Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS and Changes for R3 vs St Kilda

Best vs Giants

He was BOG or close to it. Round 1 the entire midfield was pretty shite, so why was Cotch the scapegoat? Just so no-one is disappointed here js what to expect from Cotch in 2022: 15-25 touches, half of them contested. A few clearances. A few tackles. The occasional goal. A handful of opponent smashings. 80% game time.

Here is what not to expect: BOG every week. Great spread from stoppages. Lots of link up through the middle or wings. Filling defensive holes in our zone.

Ok…. now you know can we please avoid the melting every time we lose about Cotchin’s role and expectations on the great man.

Never said I want him to be near BOG every week, what I said is I want to see him playing in the same manner he was yesterday as opposed to the ineffective and non impactful way he played R1 and I'm sure the match committee share a similar point of view. If he isn't then we're wasting a spot carrying a soon to be retired Cotchin for the season, when his spot could be used getting game time into some kids.

We all demand that anyone who gets picked in the 22 has an impact on the game and if they aren't we call for their heads, Cotchin should be treated no differently, otherwise you're setting double standards in regards to selection and when that happens, that is when trouble starts within the group.

GWS have been in the comp long enough, they’ve played plenty of big finals and they’ve got star players everywhere. So to serve up such an insipid performance tells me plenty about that footy club.
Easy out is to blame Cameron but it’s much deeper than that. No one cares. They are soulless.
I could go on but one theory is that locked away up there they don’t get the scrutiny and therefore the heat put on them to perform. They are making plenty of money but have no passion for each other. Our supporter base and the media would go bananas if the Tiges dished up that crap.
They do this regularly and it’s bad for the game. There was no atmosphere, no booing, no scuffles…nuthin. Our heavily depleted team bought some heat to the game and had these imposters covered…early.
Fold them.
A bunch of I's in the side.
No substance
No success

At the game yesterday and was impressed. The number of times we had three players in the back 6 with fewer than 10 games, yet they all stood up. There’ll be ups and downs with youngsters but they were great.

It’s the vision for the future that was most heartwarming. A spine of Gibcus, Miller, Balta and Lynch for the next four years gives you a lot to build on. Dow was impressive and Bolton still improving so the midfield is developing.

I could be accused of being a doubter for this year. Flags are really won by teams with a good spine (which we have - the Leigh Matthews theory) and three A grade midfielders in the 23-28 age bracket - when they’re at their most explosive and can dominate. It’s hard to find a team take the chokkies without these guns in the middle. We’ve got aging players with recurrent injury issues and they’ve dropped a yard of pace. Everything would have to go perfectly well at the pointy end for us to take it - and it would be brilliant. I wish that as much as we all do here - but a tinge of realism is at the back of my mind.

But watching the future yesterday gave a really different form of satisfaction I haven’t really felt since 2012-2013ish. Watching great kids have a crack and succeed is exciting and quietly reassuring.

And the poster above who said Marlion BOG - couldn’t agree more. The thing that stood out at the game was his sheer will and effort to create a contest and carnage. The hit on Himmelberg was right in front of us and it was huge. He was a wrecking ball, fearless and GWS knew it.
Reckon it was Pickett's best game for us.

Never said I want him to be near BOG every week, what I said is I want to see him playing in the same manner he was yesterday as opposed to the ineffective and non impactful way he played R1 and I'm sure the match committee share a similar point of view. If he isn't then we're wasting a spot carrying a soon to be retired Cotchin for the season, when his spot could be used getting game time into some kids.

We all demand that anyone who gets picked in the 22 has an impact on the game and if they aren't we call for their heads, Cotchin should be treated no differently, otherwise you're setting double standards in regards to selection and when that happens, that is when trouble starts within the group.
Confirmed.
Your part of the very short memory brigade.

You have no problem people disrespecting our former Captain who has given so much to us since he arrived?
We all know the end is nigh for Trent and should be celebrated that way not ridiculed.
Even some comments about Dusty stepping away was jaw dropping.
I have no problem with people having differing opinions on any subject but the potting of 2 of our greats over the past week was way out of line.
You know what I believe is disrespectful regarding Cotchin, the belief that because of all that he's done he gets a free pass through this season. Trent set the standards for the team when he took overv as captain, where it became more about the team rather than the individuals and now in possibly his final season that should be removed from the selection process.

I'm fairly sure that the last thing Trent would want is to be carried to the end of his career, but would instead like to go out knowing he left nothing in the tank, the same way Richo went out when he played the final year on the wing when he had every right to say stuff it I'm staying at FF as I've earned it.

Yep those comments from Dimma were really interesting because they were clearly directed at Jack, given Martin, Grimes & Prestia are locks for R3 if available. Clarkson did it with Roughead, I think yesterday we saw our future forward line, the Lynch & Balta combo looks superb. The question is will Jack just retire rather than play VFL?
It depends if Jack R ends up playing a different role/position

He was BOG or close to it. Round 1 the entire midfield was pretty shite, so why was Cotch the scapegoat? Just so no-one is disappointed here js what to expect from Cotch in 2022: 15-25 touches, half of them contested. A few clearances. A few tackles. The occasional goal. A handful of opponent smashings. 80% game time.

Here is what not to expect: BOG every week. Great spread from stoppages. Lots of link up through the middle or wings. Filling defensive holes in our zone.

Ok…. now you know can we please avoid the melting every time we lose about Cotchin’s role and expectations on the great man.

I can probably see us resting Cotch in spells if some of our younger midfielders step up. He will still be a key part of our team, just we play him when he is 100%. I think last year he was carrying injuries for most of the season

Confirmed.
Your part of the very short memory brigade.
You really think Trent wants to be treated differently to the rest of the list when it comes to holding his spot.
He's on the Gws poll.
Just like your selection requirements I guess there's double standards when it comes to respecting our players as well

What the opposition sees when Shai Bolton has the ball

1648426009297.gif

You know what I believe is disrespectful regarding Cotchin, the belief that because of all that he's done he gets a free pass through this season. Trent set the standards for the team when he took overv as captain, where it became more about the team rather than the individuals and now in possibly his final season that should be removed from the selection process.

I'm fairly sure that the last thing Trent would want is to be carried to the end of his career, but would instead like to go out knowing he left nothing in the tank, the same way Richo went out when he played the final year on the wing when he had every right to say stuff it I'm staying at FF as I've earned it.
So it would've been ok for Richo to say stuff it I'm putting myself first but not Cotch.
Yeah ok.

Grimes for Miller

If Dusty is available it will be for Dow/Ross.

If Jack is available I’m not sure who goes out. Parker is everything Jack isn’t. Quick across the ground, tackles, accountable to his defender.

And the Balta/Lynch combo looked good with Tom playing deep forward. Another tall in there could upset the balance.

I think we are persisting with two rucks as well so no room for Balta to chop out the single ruckman.

Tough selection this week.

the small crowd felt Ike the olden days (pre 2016)
echoes round the ground

The crowd was not too bad considering. As a comparison … Round 8 2019, Hawks v GWS at MCG in 3.20pm graveyard time slot ….. 14,636.

2019 Pies v Gold Coast in Round 20 of 2019 when Pies were competing for top-4, 33,000.

So after a poor loss in round 1, a bunch of stars missing, checking vaccination status (15-20% of population are not double vaxxed) etc…. 28,000 stacks up very well on most measures.

Just like your selection requirements I guess there's double standards when it comes to respecting our players as well
Respect any player who puts on our great jumper.
But others are of a higher standard and should be treated that way.
But according to you Cotch is as good as player #40 on our list.
Just keep digging that hole.

Grimes for Miller

If Dusty is available it will be for Dow/Ross.

If Jack is available I’m not sure who goes out. Parker is everything Jack isn’t. Quick across the ground, tackles, accountable to his defender.

And the Balta/Lynch combo looked good with Tom playing deep forward. Another tall in there could upset the balance.

I think we are persisting with two rucks as well so no room for Balta to chop out the single ruckman.

Tough selection this week.
Not sure how bad Dows injury is, but hope he keeps his spot if available. Far better midfield prospect than Ross imo.

So it would've been ok for Richo to say stuff it I'm putting myself first but not Cotch.
Yeah ok.
Richo always put what was best for the team first and along the way nearly stole a Brownlow, when he could have said my body is rooted and I'd rather stay inside F50.

Trent is in the same class, in that he set the standard that the team comes first rather than the individual so I don't see why he would change now, except for the fact that some supporters want him to be treated differently. They're seeminghapoy to have Trent's legacy tarnished by people being able to say, yeah he was a 3 time premiership captain but in his last year the Tigers carried him through the season even though he wasn't having much of an impact.

Respect any player who puts on our great jumper.
But others are of a higher standard and should be treated that way.
But according to you Cotch is as good as player #40 on our list.
Just keep digging that hole.
Therein lies the problem, when you start holding players to different standards you create different levels within the playing group. Our success was built around every player being held to the same standard whether they were a star or a role player.

Castagna is a great example, not the best player on our list, but is a 3 time premiership player ahead of some more talented players because he played at the level required every week, whereas the more talented players didn't.

reckon there would be a few pseudonyms to add to your list too (Fake Frankies that support other teams)
Surely no one would be that pathetic!!!
I had Broady in my best 3 or 4 yesterday, thought he was outstanding whether defending or attacking.
First half in particular did not put a foot wrong , was regularly 3rd man up and great run/carry from hb.
Reckon he took it to a new level with Grimes out
I had him in my best one on the ground 👍