List Mgmt. 2022 Trade, Draft, etc thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Dory_77

No, you've got it wrong. Anyone taken as a rookie, is seen as needing more time to develop they're games to the standard of AFL.

How old do you think hell be before he is AFL standard given hes 22 now?

Many players of the past haven't been ready for VFL/AFL, until after they were 23/24 yrs.
In the Hawk power sides of the 80's, they're 2nds players often played more than 100 2nds games, before they could break into the Hawk 1sts.

The exceptions to this rule of thumb, are the Tim Watsons, et al, who started playing 1st grade AFL at the age of 16Yrs old.

He's a rookie for **** sake are you not listening. Every rookie takes exactly 6 years

He's a rookie for * sake are you not listening. Every rookie takes exactly 6 years

great news, two more years til Toby is ready, should play til hes 40 like Michael Tuck did for the Hawk power sides of the 80's so hes got 14 years of quality football left in him.

Dont know why I was so concerned about expecting him to better than he is sooner

great news, two more years til Toby is ready, should play til hes 40 like Michael Tuck did for the Hawk power sides of the 80's so hes got 14 years of quality football left in him.

Dont know why I was so concerned about expecting him to better than he is sooner
Mate when I see Toby Bedford my first thought is Michael Tuck so I don't see why not. He's basically Craig Bradley/Robert Harvey

Mate when I see Toby Bedford my first thought is Michael Tuck so I don't see why not.

Yea, manly beard, great kick on his opposite foot, hard as a cats head, the resemblance is uncanny...Toby likely does get a medal named after himself in the future and call it the Norm Smith medal when presenting it also

Always thought Bedford was a long sleeve wearer that I wouldn't have an issue with.

If Jackson stays, are we still chasing an established player in any position? If we have cap space, I'd be seriously keen to have a crack at [PLAYERCARD]Jake Lloyd[/PLAYERCARD] as an FA while we're in the window (Pig successor)

Lloyd is a great fantasy player but not that damaging, nor great at locking down either. We have very good depth with small/medium backs, too.

I think an inside/outside midfielder who kicks it well and KPF are the obvious needs.

Lloyd is a great fantasy player but not that damaging, nor great at locking down either. We have very good depth with small/medium backs, too.

I think an inside/outside midfielder who kicks it well and KPF are the obvious needs.

100% agree , would be an absolutely pointless acquisition.

Soooo what are our options up forward? and what are our options when it comes to a classy winger/half forward who can actually deliver the ball into the forward line?

100% agree , would be an absolutely pointless acquisition.
We already have a medium sized defender who can't defend and kicks nicely.

Used to like Lloyd but he's statistically heavily inflated by kick out stats, and his drop off this year is because he's being forced to defend occasionally. Especially as mills has moved more on ball. Can see a rapid drop off for him weirdly.

Soooo what are our options up forward? and what are our options when it comes to a classy winger/half forward who can actually deliver the ball into the forward line?
I'm gonna throw out a name that is very unlikely, and highly contentious.

Chad wingard.

Won't happen, but he might be salary dump for a rubbish pick, but if he's in a team that doesn't need him to star, he's possible cream on top in a position we need. He has dropped off in output over past few years for a team trending downwards. Not sure if he could get back to his form of Port Adelaide but if he could, and not be a weirdo, wowee

I'm gonna throw out a name that is very unlikely, and highly contentious.

Chad wingard.

Won't happen, but he might be salary dump for a rubbish pick, but if he's in a team that doesn't need him to star, he's possible cream on top in a position we need. He has dropped off in output over past few years for a team trending downwards. Not sure if he could get back to his form of Port Adelaide but if he could, and not be a weirdo, wowee
I dont hate it, but i would expect her would want more than i would want us to pay.

i like your out of the box thinking

Don't know why I was so concerned about expecting him to better than he is sooner
There has to be better under him for him to lose his place.

The other kids are not ready yet. They may have a higher ceiling level of natural talent, but its not they're time Yet.

I haven't seen it mentioned, but a small, fast defender would be good - a replacement for Nev hasn't really been found.

An inverse Kozzie if you like.

Also, let's just try to find the tallest rugby player we can to play key forward. Can take marks and slot goals with dropkicks.

We’re going to need a mature ruck. If Gawn goes down once Jacko goes we are rooted.

Problem is there’s not a lot around. Lobb will go to WB it seems, Goldy might head to the Cats. But apart from that there’s a real dearth of depth rucks right now it seems. Lot of developmental guys kicking round.

Reckon we will ask for Meek as depth as part of the Jackson trade. Two firsts, a second plus Meek, then draft a development ruck.

Meek would make sense.

Don't reckon we're getting Meek on top of two firsts and a second, though. Seems overs given Jackson is uncontracted IMO.

Meek would make sense.

Don't reckon we're getting Meek on top of two firsts and a second, though. Seems overs given Jackson is uncontracted IMO.
Could throw in Weid as a sweetener - 100% disposal efficiency last night, every disposal a goal. Would be a win for their forward line.

If we can get him relatively cheaply I wouldn't mind Dixon at all on a 2 year deal. I've often thought he is very hot and cold but the way he plays would at least give us a contest every time in the air.
Would be kind of nice to have a crash and bash key forward for JVR to develop behind.