24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

I guess that Ben King guy could chop out in the ruck?

So called ITK's only give info that is current at the time they are given information. Things ALWAYS change. An example is that O'Meara told my training group in Feb of the year he was traded that he would only go to Carlton or North. If he isn't an ITK of himself, I don't know who is.

You have the right to listen or not to anything posted here, but really you don't have the right to lecture what anybody else should listen to.
There seems to be more and more of them each year. What is the collective noun for such folk?

Is it a “flock of ITKs”? [emoji848]

Ru6i5AQ.gif

RIVAL CLUBS TOLD TO HOLD FIRE ON CONTRACTED KING

AFL clubs have reportedly been told “not to bother” making a play for Ben King ahead of this year’s trade period, with the 21-year-old committed to seeing out his current contract with the Gold Coast Suns.

King has put together a fantastic season in 2021, kicking 43 goals with one round to play in a side that has languished in the bottom rungs of the ladder yet again.

The Victorian’s current contract with the club expires at the end of next year and his name has continued to be linked with a move back to his home state, where his twin brother Max plays for the Saints.

SEN reporter Sam Edmund said on Tuesday that King’s management has poured cold water on the prospect of any move before the end of his current deal.

“One of the most sought-after signatures from a playing perspective in the next 12 months is Ben King,” Edmund said on SEN Breakfast.

“He is contracted for next season on the Gold Coast, but has very much been front of mind across the competition.

“His brother Max (King) signed a four-year extension in May keeping him at the Saints until 2026 and the brothers share the same management team in Connors Sports.

“The enquiries have come thick and fast for Ben, but clubs have been told not to bother asking about him until next year, he just wants to focus on his game and that message has also been relayed to Gold Coast.

“The Suns are hopeful of getting him to the table in the off-season to sit down and sign an extension.

“They believe in all their dealings that Ben has given no indication that he’s thinking of anything other than staying at the Suns.

“This is a big watch this space moving forward.”

via Fox Footy

We tried the Casbolt type with McKernan this year. Hopefully we don't try again.

That said, it's not an easy back-up position to find. Being the back-up, back-up ruck means they are a below average player who just happens to be tall.

Yep, that's why I reckon there's a good chance we keep Hunter and fill the McKernan spot with someone like Casboult.

Chol and Mason Cox and then there are rucks off contract
Meek / Dockers
Lynch / Pies
Pittonet / Blues

no reason we cant get a budget player to fill in - to me Pittonet would be the ruck to get , has shown he is up to standard , big upgrade on Hunter

Pittonet's is Carlton's #1 ruckman (or close to) - why would he want to leave a situation where he can genuinely compete for a game for one where it is clear he would be behind Ryder and Marshall?

Word has it Koning will be there number 1 going forward , and if you think Ryder can keep his herculean efforts going for a full season at 34.
Also as we saw this season , Ryder could also pull the pin anytime and he is one injury away from retirement anyway.

I dont know why he would pick us. Gold Coast and North are both interested where he would play every week.

If he came to us, he would be behind Marshall and Ryder. Plus whatever we do with Battle, Wood, Sharman etc in the key forward position.

Play him in tandem with Ryder where Marshall goes forward.

Rucks with Marshall when Ryder inevitably gets injured and/or retires next year.

I like the idea of targeting Mitch Wallis for our forward line. We need a small forward that can contest in the air if need be. When ever we play any 2 of Butler, Lonie, Gresham the opposition medium defenders have a field day intercepting. Kent is not good enough and Long has yet to perform consistently enough.

Plus it’s an extra player we can run through the middle. Also a leader which we need more of.

I like the idea of targeting Mitch Wallis for our forward line. We need a small forward that can contest in the air if need be. When ever we play any 2 of Butler, Lonie, Gresham the opposition medium defenders have a field day intercepting. Kent is not good enough and Long has yet to perform consistently enough.

Plus it’s an extra player we can run through the middle. Also a leader which we need more of.
Old mate gringo suggested this weeks ago LOL he got shot down big time LOL

This might be a controversial view but I almost don’t think we target anyone in the trade period. Should just take as many good kids as we can get in and start rebalance our list. Thoughts?
I’m of the same belief. A regular pattern would be trade in 1-2 and draft 1-2 good prospects and maybe 1 speculative picks. If we can get 3 good mids and a few speculative picks in one go it’ll mean if say next year’s trade prospects are more enticing we won’t have fallen behind in the youth department. Averages out. There doesn’t seem to be many interesting trade prospects or free agents. They’ve all re-signed. Good time to sell though with our free agents somehow possibly ending up the most enticing.

I quite like the idea of Wallis. Would come cheap and cost very little in draft capital and could be a valuable contributor.

Talia is in the same boat for me but I think fills an even larger hole at CHB. Minor concern that he has struggled with injury this season but previous to that he was magnificently consistent and obviously of extremely high calibre.

We should move on from Carlisle and Frawley but hold Claverino and Joyce for another season.

I would be tempted to use our first pick in the ND on the best beast key defender but am conscious we will miss out on the type of attacking midfielder we so desperately need. Could Owens and Windhager film this need allowing us to grab a first round quality KPD?

If so our KPD stocks would look like the below in some order of quality.

Starting 22

Howard
Talia

Depth

Battle
Joyce
Claverino
1st Rd pick

Pretty solid when you consider all our medium defensive and intercept options.

Who’s the best KPD kid in the draft? And would it be worth overlooking a decent mid option? Pick 6 is pretty nose bleedy for key back but I would pay it for May, Lever, Andrews, Weitering