List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

Cowan is our best get at his pick but overall, our strategy baffles me. Playing it ultra safe the one moment then speculating wildly the next. Will Cowan develop into something more important to our structure than a not so quick HPF? If we think we desperately need more run, what makes Binns a better bet than Hotton? Is Lemmey's level of upside really that good because he looks totally disinterested. I would have preferred we split the Binns pick, TBH.
team of professional people spending year after year assessing players for a living ......against a random supporter throwing rocks into a pond.........yeah nah

If you're praising what is historically the worst recruiting team in the AFL, while bagging out us, maybe you should possibly reconsider your opinions.

Just a thought.
Depending on the decade, that could be half the league... Saints haven't been recruiting poorly lately, just in the same boat as us in terms of what they want to do with the list.
Is Keeler the ruckman zoned to Adelaide academy?
Apparently they declined.
Here's an alternative point of view:
-They selected with pick 10 a player that was projected to go 10-15, because he's a massive flog and very inconsistent, but got people excited because noted recruiting geniuses Essendon became interested with pick 4.
-They picked up a tall athlete with mediocre on field performance with pick 31
-They selected a player projected to go 15-30 with pick 35. Not a massive slide in an even draft. A guy who plays a bit forward, a bit in the middle but does neither particularly well.
- They picked a club linked key forward with pick 44. A player whose linked club has a terrible list but still thought he was too s**t to take the last spot on their list even though he was totally free at that point.

Who will be right? Only time will tell.
IMO our haul could have easily been Hewett, Clarke, Keeler and Lemmey while throwing less valuable future picks on the table for what seems to be a strong draft next year.

A good point. People were doing virtual high fives, air kisses, and the whole works in here after the Matthew Watson draft. Full points to anyone who can name the talls we took in that draft (without doing a Google search). We supposedly smashed it.
Screenshot_20221129_233839.jpg

And it was Watson, McCarthy, Mitchell, McInnes...in that order.

Our list management team and scouts will do their due diligence with these players, even if we picked Binns a bit higher up the order at 32, there’s something there the team likes about him as does Vossy. Back them in to make a good call and to trade out F2 2023 for both Binns and Cowan. Having Hollands in the bag last night already, and adding another youngster with running power and some very good performances this year, as well as combine testing results, it’s worth the punt. Especially after LOB and Cotters have shown improvement in their ability to play senior footy.

I like our mix that we got in and addressed a key list deficiency. Cowan looks a steal and has so much time on the ball in his highlights package. Lemmey seems to have the talent and once again can pay dividends surrounded by our talented KPPs. Bounce the ball ffs

View attachment 1564399

And it was Watson, McCarthy, Mitchell, McInnes...in that order.
Duigan at pick 70 was the greatest of that crop. I was actually pumped with who we selected and thought Luke Mitchell was going to be a gun full forward

Pragmatic draft selections addressed our need for outside run and and a little toughness too, like Lemmy 202cm forward that presents strongly and kicks well, if he develops to potential it will be a massive win.
Well done Nick Austin and team, very happy with the outcome.
We are gonna groom him to play down back ..not as a forward

Sent from my moto e(7) using Tapatalk

Cowan is our best get at his pick but overall, our strategy baffles me. Playing it ultra safe the one moment then speculating wildly the next. Will Cowan develop into something more important to our structure than a not so quick HPF? If we think we desperately need more run, what makes Binns a better bet than Hotton? Is Lemmey's level of upside really that good because he looks totally disinterested. I would have preferred we split the Binns pick, TBH.
Cowan one of the highest metres gained run and carry players in the draft not so quick... Binns arguably the best runner in the crop and very fast too not going to add more run... Lemmey who was meant to be a top 5 pick heading into the year and was picked purely on potential upside doesn't have much upside...

Think I'll stick with the recruiting teams opinions on this one

We've gone hard at addressing our lack of run and outside mids this off-season. And for good reason.

But is anyone else getting '2010 trying to address our dearth of talls in one go' vibes? Or is it just me?
Inb4 Thy says 'Omg, totally...

...it's just you!'

A good point. People were doing virtual high fives, air kisses, and the whole works in here after the Matthew Watson draft. Full points to anyone who can name the talls we took in that draft (without doing a Google search). We supposedly smashed it.
Matt Watson
Patrick McCarthy
Luke Mitchell
Andrew McInnes

I think the rookie had Josh Donaldson

Surely that's just sensible risk management? Some safer options to guarantee a decent return plus something a bit more speculative that could turn into an outsized gain. One might almost call it a balanced portfolio.

poster believes experienced list management crew go into draft night and are thrown into "speculating wildly" because something..........even worse, said crew didn't confer with poster before selections..............

Schizophrenic choices on our part, Saints played it perfectly and killed it. I wish we'd learm.

Time will tell but what the Saints just managed is the best tactical drafting I've seen, especially given the relatively limited picks they had and the fact that it wasn't a deep draft.

Why should I give a figg what their draft history is like, don't know, don't care. It would be disingenuous for that to influence my opinion on what they managed in the last two nights. They killed it. At any rate, let's not call the kettle black.

Ha ha. So here we are on draft night and surprise surprise, here you are with your negative and borderline incoherent take on our drafting.

Sorry, but this is shit-posting at its absolute worst, and frankly it's well past the time to do something about it.

I asked you a few weeks back to contribute - for once - by naming who you'd be happy with us taking. That way at least you'd perhaps come across as somewhat credible and not just a whinger for the sake of whinging. You gave us 3 names for our first pick, and ignored reminders that we're drafting beyond that.

I knew why you ignored it but didn't call you out at the time. Now I will - it's obviously because you didn't want to compromise your regular position that we've drafted poorly and without strategy, which is obviously complete and utter garbage.

The game is up mate. You've made it clear and certain for all of us that you have nothing and contribute nothing other than continuous negative and generally nonsensical crap.

One final warning. Do better or be gone. I'm aware I am just delaying the inevitable, but I'll give you one last opportunity to cut the crap.

Enough is enough.

Schizophrenic choices on our part, Saints played it perfectly and killed it. I wish we'd learm.
Learn what? How to leapfrog the pick before ours? Sure they had great picks because they had the pick before ours ffs. Austin did an excellent job with what was left at our pick, even trading up for Cowan without selling the farm.
Be realistic dude.

We are gonna groom him to play down back ..not as a forward

Sent from my moto e(7) using Tapatalk
Harry has good footy IQ, natural ability and athleticism to play either end, let’s how he develops. He’s kicking is fine too , so will be a versatile & flexible tall, in 3 or 4 years, he play wherever need most.

I want to commend Austin for getting a back up Harry and adding further depth to our fringe Lachie contingent.

But is anyone else getting '2010 trying to address our dearth of talls in one go' vibes? Or is it just me?
It’s a bit odd. Almost looks like Voss has spat the dummy and said “I’m NEVER playing LOB, Newnes or Cotts again. Delist them or offer them minimum contracts and then draft every single ****ing winger in the draft. All of rhem!!!!! Oh and get me Blake Acres. I’m not doing one on ones with LOB or Cotts any more. Tell them to stay the **** away from Charlie, Walshie and Crippa at training.”

😁

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft