5 players already signed by GWS

KS, How can you possibly say no to $1.5M each year for 5 years. Plus a coaching/marketing role post your career ending for another $500,000 each year for ten years. This would be doubly so because it is a young club needing tradition eg early ex players staying at the Club.

That is saying no to approximately $12.5 million dollars.

I guess you have not read the autobigraphy of Bret "The Hitman" Hart?

Clever boy, but how can two players be the reward for one priority pick? Quite simply we would have gotten one or the other from our 1st round pick. A little like Roughead OR Franklin. If it's the only way you can feel good about a Pies premiership then keep spouting this crap, but I seem to remember a very tight COllingwood v Kangaroos match that year that went the Roos way, which Collingwood did a poor job of tanking in, it was less than a kick in it.

i don't believe you're a real Collingwood supporter as you worked out the flaw...

Anyway we'll say that you got Thomas with the priority pick if that makes you feel better.

lol, this thread is hilarious

people quoting a line from the player saying they are "very happy at the club" then declaring without equivocation that they are staying

take it from eagles and cats fans, people. what the player says means nothing in the end.

what matters is their contract negotiations.

if they say "want to be a one club player" or "they are looking forward to a premiership tilt" and they they delay contract negotiations, then start the get worried.

because, and heres the rub, players that genuinely "want to be a one club player" or really are "looking forward to a premiership tilt" sign contract extensions so they can concentrate on their football

exactly as nick naitanui and other GWS targets have done this off season

Good post but not all true. I remember the year Judd left WC half way through the year neither he nor Pavlich had re-signed and the West ran a full page story about how Pav was being unfair to Freo, that if he had real commitment to Freo he would put everyone out of their misery. That by not re-signing he was destabilising the club and setting a bad example. Pav just kept saying, I'm happy where I am, we will look at it at the end of the year, right now I just want to play Footy.
Judd was making similar noises and this was seen as quite appropriate by the (not at all WC centric) West footy writer as it was obvious (to them apparently) that Judd was a moral to re-sign as WC had so much more to offer than Freo and everything was coming up roses down there.
Of course we all know what happened and when Pavlichs' next contract came due he said exactly the same thing all year. I'm happy where I am and we will look at it at the end of the year. And he signed on again.
So sometimes when people say they are happy but don't want to talk contracts mid year they actually mean it.

What would the life style be like in West Sydney, Havnt been there myself?

Gold Coast has nice beaches, surfing etc, What has West Sydney got to offer?

I wouldn't think they'd be living in Rooty hilll or Blacktown.

If I played or worked for them I'd stay here in th eEastern subs probably a little further south such as the Bra or Botany even along the bay other San Souci & such at the times they'd be going using toll roads trip to rooty hill approx 45 mins or so & homebush less

Some nice spots around Homebush (concord/breakfast point)close enough to city by car & p transport can get to beaches easily either direction. Easy to get out to rooty hill, easy enough to the airport.

Hills district (kellyville/rouse hill) bit far to head to the airport every 2nd week but some will like it (I wouldn't) not far to training at rooty hill or homebush

Camden an option for some also some nice spots lower blue mountains if you are into it. Semi rural golf coarses etc same issue re airport easy enough to get to training though

Northern beaches & Sutherland shire beaches ok for homebush depending on where about on beaches if close to Mona vale rd sweet use that & lane cove rd you'll have a reasonable trip by car. Bit further for Rooty hill but M2/M7 handy once of LCR. Airport pain, Shire handy to airport thats about it not massively bad for homebush, rooty hill a bit further.

I'd go east though as every second week you'll be on a plane so Botany/Maroubra (M5/M7) easy for training & close to airport for travel & some great beaches & golf coarses near by & plenty of stuff to do.

I happened to be having dinner with a few people on the weekend. One of them is associated with the new GWS franchise. He smiled and said that You would be amazed who is on the list pf players who have signed a heads of agreement that they are moving to Sydney.

5 or 6 of the best players in the AFL.

People are going to be shocked.

And some supporters are going to be seriously upset.

I believe you.

I wouldn't think they'd be living in Rooty hilll or Blacktown.....I'd stay here in the Eastern subs probably a little further south such as the Bra or Botany even along the bay other San Souci .....nice spots around Homebush (concord/breakfast point) ....Camden an option for some .... lower blue mountains if you are into it....Northern beaches & Sutherland shire beaches ....beaches close to Mona vale rd...

I think you're probably right about Maroubra or Sans Souci. There are lots of possibilities. I'm 50km south of Sydney at Stanwell Park, 200m from a beautiful beach. You get on Heathcote Road, the M5 then the M7 and you're at Blacktown in 1 hour. The airport is 45 minutes away. I think the Giants are lining up apartments on the river for a lot of the players. I'd suggest some players might go for an apartment plus a beach house (you pick Maroubra, Sans Souci, Cronula, Stanwell Park, Mona Vale, Whale Beach etc). The whole hideous Western Suburbs argument putting players off is rubbish.

I don't think the Giants need or will want a known AFL star. Folau will be their star power initially even if he doesn't make it as a long term player (or even medium term).

People need to remember that the Gold Coast and Western Sydney are too very different populations. There's a lot more ex-Victorians existing AFL supporters who will convert to the Suns on the Gold Coast than there are in Western Sydney that will convert to the Giants.

The Giants will need to convert NRL supporters. NRL supporters will not know who Daisy or Pendles are. I therefore think the Giants will go for a lot of B+ players rather than one A plus a few Bs. It's a lower risk strategy. If Ablett goes down with a serious career ending injury next year what will that do to the Suns? Lots of eggs in the one basket... Giants will be better off, as they've said with good young players with potential to go elite.

Rich is more of a B+ than an A or a B, and with Fev getting all the money if I was a Brisbane supporter I'd be worried. Is Murphy an A yet? Is Judd's salary keeping a lid on the other Carlton player's salaries? With an extra $1 million the Giants can offer an extra $200,000 per year to five players and I suspect that's the strategy they'll be adopting.

I'd also agree with the comment someone made about Sheedy and Aboriginal players. Fast and exciting players will get the punters on board so they will look for the next Adam Goodes or Lewis Jetta.

Someone said they didn't know of a Western Suburbs connected player. Keiran Jack would have been perfect for them but the Swans re-signed him and all their important players so I don't see much opportunity for the Giants from the Swans list.

Saw an Article on the advertiser a few years back. GWS are Obiously after guys like Taylor Walker, Andy Otten and Bernie Vince. Out of the 3 they would chase after Walker being a NSW guy.

At Port Adelaide the Targets would be Alipate Carlile, Justin Westoff, Danyle Pearce and Daniel Motlop. Im certain one of theses guys might take the bait and choose the cash. Also Chad cornes contract is out this season as well. I would choose Ali C mainly because the team needs a good Key position defender. Wouldnt mind Pearce.

At Freo theres rumours that gws are interested in Palmer or Ibbotson.

At West Coast, GWS are obivously after Beau Waters. That tall Fijian Fella Nic Nat was targeted, but has commited to WC. I know for certain Quentin Lynch contract runs out this season. Im probrably going to be verbally abused for this one I reckon a 28 year old Lynch might go to GWS on a 2 year contract.

probrably for a good reason. I rather have Lynch, who is proven at AFL as a goal kicker on a cheap contract worth $400,000 a year than Israel Folau whos unproven in the AFL on 1.5 million a year.

Would Bartel or Selwood from geelong be interested to leave geelong to grab the cash?

Are there Any experienced NSW players? I can only think of Mitch Hahn from the Bulldogs, tom Hawkins from Geelong, Walker from Adelaide and Lenny Hayes from the Saints.

If I had to guess 5 guys that are already taken by GWS im guessing
Taylor Walker (Crows)
Hawkins or Selwood (geelong)
Ali Carlile (Port)
Mitch Clark (brisbane)
Andrew Walker (carlton)

I can see where you are coming from, but there are a couple of circumstances that may preclude Walker.

1) Lifetime Crows fan
2) Broken Hill is a lot closer to Adelaide than Sydney

Mt suspicion is (and it is only my suspicion) that GWS would have to offer well over the odds to lure him away from Adelaide.

My thought is they will target Tony Armstrong. Fast, elite foot disposal and indigenous (always faves of Sheeds and Choco) and has a few games under his belt

ON EDIT* Just saw your post this page.

Judd was making similar noises and this was seen as quite appropriate by the (not at all WC centric) West footy writer as it was obvious (to them apparently) that Judd was a moral to re-sign as WC had so much more to offer than Freo and everything was coming up roses down there.

E shed - i expected better from you than that sort of media paranoia.

All throughout the year we heard in the newspapers everything relating to Judd and the contract - rumours were rife, he was spotted looking at properties in Melbourne etc etc. It was hardly all roses in that regard

People like to bag him for being mercenary - but he wouldn't have got that much more money going back to Vic - i just think he wanted to go home - and his girlfriend saw a better lifestyle.

The cr@pola about him being sick of the drug culture is a fallacy born out by the fact that Kerr was his best man and Cousins invited to the wedding.

I can see where you are coming from, but there are a couple of circumstances that may preclude Walker.

1) Lifetime Crows fan
2) Broken Hill is a lot closer to Adelaide than Sydney

Mt suspicion is (and it is only my suspicion) that GWS would have to offer well over the odds to lure him away from Adelaide.

My thought is they will target Tony Armstrong. Fast, elite foot disposal and indigenous (always faves of Sheeds and Choco) and has a few games under his belt

ON EDIT* Just saw your post this page.

Gary Ablett...lifetime Geelong fan
Torquay a lot closer to Geelong than Gold Coast.....oh wait!...

E shed - i expected better from you than that sort of media paranoia.

All throughout the year we heard in the newspapers everything relating to Judd and the contract - rumours were rife, he was spotted looking at properties in Melbourne etc etc. It was hardly all roses in that regard

People like to bag him for being mercenary - but he wouldn't have got that much more money going back to Vic - i just think he wanted to go home - and his girlfriend saw a better lifestyle.

The cr@pola about him being sick of the drug culture is a fallacy born out by the fact that Kerr was his best man and Cousins invited to the wedding.

It wasn't paranoia. It was one particular article in The West that incensed me at the time. It more or less said Pav was a ratbag for leaving the club in a state of uncertainty about his contract but it was perfectly acceptable for Judd to do the same thing because he was a certainty to re-sign.
It made my blood boil at the time, still does thinking about it.
Ok that's not the same as saying that's all we heard all year but I claim artistic license as the west are scum :cool:
But I take your point. I shall try to keep my standards more lofty :)

I think GWS is gonna have a very difficult time enticing marquee players because of the location and lifestyle.
It is a far more attractive proposition locating to the GC on huge bucks, rather than Western Sydney.

I think GWS is gonna have a very difficult time enticing marquee players because of the location and lifestyle.
It is a far more attractive proposition locating to the GC on huge bucks, rather than Western Sydney.

Sydney is one of the great cities of the World, Gold Coast is a dump, this is nonsense logic.

scully is clearly going. devastating stuff for the dees. but how can a teenager knock back the sort of money that was no doubt thrown at him?

If he does go - what compensation would the Demons get? It would be a travesty because it seems that Melbourne has done everything right but is punished by a lax system. I would hope the AFL would have options on the contracts of draftees to act as insurance.

Welcome to our world. Vlad does not give a rats ring about current clubs so desparate is he to build his legacy as the great sports administrator. Don't hold your breath if you lose Scully.

$3m in his first year?

Seriously, this is a joke if true. Nothing against the youngster who is a fine talent but this just means they are struggling to secure "top tier" talent, at least that's how I'm reading it. What would someone like Swan or Pendlebury command if Scully is getting close to $3m in the first year? It's outrageous.

It would be devastating for Demons fans. Also, what kind of compo would they get? Surely, he wouldn't fetch more than Gary Ablett compo which is why it would be hurt even more for Melbourne.

$3m in his first year?

Seriously, this is a joke if true. Nothing against the youngster who is a fine talent but this just means they are struggling to secure "top tier" talent, at least that's how I'm reading it. What would someone like Swan or Pendlebury command if Scully is getting close to $3m in the first year? It's outrageous.

It would be devastating for Demons fans. Also, what kind of compo would they get? Surely, he wouldn't fetch more than Gary Ablett compo which is why it would be hurt even more for Melbourne.

Cant blame him if he leaves for that kind of money, a good mate of mine knows him pretty well and reckons his as good as gone.

Would think his comp would be close to Abletts if its based off 3 aspects being Salary/Age/Accolades, his on more or similuar coin to Ablett (dunno how much its backended and how much his on after his first year) his much younger than Ablett as well.

Sucks for the D's losing Scully and Watts not developing things arn't looking too good.

I would be gutted that the Dee's could be building toward something like they have been and lose the best young talent (arguably) in the country. Goes to show the AFL could give a **** about the clubs supporters. If he has been there for 1 year and was the number 1 draft pick the D's should get the number 1 pick next year that would have gone to GWS, that is still being sold short as he may not be as good as Scully but it's the least Dee's supporters should expect.

5 players already signed by GWS