Autopsy Cats lose to Lions by 9 points.

He's always been like this unfortunately. It's not a new thing.

Living up in Sydney, I've attended more than my fair share of Giants games over the journey.

My mates and I used to joke before all of them that Cameron is either going to kick 6 today, or he's hardly going to touch the ball...and it happened every. single. time.

You notice it even more when you've got a cheeky bet on the game, as we often did back then (Gamble responsibly, ladies and gentlemen)

The only difference is at Geelong those "nothing games" are where he gets sucked up the field and ends up kick chasing, but it's the same premise.

He's either on the podium for BOG making it look easy, or he looks like a bumbling old man struggling to pick the ball up.

There's no inbetween with him. There never has been.

That's a bit harsh in my opinion.
Cameron is different to say Hawkins or any other great forward of their generation as he is the most agile of them all.
Opposition teams will often assign a player who can tag the best midfielder. He had Lester hanging off him all night. Lester is one of the best in the caper at it.

Cameron is the sole reason why we have returned to premiership contention because without him, we do not win in 2022 and we don't even make top four last year.

Early days I know but we have a lot of hot and cold players in this side. Real top tier teams have players that fight their way through tough patches. We have a number that seem to ‘check out’ when the dice don’t roll their way.

Very early days.
As is always the case, you want to be peaking later in the year. No doubt early wins are extremely beneficial but we don't quite look to be in sync at the minute. I think the win against Fremantle was exaggerated given how poorly Freo have played since then.
We have all of a sudden be dealt some cruel injury blows after a relatively clean bill of health over the preseason. Stewart, Kolodjashnij, Bruhn, Mannagh and now it could be Neale with an ankle injury.

Very hard loss, but…

Mullin - wow, the improvement over the space of a week. A majority on this board wanted his axed. I don’t know how this club does it but it happens repeatedly for our young players. A bad game followed by a very good one. The development team is outstanding.

Zac G - two one armed marks. Seriously underrated player in the competition.

COS - he’s going to be an absolute star.

SDK - I’m a bit worried about him. Doesn’t seem to enjoy the ruck and physical contact. Perhaps we find a different role for him? Not sure what that is?

Humphrey - another star in the making.

B. Smith - obviously a very good player but really needs to learn/ follow the game plan a little. Some very strange decisions in the second half. That kick across the ground, wtf?

Good to get a game into Clark, Closehy and Knevitt, against the reigning premier - upside is definitely there.

We were a young team without Stewart and missing a lot of experience.

If that was a final (injuries aside), we probably play - Stanley, Stewart, Kolo, Mannah, Duncan (yes, I would have him In - his experience is underrated).

On a side note, how bad was the commentary? So flat, boring and one sided.

That's what you get when you're calling off a TV screen at a studio in South Melbourne instead of being at the ground.

Early days I know but we have a lot of hot and cold players in this side. Real top tier teams have players that fight their way through tough patches. We have a number that seem to ‘check out’ when the dice don’t roll their way.
Absolutely! This is where the role of a leader like Selwood was immeasurable
Literally put the team on his back when needed

Last week's loss didn't hurt as much as this, since we threw away a match-winning lead.

A few have already mentioned the humidity and yeah, it was bad. I'm not surprised we couldn't run out the game, but...

Scott's talked about it's really hard to stop momentum these days with the 6-6-6 rule, and that's true. We saw it in the Freo game - goal, centre bounce clearance, goal, repeat.

But that's not how the Lions we're doing it. We were breaking even (or close to) with CBs and stoppages, but would turn it over on our HF line and watch them flick it down to the other end...over and over again.

That's not a momentum problem - that's a "midfield panic kicking" and "forwards not applying pressure even if they don't win the contest" problem/s.

That said, our midfield is a bit of a mess right now. Danger played mostly in the middle last night which feels like a concession from the coaching staff that we need him there, but that's the issue. Unless we throw Stewart into the midfield mix, we don't have the quality to compete against teams like Brisbane.

Kudos to our defenders, especially Zuth and Henry. COS and Mullin did well too. The amount of ball they had coming in during the second half, the margin could've easily been 5-6 goals. By contrast, I'm not sure we even had an I50 in the third quarter (maybe one?)

Neale had a shocker but I'd almost put money that ankle was hampering him. He's never been that non-competitive. Even if he's not taking marks he's making a contest but it looked like he wasn't really jumping at the ball, which made it easy for Payne.

Ollie Henry was an equal liability but without an excuse. He kicked a couple of goals last year in a much wetter affair but honestly, if he can't get on a lead and take a mark, he's a non-event.

Then you couple that with quiet games from Stengle, Dempsey, and Close (2.2 and 31 disposals between the 3 of them), Cameron doing what's becoming an all-too-common CBF act (8 touches for someone with the freedom to do whatever he wants is appalling - even if some of those were very classy), and our incredible forward line just evaporates.

I'm won't say much about SDK as enough has been said - but he did get a heavy knock in the second which might have shaken his already near-zero confidence.

One last point: fans of opposing teams who have this bizarre belief that we can just scoop up star after star due to "house/farm/land" freebies obviously don't pay attention to our team. How "star-studded" was our team this week? Holmes, Smith, Cameron (ha!), Stengle, and a 34-year-old Danger...we have less star power than most other teams pushing for a top 8 spot (Exhibit A: look at the Lions line-up compared to ours). But apparently we're the ones rooting the system? OK, rant over.

Very hard loss, but…

Mullin - wow, the improvement over the space of a week. A majority on this board wanted his axed. I don’t know how this club does it but it happens repeatedly for our young players. A bad game followed by a very good one. The development team is outstanding.

Zac G - two one armed marks. Seriously underrated player in the competition.

COS - he’s going to be an absolute star.

SDK - I’m a bit worried about him. Doesn’t seem to enjoy the ruck and physical contact. Perhaps we find a different role for him? Not sure what that is?

Humphrey - another star in the making.

B. Smith - obviously a very good player but really needs to learn/ follow the game plan a little. Some very strange decisions in the second half. That kick across the ground, wtf?

Good to get a game into Clark, Closehy and Knevitt, against the reigning premier - upside is definitely there.

We were a young team without Stewart and missing a lot of experience.

If that was a final (injuries aside), we probably play - Stanley, Stewart, Kolo, Mannah, Duncan (yes, I would have him In - his experience is underrated).

Clark reminds me of bartel at the same stage of their careers. If memory serves me correct, jimmy was close to being traded after first couple of years. However, there is many differences, Clark is at best a c grade afl footballer. He is too small for the midfield prototype, has poor skills and lets be honest in marginally better than parfitt. Put him back in the reserves for the rest of the year and if we cannot make finals by the last 3-4 rounds, play him in the seniors and hope like hell he plays well and trade him. De Koning in the ruck is not working, bring in Stanley next week against gawn and put de koning on ice for a week. Ins mannagh, Stanley, Stewart out de Koning, Clark, knevitt

Smith has been a great inclusion but after half time he butchered everything. 28%DE is horrible. Especially the 3rd quarter, turned everything over and they killed us on the rebound.

Zuthrie, O’Sullivan, JHenry, Holmes, Danger all good.

Stengle is a worry. Looks like he doesn’t want to be there atm.

And the Brisbane crowd once again showing their true colours booing danger as he came off with a busted face.

Must win next week.

I agree with the sentiment on here that we lack another quality mid. Been a big hole left with Selwood and Guthrie. Holmes is doing really well and Smith will slot in better with more time, I believe in Clark but it would be nice to draft a really solid young gun or trade in a big bodied accumulating mid.

Brisbane have been very lucky, got Dunkley for a steal and two 3 draft picks for free in the Ashcroft brothers after finishing 4th and 1st.

I know we were blessed with Ablett, Scarlett and Hawkins but they at least were after the club had poor years.

Would be good for us to get back on the f/s train and to get a free star midfielder in the next couple of years!

I know half the board were gunning for him but the way in which he was throwing himself at the contest is something that has been missing all along. Something clicked for him tonight. Was if he knew he was on thin ice and just went out and gave his all.
I think he did well when he played as a run-with-tagger at times last year so he isn't new to the midfield. I reckon he would be a better option than Stevens myself.
He still lacks a couple of major weapons in his arsenal - like consistency, the ability to find the football, reading the play.

He's played a good game tagging Cameron. Why not just let him build on that and keep playing on similar players for the rest of the year, then re-assess?

He's always been like this unfortunately. It's not a new thing.
Living up in Sydney, I've attended more than my fair share of Giants games over the journey.
My mates and I used to joke before all of them that Cameron is either going to kick 6 today, or he's hardly going to touch the ball...and it happened every. single. time.
You notice it even more when you've got a cheeky bet on the game, as we often did back then (Gamble responsibly, ladies and gentlemen)
The only difference is at Geelong those "nothing games" are where he gets sucked up the field and ends up kick chasing, but it's the same premise.
He's either on the podium for BOG making it look easy, or he looks like a bumbling old man struggling to pick the ball up.
There's no inbetween with him. There never has been.
Yep . One on my list of cats ‘disappearing’ players.
Let’s throw O.Henry, DeKoning, Stengle, Bowes, Dempsey in the rooster to feather duster crowd
Waiting in the wings are Stanley, Duncan and Guthrie C who also would be part of that group if they could get on the park. Bailey Smith has had long periods not disturbing the stat sheet while at the dogs…
Close and Miers (as much as I love them ) can go AWOL when the blowtorch comes out.
I have given the newer guys a pass, but there are some worrying signs there too.

Four games after the Prelim of '24, and we had seven different players in the team. Only 3 players with over 150 games under their belt. Brisbane? 10.

Brisbane had 19 uncontested marks in the first half. Forty in the third quarter alone.

That's alarming.

At the ground, most of the night he had a second player blocking his path. Whose player was it? Stuff knows. Though in 2 occasions in the third that took notice it was Cameron’s. Yet, Cameron was 20m away.

On iPhone using [emoji638]][emoji640][emoji6[emoji640][emoji637]]][emoji637][emoji6[emoji640][emoji637]][emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]]][emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji6[emoji640][emoji637]]]]BigFooty.com mobile app
Mate, nobody can even have a conversation with you through the threads on this b/c we don't get notified of being quoted.

Four games after the Prelim of '24, and we had seven different players in the team. Only 3 players with over 150 games under their belt. Brisbane? 10.

Brisbane had 19 uncontested marks in the first half. Forty in the third quarter alone.

That's alarming.
Yeah, it looked like they brought out a dry footy.

He still lacks a couple of major weapons in his arsenal - like consistency, the ability to find the football, reading the play.

He's played a good game tagging Cameron. Why not just let him build on that and keep playing on similar players for the rest of the year, then re-assess?

I have no issues playing him in defense but he has a lot of qualities which are highly desirable for a midfielder. He could be one of those athletes that is very close to putting it together.
One thing that stands out is he does not lose his feet often at all. Tremendous centre of gravity. A bit like Bailey Smith in that regard.

Autopsy Cats lose to Lions by 9 points.