Review QF: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

Outside of the massive mistake where he was overawed by the occasion and arguably cost us a goal (and any chance of coming back..), he had 6 touches and 3 turnovers.

His experience doesn't have value.

Too many plays involving players that didn't know to play within their means

No Brodie, you can't kick a goal from there
No Ben, you can't kick a goal from 50 and it will be touched on the line
No Ben, you can't snap the ball from that pocket taking it off ROB
No Ben, you can't call for the ball in that position
No Darcy, you can't kick a snap from that position running around the man

I imagine Rankine would be pretending to be pissed but actually secretly happy
His pain just got worse.
This result deepens his guilt of letting his team mates and club down.

He needs the boys to win the premiership to absolve that guilt.

The biggest issue we had on the night was a lack of onfield leadership and when you combine that with inept coaching, its a recipe for disaster.

The problem is that a lot of our senior players were playing this dumb football

That and the Smith bomb blew any chance of a comeback.

Keays calling for that is insane - he should've been telling Reilly to slot it.

His selfishness has crept back into his game over the last 6 weeks, and it is a massive problem.

For all those not condoning the booing during the game this is for you.

Who are you to lecture those that booed at the game as to who is right and who is wrong? You are virtually doing the equivalent of pretending your feigned outrage is somehow the moral high ground and you are superior. But under whose authority? The media are only jumping on this for two reasons. 1. its a new story they can get for ratings and click bait 2. To pad their own personal portfolios. Notice how I didnt mention Quaynor? because they dont give a shit about him. Just like they dont give a shit about anyone they tread on for ratings and clicks.

Just like how the media didnt care about Rankines well being as they camped out the front of his house. Like what kind of low lifes are you siding with. The media are a bunch of fake assholes.

The opposition is just up in arms because...oh you booed our player..
Sad Tim Meadows GIF by The Lonely Island
you must be some kind of 'ist' or 'ic' that suits the narrative.

So whose authority?

Basically who the **** do you think you are?
The irony.

Our smalls were down massively. We were completely outworked and out muscled.

We were completely outcoached. Moore can be exposed one on one. We let him do as he pleased all night.

Meanwhile, we had Curtin playing the loose role at the other end, and he had no idea. Even if they said to Curtin to match up on Moore, we could’ve had a win.

It should have been Fogarty though. He offered nothing.

Our “three headed monster” appeared no where in our inside 50. When we would slowly bomb, we’d have O’Brien in there competing with them. Astoundingly stupid.

And why doesn’t Tex take some of the inside 50 throwins? Especially with no Rankine there.

Soligo was obliterated by Long (44) in that 3rd quarter.

Pearling, Keays, Cumming, Hinge were no where to be seen.

Laird and Keays back on ball, FFS. At least try Taylor or Curtin first. Even throw Fogarty in there for a few minutes to stand on De Goey if they must.

They can bounce back. They can’t play that bad again. Rachele with a game of SANFL under his belt. A massive task having to beat GWS or Hawthorn at home and then Geelong or Brisbane away, but it can be done.

Get back to what works. I reckon the coach got spooked by the stats against Collingwood last time and ****ed it up completely. Much like the beginning of 2024 after being the best attacking team in 2023.

The problem is that a lot of our senior players were playing this dumb football

Smith from 70m tried to either hit up a two on one in the goal square (two pies players to a single Crow) and ignored a team mate 30m in the clear or he tried to kick a goal. That was by far the single dumbest play of night. No composure, no thought to the game plan...assuming we had one...and a lack of skill. Senior players get selected over younger players regardless of form because they adhere to the game plan and show more composure. What Smith did as a 250 gamer was inexcusable and I think thats the end of his career right there.

The Fog one was so infuriating - you'd back him to kick that set shot 8/10, why the **** did he feel the need to play on?!

Keays should have been using his voice to tell him he was clear instead of asking for the ball.

Absolutely.

But it's TT with the footy. At the end of the day it's TT with the call - its his decision and his responsibility.

TT made the wrong call. It's 100% on him.

If I had a dollar for every AFL player that called for the footy when it wasn't the correct team decision I would be a billionaire. And thats just dating back to 2020.

I wonder if Collingwood see Keays as a barometer for us?

He only had 7 touches vs them at the MCG

0.0, 0.0 and 0.1 in the three Pies matches this season
Stood up more for the team post the siren than during the game apparently.

Anyway, this was my fear all year, talented list flattering Nicks.

Selection was pathetic, planning for finals was non existent, and McRae gave him an absolute bath.

Our players were generally poor, but how much of that was due to being comprehensively flogged tactically?

Nothing we did worked, and we refused to try anything meaningful or creative to try and change the game.

Absolutely.

But it's TT with the footy. At the end of the day it's TT with the call - its his decision and his responsibility.

TT made the wrong call. It's 100% on him.

If I had a dollar for every AFL player that called for the footy when it wasn't the correct team decision I would be a billionaire. And thats just dating back to 2020.

A senior player should not be screaming for the footy in that situation - they are both at fault.

Our smalls were down massively. We were completely outworked and out muscled.

We were completely outcoached. Moore can be exposed one on one. We let him do as he pleased all night.

Meanwhile, we had Curtin playing the loose role at the other end, and he had no idea. Even if they said to Curtin to match up on Moore, we could’ve had a win.

It should have been Fogarty though. He offered nothing.

Our “three headed monster” appeared no where in our inside 50. When we would slowly bomb, we’d have O’Brien in there competing with them. Astoundingly stupid.

And why doesn’t Tex take some of the inside 50 throwins? Especially with no Rankine there.

Soligo was obliterated by Long (44) in that 3rd quarter.

Pearling, Keays, Cumming, Hinge were no where to be seen.

Laird and Keays back on ball, FFS. At least try Taylor or Curtin first. Even throw Fogarty in there for a few minutes to stand on De Goey if they must.

They can bounce back. They can’t play that bad again. Rachele with a game of SANFL under his belt. A massive task having to beat GWS or Hawthorn at home and then Geelong or Brisbane away, but it can be done.

Get back to what works. I reckon the coach got spooked by the stats against Collingwood last time and ****ed it up completely. Much like the beginning of 2024 after being the best attacking team in 2023.
per the Soligo comment as that annoyed me during the game. Long was about a foot taller than him. So throw Curtin in the middle next to him, Soligo has proved when he goes fwd he's good for a goal.

I just want to know if the same people who are outraged with the Quaynor booing will share the same outrage when Rankine is boo'd mercilessly by a bunch of racist Collingwood fans the next time he plays them at the MCG?
of course not because they will be booing him as a homophobe. No one from Collingwood just boos without reason...

His pain just got worse.
This result deepens his guilt of letting his team mates and club down.

He needs the boys to win the premiership to absolve that guilt.
I've had enough of Rankin blaming. What goes on the field stays on the field. It's that simple. Hence this

Attachments

• Dobbingwood.png
    Dobbingwood.png
    2.3 MB · Views: 14

Review QF: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood