Unofficial Preview Changes and pre match discussion vs Brisbane - Gather Round

Mate Powell had 7 clangers and 3 frees against for 18 disposals at 50% DE - I dunno how that constitutes a fine game in any normal sense of the word.
He wasn't great, and that stabbed shot at goal was full of physical limitations, imo. For a bloke who can rip out a barrel, that 1 kick alone suggested to me that he's carrying something.

Mate Powell had 7 clangers and 3 frees against for 18 disposals at 50% DE - I dunno how that constitutes a fine game in any normal sense of the word.
Haven't watched the replay but seemed okay to the eye test live. 3 of the clangers will be the FAs, and was at least one of them a bullshit HTB? I put very little stock in DE - Kerch was 85% but a lot of that was running around in circles and getting off a handball.
But watching on TV might change my view

How fragile do you think Goad is for Christ sake? He’s a good match up for Draper.

This archaic thinking that you need to wrap young talls in cotton wool is pathetic.
If he is such a good matchup for Draper, please explain to me why Dawson was main Rick in the VFL yesterday and not Goad?

I don’t agree with Banch. I believe there is a certain bias when a supporter doesn’t believe a player is good enough - which is how I feel about Banch.
To me he looked fumbly and a step behind and was invisible in the last qtr. Can’t fault his endeavor but if it’s between him and Kostanty I’m taking the bigger, possibly faster and fitter player.
Konstanty cant kick or handball. Banch has him covered in that area.

I don’t agree with Banch. I believe there is a certain bias when a supporter doesn’t believe a player is good enough - which is how I feel about Banch.
To me he looked fumbly and a step behind and was invisible in the last qtr. Can’t fault his endeavor but if it’s between him and Kostanty I’m taking the bigger, possibly faster and fitter player.

I agree. We are in the minority, but I absolutely agree.

Konstanty cant kick or handball. Banch has him covered in that area.

Don’t agree. And only on comparison between the two,
Banch didn’t exactly nail his opportunities on front of goals either.

VFL level isn’t AFL but yday I thought Kostanty was chasing hard, nailed his opportunities in front of goal, looked clean.

At the game last night again to me Banch looked small, off the pace and fumbled. Also missed his opportunities.

I’d like to see Kostanty made into a defensive back pocket… given his defensive attributes but I can’t see Banch making it at all. However such as my opinion of Daniel’s I don’t mind being proven wrong and I’m not rooting against Banch I just don’t think he is upto the level.

Banch was alright. His tenacity was great.. needed to kick that goal. One more week for Banch
I reckon give him an extended run.
JK has had his run of games and Dov has plenty of time in front of him.

Let Banchy play until the bye to see what hes got. I like him.

Don’t agree. And only on comparison between the two,
Banch didn’t exactly nail his opportunities on front of goals either.

VFL level isn’t AFL but yday I thought Kostanty was chasing hard, nailed his opportunities in front of goal, looked clean.

At the game last night again to me Banch looked small, off the pace and fumbled. Also missed his opportunities.

I’d like to see Kostanty made into a defensive back pocket… given his defensive attributes but I can’t see Banch making it at all. However such as my opinion of Daniel’s I don’t mind being proven wrong and I’m not rooting against Banch I just don’t think he is upto the level.
We already have one useless campaigner down there. We dont need a Happy Meal 2.0. **** that. Konstanty can stay out until he learns to not **** up link up run and destroy momentum. He can run around shushing Sandrigham fans next week.

And not taking anything away, the happy gimp was good yesterday. I didn’t notice many of his **** ups on TV and wasn’t there live so I couldn’t work out if his direct opponent had much influence

I reckon give him an extended run.
JK has had his run of games and Dov has plenty of time in front of him.

Let Banchy play until the bye to see what hes got. I like him.
This. Give banch a run of games like JK got and then reassess. One game that wasn't stellar (but was still ok for first game of the year) and people sticking the boots in and thinking JK is The lord saviour himself.
Spare me.

FWIW, JK looked really good in the twos yesterday, linked up well, kicked some snags and didn't kill good runs. Keeps that up and brings it across to the ones and there's a real player there. Don't mistake my want for banch to do well as me wanting to see JK be shit. That's some peoples go around here but I want everyone to be ****ing awesome!

Can't carry CCJ again and Powell should be dropped. You stick with Curtis because he did lift in the last quarter, but geez he's had a poor start to the year with his contest stuff and marking.

Can’t believe after such a stirring win , that a minute later ppl are in the changes thread.
Enjoy the ****en , we haven’t had many this decade.

Changes thread is here for a whole week ffs

We already have one useless campaigner down there. We dont need a Happy Meal 2.0. ** that. Konstanty can stay out until he learns to not ** up link up run and destroy momentum. He can run around shushing Sandrigham fans next week.

And not taking anything away, the happy gimp was good yesterday. I didn’t notice many of his **** ups on TV and wasn’t there live so I couldn’t work out if his direct opponent had much influence

If ‘Happy meal 2.0’ and ‘happy gimp’ is Daniel’s …

I think you might be suffering from your own Bias. Clearly he has been moved up the ground and he has been very good this year. Again as a supporter I’m happy to be wrong when one of ours has improved.

I’m also for fringe players getting an opportunity in a different role when a better player takes their position.

That’s to say I don’t think Banch is that. Both are likely the last selected for the team and I’d play Kostanty over Banch given both his physical and skill attributes.

CCJ out, never want to see him again. Dawson if fit if not Goad.
Corr out. Mikunda in. Want Hardemann but he’s been horrid in VFL
Zurhaar out for Spargo if Spargo proves he is fit.
Simpkin out. RHJ in. Needs to play to demonstrate selection integrity.

I know that’s a lot of changes after a win but we shouldn’t let it paper over the cracks and we need to reward some of the boys doing the right thing in the reserves in my opinion as we need a squad of 30-35 players who can compete

My mum's going across for the Hawks game, she tried to get tickets for our game ages ago, but it's all sold out. Not sure if you can just rock up
Edit: Ah, might have misunderstood, sounds like you already have your ticket.

Yeh have the ticket. Maybe I just log on and see.

Yep going to Hawks game, should be a ripper that one!

Harsh. First game in a while, a big game at that. I thought he worked into the game. I'd give him a block. How many games has Konstanty played, like 25? And for what, not much return. He's had his chance, he'll need to earn a call up now.

Who’s pushing a spot in the VFL? Happy with no change for now
IMO, from the 3 quarters that I watched yesterday, Spargo was simply a level above, in terms of class and smarts.

RHJ and the Kont both made a reasonable case but I think they could benefit from another week to keep building confidence.

Dawson showed real signs chopping out in ruck. Much more so than Goad. Took a couple nice marks too but was so-so in defence. Would seriously consider bringing him in for CCJ.

Bamert no one is allowed to post about any more until he's safely ensconsed on the seniors list via the MSD.

Banch was more lively than Dova or Konstanty, and deserves another crack. Is Urquart even fit?
100% this. Banch kept having a crack, wasnt scared and was unlucky not to get a couple of goals. Would definitely persist with him over Dovaston at this stage. Konstanty can stay where he is

Harsh. First game in a while, a big game at that. I thought he worked into the game. I'd give him a block. How many games has Konstanty played, like 25? And for what, not much return. He's had his chance, he'll need to earn a call up now.

I think he has worked out of the game. I’d be interested to see how many possessions broken down by Qtr