Game Day Pie v Pie Intraclub - Wed Feb 14th. 4:30-6pm @ AIA. Streaming via Collingwood app or website.

Glad it's not just me. I went around in circles, testing the photos for a link, for 20 minutes, for not the first time on the club site. Why not show some respect for fans and give an obvious link instead of concealing it in a photo or whatever? Seems at times the club doesn't care enough about the fans who would lie down in front of a moving steam roller to help it achieve success.

I think that’s a bit rough on the club Grundy. I personally don’t expect a live feed of the intraclub and saw it as a bonus. I thought it was easy to find. Feed was ok. Commentary and interviews with Jason Bennett in the drivers seat was much better than expected.

The club has been exceptional with fans since fly has been coach. Very grateful to be a pies fan in this era.

There is always room for improvement but I reckon the cfc is doing a bloody good job in all departments at the moment. Especially when it comes to fan engagement.

Some of my takes from the game.

1. Fin looked fantastic. Not just because of how much he racked up the ball but in my mind I remembered him as a bit of a one paced player.
He actually showed a bit of zip around the ground.

2. TheGreatGrundy not being able to scroll down one frame on the website to see the "play" icon. I was pissing myself laughing at his frustration. Sorry about that mate. If it was a real game I would of helped you out immediately but since it was just a praccy match I decided to just enjoy the moment.

3. I really enjoyed the commentary. Whoever that was needs to be given a gig at Fox Footy. I also really enjoyed the interviews with Lippa and Bolton. I know some have criticized the media dept but I thought they did a great job.
It's just a praccy game and to be able to watch it with decent camera work and commentary and interviews from the other side of the word was fantastic. I give them a thumbs up on this occasion.

4. Yes it was just a bruise free practice game that doesn't have much meaning, but as a Magpies supporter I was still thrilled to see the team that was made up of Collingwood players win the game.
Ugh. Who asked you for your opinion 😒

Love you babe

Great to hear from so many that Fin has gone to a new level this pre-season. I had been a doubter.

Whilst Fin’s progress sounds exciting, I still don’t see him lining up against GWS unless we suffer some more injuries. From our GF line-up, I see three changes for the GWS game:

OUT - Ginni, Frampton, Murphy
IN - Schultz, AJ/Krueger, Dean/Frampton

I also doubt Reef plays against GWS. Their backline is one of the best in the comp. He needs to return against softer opposition to build some confidence.

Lippa is too highly rated to lose his spot. He actually looks like he's improving. Edward has a long way to go and has plenty of competition in which others are probably ahead of him. Besides Schultz and barring injuries, most players will be biding their time in the VFL. I reckon Carmichael is way ahead of all of them for sheer impact. We will be expecting and wanting to go back to back , so expect basically the same side as last year
Was ready to chuck you a like until you said Carmichael is ahead of all of them 😆

Take it from me. Lippa will not last long with a couple of these guys banging at the door.
It's not that I don't like him.

Keep giving me all the dislikes you want. Just watch.
Lippa is a premiership player and I love him. Unfortunately he will be one of the first to make way for a De Mattia or Edward. Lots of others knocking at that door.
It's not a dislike mate it's a disagree. I like Edwards as well, but last years Lipinski was not at his usual output he will step up this year unless he gets an injury. More of a chance of WHE or Markov being pushed out.

Take it from me. Lippa will not last long with a couple of these guys banging at the door.
It's not that I don't like him.

Keep giving me all the dislikes you want. Just watch.
Lippa is a premiership player and I love him. Unfortunately he will be one of the first to make way for a De Mattia or Edward. Lots of others knocking at that door.
Firstly, Lippa was great yesterday. If he keeps that up he'll play a lot this year.

However, last year pace was a concern, as was decision making and he wasn't sticking tackles as would be expected consistently.

I'd agree with FJ that change is not only natural, but required when you get to the top. Talent needs to be refreshed.

If there are players knocking down the door, reputations cannot supercede performance.

I see WHE, Titch, Howe, Markov and Lippa all at risk of losing some playing time if the next wave steps up.

Perhaps it would just be to manage their workloads throughout the year, and they'd all still be picked for finals.

However, realistically, if Fin, Allan, DeMattia etc step up change will be inevitable at some point.

The best clubs know that sustained success is only achievable by continually refreshing the list.

I’ve been skeptical of Fin’s prospects as I don’t think his inside game will hold in the seniors to be that Mitchell/Adams grunt midfielder but if he gets his kinking game going I think he can be player. Only problem is he still has to push out some the best linkers in the comp.

brent-genie.gif

Lippa is too highly rated to lose his spot. He actually looks like he's improving. Edward has a long way to go and has plenty of competition in which others are probably ahead of him. Besides Schultz and barring injuries, most players will be biding their time in the VFL. I reckon Carmichael is way ahead of all of them for sheer impact. We will be expecting and wanting to go back to back , so expect basically the same side as last year
I tend to agree. It was effectively a training run, but Lipinski was close to if not BOG and Allan is not taking his spot anytime soon if last night is anything to go by. There’s something there it’s just not enough to take the spot of a locked in 15-20 possession HF/ mid who uses it forward of centre as well as Lipinski.

For Lippa and established players what they did last night is pretty irrelevent. Its great to see them fit and going but doesnt do anything re their spot in the team. It was a low pressure, run on type of game, well below a real AFL level game. Coming off a flag all the remaining players from the team are pretty assured of their spot. Frampton is probably 50:50. Maybe if JFN really outperforms Markov in the next two matches he could push him out as they are neck and neck anyway. Thats the only sort of change I see for round 1. Then there are a couple of free spots to decide.

Last night the winners are likely to be Sullivan confirming a spot on the list, Sof making a case and Finn saying put me into a starting spot against NM, I'm ready to show my best. But next week will be more serious than last night and the game against Richmond more serious again. Finn , Reef, Ed, HH etc have to keep presenting. A poor showing next week, if they have got a spot for NM makes whatever they did last night basically null and void. Its a challenge but flag teams are tough to crack. A few of these kids will do that this year though, maybe not round 1.

Reckon AJ has to get 1st crack at the forward possie if he has a reasonable next few weeks. He has shown clear talent at the level and with his strongest pre season by far he is ready to be permanent

For Lippa and established players what they did last night is pretty irrelevent. Its great to see them fit and going but doesnt do anything re their spot in the team. It was a low pressure, run on type of game, well below a real AFL level game. Coming off a flag all the remaining players from the team are pretty assured of their spot. Frampton is probably 50:50. Maybe if JFN really outperforms Markov in the next two matches he could push him out as they are neck and neck anyway. Thats the only sort of change I see for round 1. Then there are a couple of free spots to decide.

Last night the winners are likely to be Sullivan confirming a spot on the list, Sof making a case and Finn saying put me into a starting spot against NM, I'm ready to show my best. But next week will be more serious than last night and the game against Richmond more serious again. Finn , Reef, Ed, HH etc have to keep presenting. A poor showing next week, if they have got a spot for NM makes whatever they did last night basically null and void. Its a challenge but flag teams are tough to crack. A few of these kids will do that this year though, maybe not round 1.

Reckon AJ has to get 1st crack at the forward possie if he has a reasonable next few weeks. He has shown clear talent at the level and with his strongest pre season by far he is ready to be permanent
Add in the certainty that 1 or more of the current incumbents will cop an injury before Round Zero.

Some of my takes from the game.

1. Fin looked fantastic. Not just because of how much he racked up the ball but in my mind I remembered him as a bit of a one paced player.
He actually showed a bit of zip around the ground.

2. TheGreatGrundy not being able to scroll down one frame on the website to see the "play" icon. I was pissing myself laughing at his frustration. Sorry about that mate. If it was a real game I would of helped you out immediately but since it was just a praccy match I decided to just enjoy the moment.

3. I really enjoyed the commentary. Whoever that was needs to be given a gig at Fox Footy. I also really enjoyed the interviews with Lippa and Bolton. I know some have criticized the media dept but I thought they did a great job.
It's just a praccy game and to be able to watch it with decent camera work and commentary and interviews from the other side of the word was fantastic. I give them a thumbs up on this occasion.

4. Yes it was just a bruise free practice game that doesn't have much meaning, but as a Magpies supporter I was still thrilled to see the team that was made up of Collingwood players win the game.
I was obviously not given the same link as everyone else! I combed those 2 photos with the scrutiny a B29 bomber might have shown a map of Nagasaki in times gone by. I signalled in the thread for help which was forthcoming, two separate posters (not you) each generously donating a post, one with a digitally altered illustration, in successful efforts to guide me to the path of watchability, to which point, I enjoyed none.

ottoman, my dear faraway friend, I am certain that were you less engrossed in milking your own mirth with more merriment than it deserved, you would indeed, as you claim, have noted my plight and swooped to my aid.

I was obviously not given the same link as everyone else! I combed those 2 photos with the scrutiny a B52 bomber might have shown a map of Nagasaki in times gone by. I signalled in the thread for help which it was forthcoming, two separate posters (not you) each generously donating a post, one with a digitally altered illustration, in successful efforts to guide me to the path of watchability, to which point, I enjoyed none.

ottoman, my dear faraway friend, I am certain that were you engrossed in milking your own mirth with more merriment than it deserved, you would indeed, as you claim, have noted my plight and swooped to my aid.
B-29. B-52s came after WW2. Cmon TGG, weren't you alive then?

I tend to agree. It was effectively a training run, but Lipinski was close to if not BOG and Allan is not taking his spot anytime soon if last night is anything to go by. There’s something there it’s just not enough to take the spot of a locked in 15-20 possession HF/ mid who uses it forward of centre as well as Lipinski.
I reckon if we took a step back and just let some of these guys develop naturally in the VFL instead of trying to fast track them on BF, people might actually see we have serious developing depth. We have some quality waiting in the wings and they will be transitioned gradually this year. We just need patience

Sullivan and Teakle might get the nod given the comments by Leppitsch. Just trying to read between the lines. Sullivan has dominated at times according to Leppa and Hine has had his eye on Teakle for over a year. But I could be wrong! :)
During the call of the game, it was mentioned that Dekka had his eye on Teakle in the MSD that we took Begg (it was mentioned that Port took Teakle before us) - so there's been a long term interest in him.

I'm still sticking to Carmichael as the most likely player to make an instant impact when called to the seniors. Sofronidis looks to have the most upside of the SSP talls. His athleticism and reading of the play is a stand-out. Sullivan is just ready to go whenever he might be called upon. Fin looked really good but he will need to if he's going to be a regular inside mid. A lot to like in a fairly vanilla contest
has Carmichael's composure and disposal under pressure improved?
If not there's definitely no cause for optimism.

Game Day Pie v Pie Intraclub - Wed Feb 14th. 4:30-6pm @ AIA. Streaming via Collingwood app or website.