Multiplat AFL Evolution 2

Something’s that’s annoying me is when you get paid a free kick for, the screen cuts to all the players back in their normal position. So if you want to move it on quickly to open players you can’t. I think they fixed that with the old game.

Ross you’re salty as hell but the level of candour is great. Your passion comes through, and I felt a bit of actual football passion with evo 2. I really think evo 2 is the best AFL feeling game yet, but I’m certain a 2020 big ant game would be much better.

How to reconcile, how to reconcile.

There is nothing I can say other than nope, we're all good. We've got fantastic franchises with Cricket and Tennis, and some others not yet announced, that have allowed us to be the only licensee->developer->publisher->distributor in Australia, the future is extraordinarily bright for BA.

Yep you guys are smashing it.

But I reckon you’d like some things in evo 2.

Anyone else encountering the issue where the game sometimes randomly doesn't show the ball drop of a kick? Happens at least once or twice in every game I play. I'll clear it from defence from example with a 40-50m kick, and it'll track the ball through the air instead of going to where it'll drop, meaning it's near impossible to get into best position to take the mark. Very frustrating.

Agree with someone else's comment earlier that the ball seems to gravitate towards the goal post when having a shot on the run. I've hit the post too many times to count. I also find it frustrating that sometimes when you take a mark inside 50 and you enter goalkicking mode, your player won't automatically be facing the goal, you have to aim it back towards the middle. No big deal but just annoying.

It's annoyingly easy to stuff up a play because you pushed a button one too many times while trying to get a shot at goal away in a stoppage. For example, if I'm in congestion trying to win the ball and I hit circle (PS4) a few times in case the ball randomly pops into my hands, when that does happen and it squirts out to a free player who takes a mark, the player who marked it will just automatically play on and kick for goal because I hit circle one too many times. Same with marking/dump kick with triangle.

Yep you guys are smashing it.

But I reckon you’d like some things in evo 2.

The best thing was actually the mocked up Brownlow count the Twistie (Dean) put up on Twitter - I immediately thought, wow, that's cool(!), but then found out it's not actually in the game.

You've said that a few times now, what is it you think I'd be impressed by? (Don't say AI, it's the same 18 1v1 as Evo but with the occasional random run off the man to make it look like AI/Intent and give you a free man up the field.)

I’m sorry but those big ant tennis games are up there with two of the worst sports games I’ve ever played

AO was a mess when it came out, embarrassing, so we did a patch every five days for six months to say sorry and make up for it, not only fixing but adding features. (The unfortunate thing is we had a great game in November, invited press around, they agreed - we then proceeded to try and make it even better and totally broke it.)

AO2 I'd disagree with you, it's pretty solid, check independent reviews for it, it averaged 70+, and we're still supporting it, indeed a patch dropped just last night.

The best thing was actually the mocked up Brownlow count the Twistie (Dean) put up on Twitter - I immediately thought, wow, that's cool(!), but then found out it's not actually in the game.

You've said that a few times now, what is it you think I'd be impressed by? (Don't say AI, it's the same 18 1v1 as Evo but with the occasional random run off the man to make it look like AI/Intent and give you a free man up the field.)

The spare man tactic is real. I can crate 2 v1 in my backline. At times I’ve looked downfield and saw Brown outnumbered. Went to him and got out marked.

I’ve been able to switch play. Switch back aswell.

I’ve taken a contested mark at centre half back and bomb to an open half of the ground. There’s a lot less adherence to positions.

I think you’d have taken this much farther btw, but evo 2 is the best yet.

No offense to Ross, I can see his passion in the game and I think almost everyone here would have liked Big Ant to continue with the AFL games. (Myself included).

But by reading the stuff he's posted in this thread, I feel that a lot of this feels like he's still somewhat bitter and upset about what happened and still wishes Big Ant had the license for it. Which is understandable considering what has happened but I feel like that if there is one guy who could change the current situation, It's him honestly at this point. We aren't in the position that he is in. Big Ant have split from Tru Blu and are now in a position to self publish their own games. Honestly, What is stopping Big Ant from getting the license as soon as the current licence between the AFL and Tru Blu ends. Like, They have a good case they can show to the AFL about how people feel about the current games and how they felt about their one and only attempt at the game. The league itself is starting to see that gaming is a big thing. What's really stopping things?

I feel like Ross is just going on about what they would do while putting in slight digs at Wicked Witch, Which is fine but it just kinda seems pointless if nothing is gonna happen. I've heard it and I've been hearing it for the past 7 years. Big Ant are better than Wicked Witch. I agree, It's just gotten tiring, Especially from Ross. I get it. We'd have a better game by now if you guys were still developing.

Essentially, What I'm saying is if you want something to change, do something about it and actually try to get your hands back on it as a company when possible or get off the pot. It's frustrating reading and leaves just thinking that we'll forever be stuck in the same cycle with every AFL game which is frustrating because it feels like we'll never get a good AFL game ever and that's depressing.

No offense to Ross, I can see his passion in the game and I think almost everyone here would have liked Big Ant to continue with the AFL games. (Myself included).

But by reading the stuff he's posted in this thread, I feel that a lot of this feels like he's still somewhat bitter and upset about what happened and still wishes Big Ant had the license for it. Which is understandable considering what has happened but I feel like that if there is one guy who could change the current situation, It's him honestly at this point. We aren't in the position that he is in. Big Ant have split from Tru Blu and are now in a position to self publish their own games. Honestly, What is stopping Big Ant from getting the license as soon as the current licence between the AFL and Tru Blu ends. Like, They have a good case they can show to the AFL about how people feel about the current games and how they felt about their one and only attempt at the game. The league itself is starting to see that gaming is a big thing. What's really stopping things?

I feel like Ross is just going on about what they would do while putting in slight digs at Wicked Witch, Which is fine but it just kinda seems pointless if nothing is gonna happen. I've heard it and I've been hearing it for the past 7 years. Big Ant are better than Wicked Witch. I agree, It's just gotten tiring, Especially from Ross. I get it. We'd have a better game by now if you guys were still developing.

Essentially, What I'm saying is if you want something to change, do something about it and actually try to get your hands back on it as a company when possible or get off the pot. It's frustrating reading and leaves just thinking that we'll forever be stuck in the same cycle with every AFL game which is frustrating because it feels like we'll never get a good AFL game ever and that's depressing.

Perfectly echoed my previous sentiments. Ross is bitter and probably within reason, but whats happened has already happened. It sounds salty to dig at a game a rival competitor has made but now it almost justifies why these games always have setbacks. Be better not bitter ✌🏼

Lacrosse 18 had me really kicking myself Big Ant aren't making them anymore, because I really liked the player formation, physics and collision system. I still play Live 1 a bit by just giving up 100 points on the hardest difficulty, in the first quarter. Alongside PES of course. Maybe we should have complained to The AFL licensing department, then? I don't subscribe to, "be grateful crummy footy games are being released otherwise there would be none." Maybe Big Ant can dip their toes into Gaelic football? I'd be totally over that.

I actually reckon it’s fairly unprofessional and petty for a known developer to be in a forum dedicated to a competitors game, and then taking clear pot shots at it (even if it’s via reference of others comments). Happy to collage them all if anyone wants to dispute the above.

Yes he has been asked, but a professional would keep their lips sealed, and not even post under their company’s name/profile in a thread about a competitor! Can’t actually say I’ve seen it happen anywhere before.

Not a good look, and agree with the above posters, it is coming off as somewhat bitter and repetitve, even if he is including some ideas they would have theoretically implemented had they put their money where their mouth is, and developed the game themselves.

Maybe we should have complained to The AFL licensing department, then? I don't subscribe to, "be grateful crummy footy games are being released otherwise there would be none."
Those are all good options. Mass complaints to the Licensing Department gets the message to the AFL about it. Being vocal about boycotting a game because is not good in your eyes gets the message across to the AFL too if you make the point in a load of places. The complains are not my problem, I easily get where things are coming from and we all want the best AFL game. Everyone here is behind that. I just wish a lot of people who are upset about it would do more than just complain on BigFooty and actually channel that anger into something that could actually change things. A group campaign if you will. If you make an impact by letting yourselves be known and getting your message across near and far, They will listen. You just have to be persistent about it and make yourselves actually seen as a visible group and as a united front and not as a bunch of random people.

If you guys really want change, You gotta fight for it and hard. It's worked for many other games in the past. Even recently with the somewhat return of NFL 2K. That wouldn't have happened without the demand and persistence from a community of people desperate for a better American Football Game. (And even their fight still has a long way to go.)

Those are just my two cents.

I haven't had a chance to look at that yet, are the ratings much improved compared to the original ratings?
Yeah in my honest opinion, I think they’re heaps better
Team ratings have changed a fair bit too
Tigers and pies are the only teams that are rated 85 and Suns have gone down to 79
Personally I’d have a bigger gap but still a lot better than the original ratings

Yeah in my honest opinion, I think they’re heaps better
Team ratings have changed a fair bit too
Tigers and pies are the only teams that are rated 85 and Suns have gone down to 79
Personally I’d have a bigger gap but still a lot better than the original ratings
Have they updates players accessories too?

Multiplat AFL Evolution 2