Training 2026 Training Reports

again from Herald sun

Don't miss out on the headlines from Sport. Followed categories will be added to My News.

Tasmania Devils young gun Nathaniel Sulzberger “isn’t putting a time limit” on his desire to crack the AFL, but believes the unity the team has prioritised over summer will give players the best chance to break into the big time.
Many experts felt Sulzberger, a midfielder who has spent time on the wing in pre-season, wouldn’t have looked out of place as a mid-season draft pick-up last year.

The 19-year-old North Hobart product played 11 VFL games with North Melbourne last year, but said the Devils’ pre-season has been a tougher challenge.

A big number of Devils players haven’t played at VFL level before, and Sulzberger said the taxing pre-season is designed to ensure they’re ready to match more experienced teams.

“It’s very similar training wise and drill wise, similar drills as it was at North (Melbourne) but much, much higher intensity,” he said.

“I think it’s the hardest pre season I’ve done in my life, some of the sessions were pretty gruelling. The intensity was definitely much higher, the running load was higher than it was at North.
Utter nonsense.

I know for a fact that of the North Melbourne offseason wellness check Survey Monkey questionnaires could take 30, sometimes even 40 minutes to complete.

If Tassie are going at their players harder than that then they'll break them.

again from Herald sun

Don't miss out on the headlines from Sport. Followed categories will be added to My News.

Tasmania Devils young gun Nathaniel Sulzberger “isn’t putting a time limit” on his desire to crack a the AFL, but believes the unity the team has prioritised over summer will give players the best chance to break into the big time.
Many experts felt Sulzberger, a midfielder who has spent time on the wing in pre-season, wouldn’t have looked

The 19-year-old North Hobart product played 11 VFL games with North Melbourne last year, but said the Devils’ pre-season has been a tougher challenge.

A big number of Devils players haven’t played at VFL level before, and Sulzberger said the taxing pre-season is designed to ensure they’re ready to match more experienced teams.

“It’s very similar training wise and drill wise, similar drills as it was at North (Melbourne) but much, much higher intensity,” he said.

“I think it’s the hardest pre season I’ve done in my life, some of the sessions were pretty gruelling. The intensity was definitely much higher, the running load was higher than it was at North.
Has anyone ever heard, at any club, of a player looking for a contact say anything different?

Shut the place down, we are being out trained by a club that doesn't even exist yet.

Hang on, Nathaniel, are you talking VFL training or AFL training? Also, your parents gave you a quite an unfortunate name.

Shut the place down, we are being out trained by a club that doesn't even exist yet.

Hang on, Nathaniel, are you talking VFL training or AFL training? Also, your parents gave you a quite an unfortunate name.

Sulzberger done a few sessions with the AFL side last pre-season but he wasn't a mainstay like Bamert or Byrne this year.

Assuming he is talking North VFL vs Tas VFL. To me that's not surprising, The VFL listed players all train together, but really our focus is on the AFL side. A standalone VFL side would have far more oversight and training frequency/intensity compared to ours that only train (sometimes) 2 x per week. Some North VFL listed players train with their local clubs when they can't get into the city to train.

again from Herald sun

Tasmania Devils young gun Nathaniel Sulzberger “isn’t putting a time limit” on his desire to crack the AFL, but believes the unity the team has prioritised over summer will give players the best chance to break into the big time.
Many experts felt Sulzberger, a midfielder who has spent time on the wing in pre-season, wouldn’t have looked out of place as a mid-season draft pick-up last year.

doesnt surprise me.
Our training stanards are sub par.
Our AFL side legit got beaten by our reserves team in the first half of the intraclub match.
Players new to the club are often better than our established guys.

again from Herald sun

We will see if it's worth anything or just junk volume.

I would love to see a player go to a new club and say "we trained harder at the old place". Never going to happen. Everyone says the same thing; new place trains harder than the old place.
If you could throw me some links to.incoming North players saying that that'd be swell.

Not even Trembath claimed it and he was coming from a league comprised of fulltime tradies.

If you could throw me some links to.incoming North players saying that that'd be swell.

Not even Trembath claimed it and he was coming from a league comprised of fulltime tradies.
He was out of breath though 🤔🤷‍♂️🤣🤣🤣

Just so there's no ambiguity;

Nostra I bet you a $100 North Melbourne Shop voucher that Toby Pink is in the Round 1 AFL squad

Bet void on any injury/situation that would impact his availability.

Do you accept?

Hey The Nostradamus

8982.webp

You should be a good sport and buy something from the match-day merch shop on Sunday, and tip your hat to Toby Pink when you do so.

I must have missed where I accepted the bet?

Yes we all saw you bitch out of the bet and we all understood what that meant. Which is why I phrased it as you should "be a good sport".

It's money to the club! I don't see a cent and I'm not asking you to buy me anything. I'm saying you should be a man, admit you were wrong, and buy yourself something nice from the club.

Whereas you bet me that he was on the senior list and lost

I'm not sure you understand what the word "bet" means at this point, but just to be clear there was never a bet about this.

Fisher, " I did **** all at Carlton and believe it or not, North expect even less".

Correct, Hardeman was orange all 18-on-18 from what I saw. Playing his usual HBF role. Appeared to be moving fine, I certainly didn't see any red flags.

I'm guessing he's just being managed and will be available week 2 or 3.
Pity neither Hardeman or Goater are up for playing. That would have helped I reckon. Hopefully Blamires can provide heaps of run. I think he'll tire in the last half tho.

Also...

• According to the scoreboard they are setting up a play/structure called the "Shielsy Schnapp". See pic below. I have no idea, folks... It seems to be a hand-ball only fast transition drill where you can 'score' by handballing it through a very narrow set of goals.

Were they any good at this drill? I think it'll be important if we can play that way on the weekend.

Anyone at training today? Mainly curious to see if there's any friday match sim ahead of a Sunday game. Sometimes Friday is treated as a 'captains run' light session when we have a Sunday game.