Strategy 2015 Draft Prospects

• Thread starter Thread starter Jonts

Really, really like Adams as a player. It's often forgotten how effective he can be up forward, however it's more likely that he would make it in the AFL primarily as a backman. Which probably makes it hard to pick him when we already have pretty good depth in terms of defenders.

Agree with missionpossible that as far as accuracy goes the mainstream media has the best idea because they talk to the recruiters. Most notably Emma Quayle and Cal Twomey have that sort of access so are informed in what the clubs might be looking for.

Does that make them any more accurate? Probably not, at least as the first round wears on. By the time you get to our pick Chaos Theory will have overwhelmed the orderly system. Players will be taken for reasons known only to particular clubs and players will fall and slide in the eyes of the amateur phantom drafters.

I really use the phantom drafts to get an idea of the type of player likely to be around our pick and then finding out about that player. That way I have an idea of maybe up to a dozen possibles. And still last year Port thwarted me! The phantom drafters here are not particularly accurate but the best ones give good insights into players. Knightmare either has good antenna for rumours around the place or knows a few people. Even so as far as accuracy goes he gets overwhelmed like everyone else.

This year is going to be especially crazy because of Academy picks and the concentration of early draft picks among a few clubs which means they can select players for reasons other than absolute talent, eg positional need. Port could easily grab a player they rate in their top 20 because of all of the variables in play.
Cheers and in your opinion what / who / where are our targets this draft

Lol given my record in Portia draft game I will probably mislead you. :D I think some genuine pace, I like Johnson, Cuningham and lately Alex Morgan. Think Mutimer could be a chance, tallish left footer with a bit of size who seems to be able to hit up targets. A tall mid like Clark and maybe a genuine ruck like Parrella (possibly as a rookie) and one of those later pick talls like Buzza or Skinner. Tomorrow I would probably come up with another bunch of names.

And thanks for the segue into Emma Quayle's thoughts on where Port might be looking.

Charlie Dixon has come in as much more than a short-term fix, but with two young tall forwards going off the list and Howard and Austin being developed as defenders to this point, the Power could get going on a new one. The trouble is that it's quite hard to find good ones in the section of their draft where they're picking. Ben McKay is a (very rough) chance to make it that far, and Callum Moore is a player who could appeal to someone in the 20s or 30s, but a much broader group of midfielders/utilities is likely to reach their selections. It's just that there are so many of those types bunched up from around the middle of the first round to 35-40 that it's impossible to predict who will be there. Aidyn Johnson is a player who can drive the game forward and his pace/endurance combination could appeal, though he may be long gone. Brandon White is quick too - a player who attacks the ball - and Alex Morgan and Tom Glen can also generate play. Tom Doedee is tough to budge in a one-on-one and players such as Mason Redman, Cameron Hewett and Luke Partington are others who could be available through the 30s. The Power are renowned bidders and there are a few players who could appeal to them. Sydney father-son Josh Dunkley could get through, and while he's not a great runner he could actually be a decent fit for them given his honesty, toughness and big body around the contest. Lions Academy midfielder Corey Wagner has developed into a more rounded player this year and would also fit in well, while GWS pair Jock Cornell and Lachlan Tiziani have some ability. The Power are planning to use two picks, upgrading Gray and Krakouer as a nominated rookie next year.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...aft-part-2-20151120-gl43zh.html#ixzz3s88DQeij

Ford who do you think has the most accurate phantom draft

Ive found that brett anderson(sen) has a good phantom draft up to the 40 mark he usually gets players in the correct Zones. The players he select early usually slide rather than bolt.

Get on the tom glen bandwagon boys he can play

Lol given my record in Portia draft game I will probably mislead you. :D I think some genuine pace, I like Johnson, Cuningham and lately Alex Morgan. Think Mutimer could be a chance, left footer who seems to be able to hit up targets. A tall mid like Clark and maybe a genuine ruck like Parrella (possibly as a rookie) and one of those later pick talls like Buzza or Skinner. Tomorrow I would probably come up with another bunch of names.

And thanks for the segue into Emma Quayle's thoughts on where Port might be looking.

Charlie Dixon has come in as much more than a short-term fix, but with two young tall forwards going off the list and Howard and Austin being developed as defenders to this point, the Power could get going on a new one. The trouble is that it's quite hard to find good ones in the section of their draft where they're picking. Ben McKay is a (very rough) chance to make it that far, and Callum Moore is a player who could appeal to someone in the 20s or 30s, but a much broader group of midfielders/utilities is likely to reach their selections. It's just that there are so many of those types bunched up from around the middle of the first round to 35-40 that it's impossible to predict who will be there. Aidyn Johnson is a player who can drive the game forward and his pace/endurance combination could appeal, though he may be long gone. Brandon White is quick too - a player who attacks the ball - and Alex Morgan and Tom Glen can also generate play. Tom Doedee is tough to budge in a one-on-one and players such as Mason Redman, Cameron Hewett and Luke Partington are others who could be available through the 30s. The Power are renowned bidders and there are a few players who could appeal to them. Sydney father-son Josh Dunkley could get through, and while he's not a great runner he could actually be a decent fit for them given his honesty, toughness and big body around the contest. Lions Academy midfielder Corey Wagner has developed into a more rounded player this year and would also fit in well, while GWS pair Jock Cornell and Lachlan Tiziani have some ability. The Power are planning to use two picks, upgrading Gray and Krakouer as a nominated rookie next year.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...aft-part-2-20151120-gl43zh.html#ixzz3s88DQeij

Port could use 3 picks if there was a big slider.

Ive found that brett anderson(sen) has a good phantom draft up to the 40 mark he usually gets players in the correct Zones. The players he select early usually slide rather than bolt.

Speaking of Brett Anderson here's his top 50 player ranking (not a phantom draft)

Brett Anderson top 50 players

He rates Partington as 41st best player and makes Matthew Allen from Glenelg sound interesting ranking him at 36, currently a 193cm 92kg lead up key forward from Glenelg who could become a mid. I think Quigley liked Allen too.

Emma Quayle seems to think Port will take a rebounding medium defender judging by her observations. Brandon White might be the pick of that group.

Brandon White (13/01/1997. 188cm, 77kg. Dandenong Stingrays)

Medium defender/midfielder/forward

AFL biography: Well rounded medium midfielder/defender with excellent closing speed. He makes very good decisions and distributes the ball well on his preferred foot. Quality mark overhead for a player of his size. Averaged 15.3 disposals (72 percent efficiency) and 2.2 tackles for the Stingrays this year and impressed in three games for Vic Country in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

"I've always liked Brandon. He probably could have played more games for us as a 17 year old, but he went back and played some senior footy which I think has helped him. He's very aggressive and a very good third defender. Once he's had a bit of time in the system I think he'll be a pure utility, that old model utility that can play in all three zones. He has elite speed and poor endurance so he'll need a couple of years, but he'll end up being the smokey in this draft. In two or three years everyone will be saying, how did he slip so low? He's well disciplined, and he's tough as nails. He's that genuine run-through-a-brick-wall type of player that all coaches love. And he's a second cousin of Justin Leppitsch, so he's been able to get some good advice and have some good conversations with him about his footy."

Mark Wheeler, Dandenong Stingrays talent manager

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/tradin...-defenders-20151008-gk47y2.html#ixzz3sAaETGxJ

Doedee looks alright too. Was willing to go to the US on a basketball scholarship so he's not afraid to move.

Tom Doedee (1/03/1997. 187cm, 80kg. Geelong Falcons)

Medium defender

AFL biography: Medium defender who excels one-on-one, is strong overhead and clean below his knees. Solid performer for Vic Country in four matches in NAB AFL Under-18 Championships this year after representing his state in basketball at Under-18 level last season. Team oriented player who averaged 12 disposals in 11 matches with the Falcons this year. Capable of playing on taller or smaller players in defence.

"Tom's a new talent. He did a preseason with us last but wanted to concentrate on his basketball. He was a point guard and hoping to get a scholarship in America, but that didn't work out so he came back to us. He couldn't do much training before Christmas because of injury and he carried a bit of a shoulder through the year, but the clubs look at him and think 'new talent, basketball background, big upside.' He's a very disciplined kid and he played really well for us at the start and end of the year in particular. When he wasn't injured he did really well for Vic Country as well. At the moment he needs to improve the attacking side of his game, but he's a very good one on one defender, he keeps his feet, stays in the contest, defends really well and has kept some really good players quiet. He's not often beaten in a one on one contest."

Michael Turner, Geelong Falcons talent manager

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/tradin...-defenders-20151008-gk47y2.html#ixzz3sAd3CpgE

Partington seems like a Hannebery, sloane, Parker type slider
I get the feeling that the fact he's a very likeable personality as well as being a very solid footballer may see him go a little higher than we think. Ability is obviously important but good character improves club culture which is a great bonus. I wouldn't be surprised to him go top 20:(

Emma Quayle seems to think Port will take a rebounding medium defender judging by her observations. Brandon White might be the pick of that group.

Brandon White (13/01/1997. 188cm, 77kg. Dandenong Stingrays)

Medium defender/midfielder/forward

AFL biography: Well rounded medium midfielder/defender with excellent closing speed. He makes very good decisions and distributes the ball well on his preferred foot. Quality mark overhead for a player of his size. Averaged 15.3 disposals (72 percent efficiency) and 2.2 tackles for the Stingrays this year and impressed in three games for Vic Country in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

"I've always liked Brandon. He probably could have played more games for us as a 17 year old, but he went back and played some senior footy which I think has helped him. He's very aggressive and a very good third defender. Once he's had a bit of time in the system I think he'll be a pure utility, that old model utility that can play in all three zones. He has elite speed and poor endurance so he'll need a couple of years, but he'll end up being the smokey in this draft. In two or three years everyone will be saying, how did he slip so low? He's well disciplined, and he's tough as nails. He's that genuine run-through-a-brick-wall type of player that all coaches love. And he's a second cousin of Justin Leppitsch, so he's been able to get some good advice and have some good conversations with him about his footy."

Mark Wheeler, Dandenong Stingrays talent manager

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/tradin...-defenders-20151008-gk47y2.html#ixzz3sAaETGxJ

That's what we need. Someone who is suited to defence but can move into the midfield while a guy like Hartlett pushes back. Build up his tank with Burgo. A new disciple of Jeet Ken Do.

Reckon Nick Dodge sounds a bit like Robbie G.
Kicks goals from anywhere, balanced and strong through the core, bounces up after a contest for repeat efforts, basically a good kick. Had exposure in midfield and did ok there too.
Endurance a bit low (Burgo can fix that) and at times hesitant to attack the contest (albeit not all the time). Quigley thought him slow, but an article in a Taswegian paper had him in a State private school 4 x 100m relay team with teen sprint sensation Jack Hale, so he does have elite speed.

another pick could see us choosing between Snadden and Markov. Both tested elite across several Combine disciplines, both around the 188cm to 190cm mark. Excellent kicks and Markov has a few tricks as well, plus elite endurance. Neither are high production number accumulators, but with good skills and athletic traits, it may just be a case of them needing to be taught the right positions to go to, in order to be in the play more. Markov could play high HF and midfield. Snaddon with a raking left foot kick, as a HBF moving eventually to midfield.

White or Cunningham also could be strong chances if they slip.

not sure if we are looking at any DFA's for the PSD or Rookie drafts? Kavanagh, Glen or Ballard impress me the most going on reviews, etc.

we have 38 out of 44 on the list, so need to draft 6 in.

As rookies, Tim Sullivan sounds a good 1st ruck/KPF prospect - may slip due to injury this year? Nick Surman a terrific mark and late basketball convert, so presumably plenty of upside there for long term project player.

I have not allowed for any slippage of higher touted picks to our choices in the Draft - maybe one does fall down the ladder, which alters the thinking somewhat.

So who are on our list of pick if slides? Realistically
1 Ah chee *unlikely
2 B McKay
3 Rioli
4 R Clarke
5 Cunningham

I hope we draft Cuningham if for no other reason to add to the list of Trengove and Carlile surname trickery. Check the spelling of his name closely. ;)

So who are on our list of pick if slides? Realistically
1 Ah chee *unlikely
2 B McKay
3 Rioli
4 R Clarke
5 Cunningham

Mckay 20%
Clarke 35%
Cunningham 50%
rioli will be there at 30 something

Brandon white is an interesting one, described as a poor mans aaron francis. Bombed the kicking and endurance tests at the combine apparently

This mock draft by Herald Sun draft expert Sam Landsbergers doesnt have Luke Partington going in the top 30. He is the first media mock drafter who doesnt have Melbourne bidding for Hopper and sliding down to pick 5 and he is the first one I have seen Melbourne taking Clayton Oliver

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...07a3d301f5a9c4be27a914073#load-story-comments
4. MELBOURNE - THE BOLTER Clayton Oliver (Murray Bushrangers) H: 187cm W: 86kg Inside midfielder
Ballsy call but chief recruiter Jason Taylor has gone gaga for this young bull. Powerful inside midfielder overlooked for Vic Country but rattled home to win the TAC Cup league medal. Stoppage star who kicks goals and ices the Dees’ glut of talented midfielders. Think Ollie Wines.

The twist: The Dees had Darcy Parish in front for a long time and want Sam Weideman to partner Jesse Hogan. Will they hold their nerve and hope he’s there at their next pick?
... And the other clubs
PORT ADELAIDE:
South Australian Luke Partington a chance. An immaculate character, Partington has good pace, clean hands and should be taken in the second round.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...07a3d301f5a9c4be27a914073#load-story-comments

Emma Quayle has ranked her top 30 picks - not in mock draft order but in her usual order of who she ranks as the best 30 and in order. She usues does her best 25. She ranks Partington as 30th best in the draft. She also rates Hopper at no.1 Weithering at 2, Mills at 3 and Sasche at 4.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/tradin...hape-the-afl-draft-order-20151120-gl3u0y.html

What I have noted in these media mock drafts is Vic Country man child and full back Kieran Collins slide down the scale. Early on I saw him between 5 and 10, Quayle has him as 17th best player in the draft and Landsbergers reckons he will slide to 23 where the Hawks will pick him up as a replacement for Lake

23. HAWTHORN - THE RAPID IMPROVER Kieran Collins (Dandenong Stingrays) H: 194cm W: 100kg Full-back
Brian Lake retired and the Hawks missed out on Jake Carlisle, so this is a ripping selection. The rapid improver is a man-mountain who will be able to match it with gorilla forwards like Tom Hawkins. Wasn’t beaten in a single one-on-one contest for Vic Country.

The twist: Tom Cole is on the Hawks’ radar and Riley Bonner, who’s kicking would appeal to Alastair Clarkson.

Thanks to you both for your responses

Quigley has Collins at 25. Description sounds very Alipate Carlile, can't say I took a lot of notice of him in the games I saw but by the sounds of it he won't be available at our first pick as every source I've seen thinks he'll go far earlier.

25. Kieran Collins

Ht – 194 Wt – 100

Collins formed a great KPD duo with Weitering at TAC level and for VC at the Champs. They complemented other really well and both worked to cover each other. I am sure the scouts paid very close attention at Collins’ ability to work in tandem with his KPD mate and in doing so make the whole greater than the parts. Collins is not as flashy as Weitering but Collins has some noteworthy traits in his own right and he allowed Weitering to stand out as much as he did.

Collins is a FB who operates best when matched up on power type players. He lacks a little height but I have not really seen taller players be able to take advantage of their additional height. Given the way he plays I think he has enough height to play FB effectively at AFL level. Where I think he is going to struggle is against the KPF’s with speed. He struggled to deal with Allen from SA who has decent but not elite speed and I do think he is going to have difficulties with such match ups at AFL level. With the zone defences prevalent in the AFL at the moment he can be protected to a degree but there are going to be times when he is going to be found out.

He did not test particularly slow at the Combine coming in around the 3.10 level but I think he plays slower than that. Collins does have good endurance though which allows him to make the best of the pace he does have.

Collins is a smart football player who reads the game well and gets to the right spots. He has a good feel for the development of an attacking play and will leave his man to help out a teammate or to drop into the dangerous space. He is a good (not elite) mark of the ball and shows good judgement when to go for the mark and when to kill it with a spoil. He will attack the contest when he has to go and body spoils it well.

He is not a high possession type of defender but neither is he a Presti type who will go long periods without touching the ball. He likes to get forward and connect up in the chain moving forward. He worked well with Weitering in this regard and this is an area where he improved quite a bit from last year.

Collins is a nice kick particularly going long. He seems to have a good feel on his long kicks and he can drop it into his target’s lap very nicely. It looks to me like he has been working on his kicking style. He will occasionally bring out an around the body kick but he seems to have a deliberate move to straighten out his kick on most occasions. It is working though and I would not be complaining. Where he can look a bit shaky is with his handballing. He has a bit of an awkward style and I would have concerns about how his handballing will stand up under AFL pressure. I would be putting a fair bit of time into getting his handballing up to standard.

Collins is one of the most improved players this year in this draft and teams do like an upward trend. There is a bit of a physical limitation with his speed but apart from that he has been developing a game very suited to AFL football.

At 26, has a guy who you don't hear a lot about - Glenelg's Matthew Allen. Any of you SA based guys seen much of him? Apparently also a very talented cricketer who made the call to put his primary focus on footy this year (as a fast bowler stress fractures in the back would make you do that... hopefully not a worry for his football career though).

Blake Hardwick is quite likely to be available at our first pick. From what I have seen is very Brett Ebert, but if deployed appropriately that could be a good thing. Has been dominating junior football this year. With Monfries in his last couple of years, could be worth a look in to compete with Palmer for the medium forward gig?

31. Blake Hardwick

Ht – 181 Wt – 79

There are a few really interesting small / medium forward options this year of varying types. Hardwick and Dodge are two good leading, power forwards who if they were 195cm would be taken in the first couple in the draft. As it is both are undersized for the way they play and are likely to be taken later in the draft (if at all for Dodge). Personally I like both of them quite a lot.

To put things simply, when I watched Hardwick up forward this year he looked like an AFL player playing against juniors. It is hard to narrow down why to any one thing but he just looks to know what to do, when and he seems to be playing the game a couple of seconds ahead of his opponent. He is solid in most aspects of the game and not elite in many but he looks to be doing things easy. He has an excellent understanding of when and where to lead and when he gets a chance in the forward half he is a very good finisher.

Hardwick is a powerful small that is a difficult match up for a small defender in the air and for a tall on the ground. He gets a lot of chances from his lead and mark game and he has a good running leap. He marks it at the highest point and has really nice hands above his head. His hands are also good below his knees which is interesting given he has very small hands (second smallest of those tested). Hardwick is not just a lead and mark type and can score from any situation. He crumbs well and has a big, well balanced body that enables him to keep his feet and finish. He does not do the outrageous but he has a good goal sense and finishes well with more conventional techniques.

What I like about Hardwick is that when he is on he is capable of kicking a bit bag. He takes full toll of his form and will play a whole game. He had bags of 12, 10 and 8 this year on the way to leading the TAC in goal kicking. He kicked 45 goals in the TAC and only 14 behinds which accurately demonstrates how good his finishing is. He has an uncomplicated and consistent set shot technique that Hardwick uses to great effect. In contrast his field kicking is really quite average and is something that Hardwick definitely needs to improve. I do not see anything much wrong with his technique, he just seems a bit lax in what he does with the ball when he is up the field. If he focuses on his field kicking I think he should turn into a reasonable if not good field kick.

Hardwick played a bit of time onball at the Champs and did okay in the clinches but did not do enough on the outside. If he is going to play more midfield at AFL level he is going to need to work on his spread a lot. He tested quite poorly for endurance at the Combine and I would suggest that lack of capacity rather than lack of desire might have been the reason for the spread issue. On the inside he wins a bit of his own ball and seems like to get in there and mix it up but he does lack the great hands that the top inside talents have.

I think Hardwick plays early next year and I would be surprised if he does not get goals.