Rumour 2022 Rumour Discussion Thread

It feels similar to one of those statements a club releases "x coach has the full backing of the board" until days later they get sacked.

As far as I'm aware list management has a certain amount of autonomy. Is it possible this info was strategically leaked before Nicks was made aware? I think it's more likely he's just lying out of his arse and I hope this is the case because I nearly puked when I heard him say Matt is a "required player".

Is it possible info was strategically leaked?

Geez mate yeah I guess anything is possible, but best to try stay in the real world. He said he didn’t have the convo, it’s actual words coming out of his mouth, not rumours. Take them on face value until something is proven otherwise.

He is a decent player.. but let's not kid ourselves... he cannot be compared to our previous stars. He has potential though and looks like a real professional.
He’s 22 and played 39 games FFS. He’s been thrown in the deep end and given very little assistance. Make no mistake, this is a baptism of fire!

What?

The only place it’s well known is in the gullible minds of punters that swallow the garbage that tabloid press put out

So we haven’t had a serious issue with player retention?

I think it was pretty well known among AFL circles that we preferred to reward senior players for their “service” over a number of years, rather than projecting and paying young players for what they may become.

Is it possible info was strategically leaked?

Geez mate yeah I guess anything is possible, but best to try stay in the real world. He said he didn’t have the convo, it’s actual words coming out of his mouth, not rumours. Take them on face value until something is proven otherwise.

It's unlikely it was leaked but there could be a situation where list management and Nicks's opinions about Crouch are not in alignment. He can do a presser and get pissy about the rumours. That doesn't mean the matter is done and dusted and Crouch is definitely here next year.

Obviously Murphy does some of the non negotiables that they felt others weren't doing, such as showing actual genuine endeavour.
So a non-statistical role

FFS thats the most pathetic excuse to play somebody

He tries hard

FFS give him a participation trophy

So a non-statistical role

FFS thats the most pathetic excuse to play somebody

He tries hard

FFS give him a participation trophy
Effort should be the bare minimum expected of all AFL players regardless of talent. Nicks seems to think the first step is the destination.

He is a decent player.. but let's not kid ourselves... he cannot be compared to our previous stars. He has potential though and looks like a real professional.
Butts is a lock down type player. He doesn't have much offence to his game and his kicking isn't overly good. I think when we get another KPD he's probably depth.

IMO he's no worse than Talia was at this stage of his career. Every team needs a good lockdown key defender. We had Truck. Then we had Talia. Butts is in that mold.

But this proves his versatility even more. He’s doing a decent job as KPD in the SANFL whilst also racking up some serious possessions, intercepts, rebound 50’s and M gained. You can’t deride him for one aspect by completely ignoring the fact that the complete package of his performances in the SANFL would warrant selection in plenty of other AFL teams.

Whether people like it or not, SANFL performances should form at least the foundational basis to warrant selection in the seniors.

Frampton has wins as a KPD against Port, Bulldogs and Richmond, narrow loss to Essendon who had 11 diff goalscorers, before shockers against GWS and Carlton (club record 74 inside 50’s) with Frampton getting more marks in these games than Tom Doedee who was supposed to be the ‘spare interceptor’, and who we now know has been battling niggles the whole season.

I know Frampton is not a popular character on here, but I reckon someone is going to pick him up as a DFA and he will be a more than handy intercept defender who can chop out in the ruck, and could be more than that if he continues to develop his KPD craft, which is improving.

View attachment 1459445

The key to Frampton is getting his Brain right.
With noise around Hopper, JHF and Rankine is there any way to get all three?
Would have to give up this year's first and next year's at very least.

Split 2022 pick for two picks in the 10-15 range and send to GWS and GC for Hopper and Rankine?
2023 first and Doedee for JHF?

Baby steps mate. I'm not sure we end up with any of them.

IMO he's no worse than Talia was at this stage of his career. Every team needs a good lockdown key defender. We had Truck. Then we had Talia. Butts is in that mold.

Butts first 40 games have been very very good and he has had a much tougher situation to be thrown into than Talia & Rutten.

Dont forget that Trucks first 60 games came from 2003 - 2006 when we were one of the best teams in the competition. He had Bassett and Ben Hart as key defenders to learn from and play alongside.

Talias first 50 games were across 3 seasons where we finished 14th, 2nd, 11th and he had Rutten to learn from.

Poor Butts got thrown into the deep end as our #1 key defender in a terrible team with no senior KPD to help him grow. He is doing fantastically well.

Obviously Murphy does some of the non negotiables that they felt others weren't doing, such as showing actual genuine endeavour.

Its not "obviously" at all, otherwise there would be no question marks over him.

Is it obvious to you by watching him each week that he (and little boy) is doing something the other players aren't? I mean, I watch them both very carefully, and the only thing I see is their standout enthusiasm at kissing dirt whilst they endeavour to keep their feet, but don't.

What area of the game have you pinpointed where Murphy shows something others lack? His Goal celebrations are next level, but that's about all I can think of.

Its not "obviously" at all, otherwise there would be no question marks over him.

Is it obvious to you by watching him each week that he (and little boy) is doing something the other players aren't? I mean, I watch them both very carefully, and the only thing I see is their standout enthusiasm at kissing dirt whilst they endeavour to keep their feet, but don't.

What area of the game have you pinpointed where Murphy shows something others lack? His Goal celebrations are next level, but that's about all I can think of.
Nicks explained why Murphy was picked, experience. That’s it. Not form, not because he tries hard. Don’t listen to Mego and his mental gymnastics trying to support club decisions.

Effort should be the bare minimum expected of all AFL players regardless of talent. Nicks seems to think the first step is the destination.

And effort comes naturally with buy-in of what the Coach is selling/building.

Jones is a good example. I'd never fault his "effort". He just doesn't play with confidence or self belief, same as many of our players. Self belief and buy-in is what the Coach's primary aims should be. Not just "If I play you, will you try hard?" or "if you try hard, I will play you". That's just modern society in a nutshell but doesn't win you footy.

Nicks explained why Murphy was picked, experience. That’s it. Not form, not because he tries hard. Don’t listen to Mego and his mental gymnastics trying to support club decisions.

Wow did Nicks actually say that re- Murph? I missed it, but that's even more hilarious than what Mego espouses.

So Nicks can't motivate a team and has to play lesser players?
That's a bit of a dumb thing to say.

Nicks has set minimum standards for competitive defensive efforts. Once you set that, you have to hold to it.

I think Cook will be good, but he hasn't demanded a spot over Murphy, sadly. He needs at least another preseason before he has the strength to offer much defensively.

I don't think Sholl and Cook are CHOOSING to not offer as much defensively. I think they're not physically there yet.

Fans have decided that Murphy is a player that they want to bitch about, but he's obviously doing what the coaching team need from that role better than any alternative because he's first 22. He's not just depth.

Hopefully Rachele replaces him - but he's not getting selected because he's the coaches son. It's because of what he offers in comparison to the other options.

Even the biggest hater could see that Murphy and McHenry place a lot more pressure at the contest than Cook and Sholl do currently.

Is that enough to hold their place in the side? Obviously it is currently, and hopefully that changes as our squad improves.

Wow did Nicks actually say that re- Murph? I missed it, but that's even more hilarious than what Mego espouses.
Are you gullible enough to believe Elite Crow that Nicks said the only reason we're playing Murphy is because of experience, and nothing else that he offers?

Fans have decided that Murphy is a player that they want to bitch about, but he's obviously doing what the coaching team need from that role better than any alternative because he's first 22. He's not just depth.

Hopefully Rachele replaces him - but he's not getting selected because he's the coaches son. It's because of what he offers in comparison to the other options.
I hope long term Sog and Rachele replace Murphy/McHenry/Rowe as SF/mids.

Will be concerning if we are still shoehorning Murphy and McHenry in the side next year and beyond.

It could stall Sog and Rachele development. Sog and Rachele need that stoppage time (and will still kick goals) and neither of M&M are good enough to play pure SF.

Especially if we get Rankine.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Even the biggest hater could see that Murphy and McHenry place a lot more pressure at the contest than Cook and Sholl do currently.

Is that enough to hold their place in the side? Obviously it is currently, and hopefully that changes as our squad improves.
We don’t need 100% pressure players, just like we don’t play 100% skilled players

Are you gullible enough to believe Elite Crow that Nicks said the only reason we're playing Murphy is because of experience, and nothing else that he offers?
Ok then Ambassador Velvet lover, perhaps you can share what Nicks said. Because I heard it, did you? Certainly didn’t say because he tries hard and others don’t like you’re imagining.

You know after a run of poor form he was dropped, played an ok SANFL game, returned and then was dropped again? Does that happen to a first 22 player?

Yes. When quizzed why he was picked over Newchurch he brought up his experience and knew structures, not one word about form because he knew he couldn’t as he had only just dropped him and Newchurch played a far better SANFL game. The pathetic thing is dropped him next game

Rumour 2022 Rumour Discussion Thread