It's painful that I have to explain this, but being too tall is just one aspect of the game plan that doesn't seem to be bearing any fruit at the moment - of course, like everything, there is a a multitude of reasons why the game plan isn't clicking at the moment - I just picked out one of the more glaring issues as a point of discussion.

You and many others think it is a glaring issue, while many others don't. There is no evidence what so ever to suggest there is the perfect size and shape of a team. Dogs won a flag with a smallish setup, while Tigers had a tall backline and WC went with traditional talls at both ends.

But you keep following the crowd

You and many others think it is a glaring issue, while many others don't. There is no evidence what so ever to suggest there is the perfect size and shape of a team. Dogs won a flag with a smallish setup, while Tigers had a tall backline and WC went with traditional talls at both ends.

But you keep following the crowd

One thing that all three had were superb midfields.

It's painful that I have to explain this, but being too tall is just one aspect of the game plan that doesn't seem to be bearing any fruit at the moment - of course, like everything, there is a a multitude of reasons why the game plan isn't clicking at the moment - I just picked out one of the more glaring issues as a point of discussion.
Only one reason as far as I am concerned. The players arent executing it. They kick it to the opposition too many times when under pressure either directly or in their favour when its a loose kick. Handball also but nowhere near as much. The terrible kicking has been a blight on the club a long time and long before Bolton arrived. Through a succesion of coaches. They kick it good when we get in front score wise. Thats tall players and not tall players.
Why ?
That I have no answer for.
To say tall is a cause of failure is just wrong in my opinion.

One semi-positive thing from Gerard Healy last nigh when dissecting the Blues with Caro on 3AW. They were both of the opinion that SOS had cut the list too hard and now paying the price.

However, Gerard finished by saying the Carlton list obviously had some great young talent and if they had a couple of bigger bodied, more experienced mids they would be "rocketing up the ladder".
******* sick of the media nuffies banging on over the mechanics of our rebuild. SOS cut too hard my backside. Look at the list 2014/2015 and tell me who was cut that shouldn't have been, and who we could have kept to give senior support during the rebuild?
Walker - cooked
Carrazzo - cooked
Judd - cooked
McLean maybe could have stayed a year or two, but would be well and truly cooked now
Robinson - discipline (also not SOS)
Garlett - see Robinson
Waite - MM dismissal
it goes on Bell (home, personal), Ellard, White, Armfield, Buckley, Jaksch, Whiley, Tutt, Boekhorst, DVR, Brad Walsh, Lucas
Marginal credence with conditional Everitt, Hendersook, Graham,
Menzel and Yarran brought us more than they produced subsequent to trade.
Solid player Holman had off field issues at the time, Gowers admits to not giving enough effort during his time with us.
Only leaves Tuohy as a calculated trade we could have kept. Couldn't envisage Doc going down and defensive small/mediums were covered.
….....and Gibbs who wanted out for family reason and brought us plenty of draft options.

We, especially SOS and Bolts are easy marks for the media grandstanders. Free agents wont come, high profile trades almost impossible, getting
McGovern and Setterfield along with Newman was impressive trading.

We are being forced through the rebuild, and there will be peaks and troughs with a young team all but devoid of senior minders and mentors. We will
definitely come out the other side stronger, but this year and possibly next will not be easy. Having said that we have the talent to bring some hurt to
a few other teams. The North game was an aberration, the Collingwood game was a monumental effort that took a toll physically, we then got GWS at
home after an atrocious performance at "the G". Excuse, no, reason, yes.

Hoping like hell the boys got through OK physically (especially Crippa), if they did, look out St Kilda. In the mean time the media can **** off.

******* sick of the media nuffies banging on over the mechanics of our rebuild. SOS cut too hard my backside. Look at the list 2014/2015 and tell me who was cut that shouldn't have been, and who we could have kept to give senior support during the rebuild?
Walker - cooked
Carrazzo - cooked
Judd - cooked
McLean maybe could have stayed a year or two, but would be well and truly cooked now
Robinson - discipline (also not SOS)
Garlett - see Robinson
Waite - MM dismissal
it goes on Bell (home, personal), Ellard, White, Armfield, Buckley, Jaksch, Whiley, Tutt, Boekhorst, DVR, Brad Walsh, Lucas
Marginal credence with conditional Everitt, Hendersook, Graham,
Menzel and Yarran brought us more than they produced subsequent to trade.
Solid player Holman had off field issues at the time, Gowers admits to not giving enough effort during his time with us.
Only leaves Tuohy as a calculated trade we could have kept. Couldn't envisage Doc going down and defensive small/mediums were covered.
….....and Gibbs who wanted out for family reason and brought us plenty of draft options.

We, especially SOS and Bolts are easy marks for the media grandstanders. Free agents wont come, high profile trades almost impossible, getting
McGovern and Setterfield along with Newman was impressive trading.

We are being forced through the rebuild, and there will be peaks and troughs with a young team all but devoid of senior minders and mentors. We will
definitely come out the other side stronger, but this year and possibly next will not be easy. Having said that we have the talent to bring some hurt to
a few other teams. The North game was an aberration, the Collingwood game was a monumental effort that took a toll physically, we then got GWS at
home after an atrocious performance at "the G". Excuse, no, reason, yes.

Hoping like hell the boys got through OK physically (especially Crippa), if they did, look out St Kilda. In the mean time the media can **** off.
Great stuff Coona......Big thumbs up :thumbsu:

I'm lucky that my son (2 in June) and daughter (2months old) aren't yet footy aware. I hope over the next few years as we become better that there love is solidified

I have for the want of a better word a “mate” who barracks for Collingwood who likes to exchange friendly text exchange “banter” before, during and after a Carlton -v- Collingwood game, and lets just say the exchange has been a little one way over the past few years :rolleyes: - however during last weeks game he was a little silent and only got lippy during the last 5 minutes of the game, and I didn’t mind telling him his late lip was a little gutless given our relative ladder positions - but then he proceeded to give it to me and then he cut me with one way below the belt texting me a picture of him and his kids after the 2010 Grand Final - knowing how much that would hurt that I haven’t been able to share the same joy with my kids, I don’t mind telling you that my youngest, when I told him wants to “punch his lights out” when he sees him next time, not that I encourage violence, but bless his little heart, my eldest is too much of a lady to respond in such a manner, but needless to say she wasn’t impressed.

For me nope dlb99 I distinctly remember being shattered. There wasnt pride at the time. Just empty gloom.
Went back to Princes Park and every single player came out one at a time to say sorry to the fans. Even Doull who was at that stage retired after the match.

That day is etched in the memory and we should have won it.

This week was horrible but hardly unsurprising nor the end of the world. You simply cant compare our under 23's of now with that Giant Carlton side then in terms of expectation. Yeah Hawks were a good unit but we were better and blew it. Got em the next year though.

We are on the right road I am sure...just hit a couple of potholes.
You just wish you could magically add another 40-50 games each to our players who are under 22 years of age. Our results would be so much better, but alas we can't do this, so we have to wait.

I like when Maclure talks Carlton, as i know he is a passionate Blues man and a former premiership player, i don't like everything he says but i thought he was on the money tonight, especially in regards to pressure acts.

To be ranked dead last in pressure acts is a pretty damming position to be in.

I agree. Especially when it was stated that we want to be defined by pressure last year.

To be honest though, the performances this year were nowhere near as frustrating as last year.

Until that Norf game...

Then bounce back against Pies and looked like we just had a mare against the Roos.

Then the GWS game happened...

I'm glad Cripps got the playing group together without any coaches. I reckon it will have done a world of good.

Don't want to say who, but some of these super talented kids, don't have any brains when it comes to their off field life style...