2007 Fixture Released

Bugz said:
Which Sunday game will Channel Seven delay until 3:00?

that's what I was wondering, are the games marked sunday early and sunday twilight going to be the foxtel matches (if fox does get it). If it is then, there will be heaps of matches from melbourne being broadcast into melbourne on a sunday which would mean they would start at 3pm on TV.

understudy said:
Complaints about Collingwoods draw;

2 Home Games scheduled at Telstra Dome which is not our home ground.

Only 4 day breaks before the Anzac day game.

2 Sunday games which is a shocking day for footy.

Tough gig doing up a completely fair draw but youd think the AFL would do better than that.

but you also get Geelong's home game at the MCG, so that pretty much cancels out one of those two telstra home games.

2 Sunday games?? geez, that's tough :p
I haven't even looked at other teams draws except Geelong, but I'm guessing 2 sunday games will be the least of any team - I think Geelong got about 13.

understudy said:
Complaints about Collingwoods draw;

2 Home Games scheduled at Telstra Dome which is not our home ground.

Only 4 day breaks before the Anzac day game.

2 Sunday games which is a shocking day for footy.

Tough gig doing up a completely fair draw but youd think the AFL would do better than that.

just to add injury to insult, we get collingwood fans who aren't happy about their draw. it's there something inthe world i hate more than essendon, it's collingwood

bloody idiots

yeah 2 sundays games! have a sook. There's 3 sunday games a week, 22 weeks so lets just say there's 66 sunday games in a year, give or take a few. that's 132 sides divided by 16 which is 8.25

so theorectically, each side should play about 8sunday games a year. you've got 2. SHOCKING INDEED!!

****en idiot

Lidge said:
I hope that's not a whinge. The Swans request NO Friday nights, as NRL is live into Sydney on Ch 9 and they don't want to compete in that time slot.
Not really but maybe alittle.

Not sure if we requested any Friday night games, but we did last yr but got 0.

I might of thought that Sydney/brisbane could of got 2 friday night games between them, during the easter holiday break, as its a non- tv rating weeks, as ch7 could show it in NSW/QLD on Friday night 8:30pm and not be hit in the ratings.

UpForGrabs said:
Obviously there isn't, but if the AFL wants a fair draw, then a 30-game season is a must. Some ways to go about it...

* Ditch the pre-season cup and start the season earlier.
* Final 6, not 8. Less finals and no rewarding of teams who only had 50/50 seasons.
* Fixture so there are shorter breaks between games. Have it so that each team plays 3 games within 2 weeks on a select few occasions.
* Increase list size significantly to counter possibility of a greater number of injuries.

Either that or get rid of some teams to make the competition smaller, then fix the fixtures accordingly so each team plays the other twice.

1) I like the pre-season comp. It is important that there is more than one winner every year too. It also brings in quite a bit of sponsorship.

One thing that was odd with the pre-season comp in 2007 - why have a prel. final up in Darwin. The population there is about 50,000. I would play one of the finals in Albury at Lavington's home ground. There are at least 50,000 that live in Albury and it is good for footy in NSW.

2) One change i would like to see is the introduction of shorter matches.
15-18 minute quarters plus time on should be sufficient. That way you could extend the season by a couple of weeks and thereby make it more equitable.

3) final 6 - agree in principle, but i think revenue is a factor and more revenue comes from a final 8.

The Dice Man said:
Stoked Collingwood got such a soft draw as it means their players will become even softer, if thats possible, and still continue to over-rate their position by getting a cotton wool ride to the finals, only to be completley humiliated and have their fat asses kicked out of the finals in the first week...

...yet again :D

You know - I actually agree 100%.

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=304328

for people once again complaining about collingwood's draw have a read of this....in every teams financial verdict it mentions how lucky/unlucky they are at having/not having home games against collingwood

thats why we don't go to carrara, tassie, canberra, geelong etc...

No real surprises. A lot of it had already been leaked.

First think I always check when the draw comes out is when Essendon play in Sydney. It's Saturday 2nd June, 7:10 at the SCG. I'm happy with that. After a small crowd this year, I was worried that the Bombers might not get a game in Sydney next year - sooner or later it will happen, but fortunately it hasn't happened since 1998.

Magpie said:
Rocca >>> Ottens
Didak >>> Chapman

The comparison of Didak and Chapman is debatable I personally think Chapman is the better footballer and remember Didak will be coming back from his knee injury next season.

Ottens is better in the ruck than rocca :p

Considering the game's in the best financial state it's ever been in, couldn't they focus this draw more on equality than bloody money?
Treat every team equally and we'll all accept the reality of some teams getting a slightly better/worse draw than others, but at least it would even out over the years. But no, its all about money these days. Can the AFL return their focus to FOOTBALL!?!?! Stop changing rules to make the game "better", stop gearing the fixture to maximise gate receipts, and focus on improving the game through a fair fixture and other means, because I'm getting fed up with this corporate machine that the AFL has become.

Mappa said:
You are the premiers ffs ! Do you want to be rewarded by playing Carlton, Hawthorn and the Roos twice !

Yet, the first sentence of the article:

Collingwood, Adelaide, Sydney and Brisbane are the big winners from the 2007 AFL fixture, released on Wednesday.

I then would have expected tougher draws for them.

Hawkk said:

Rubbish.

You shafted yourself. Hawthorn play 5 away interstate games which is perfectly normal and acceptable. All Victorian teams should play either 4 or 5, and Hawthorn do.

It's your own dumb fault for playing 4 home games away from home. Absolute idiocy. It goes against everything that is normal for clubs who play home games in any code around the world.

If I was a Hawks fan I'd be furious at the football club for allowing this ridiculous situation to happen.

I can't believe how Hawk fans seemed to "accept" and "like" the stupid move to play 4 home games interstate, even though it goes agaisnt everything that "home" games stand for around the world in any competition.

It's your own stupid fault Hawks. Now you've got to live with it for five years.

Dan26 said:
Rubbish.

You shafted yourself. Hawthorn play 5 away interstate games which is perfectly normal and acceptable. All Victorian teams should play either 4 or 5, and Hawthorn do.

It's your own dumb fault for playing 4 home games away from home. Absolute idiocy. It goes against everything that is normal for clubs who play home games in any code around the world.

If I was a Hawks fan I'd be furious at the football club for allowing this ridiculous situation to happen.

I can't believe how Hawk fans seemed to "accept" and "like" the stupid move to play 4 home games interstate, even though it goes agaisnt everything that "home" games stand for around the world in any competition.

It's your own stupid fault Hawks. Now you've got to live with it for five years.

Master stroke from the Hawks hierarcy IMO. It will toughen them up like the non Vic's and certainly puts them in a position to be the the next Vic club to win a flag.

Ripper said:
Master stroke from the Hawks hierarcy IMO. It will toughen them up like the non Vic's and certainly puts them in a position to be the the next Vic club to win a flag.

How in the f*** is playing 4 home games in Tassy going to toughen them up? If they played those games in Victoria:

- it would be better for the members and their supporters and they could see their team. They are a Victorian team, after all, as well as giving them more matches on the "finals venue" MCG.

- it would help them win games because playing at the MCG would surely be more beneficial towards winning than playing in Tasmania. Therefore, plying in Tasmania gives them a harder shot a being successful. It's not going to help them. it hinders them.Just like if your team (Freo) played 4 home games in Brome it would hinder your finals chances.

It's a shocking decision by Hawthorn. It screws the fans and it hurts their on-field chances too.

Oh well... as long as they've got money. :rolleyes:

Mappa said:
Perhaps it's an argument for another thread, but is afl.com.au seriously the worst major league website going around. The fixture is an amateur, cumbersome page, and then to look at just your teams fixture, you have to download a .pdf, which has all the other teams on it too.

What's wrong with a drop down list, and then a page for just the Hawks , in my case, that I can print out !!

They are hopeless :mad:

Go here - The Herald Sun
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20642304-11088,00.html

Carlton clearly have the worst draw again...6 interstate trips including 4 in 6 weeks, i mean you have to be kidding, way too many Sunday games and playing in perth twice.

How can Collingwood continually keep getting armchair rides into finals, it's getting beyond a joke

And to those Eagles supporters complaining...you have 12 home games at the most difficult venue to travel to. Thats an armchair rode...most Melbourne clubs dont even have a home ground.

Premiership Quarter said:
And to those Eagles supporters complaining...you have 12 home games at the most difficult venue to travel to. Thats an armchair rode...most Melbourne clubs dont even have a home ground.

Sorry about that. Do you want us to play at a neutral venue instead?

Also, most difficult to travel to? Doubtful. Try going from Perth to Brisbane or Perth to Hobart and see how easy the Melbourne -> Perth trip is.

Brisbane should be happy - 19 games in QLD and Melb (remembering their Fitzroy fans)

15 on Saturday night prime time television

Sydney have it pretty good as well - 6 in melbourne, 11 in Sydney and 2 in Canberra. Very handy.

jlc

2007 Fixture Released