List Mgmt. 2022 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals: Kinnear & Dalrymple - we march to no drum but our own!

He had a very good H&A season and deserved a place on the bench in the AA team imo, but his finals series left a lot to be desired. He maintained his excellent defensive pressure and tackling but his offensive output wasn't what we needed. He also appeared jittery to me. I commented on it early in both the PF against Collingwood and against the Cats in the GF to those I was sitting with but he was fumbling and appeared a touch off in his general reactivity around the ground more than he normally does imo.

He's an excellent player and I'll back him to bounce back next finals series as he has played well in previous big finals, but he'd want to have another go at this year's finals series.
Yeah nah!
Making a comparison to Curnow who everyone J.z.s over.
He had a very, very, very......................poor finals series.

I still reckon he suffered an injury from the May hit to his face against Melbourne. Wasn’t the same after that throughout the rest of the finals series.
I suspect injury might be at play, but the ankle is more likely.

There's been a few recent seasons where Heeney has been on fire early, but tailed off late in the year. If the ankle is chronic, that'd explain it.

I am one of Heeney's biggest advocates on here but his finals stunk lol.

It was a weird finals series in a way as it felt like there was a surprisingly large number of players for us who just didn't really have much of an impact overall across the entire series... and yet we made the GF.
We only played a game and a half

Honestly if we managed Heeney to only play 15 games but he still kicks 45 goals I'd take it over breaking him down over the course of a year

Horse loves his ability to carry injury so that ain’t a happening thing.

He didn't do his acl it was a pcl

Usually I would not be looking ahead to our best 22 for next year, but since we were grand finalists, we were inactive during the trade period, and we're unable to see any of next month's draftees in our best side, I think it's safe to assume we already know what our best team will be next year.

Fox Footy have had their go and it's basically spot on:

SYDNEY SWANS

B:
Dane Rampe, Tom McCartin, Paddy McCartin

HB: Nick Blakey, Robbie Fox, Jake Lloyd

C: Dylan Stephens, Callum Mills, Justin McInerney

HF: Isaac Heeney, Sam Reid, Will Hayward

F: Tom Papley, Lance Franklin, Ryan Clarke

FOLL: Tom Hickey, James Rowbottom, Luke Parker

I/C: Chad Warner, Logan McDonald, Oliver Florent, Errol Gulden

In: Aaron Francis

Out: Josh Kennedy, Callum Sinclair

WE SAY: The team set to make the least changes for 2023, the Swans were fairly inactive during the trade period. The 2022 beaten grand finalists only acquired Aaron Francisfrom the Bombers – and he’s no certainty to walk into their starting line up. Logan McDonald looms as an interesting watch in 2023 after becoming the GF heartbreak tale when he was dropped to make way for Hayden McLean. But if Sam Reid’s fit, the need for McLean as a back-up ruck lessens.

^ of the above names I'd say Stephens, Clarke and McDonald's spots are the ones most at risk, though you'd imagine it'd also be their spots to lose. And of course, injuries can change things.
But this is the draft thread ?

Nobody is untradeable for the right price Heeney falls into that category imo.

Example would you trade him for a Curnow? Naughton? or perhaps a Oliver or Sam Taylor?

All hypothetical of course as we will never trade him.

Have another read of my (deadpan but clearly not as funny as I thought it would be) post 😀

I’m pretty sure Caesar wasn’t referring to The Cleaner when he was talking captain potential 🤣🤣🤣
Gee's Louise of course, went straight over my big dumb head!
buffalo sabres ugh GIF by NHL on NBC Sports

Should be parked
I think he is not earning his money anymore. If I was Richmond I would have been happy to trade him. He is jaded. Plays half a season, then not fit, not just not match fit, just not at all fit. He has been a great player, a finals winner. But I think he no longer has the passion or drive.

On JAT-L29 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Your post stuck in my mind. It was in mind over the last few days so I had to go back and reply properly.
1. Agree we got a mature KPD. tick
2. I agree on Keeler. From what I have read he seems more forward than ruck. An ideal partner age wise for McDonald. Helps he can ruck to maybe forward. Also a Reid replacement.
3. Draft a ruck. I think we need two additional rucks. Could rookie a ruck this year. We have Hickey, Reid, Ladhams, McAndrew plus Amartey and also McLean. Hickey and Reid have a use by date. Rucks take time. That leaves Ladhams and McAndrew plus part timers next year. Not good. A rookie ruck brought in this year I think is essential. Another mature ruck either this year or next. If Ladhams goes down next year we have just part timers or rookies.
4. Cat B. Whoever they reckon.
5. If next year is a better draft happy to trade this years for next. A mid this year though would be good. I have read Dalymple likes competition in the mids. Hustwaite at 188cm looks enticing.

I think we will do what we always do. Take best available. If Elijiah Hewett is available we would be crazy not to take the hardened mid. From WA he had 29 against Vic Metro. He played most of the season for Swan Districts, in the Seniors, averaging 16 disposals at mainly HF. But is an inside mid.

On JAT-L29 using BigFooty.com mobile app