• Sydney Stack

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Liam Baker

Votes: 10 4.0%
  • Mabior Chol

Votes: 1 0.4%

It's more about picking the side for the most effective the ruck combination. With Chol and Nank, we have two ineffective tap ruckmen. With Soldo and one of them, we have one highly effective tap ruckman, and an 'around the ground' specialist. Currently Nank > Chol, so pick Soldo and Nank. I'm not writing Chol off and I'll forgive his last couple of weeks due to the wet, but we would be a far better side with Soldo in and him out.

Its an interesting one, I would keep Chol personally, but I am not 100% that I am right haha

The thing I love about our players is
You watch one of them make a mistake
A bad handball an errant kick, a missed tackle
Can almost guarantee that player will make up
For his mistake in the very next play
So inspiring instead of feeling sorry for themselves
They atone and react with such anger and determination
Love this

Also when one of our players does an inspirational
Act ,great smother or tackle or run down
All the back line players put there arms up kb style
And cheer at this act,, man the connection we have
As a team is un parraled,,, love it love it

This is quite poor of me but can someone enlighten me as to where Short has been playing? If it's on a wing, I'll live with him in the side, if it's down back then he can go.

i think he is playing back pocket / hbf - for all the short bashing, his kicking and skills is actually pretty important in creating offensive plays and moving the ball forward. number one in meters gained in the afl last season and sets up a fair bit currently

Its a shame because he is small weak maybe soft and not a great natural defender

Castagna is going no where! He is least of our problems.....(if we have any at all)...:)
Baker, short or ellis are the 3 that could make way for dusty & cotch

Baker seems to be getting less bad as a defensive minded player

West Coast is a formidable outfit.
They have a three-pronged midfield of Gaff, Shuey and Yeo.
If we can negate two of those three, hit them hard early, we are in with a chance.
Step up Jack R and Gra-Gra.
Should be dry conditions.
The little fellas Bolton and Stack have been average in the wet, they relish running in dry conditions.

West Coast is a formidable outfit.
They have a three-pronged midfield of Gaff, Shuey and Yeo.
If we can negate two of those three, hit them hard early, we are in with a chance.
Step up Jack R and Gra-Gra.
Should be dry conditions.
The little fellas Bolton and Stack have been average in the wet, they relish running in dry conditions.

dont worry Ellis will have a blinder

True but dropping Ross or Graham might be problematic

They wont drop either, Graham was immense and its very obvious how highly the club rates Ross

A midfield of Dusty, Cotchin, Prestia, Lambert, Graham, Ross, Edwards, Bolton with Nank/Soldo/Chol rucking is very, very tasty.

Ross allows Martin to roam around more without us being a big midfielder down.

They wont drop either, Graham was immense and its very obvious how highly the club rates Ross

A midfield of Dusty, Cotchin, Prestia, Lambert, Graham, Ross, Edwards, Bolton with Nank/Soldo/Chol rucking is very, very tasty.

How do we fit them all in though? If we're to fit them all, then players like Caddy, Bolton and Baker will be in trouble.

If Baker goes, then Edwards has to play back and he's much cleaner and more damaging as a mid. Caddy's playing a very specific role out on the wing. Bolton is probably the one that is the most expendable, but his speed is quite damaging on ball and gives us a different look.

That midfield of ours then becomes a formidable problem for E-Gurls to counter!

I don't think they'll drop either.
Very true.
With Ross and Graham doing the grunt work and doing it well look for Cotch to come back and play half back.
What a luxury to have. Time to start protecting this bloke. Imagine Cotchy getting back to his 30+ possesions games with pin point passes a great decission making.

How do we fit them all in though? If we're to fit them all, then players like Caddy, Bolton and Baker will be in trouble.

If Baker goes, then Edwards has to play back and he's much cleaner and more damaging as a mid. Caddy's playing a very specific role out on the wing. Bolton is probably the one that is the most expendable, but his speed is quite damaging on ball and gives us a different look.
Let's play Cotchy back.

I think Stack might be in danger of being dropped this week, had a real stinker and didnt lay 1 tackle. I hope we dont drop him but hasnt really put in a strong case for him to stay this week either.

Chol has to give way for Soldo, we have a real chance to work over Hickey this week who isnt as quick as people like you to believe. If we hammer his body all game he will be spent IMO. Chol love the guy but has really struggled lately, we could bring Balta back but Id rather the 2 big fellas to work Hickey and Allen over this week.

Bolton had a stinker which is 2 weeks in a row now, not getting enough of the ball or making enough tackles to justify his place and that sucks because when he is on he could cause West Coast some serious headaches.

Baker had a poor game against Melbourne but 22 possessions against the Blues, probably an easy target to drop because of his size and thats probably a bit un fair on the bloke but we are up against a body hardened West Coast team this week and if he plays like he did against Melbourne it could actually cost us dearly.

Short - wont get dropped, not even sure why people even are thinking about it, maybe he suffers a little bit from the "Baker syndrome" too.

I wouldnt be making any more than 3 changes this week, you're walking a fine line when you make too many changes IMO

On reflection I'd go with:

Ins: Martin, Cotchin & Soldo

Outs: Chol, Bolton & Baker.

Lucky to survive another week but has had an outstanding season : Sydney Stack (lift your game young gun the business end of the season is here)

No!!! More damaging forward to set up plays, without bombing the ball forward, for macgovern to pick off!
Get that fecker out of his comfort zone!

Its a veryyyy tough call, i actually dont have an answer

On the chopping block for me are Short, Caddy, Chol, Bolton

I wouldnt drop Bolton though as he is a point of difference for us

FB: Vlastuin.....Grimes......Broad
HB: Stack.......Astbury......Houli
C: Ellis............Prestia......Edwards
HF: Lambert.....Lynch.......Graham
FF: Castagna....Riewoldt...Rioli

F: Soldo.....Cotchin......Martin

I:Nankervis......Caddy......Ross.....Bolton

In: Soldo, Cotchin, Martin
Out: Short, Chol, Baker

Wouldn't be surprised if Bolton is dropped after that 100m penalty. Dimma will be filthy about it. In that case leave Baker back and keep Stack forward. Reckon Stack looked better @ half back than he has forward.

Cotch playing HB is delicious......it'll allow Sheds to stay centre & HF.
Ross is a genuine talent and JG finding form is just what we need heading into september...
Ross, JG, prestia, lambo and Nank + dusty & cotch to rotate...wowza

Eagles getting the job done last 2 weeks that's all nothing to fancy had to shrug of blues to,but we need a big improvement on our second half showing way to many passengers yesterday.Skills need to be spot on to and less handball crap and to cute kicks or we could be in trouble.

Time to put Stack back to halfback no brainer there played his best footy. The forward line role is when need be.

I’ve said it on another thread, but we can take a “horses for courses” approach with our depth. Stack really poor in the wet yesterday and being at the game I was really surprised how well Baker was with the wet ball - really impressive. Soldo neutralises Grundy a couple of weeks ago - first time that’s happened in a long time. These are just a couple of examples.

We have the luxury of making selection decisions based on our opponent and conditions. And we can load up with our best squad to do this. I don’t think too many of the bottom 6-8 players are a lock - but we have so much flexibility it’s insane.

Think Stack wasn’t in a good headspace for most of the game.. one of the Navy flogs said something to him I reckon that cut deep, incited that little scuffle. Was sitting nearby and Stack just turned around and snapped at the guy. Very unusual for a kid who is always patting oppo players on the back, helping them up, even high fiving them and embracing after Oppo goals...

Eagles getting the job done last 2 weeks that's all nothing to fancy had to shrug of blues to,but we need a big improvement on our second half showing way to many passengers yesterday.Skills need to be spot on to and less handball crap and to cute kicks or we could be in trouble.

Time to put Stack back to halfback no brainer there played his best footy. The forward line role is when need be.

West Coast played Carlton under near perfect conditions, we played in terrible conditions yet final margins were similar, we are too harsh on our team sometimes.

I would also play Stack off half back / rotating through the midfield. The forwardline experiment needs to be shelved for the reminder of the season.

West Coast played Carlton under near perfect conditions, we played in terrible conditions yet final margins were similar, we are too harsh on our team sometimes.

I would also play Stack off half back / rotating through the midfield. The forwardline experiment needs to be shelved for the reminder of the season.
Yep I think Baker looked better as a forward and Stack looked better as a back.

Formidable outfit this mob our midfield will need to get on top because they don’t need a lot of inside 50s to hurt you on the scoreboard.
Yeo is the man we’ll need to pay very close attention to (Jack Graham) in the midfield he’s a serious talent and their barometer. Close his clearance work down and we are a big chance