Fremantle Under Longmuir

They were doing this under Lyon too. They haven’t lost any players over the off-season and have only brought in more young talent on top of the plethora of young guns already on their list.

Every team has been impacted by COVID. They’ve also had the added benefit of playing more home games than others.
We’ve lost our two key defenders for the year how would Carlton go with out weitering and docherty?
We have 6 players in my best 22 that are out for the year.
Plus Covid restrictions in his first year.
When we get some tall defenders back we can go direct without fear of turnover goals.
The games we’ve struggled the most this year has be against teams with tall forwards coincidence ?

They were doing this under Lyon too. They haven’t lost any players over the off-season and have only brought in more young talent on top of the plethora of young guns already on their list.

Every team has been impacted by COVID. They’ve also had the added benefit of playing more home games than others.
B hill and Ed Langdon moved on at the end of last year

Very sensitive mate - a bit of projecting, and a nice little insight into your own relationship with validating likes. A classic case of taking one aspect and overplaying it to the extreme.

There was never any hard contention in the thread premise, but quite simply Fremantle are still an overly defensive team who don’t score a whole lot and don’t create opportunities in no small part because of the way they play.
You just worry about your 10 year rebuild bud. 😂

yes, but also our forward set up sucks balls.

david Hale hasn’t given us any system, which is frustrating.
confusing as Longmuir was a very smart forward/ruck himself
They have to work within a system. Overall Longmuir may have been a great forward coach, however hes undoing a lot of work and new systems. Its not often always the libe coaches issues, as i rate Hale as one one the smartest forwards as athletically he was a spud ans got far because he was just a brilliant minded footballer.

Plus Freo with Lyon/club culture was always struggling to attract top assistant coaches. Due to not paying as highly as GC/WCE/Adelaide to move that far away. Lions also delt with these issues. Daresay within the last 2 years it would be a much more attractive place to land.

Genuine spirit at Freo - reckon it looks like a team with great harmony - a far cry from how end of last year looked.

Dealt with more injuries than any other club - and finally got rid of the bloke who continues to exacerbate that problem.

Have unearthered another gun mid and have a future all star backline. The main challenge is whether they can be competitive enough to challenge whilst Fyfe and Walters are young enough.

Why was Hogan being trialled as a defender if the need for another forward alongside Taberner is so dire?
When Logue went down and Cox's hip was giving him grief Hogan spent a few weeks training there just incase he became our only option! the system then fell into place with the small defense and it was shelved as it was no longer necessary.

Precisely. Still have too many handy players who give their all but butcher it. The 2020 Dockers are tying to move the ball quicker but skills are making that hard. Also, as many have mentioned, the forward line is quite poor. Matera's loss of form has been significant.

Realistically, Freo are exactly where they should be on the ladder with the list. Reasonably good best 22 with limited depth beyond that. The positives of Longmuir's tenure has been the treatment of the younger/newer players. You've had to earn a spot on form and you will be given a few games to show yourself (e.g. Frederick/Schutlz). Felt Ross chopped and changed on the young players who as a result didn't get enough of a chance at the top level. We're probably behind Gold Coast and Carlton in our rebuild, but some good drafting and recruiting (on field and off) and 2022 could maybe be the start of something.
we've had 0 support from the league too unlike these teams, everything achieved has come from us only

Fremantle 2019 = 3rd last for points scored

Fremantle 2020 = 2nd last for points scored

Is this the kind of positive progression we’re referring to?

If you supported any other team than Carlton i would have wisely chosen to ignore this comment... but.

bigstock-Laughing-out-loud-young-man-fa-108266420_600x600@2x.jpg

I ******* swear to god if Y'all keep refusing to understand supply and midfield execution has got much more to do with scoring them some big key forward "Clunking marks"
yeah but also... Longmuir loves going to the boundary and the inevitable punch out of bounds and ball-in. which just means any 'possession keeping' with your backmen is just a waste of 180 seconds.

it's a very slow, lethargic game plan. don't get it.

and the fact is, even with an 'improved' Matt Taberner, Freo just do not kick enough goals. they were a few minutes away from scoring one goal for an entire game – Geelong had to play in the wet too!

yeah but also... Longmuir loves going to the boundary and the inevitable punch out of bounds and ball-in. which just means any 'possession keeping' with your backmen is just a waste of 180 seconds.

it's a very slow, lethargic game plan. don't get it.

and the fact is, even with an 'improved' Matt Taberner, Freo just do not kick enough goals. they were a few minutes away from scoring one goal for an entire game – Geelong had to play in the wet too!
Exciting to watch

At some point they need to take the game on and attack. Hopefully for them thats the 2020 off-season focus because otherwise they've found another Ross Lyon.
if you have 5 minutes to spare, watch the first 5 of the JL presser from today. Very honest in his assessment of the team, while I obviously cant say if he will fix the forwardline connection, he knows its an issue and wants to fix it - far cry from Lyon. Only so many things a new coach can change in his first year, with restricted training

...The main challenge is whether they can be competitive enough to challenge whilst Fyfe and Walters are young enough.
Walters' form has fallen off a cliff. He's barely best 22 material at the moment. Can't find the footy, unable to stick tackles and hasn't looked interested. Could be a decent trade for Freo to a team in contention...

if you have 5 minutes to spare, watch the first 5 of the JL presser from today. Very honest in his assessment of the team, while I obviously cant say if he will fix the forwardline connection, he knows its an issue and wants to fix it - far cry from Lyon. Only so many things a new coach can change in his first year, with restricted training
That's fair

Walters' form has fallen off a cliff. He's barely best 22 material at the moment. Can't find the footy, unable to stick tackles and hasn't looked interested. Could be a decent trade for Freo to a team in contention...

He's had 2 games (non-consecutive) this year under 18 disposals, and his tackling numbers match his career average...

You're picking a trend off of his most recent performance.

I reckon another big tick to Longmuir last night. Were right in it up until the 4th quarter. His answers in the presser were very honest and he's not putting up smoke and mirrors when he answers questions. We feel a bit like Brisbane a couple of years ago. Playing good footy with no wins. Defense and mids are coming on well, just need some unity in the forward line, but that's been a Freo issue for most of this decade.

4 day break. His team brought plenty of intent for a bunch of kids.
He is building something decent ..

Such a different personality to Ross..
All the players seem to have his back.

Nah. He is just adjusting to a team that is not so reliant on fyfe & himself.
He will get up.
And he irreplaceable in the leadership group.

Three games left. Will beat North; Melbourne & Bulldogs winnable. Still, at this stage I'd say they haven't had as good a season as 2019.

Last year they beat three preliminary finalists (GWS, Collingwood, Geelong), plus Brisbane, as the younger team. In 2020 they've been the younger team in 11 of 14 games but have only beaten Collingwood of note (Hawthorn and Adelaide the others).

The makeshift defence has held up admirably (#5 in the comp) but their anemic scoring is a major concern. I dunno... just felt Freo had more potential last year and have looked a bit limited in 2020. Their effort is first rate but they are a very hard team to watch.

I think Fremantle will flourish. They have already established a game style. Back line is solid, cox is suprise and hamling still to come. Midfield stacked with talent serong the best of the lot. Need to find a strong forward tabanner has been good this year but set shots and injuries are still an issue. Fremantle tried to rectify this by trading for hogan and mcarthy but this hasn’t worked out so far. Should draft a forward this year and keep adding more players in the years and are set. Peter bell has done a great job. I’m pretty bullish on Fremantle