Review A Win’s A Win - Freo by Six In The ‘Away’ Game vs North

Can't agree with this sorry. It's actually a luxury that if Amiss / Treacy / Voss play - we can rely on one of them to stand up (when it comes to scoring). There was a point in time where Amiss was ahead of everyone. And then Treacy was ahead of Amiss. Now Voss is apparently better than both. This is just what development and gaining experience looks like.

If you want everyone to be perfect and firing on all cylinders, lets wait another 5 years when our forward combination are all actually over the age of 25 like some of the best that are roaming around in the competition now.
Amiss hasn’t looked like a potential future A grade key forward in a long time now.
The last REALLY impactful game I can remember from him was in round 1 2024 when we beat Brisbane at Optus and he kicked 4 or 5 goals and was a key part of the victory.

He’s been a peripheral player on this side for most of the time since that game to be honest. There’s been a few brief flashes and bags of 3 or 4 goals where we were well on top anyway, but mostly he’s been outshone by Treacy and also Voss, in 2025.

I used to think he’d be a set and forget key forward for 13 or 14 years. Not so sure at all about that anymore.

I think Davies would have been better the last few weeks. He was in better form as well. If Pearce isn't back this week, Davies or OMac in would be good.
OMac didn’t play for Peel today. May have been the emergency held over for the Dockers. Not sure if that affects his chances of playing next week.

Could use that logic to every player under 25. Respectfully, that's a weak logic. Ginni gets dropped and comes back in very good form.

Rachelle, Thilthorp are a few more examples.

Amiss has done the minimum for a long time now. Nothing wrong with dropping him and telling him to work on his game and build confidence
Ginni and Rachelle are not playing as a KPF though which is much harder and Thilthorp has 87 goals from 67 games while Amiss has 94 goals from 60 games.

Amiss hasn’t looked like a potential future A grade key forward in a long time now.
The last REALLY impactful game I can remember from him was in round 1 2024 when we beat Brisbane at Optus and he kicked 4 or 5 goals and was a key part of the victory.

He’s been a peripheral player on this side for most of the time since that game to be honest. There’s been a few brief flashes and bags of 3 or 4 goals where we were well on top anyway, but mostly he’s been outshone by Treacy and also Voss, in 2025.

I used to think he’d be a set and forget key forward for 13 or 14 years. Not so sure at all about that anymore.
Hate to repeat the message but he has kicked 94 goals in 60 games and is still only 21.

I think we are well off the pace of the top handful of sides anyway this season.
Never been so confident this far out of what the GF pairing will be - I think it will be Collingwood v Geelong and I detest both of them but the Vics will love it.
I think there is 9 teams vying for 8 finals places. It will probably require 14 wins to secure a spot this year in the top 8. Will we get there? I think we need to win the next 2 and get to 10 and 5, then try find 4 more wins from the last 8 games.
It would be very Dockery to finish 9th on 13 wins. So that’s what will probably happen. Gold Coast are probably the one that could slip out.

We need to play finals this year. For several reasons but not least to expose some of these guys to intense September footy and give the club list management a better insight into who can cut it and who can’t.

He's 21 mate. I know we all love Dead Eye Jye and want him to hit the scoreboard like he did when he first started - but there's a good chance he's the first forward that oppositions are looking at when they play us. His work-rate up the ground and the contests he provides have improved. He literally won us a game this season doing that. Let him build and work through having these (half the time multiple) mature bodies glued onto him.

Yes it's frustrating as hell when he finally does get the opportunity to slot them and he doesn't like tonight - but lets not act like that's all he's good for, and lets not forget every other lead up he does that never gets honoured or sets up a teammate.

I still have my money on him to be the best forward of the 3, so don't stress too much over it ;)

Me thinks many have been drinking turpentine tonight.
But in all honesty, it was one we almost threw away.
But four points is better than none. Good thing, we are winning the close games.
I doubt the legitimacy of some of our alleged supporters.
Yeah righto - so you are saying there’s a heap of people on here that are secretly non-freo fans but just spend hours of their time anyway watching every minute of every game this team played year in year out, posting on the freo board every week just for, I don’t know - some perverse enjoyment? 💁🏻‍♂️

I think we are well off the pace of the top handful of sides anyway this season.
Never been so confident this far out of what the GF pairing will be - I think it will be Collingwood v Geelong and I detest both of them but the Vics will love it.
I think there is 9 teams vying for 8 finals places. It will probably require 14 wins to secure a spot this year in the top 8. Will we get there? I think we need to win the next 2 and get to 10 and 5, then try find 4 more wins from the last 8 games.
It would be very Dockery to finish 9th on 13 wins. So that’s what will probably happen. Gold Coast are probably the one that could slip out.

We need to play finals this year. For several reasons but not least to expose some of these guys to intense September footy and give the club list management a better insight into who can cut it and who can’t.
I was worried our season was over when we lost Young - getting him, Pearce and O'Driscoll back will make us stronger

ohh and JOM was awesome in the first few games

we could have/should have beaten Collingwood

North played asses off tonight!
They’ve got so much talent around the ball and they’ll show it off occasionally like tonight. Forget that it was a bogg out there and their pressure ratting was off the charts.
We are always flat off the buy.
I exoected it to be close so this doom posting is over the top.

Good welcome back for the boys

I was worried our season was over when we lost Young - getting him, Pearce and O'Driscoll back will make us stronger

ohh and JOM was awesome in the first few games

we could have/should have beaten Collingwood
Where is NOD anyway, I haven’t watched peel for a few weeks but isn’t he fit and playing down there?

Big case for him to come in instead of Sharp I reckon. He gives us another big body through the middle too.

The Jye Amiss missed kick at goal in the 4th when they had a run of 2 or 3 goals on us was just downright shocking.
That was simply unforgivable for a guy whose primary job is to kick routine goals. It not like he’s running around doing a load of other work too.

That round the corner kick from 15-20 meters out on your stronger side (which Jye was on) has become as straightforward as shelling peas for the top line AFL forwards nowadays. It’s like a 4 foot put in golf for a pro player with no break.
When I think of other good teams - players like Cameron, Mihocek, Elliot, Hogan, Tex Walker, even Mabior Chol - when key moments like that arrive in their big games - they are almost never missing that shot. 98 times out of 100 it would be kicked by any of those players in that scenario.

I don’t actually know what the solution is with Jye now. As far as I’m concerned he’s going backwards and was a much better footballer in 2023 than he is today in 2025. I’m not sure what that says about him or the footy club and its development of him.

I think he’s got mental problems with the game at the moment, and I’m also wondering if he’s got talent/ability question marks too at this point?
Let’s be brutally honest here - Patrick Voss is a long way ahead of Amiss right now.
Opposition defenders are taking away his strength. He needs to ge on the lead more often.

It’s similar to a new batsman coming in and going really well. With exposure bowlers around the world play against this new batsman and watch lots of vision and work out weaknesses etc.

I actually believe he has been contributing quite well but his set shot misses have to be sorted out. Had two that he should have nailed. Regulation even. Treacy also missed to regulation shots and his set shot has gone to poop as well.

Thought we looked a bit slow with Darcy playing. Would much rather Voss playing 2nd ruck & O'Driscoll or Dudley in.
North seem impressively physical for a young team - young guys like Wardlaw have a crack - a bit like Brayshaw. We seem to struggle against tough teams.

Thought we looked a bit slow with Darcy playing. Would much rather Voss playing 2nd ruck & O'Driscoll or Dudley in.
North seem impressively physical for a young team - young guys like Wardlaw have a crack - a bit like Brayshaw. We seem to struggle against tough teams.
If Voss plays second ruck he likely doesnt kick as many goals though.

The highlight for me was Bolton's back out of a pack and shimmy goal in the first qtr, that was pure class.

The lowlight was how easy North were able to transition from their back half and how we struggled to do the same.

Credit to North it looked like we were going to run away with it in the second qtr but their pressure was very good and they clawed back into it.

As the thread says a wins a win and we move on.

Opposition defenders are taking away his strength. He needs to ge on the lead more often.

It’s similar to a new batsman coming in and going really well. With exposure bowlers around the world play against this new batsman and watch lots of vision and work out weaknesses etc.

I actually believe he has been contributing quite well but his set shot misses have to be sorted out. Had two that he should have nailed. Regulation even. Treacy also missed to regulation shots and his set shot has gone to poop as well.
I think he’s improved on his general play this year actually, but for me his primary job is to kick the goals from the set shots chances he gets.

His inability do execute that role to a required standard at present, is outweighing the other positives he’s bringing elsewhere.

That’s why I’m such a big fan of Sturt and so frustrated he can’t get fit.
if he gets 10 set shots at goal he’s kicking 7 or 8 of them. Even if he’s down at do much else, he’s exerting more scoreboard pressure. There’s lots of talk about other pressure but not many exert scoreboard pressure (the best type) better than Sturt.

I never understand AFL teams that don’t value accurate goalkickers above every other attribute of a forward. Have always felt that Mihocek for example, is grossly underrated for this reason. Jamie Elliott is the same this year. What a luxury for the pies to have dead eye dicks like that to finish their good work every week.

We don’t really have that right now sadly.

If you watch the last 2 minutes Banners actually encourages Treacy to move the ball on when he still had plenty of time to kick in the last 30 seconds. For a smart guy I really question his footy IQ sometimes.

Review A Win’s A Win - Freo by Six In The ‘Away’ Game vs North