Review Reigning Premiers Give Home Team A Pantsing

Going to watch the first quarter. My analysis:
1) Voss held by arm 45m out.
2) Pearce indecision with ball. Short pass turnover.
3) Pearce compounds from same play by fumbling. Clark goes high. Goal Brisbane.
4) Center bounce. Serong tries to handball to Darcy. Stripped. Bailey misses from 55m
5) Bolton on wing passes to Voss. HAS to be paid a mark or free kick. Spoiler doesn’t hit ball, plus over the shoulder. Treacy bananas a behind from the same play.
6) Morris paid some sort of holding fee kick. Cameron pounces on a seemingly dead play. Runs into an open goal.

Longmuir shakes head.

I probably don’t even need to watch anymore. All of this set the scene. A collection of poor senior player decisions (Pearce and Serong)

A couple of non calls to our player inside 50m.

A couple of calls their way inside 50m

Rolls forwards.

Treacy misses from 50m.

Treacy drops mark near D50. Misses kick. Bolton moves on the mark. 50m penalty. Goal.

19-2 down

Woke up as flat as everyone else on this glorious winter Saturday morn.

I think the most disappointing aspect of yesterday evening (there were many) was Fyfe's final farewell to 1/3 of a stadium. I understand punters were really frustrated and disappointed, but I think many will look back on their decision to catch an earlier train home with some regret - a (potentially) last chance to farewell Fremantle's best ever player on their home turf. Secondly, that I'll never understand the decision to play him at the start of the 4th when the opportunity beckoned for him to be called on during gameplay - what an utter misread and wasted opportunity. I'll never forget the roar of the crowd when Clive Waterhouse came onto the ground in early-2003 after being out of the game for nearly 2-years. Those are things you never forget.

I wish these fizzling farewells were an anomaly - but the mind reaches back to Ballantyne/Sandilands being chared off after a pathetic effort, Mundy's at the semi, McPharlin at the 2015 Prelim crying (while a bloke thumped a woman three rows behind me) and many more.

He deserved to run his lap in front of 50,000+

4) Center bounce. Serong tries to handball to Darcy. Stripped. Bailey misses from 55m
5) Bolton on wing passes to Voss. HAS to be paid a mark or free kick. Spoiler doesn’t hit ball, plus over the shoulder. Treacy bananas a behind from the same play.
6) Morris paid some sort of holding fee kick. Cameron pounces on a seemingly dead play. Runs into an open goal.

Longmuir shakes head.

I probably don’t even need to watch anymore. All of this set the scene. A collection of poor senior player decisions (Pearce and Serong)

Rolls forwards.

Treacy misses from 50m.

Treacy drops mark near D50. Misses kick. Bolton moves on the mark. 50m penalty. Goal.

19-2 down

Then Reid misses from 25m out…

Longmuir shakes head.

Rolls forwards.

Treacy misses from 50m.

19-2 down

Then Reid misses from 25m out…

And what goes with all of that is we had ruined what was supposed to be one of our main advantages ... the home crowd. People were frothing at the bit, but that quickly moved to a mixture of quietness, groans, exasperation.

I think the crowd definitely rubs off on the players. The crowd was flat and underwhelming in the Carlton game, and the team played like the crowd in that game. And again last night.

A lot has been said already about the match - being at the game I don't think Brisbane played any sort of genius game that we couldn't have unravelled. They were as slow with the ball coming out of back-half, their shitty chip-to-chip could've been worked out by a smarter team. There was no reason to let them continually out-mark us either.

Everyone's chipping the coach but how can you blame Justin for 11-9 scoring shots at half-time in our favour? Or 17-18 scoring shots in their favour at 3QT? We kick straight we probably win the game. Umpiring was bordering on farsical (and it has done for several weeks) but we should've been able to overcome that also.

We just could not handle the pressure, and we never have been with this outfit. We've overcome so many barriers this year but managing the big dance at home is not one of them. 2022 we were shell-shocked against Doggies at home and it was the will and might of senior players that puled us back into it. I really, really want us to play finals even if we're bundled out in the first round because with this team, we could have a Premiership side and go 20-2 next year and we'll still go out in straight-sets at home due to not being able to handle the pressure. Our 2012-15 campaign was different because there was a number of players who had played finals in both the '06 and '10 campaigns.

Why didn't we adjust and overcome the nerves at half-time? Why we were playing slow, languid footy out of half-back? Why did every player take too long to make a decision (often the wrong one), why couldn't we shake the goal-kicking collywobbles? For christ sake we kicked 15.4 in our previous home game in the windy, shitty wet.

The only thing on Justin for this one I think is selection intergrity - bloke is too conservative. Blind freddy could see O'Driscoll, Banfield and O'Meara weren't up for it last week and he couldn't pull the trigger. Simpson and Walker should've been in there. O'Meara is a long-term selection issue, I'm not saying Brodie would've been better - but to not gime another chance across two-years isn't just baffling? It seems downright cruel.

I did believe JL in the conference when he said we can win next week - despite the stakes we can, and should win next week and make this season count. A few prayers this weekend to help at least one result go our way wouldn't go astray either.

And what goes with all of that is we had ruined what was supposed to be one of our main advantages ... the home crowd. People were frothing at the bit, but that quickly moved to a mixture of quietness, groans, exasperation.

I think the crowd definitely rubs off on the players. The crowd was flat and underwhelming in the Carlton game, and the team played like the crowd in that game. And again last night.

Crowd and also mental pressure. Just compounds. Especially with shots on goal.

Commentators circle jerking over the Lions in that first quarter. The uncontested marks was frustrating but certainly not a reason for their lead. We simply blew some chances and they scored 3 goals ALL from free kicks.

BUT it would’ve built pressure mentally as we couldn’t get into a flow.

I've said it so many times and it's probably a bit rich considering how good we've been in close games this year but we just do not have it mentally. We were shitting bricks coming in to this game, we built it up so much internally and you could tell. Brisbane came here, no emotion, did what they had to do. We are very emotionally immature, too giddy and happy with ourselves after games like last week and then we shit ourselves when the lights get bright

See I was worried during the week that this would be the case, but I thought it would play out very differently.

After such a big build up I fully expected us to come out with f**king manic intensity only for Brissie to coolly and professionally reel us in once the emotion wore off after the first qtr. That I probably could have handled.

But to come out so limp and meek that we could barely lay a hand on them in the first qtr is a f**king indictment. Not to mention our captain leading the way and shitting himself the first two times he touched the ball to set the worst possible tone for the team.

And then you think back to the completely pathetic first qtrs we had in our only two finals under JLo where both games were effectively over at qtr time (one in a million comeback notwithstanding - surely nobody can believe that's a sustainable way to win big finals). It makes it very, very hard to have any faith that JLo is the sort of coach who will ever be able to motivate a team to come out with the ferocious intensity required to win big finals.

And then that ties in with the way Fyfe was handled last night, which I'm still irrationally angry about. Why the f**k wouldn't you bring him on halfway through the 3rd qtr so the 55,000 people who've come to pay tribute could have that moment of going nuts as he runs on to lift the atmosphere to a whole different level for the team? Surely that's Motivation 101? Instead he gets snuck on under the cover of darkness during the break. Just so limp and uninspiring.

I'm thinking that we were expecting the lions to come out with high intensity and contested to put the heat on us. Us wanting to apply manic pressure with what's on the line and occassion.

Instead they frustrated us with the chip , mark, keep p off game that threw us off. Then missed goals just compounded everything and frustration.

And then that ties in with the way Fyfe was handled last night, which I'm still irrationally angry about. Why the f**k wouldn't you bring him on halfway through the 3rd qtr so the 55,000 people who've come to pay tribute could have that moment of going nuts as he runs on to lift the atmosphere to a whole different level for the team? Surely that's Motivation 101? Instead he gets snuck on under the cover of darkness during the break. Just so limp and uninspiring
Yeah this was criminal.

Having the bloke warm up in the rooms like some shy debutant instead of getting us up and about and raucous behind him warming up on the sidelines, given he was who we all came to see off last night. We owed him that moment.

Insipid handling of the opportunity you can never get back again. We had one chance to see him off, and honestly that's about as poorly as you could imagine doing it.

The whole start of the second quarter was worse. We got on top. So many blown inside 50m opportunities.
Jackson hits the post for 0.8 score.

It’s 21-8 and Brisbane haven’t really fired any sort of shot. We just killed ourselves.

8:44 left in second term and Bailey snaps one over his shoulder.

27-8

A lot has been said already about the match - being at the game I don't think Brisbane played any sort of genius game that we couldn't have unravelled. They were as slow with the ball coming out of back-half, their shitty chip-to-chip could've been worked out by a smarter team. There was no reason to let them continually out-mark us either.

Everyone's chipping the coach but how can you blame Justin for 11-9 scoring shots at half-time in our favour? Or 17-18 scoring shots in their favour at 3QT? We kick straight we probably win the game. Umpiring was bordering on farsical (and it has done for several weeks) but we should've been able to overcome that also.

We just could not handle the pressure, and we never have been with this outfit. We've overcome so many barriers this year but managing the big dance at home is not one of them. 2022 we were shell-shocked against Doggies at home and it was the will and might of senior players that puled us back into it. I really, really want us to play finals even if we're bundled out in the first round because with this team, we could have a Premiership side and go 20-2 next year and we'll still go out in straight-sets at home due to not being able to handle the pressure. Our 2012-15 campaign was different because there was a number of players who had played finals in both the '06 and '10 campaigns.

Why didn't we adjust and overcome the nerves at half-time? Why we were playing slow, languid footy out of half-back? Why did every player take too long to make a decision (often the wrong one), why couldn't we shake the goal-kicking collywobbles? For christ sake we kicked 15.4 in our previous home game in the windy, shitty wet.

The only thing on Justin for this one I think is selection intergrity - bloke is too conservative. Blind freddy could see O'Driscoll, Banfield and O'Meara weren't up for it last week and he couldn't pull the trigger. Simpson and Walker should've been in there. O'Meara is a long-term selection issue, I'm not saying Brodie would've been better - but to not gime another chance across two-years isn't just baffling? It seems downright cruel.

I did believe JL in the conference when he said we can win next week - despite the stakes we can, and should win next week and make this season count. A few prayers this weekend to help at least one result go our way wouldn't go astray either.
Excellent analysis.

Saw nothing fancy nor classy of Brisbane, just kept the ball and didn’t panic. Class in the 3 positions that stand out.

McCluggage and Bailey are seriously underrated. Add in Ashcroft brothers.

Zorko, as much I dislike him, organises the half back movement.
I would give 5 players minimum and picks to just have Andrews. That guy is the best full back in the game. Class, composed and no BS. Compared to Pearce and Cox, it’s light and day.
Add in Starcevich and Gardiner. That defence is serious. Probably the best in the league tbh.

Logan Morris shits all over Amiss in presence and ability. Plus he’s aggro to back it up. Only his second season and he has kicked 43 goals.

But. Last night they weren’t particularly great. Fremantle’s pressure was up. 0.8 isn’t going to do anything to that. Voss kicks the opener in the second quarter and it’s a different ball game.

The issue is the bottom 6.
Banfield is disgustingly bad.
NOD shouldn’t be in this category, but he is and has been the last month.
Erasmus is young.
JOM isn’t a big game player. No idea what he offers on the list.

Feels like opportunity missed.

The players looked mentally fragile last night. The leaders all had poor games in addition to the usual suspects.

You can't blame JLo for that. Brisbane's kicking last night was elite because the frontal press was so poor.

Players in the gun last night are:
- Banfield had 6 Clangers last night, the highest from both teams. When Banfield is having a bad day, his clangers are team killers.

- Shai Bolton is not having an impact on games over the last few weeks. I am wondering if he's carrying a niggle.

- Brayshaw played frustrated, and was a very poor leader overall.

We need another good ball out of defence. Chapman and Clark are the only ones I trust. Banfield misses more than he makes and that's why this team cannot contend until the floor of the team is raised.

The players looked mentally fragile last night. The leaders all had poor games in addition to the usual suspects.

You can't blame JLo for that. Brisbane's kicking last night was elite because the frontal press was so poor.
Mate how can you say that the coach has no influence on preparation and mentality. Mitchell has the Hawks playing arrogant, confident and running through walls. Do you see any players in their team shaking hands with the opposition or helping oppo players off the ground? JLo and our captain are both insightful and soft spoken individuals and I think that contributes to the mindset of the team. Don't underestimate the important of having the right mindset in the changerooms before the game.

Review Reigning Premiers Give Home Team A Pantsing