Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I was hoping that we might be able to tempt GC's 5th with 15 & 23, but that's barely a points upgrade for them (which is what they need). I wonder if 5, Hollands/Flanders & a later pick (destined for Kynan Brown) for 15, 23 & 34 would work? Gives them an additional 400-500 points depending on the late pick's exact value.

There is no point trading Grundy unless we get an attractive deal for him. Giving him away for a late pick as well as coughing up half his salary, only then to have to go searching for an inferior back up ruckman to replace him, makes no sense.

If another club wants him they can pay fair price for him. Second round pick and most if not all of our portion of his salary, or no deal. He’s more value to us staying than getting in some immobile second rate plonker on $350k.

We panicked when Dogga left. Grundy was gettable. We got him. Goody thought he could turn one of them into a half decent forward, it hasn't worked. He's realised Gawn is clearly better. Grundy bides his time in VFL. He'll be gone end of season. We'll get a 2nd round pick and move on. No harm in trying, but Gawn is clearly a better ruckman when he takes the bulk of the ruck with a pinch hitter. We're starting to see the benefit of Dogga. Hard to replace.

Freo have got similar problems with Jackson, he isn't a forward, he's only real role is the full time on the ball follower. They can't play Darcy and Jackson in the same team, it's ok atm because Darcy is injured but they have some decisions to make at the end of the season.

Hi Guys, I haven't posted on your thread yet and I must admit that I had overlooked that you own Freo's first round pick. I've got a pretty extensive library of footage/highlights from all the top prospects this season, let me know if there's anyone in particular you'd like a closer look at.

I've just started making highlights videos of the Champs games in particular:

Hi Guys, I haven't posted on your thread yet and I must admit that I had overlooked that you own Freo's first round pick. I've got a pretty extensive library of footage/highlights from all the top prospects this season, let me know if there's anyone in particular you'd like a closer look at.

Hey mate, in your opinion is Harley Reid worth selling the farm for? Or is the gap not as big as media makes out?

In my opinion, he's the best package of talent, power and athleticism I've seen in years. There was a bit of short termist "what have you done for me lately" going around a few weeks ago where people were pushing Jed Walter as a potential alternative pick 1. A couple of things on that... firstly Walter is fantastic, I'd take him over Cadman as a key forward comfortably. But also, Harley had a bad concussion in the second Academy game, sat out 5-6 weeks of footy and was super underdone when he got back. The fact that Harley is comfortably ahead of Walter as a prospect is telling.

He's very much in the mold of Petracca. Gun inside mid, best clearance player in the draft. Talented forward with craft. Goal kicker.

Outstanding work! Personally would love to see some Duursma and Curtin content.

Lol, Reid's highlights are so similar to Petracca, down to the goals, strong hands, fend offs and bombing away blindly with munged kicks inside 50.

noobermensch I haven't bothered watching too much of Reid until recently as I didn't think we'd be a chance (before Freo fell in a heap). In isolation, what is his kicking actually like? Can he finesse the ball/pinpoint targets inside 50 consistently, or is he in the mould of modern big-bodied midfielders who just force the ball forward no matter what?

Personally, Duursma seems a bit more classy and composed from what I've seen, but that's mostly just been highlights.

Lol, Reid's highlights are so similar to Petracca, down to the goals, strong hands, fend offs and bombing away blindly with munged kicks inside 50.

noobermensch I haven't bothered watching too much of Reid until recently as I didn't think we'd be a chance (before Freo fell in a heap). In isolation, what is his kicking actually like? Can he finesse the ball/pinpoint targets inside 50 consistently, or is he in the mould of modern big-bodied midfielders who just force the ball forward no matter what?

Personally, Duursma seems a bit more classy and composed from what I've seen, but that's mostly just been highlights.
His kicking is like Petracca's actually. Being a similar Raging Bull type of person, he defaults to blasting it long and tries to kick the absolute cover off it when he does, which can result in him losing his technique and control. When he lowers his eyes and takes the short/medium kick he can hit them well enough.

I would say that kicking accuracy isn't currently a strength, but his action when under control is fluid so I suspect that with the right coaching he'll be capable of becoming above average.

His kicking is like Petracca's actually. Being a similar Raging Bull type of person, he defaults to blasting it long and tries to kick the absolute cover off it when he does, which can result in him losing his technique and control. When he lowers his eyes and takes the short/medium kick he can hit them well enough.

I would say that kicking accuracy isn't currently a strength, but his action when under control is fluid so I suspect that with the right coaching he'll be capable of becoming above average.
Interesting. On one hand, it means we could feasibly have a mid Petracca and forward Petracca simultaneously, but on the other, we already have a huge volume of mids that are poor kicks, so I'm not entirely sure if I want to completely sell the farm for him (even if it is a long-term investment).

Thanks for sharing

Interesting. On one hand, it means we could feasibly have a mid Petracca and forward Petracca simultaneously, but on the other, we already have a huge volume of mids that are poor kicks, so I'm not entirely sure if I want to completely sell the farm for him (even if it is a long-term investment).

Thanks for sharing

Give me two Petraccas over one Petracca and one Duursma type.

Even with a scattering of munged kicks two raging bulls will overwhelm the bull/smooth-mover combo nine times out of ten.

Duursma reckons his fav sports star is Michael Jordan, starting to like the kid even more, despite not being born when he was around he knows MJ is better than Lebron.

Thanks for sharing
Petraccas bad kicking is completely irrelevant forward now, imagine the damage 2 of them could do? Since we put him forward I don't remember complaining about his kicking at all because he doesn't have to hit perfect kicks to find targets in a crowded 50.

Thanks for sharing
I'd happily sell the farm if it means it gets us another Petracca/Martin type.

Duursma reckons his fav sports star is Michael Jordan, starting to like the kid even more, despite not being born when he was around he knows MJ is better than Lebron.
Dunno, reckon having a bad opinion without the excuse of nostalgia makes him more of a dill. Can't even blame the blanket Stern era marketing.

Verall looks good to me. Big body, looks ok around the ground. No reason why he can't be the backup ruck if things go pear shaped next season or two. We have Kalani White probably coming onto the list just as Gawn winds right down. Happy to go get a plonker from VFL to sit in the rookie list. I think the ruck is down the line in regards to needs.

It's amazing how a forwardline can look s***house for months, then look like gold suddenly. I can see Petty/JVR combo working as our KPF. Fritta and Melk our mid sized forwards, with Chandler and Koz as our smalls. Trac floating in and out like he does. Not every game will look like last week, as the Tiges are attacking and give the mids space to work with, but this has potential, with Jeffo taking over Melk. On current form you'd give Melk another year.

Dunno, reckon having a bad opinion without the excuse of nostalgia makes him more of a dill. Can't even blame the blanket Stern era marketing.

Jordan really did a number on your team as a child didnt he? Its ok he cant hurt you anymore.

Verall looks good to me. Big body, looks ok around the ground. No reason why he can't be the backup ruck if things go pear shaped next season or two. We have Kalani White probably coming onto the list just as Gawn winds right down. Happy to go get a plonker from VFL to sit in the rookie list. I think the ruck is down the line in regards to needs.

It's amazing how a forwardline can look s***house for months, then look like gold suddenly. I can see Petty/JVR combo working as our KPF. Fritta and Melk our mid sized forwards, with Chandler and Koz as our smalls. Trac floating in and out like he does. Not every game will look like last week, as the Tiges are attacking and give the mids space to work with, but this has potential, with Jeffo taking over Melk. On current form you'd give Melk another year.
yep its crazy, our forward line looks packed now with JVR, Petty, Fritta, Trac and Jefferson but now we desperately need another KPD (Probably need another 2) and another couple of mids.

Jordan really did a number on your team as a child didnt he? Its ok he cant hurt you anymore.
No. I'm just not susceptible to marketing. The guy maximised his time with the clear best team in a very weak era. It's commendable but not compelling.