Preview R5: Changes vs. Geelong Cats (Gather Round kick-off)(Out: Murphy)

Will Crouch come in for Draper (managed) this week?

The thing with Murph though is he's a bloody nice bloke... and he gives 100% every time he goes on to the field. Nobody should ever question that. The thing that matters though, is whether his 100% is AFL standard, and I think we all know the answer to that. Please let last week be the last time we see him in the senior team.
100% agree with you.
Winning games and winning premierships is about the ability of the people to perform on field. It doesn't matter if you are a great person or a great teammate - if you can't perform when it matters, then you shouldn't be picked.
There are plenty of premiership teams that have shit people in them - they just happen to also be great players...

When Murphy 'forced' his way into the side last week, weren't we a much better side then as well?

Or was it
  • Week 1-3 = Much better side
  • Week 4 = Poor side, Taylor not available and Nank had to be sub.
  • Week 5 = Much better side

Huh?

I think what happened is that Murphy lost his spot in the best 22. This was evident by preseason and the first 3 rounds.

For mine Nicks has had a pretty rigid best 23. When you are in he hangs on for a long time before he makes a move. We saw this with McHenry, Smith, Murphy and now we are seeing it with Milera.

Once you are out of the rigid best 22 - selection is done a lot more on form/matchups/injuries. We have seen this once again with Borlase this year. Murphy/Borlase came into the best 23 because in round 4 we were down 3 best 22 players (Murray, Rachele and Crouch). He played poorly and Zac Taylor kicked 2.1 and had 18 touches in the SANFL.

Absolutely. I would. He started in November. Between November and End of February he has 15 weeks.

Think it's perfectly reasonable to spend 20 hours a week watching film. Now going back to 2020/2021 - he might not go that far back - but you would imagine he would spend a shitload of time watching 2022 - 2024 games.

100%. He is a massively weak link. If you were coaching against the Crows - you wouldn't be telling your forwards to not worry about him because he won't hurt you if he gets the ball? You would absolutely be targeting him and trying to exploit our weakest forward.

He played the last 17 games of 2024. He was dropped for round 1 2025.

So Davis wasn't going to overrule selection in round 4 but he is for round 5?

Ha ha ha ha ha.

I think it's because Taylor kicked 2.1 and had 18 in the SANFL. Nicks is slow to move. But let's not act like he hasn't dropped his pets before. He dropped Ned after round 10. Brought him back for one game in Rd 13 and then we didnt see him again and he was delisted. Hopefully Murphy is finally on the right path.
Did I say Davis overruled selection in round 5, pretty sure I said gave his opinion based on Murphy’s game when he was part of the coaching team for the first time in which Murphy played in.

In Rd 1 of the SANFL Taylor had 15 touches and kicked 2.1, dare say those extra 3 touches must have been awesome.

Taylor played the last 9 games of 2024, kicking 3 goals in the last game against Sydney. So by your logic he was also dropped, when a spot became available Murphy was picked ahead of him. Murphy who has been a mainstay of the team for the last 3 years was dropped after one game this year, after a typical Murphy game and your explanation is because Taylor had 3 more possessions than the week before in the SANFL, he replaced him.

Cmon mate, clearly Davis would have provided his opinion on Murphy after coaching him. There is no other explanation other than Nicks going from dumb to smart in a week.

What does that mean? Even though I intruded onto your board I made respectful
and accurate corrections to the posters comment. I thought it may help your own
discussions if you have accurate information, so in this case I’m disappointed at
the response from you as I always considered Crows supporters as far more civil
than those who support Port.
"Settle down muscles" was far more 'civil' than what I thought of your post, to which I did not reply.
As an 8-post rookie, maybe hang back and read the room before you tell us what's what so emphatically on our own board, yeah?
Our discussions don't need your "help" or clarifications.

Did I say Davis overruled selection in round 5, pretty sure I said gave his opinion based on Murphy’s game when he was part of the coaching team for the first time in which Murphy played in.

Isn't what this is all about. Aren't you saying the only reason that Murphy is dropped this week is because of Davis?

In Rd 1 of the SANFL Taylor had 15 touches and kicked 2.1, dare say those extra 3 touches must have been awesome.

Taylor played the last 9 games of 2024, kicking 3 goals in the last game against Sydney. So by your logic he was also dropped, when a spot became available Murphy was picked ahead of him. Murphy who has been a mainstay of the team for the last 3 years was dropped after one game this year, after a typical Murphy game and your explanation is because Taylor had 3 more possessions than the week before in the SANFL, he replaced him.

Murphy and Taylor were in the best team at the end of 2024. Both were dropped for the start of 2025. Both had good games in rd 1 of the SANFL. Murphy ahead in the pecking order so gets selected in AFL and has a stinker. Taylor plays another good game in the SANFL and gets selected.

Cmon mate, clearly Davis would have provided his opinion on Murphy after coaching him. There is no other explanation other than Nicks going from dumb to smart in a week.

Okay. So Nicks selects Murphy at the end of 2024 as best 22 player. Nicks then chooses to drop Murphy and leave him out of the best 22 (Can't be Davis because he has apparently never seen Murphy live and knows nothing about him). It's then Nicks decision to bring in Murphy.

But then it's Murray's influence that leads to Murphy being dropped in Rd 5 after seeing Murphy for the first time.

So whose decision was it to drop Borlase?

Kolodjashnij is not a KPD, he plays on the flank. Blicavs is back in and neither he or De Koning
are playing as the main ruckman, Stanley is. Sullivan is playing on the flank, but at 198cm and
very good overhead and very mobile, is a KPD in waiting, and must be very close to favorite for
the rising star. But nice try.
Reckon Kolodjashnij has taken Tex a few times in the past I reckon.

Isn't what this is all about. Aren't you saying the only reason that Murphy is dropped this week is because of Davis?

Murphy and Taylor were in the best team at the end of 2024. Both were dropped for the start of 2025. Both had good games in rd 1 of the SANFL. Murphy ahead in the pecking order so gets selected in AFL and has a stinker. Taylor plays another good game in the SANFL and gets selected.

Okay. So Nicks selects Murphy at the end of 2024 as best 22 player. Nicks then chooses to drop Murphy and leave him out of the best 22 (Can't be Davis because he has apparently never seen Murphy live and knows nothing about him). It's then Nicks decision to bring in Murphy.

But then it's Murray's influence that leads to Murphy being dropped in Rd 5 after seeing Murphy for the first time.

So whose decision was it to drop Borlase?
I get it, you’re struggling with the distinction between overruling and provided an informed respected opinion that is listened to.

So why is Murphy ahead of the pecking order?

Heard of a new recruit ANB that took his spot in 2025 and why he wasn’t getting a game until we had an injury?

Ok let’s look at the stinker game that was so bad that caused him to be dropped after one game.

13 disposals, 2 tackles, 0.2 goals

How does it stack up against his career average across his 115 game career under Nicks plus 1 with Davis:

11.7 disposals, 3.1 tackles, 0.6 goals

I refer to my question above, why is Murphy ahead of the pecking order when his career average is worse than the “stinker” he was just dropped for?

Would you now like me to list the games that were worse than last weeks “stinker” where he was picked the week after?

I tell you what, that money we spent sending Nicks to Harvard was money well spent. He’s learnt from his dumb mistakes in only one week, woohoo!!

I'm an old fart so I don't do social media, it doesn't sound like a nice place for anyone - so many toxic people around these days.
It's a strange one. You would think that a place like BigFooty where posters can enjoy pretty much 100 percent anonymity among other posters would attract vile trolls and abhorrently hateful comments.

Social Media is where the worst of the worst comments seems to fester, made from accounts where the persons full name is accessible. On a couple of occasions, even coming from someone who is a "mutual friend."

It's a strange realm, not very pleasant and something which I've found myself spending progressively fewer minutes scrolling each week for the precisely the reasons you've outlined; unpleasant and toxic people/trolls.

I get it, you’re struggling with the distinction between overruling and provided an informed respected opinion that is listened to.

So why is Murphy ahead of the pecking order?

Because the coaching group had him above Taylor in the pecking order all preseason.

Heard of a new recruit ANB that took his spot in 2025 and why he wasn’t getting a game until we had an injury?

Yeah - ANB took Murphy's sot.

Ok let’s look at the stinker game that was so bad that caused him to be dropped after one game.

13 disposals, 2 tackles, 0.2 goals

He was also dropped after 13 touches and 2 tackles at the end of 2024 and wasn't in the best 22 for 2025.

How does it stack up against his career average across his 115 game career under Nicks plus 1 with Davis:

11.7 disposals, 3.1 tackles, 0.6 goals

I refer to my question above, why is Murphy ahead of the pecking order when his career average is worse than the “stinker” he was just dropped for?

Cause Nicks likes him. Nicks clearly dropped him from the best 23. He was then it that grouping of players between 24-28.

Nicks historically has a locked in best 23 and then is reasonably flexible with the 'next in group'. Murphy was next in, played the same game that saw him ousted at the beginning of 2025 and was replaced by a kid that kicked 4.2 and had 33 touches in the first 2 SANFL games.

Would you now like me to list the games that were worse than last weeks “stinker” where he was picked the week after?

The standard has also changed. It's easier to give shitty Murphy another game when there are worse players like Hamill, McHenry playing in the 1's. The standard has lifted in 2025.

I tell you what, that money we spent sending Nicks to Harvard was money well spent. He’s learnt from his dumb mistakes in only one week, woohoo!!

Well he hasn't learned from his mistakes because he picked him for round 4.

So Nicks was smart for dropping him the first 3 rounds. Stupid for selecting him in round 4. But then it was Murray's suggestion to drop Murphy that made Nicks smart again.

I'll ask you again. Who decided to drop Borlase this week?

He looks the real deal...Had Curtin not been on the board at our pick, there is every chance we would have drafted him and he is showing what he looks capable of now. As for the rising star, way too early in the season for that call but if he keeps playing like he has, who knows.
I’m not saying he will win, but he is the equal current favorite in the betting,
as we speak.

I've been critical of Murphy (most critical)/ Sholl/ Borlase/ Milera/ Keane/ RoB/ Nicks but it's either about their footy skill, or performance, or judgment. I don't 'hate' any of them, nor do I dislike them personally.
I just want a better Coach, a better ruckman (one who can kick and take a mark would be nice) and better players' performances in general for our Team to be at its best.
The lines get blurred between being critical of a player (legitimate criticism) and personal attacks.

Often, there's this conflation where the personal attack is laced with criticsm as to mask or plausibly deny an otherwise horrible comment directed towards another human being.

I've seen a poster on here call Lachie Murphy a "useless piece of 💩." The justification could be that the comment, when in the context of the confines of the football field, is apt.

Without trying to sound like a Karen, if I was his mother and read those comments, I would be upset. It's not constructive at all, it's just a nasty comment made to demean him.

As far as we know, Lachie is a decent young man, with his only flaw being that he's the 25th best player who regularly cracks the best 22. He deserves criticism for poor performance, not personal attacks.

I get it, people get frustrated and as supporters, especially when we see something that to us is glaringly obvious, but seemingly not to the paid professionals who are paid a lot more than most of us in our day jobs - it can be particularly irksome.

However, it just seems illogical to direct such personal vitriol at the player when, a lot of the time, those same people concede that it's the couches and selection committee which are the ones they are truly rankled by.

Some people believe that the moment you're in the public eye, you deserve whatever comes your way. I disagree wholeheartedly with that notion. But that is just me.