Rumour GFC 2025 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists Pt 2

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

Jesse is playing VFL for us this weekend and was picked in the AA side. The fact he was slotting 8 for Vic Country (the most for anyone in the side annd not even a key position player) and getting no press feels like Gryan all over again.

Messi kicked 7 in that TAC Cup GF and was basically an afterthought,
“Too small” “ “doesn’t have vertical” “speed needs work”

Gryan has been a workhorse and an absolute strength to how we transition the footy. Immensely important.
Jesse has many of those same qualities and I reckon he’ll go much later than he should which will look hilarious down the track when they do “redraft boards”
Agree. Can see him being a top 10 in a re draft if things go well for him.

Most definitely. Regardless of whether we're having a mass exodus or not the Blues are going to have to make some moves end of year with our draft picks.

Walker in 2026 further complicates it as we likely won't get a pick of any use with him there.

My opinion is the Blues will mainly be in retention mode this off season and then look at splitting our firsts for the next couple years into 2nd/3rd rounders and try and pick up some solid role players with them. Perhaps Mr Meow's suggestion of Close could be one we look at. Doubt he leaves his best mate Jezza though.

Curious where your kid Mellor goes though, to me he has all the talent of a first round pick... But hasn't really garnered much buzz for whatever reason.

Sshhh…. how can we develop post draft grumbles if there is pre draft attention.

On your FSons … the new point system complicate things too. Its bit like complaining about the extra tax you pay for overtime but clubs like the Susn will be interesting to study.

For those who may be looking for something to do on Sunday:

Cats NGA talent Jesse Mellor is set to make his debut for the Cats and pull on the Hoops for the first time. The Geelong West Giants product kicked eight goals for the championships and averaged 11 disposals, 4.5 marks, and 2.5 tackles, while earning Under 18 All Australian honours earlier this week.

2025 VFL Round 18​

North Melbourne v Geelong
Arden Street Oval, Melbourne
12.05pm AEST, Sunday July 27

More info to assess. Cant see how it will be great for what we pay if he kicks 3 or 4 in the VFL …but great to see what he might be able to do with a different group at a different level around him.

Happy to not hear about Cadman again until he is OOC in 4 years or whatever.

He has re-signed with GWS twice now... Obviously he is not keen to leave the joint.

If he is happy then good luck to him. All four of the Northern clubs now look to be at a stage that they can offer competitiveness and possibly finals.

If I were a club in need of talent Id be going hard at the one under him Grozeinski. Melb or who ever could do a lot worse than get him.

Jesse Mellor is worth a latish pick. Doesn't have the speed via the eye test but could go up the board if he tests well. Nice prospect to have on the list

They said the exact same shit about Gryan.

Could word for word say this about Mellor

IMG_0617.jpeg

If we get Mellor past the second round i reckon we’ll be laughing about it in a few years time about how much of a steal he is.

Been told Geelong have asked the question regarding windhager but St kilda confident of an extension
Liked him at draft time. Wouldn't mind it provided he's relatively cheap.

Expect he re-signs though, unless we go with a three or four year offer to usurp their two, which doesn't sound like us.

Given the club bid on him back in the day, it certainly wouldn't surprise to think that we were throwing our hat into the ring.

Having said that, it's St Kilda we'd be dealing with here. So he certainly wouldn't come anywhere near cheap.

Like you, I expect he'll just re-sign and we'll simply move on.

Agree. Can see him being a top 10 in a re draft if things go well for him.
Jeez that's high praise. I see his work forward work looks alright but I don't think he's clean enough. Take away academies and I think he's a natural 2nd round pick. He's not going to die wondering though

We tried to draft him, they bid matched

Why cant he be happy to do the role he is good at. I dont see hime bing built for the inside of the action.

For a little wiry guy he has put size on pretty well so far. My reservation would be similiar to Knevitt in that I'm not sure he likes the bash and crash required for an inside mid.

Dempsey knows how to shark the ball from congestion and one-touch it at AFL level though (like Daicos in his early midfield games), which is very different to Knevitt.

Why cant he be happy to do the role he is good at. I dont see hime bing built for the inside of the action.
He definitely is built for the inside action. Have you seen his strength one out?? Is very strong through the core and is able to hold his position well and push off. He will be very good head over ball around the middle and he has the endurance to get to stoppages.

Yeah massive x factor. Would love to see him in the middle.