Autopsy AFL 2025 Semi Final - Crows v Hawks Fri Sept 12th 7:40pm EST/7:10pm CST (AO)

Who will win and by how much?

• Crows by a goal or less

Votes: 7 4.3%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 10 6.1%
  • Crows by 7 - 20

Votes: 45 27.4%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 67 40.9%
  • Crows by a lot

Votes: 17 10.4%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 14 8.5%
  • Draw

Votes: 4 2.4%

IMG_5962.png

AFL 2025 PREMIERSHIP SEASON SEMI FINAL
ADELAIDE V HAWTHORN
FRIDAY SEPTEMBER 12TH 7:40PM EST/7:10PM CST (ADELAIDE OVAL)

TRY TIPPING ON BIGFOOTY

CLICK HERE :arrowright: TIP IN BIGFOOTY TIPPING
$1000 total prize money!
$500 first place and a spiffy medal
$300 second place
$200 third place

Weekly Prize:
:arrowright: Best score each round wins a year's Premium Platinum membership!

Tipping proudly sponsored by
The Golden Ticket

Medallion Club tickets at the MCG and Marvel
Corporate Box tickets at the MCG and Marvel
AFL Finals Tickets

Optus Stadium open air box tickets

Adelaide Oval Stadium Club tickets

Heritage Bank Stadium Lounge tickets

GABBA Open Air Corporate Boxes

TEAMS
CROWS

B: J.Worrell, M.Keane, R.Laird
HB: W.Milera, N.Murray, M.Hinge
C: I.Cumming, J.Dawson - C, D.Curtin
HF: B.Keays, R.Thilthorpe, A.Neal-Bullen
FOLL: R.O’Brien, J.Peatling, J.Soligo
I/C: J.Rachele, L.Pedlar, S.Berry, M.Michalanney, B.Smith

EMG: L.Murphy, J.Butts, B.Dowling
In: - J.Rachele
Out: - H.Bond (Omitted)

HAWKS
B: J.Battle, T.Barrass, B.Hardwick
HB: J.Impey, J.Sicily - C, M.D’Ambrosio
C: K.Amon, J.Ward, D.Moore
HF: C.Macdonald, M.Chol, N.Watson
F: J.Gunston, M.Lewis, J.Ginnivan
FOLL: L.Meek, J.Newcombe, C.Nash
I/C: J.Scrimshaw, J.Worpel, S.Butler, J.Weddle, C.Jiath

EMG: L.Breust, C.Mackenzie, N.Reeves
In: - M.Lewis
Out: - C.Dear (Injured)

:arrowdown: Links to the Club Board tipping comps :arrowdown:

This will be a ripper. Hawks so much resilience.

Crows tough at home. They will bring the pressure we know that. Just got to be a little smarter and cleaner with ball use.

Crowd will be big advantage. Cracking game. I think Hawks are better but in Adelaide probably the Crows in a nail biter.

Before everyone jumps at me again, this is only footy trivia. It bears no relevance to this Friday night's game.

H2H record in finals:
  • EF (1993) = Hawthorn 95-110 Adelaide
  • EF (2007) = Hawthorn 105-102 Adelaide
  • PF (2012) = Hawthorn 97-92 Adelaide
  • SF (2015) = Hawthorn 135-61 Adelaide
Hawthorn leads the finals H2H record 3-1.

Adelaide were probably the only team from this weekends games that weren’t playing a “finals brand” of footy.

Whether that was because the lead up and all it contained got to them - or just simply the occasion, or it was because they just aren’t ready yet, is hard to determine.

Finals hold no fear for the Hawks, it’s ingrained at the club to perform, and either do Adelaide or the AO but the Crows earnt their spot at the head of this years table because they have the talent in the forward 50 to pile on the scoreboard pressure and the soldiers in the back half to limit the opposition’s ability to respond.

Should be a genuine ripper, will just depend on whether the Crows manage the expectations and mindset that is bound to come from their rabid fan base and local media.

I’ve tipped the Crows by under a goal purely because I think they’ll respond, but it’s either teams game.

What a cracker finals series this will be, bees dick between every team left in it.

And it has to be the first time it's a 50/50 game where the smart money may even be on 8th.
Probably the closest one (At least on paper) since the Showdown final in '05 after the Crows lost to St Kilda and Port whipped North by 15 goals

Which ultimately ended very well for Adelaide

Before everyone jumps at me again, this is only footy trivia. It bears no relevance to this Friday night's game.

H2H record in finals:
  • EF (1993) = Hawthorn 95-110 Adelaide
  • EF (2007) = Hawthorn 105-102 Adelaide
  • PF (2012) = Hawthorn 97-92 Adelaide
  • SF (2015) = Hawthorn 135-61 Adelaide
Hawthorn leads the finals H2H record 3-1.
All those matches were in Melbourne. First finals meeting in Adelaide.

Bullish on the hawks here.
Beware tho crows will be angry tho.
this is next level feral this one as well.
Spicy game again at AO.
Hawks to set up a hawks cats preliminary final.
So i have hawks in this one winning by a close 12 points
Just our luck 2 years in a row copping the angry SA team that lost a home final the week before.

Crows are the worst minor premiership team in recent times and we are probably the best 8th placed team for some time.

Not much between them imo should be a great close game.

Just our luck 2 years in a row copping the angry SA team that lost a home final the week before.

Crows are the worst minor premiership team in recent times and we are probably the best 8th placed team for some time.

Not much between them imo should be a great close game.
‘Worst minor premiership team’ in a season that it took 15 wins to just make the top 8, so we had to win 18 to finish 1st. 3rd ranked offense and 2nd ranked defense. No team lucks their way to 1st.

Huge turnaround for Adelaide this season, from 15th to top 4. But as expectation built, the eggs got thrown. Hard to win this one with all the pressures and distraction the club is facing right now as always.

Hawthorn will almost certainly learn from their last trip to Adelaide Oval and get the job done by 17 points becoming the 2nd 8th place team to reach a preliminary final.

But even if Adelaide somehow pull this off they are no chance against Geelong.

My main concern for Adelaide is Nicks is stubborn and will go super defensive again, stacking the squad with defenders. If only they went back to their 2023 gamestyle, they'd romp this one in easily. Unless he changes it up Hawthorn by 30+.

Huge turnaround for Adelaide this season, from 15th to top 4. But as expectation built, the eggs got thrown. Hard to win this one with all the pressures and distraction the club is facing right now as always.

Hawthorn will almost certainly learn from their last trip to Adelaide Oval and get the job done by 17 points becoming the 2nd 8th place team to reach a preliminary final.

But even if Adelaide somehow pull this off they are no chance against Geelong.

Pressure and distraction as always.

Cry us a river.

The Crows ... have not handled the Rankine distraction well at all IMO.

Based on what? They lost? You reckon the weight of expectations having finished top alongside most players playing their first final had less to do with it than Rankine missing? Thilthorpe not flying for the ball was due to his adoration of Izak? Come on. I doubt a single player was impacted meaningfully.

Based on what? Certainly not the numbers. Only percentage separates the Crows this year from Geelong of 2022. Or do you mean your estimation of the quality of the team? I suppose the last few minor premiers have won it or made the GF so I guess if we don't make it then you can level the argument but regardless its a strange one to make. Up there with ranking premiership teams- they were the best in any given year so how it is worth comparing them? No matter what your argument is you can't make it without conceding every other team did worse that year and so if you want to suggest the minor premier is crap then you're having a hard time saying any other team isn't also crap by comparison.

Funny some of the posters in another Crows thread letting them live rent free in their heads.

Huge overreaction to a single result. First time final for a lot of the players and coming in finishing top brings extra pressure with it.

Should be a cracking game if both teams bring it.
Crows will definitely bring it teams that lose that first final always do.

I hope Hawthorn bring it too should be a cracking game.

Based on what? Certainly not the numbers. Only percentage separates the Crows this year from Geelong of 2022. Or do you mean your estimation of the quality of the team? I suppose the last few minor premiers have won it or made the GF so I guess if we don't make it then you can level the argument but regardless its a strange one to make. Up there with ranking premiership teams- they were the best in any given year so how it is worth comparing them? No matter what your argument is you can't make it without conceding every other team did worse that year and so if you want to suggest the minor premier is crap then you're having a hard time saying any other team isn't also crap by comparison.
I think you finished top due to a soft draw due to finishing bottom 4 last year.

Just my personal opinion.

I do rate the crows and give you a better than even chance to win this week.

Adelaide were probably the only team from this weekends games that weren’t playing a “finals brand” of footy.

Whether that was because the lead up and all it contained got to them - or just simply the occasion, or it was because they just aren’t ready yet, is hard to determine.

Finals hold no fear for the Hawks, it’s ingrained at the club to perform, and either do Adelaide or the AO but the Crows earnt their spot at the head of this years table because they have the talent in the forward 50 to pile on the scoreboard pressure and the soldiers in the back half to limit the opposition’s ability to respond.

Should be a genuine ripper, will just depend on whether the Crows manage the expectations and mindset that is bound to come from their rabid fan base and local media.

I’ve tipped the Crows by under a goal purely because I think they’ll respond, but it’s either teams game.

What a cracker finals series this will be, bees dick between every team left in it.
Posted this on the Hawks forum but something to consider…

Hawthorn is playing its 7th game at Adelaide Oval since the start of 2024. It’s the Hawks third most played venue behind the MCG (22) and Tassie (8) and ahead of Marvel (6).

In fact they've played more games at the Adelaide Oval than the following teams have played at the MCG: Adelaide (5), Fremantle (4), the Gold Coast (2), GWS (3), North Melbourne (4), Port Adelaide (3), St Kilda (4), Sydney (6), West Coast (2) and the Western Bulldogs (5). And the same number as the Lions at the MCG.

As it stands they’ve played more games at Adelaide Oval than any other team besides Port (25) and Adelaide (24). Not sure what sted that holds them in (they are 1-5 at the ground) but it’s basically a third home ground in terms of familiarity.

Posted this on the Hawks forum but something to consider…

Hawthorn is playing its 7th game at Adelaide Oval since the start of 2024. It’s the Hawks third most played venue behind the MCG (22) and Tassie (8) and ahead of Marvel (6).

In fact they've played more games at the Adelaide Oval than the following teams have played at the MCG: Adelaide (5), Fremantle (4), the Gold Coast (2), GWS (3), North Melbourne (4), Port Adelaide (3), St Kilda (4), Sydney (6), West Coast (2) and the Western Bulldogs (5). And the same number as the Lions at the MCG.

As it stands they’ve played more games at Adelaide Oval than any other team besides Port (25) and Adelaide (24). Not sure what sted that holds them in (they are 1-5 at the ground) but it’s basically a third home ground in terms of familiarity.
Head to head record at Adelaide oval is 5-2 our way our record against Port is poor.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Semi Final - Crows v Hawks Fri Sept 12th 7:40pm EST/7:10pm CST (AO)