All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread

The realignment of the Under 19s has been very poor to say the least. It appears nothing more than a case of the tail wagging the dog. It should have remained as three divisions, and the clubs are TOLD where they are playing, not asked.

The league's role should be to place each team in their appropriate grade after 5 rounds. If not, then what is the point of having grading at all? If a Club has their ego dented for a season, then so be it. In the Senior grades, clubs don't get a chance to appeal to the league where they play. The results dictate that. If you are last, you go down, if you win the flag, you go up. The Under 19s should be no different. If you are belting teams, then you belong in a higher grade. If you are struggling, you go down where you might be more competitive.

I have also heard of clubs that want to play in Div 1 because their kids won't play in Div 2, or it's not as attractive to recruit players etc. Let's be fair dinkum though, how many are we talking? A couple of kids at most. They want to put themselves in the shop window of the Knights (or maybe their parents do), or they are told "you have to play Div 1 or we won't look at you". The case of the few shouldn't be dictating common sense for the rest. I'm very confident that if that if you asked the kids at Diamond Creek (for instance) if they mind going down to Div 2, that VAST majority would shrug their shoulders, say "whatever" and just get on with the season.

Reducing it to two divisions does nothing to improve the competitiveness. In fact, it just widens the gap. The likes of Kinglake and Epping now have to come up against the likes of South Morang and Laurimar. Kinglake were beaten by 132 points by Heidelberg in Div 3. What might the other two do to them? It seems to me that the powerful club like Heidelberg has more of a say than the smaller club like Kinglake, and that's plain wrong. If they are (wrongly) going to make it two divisions, then all of Laurimar, South Morang and Whittlesea should have been promoted.

The grading should have changed the divisions to this...

DIV 1 - In: Whittlesea. Out: DC & Mont. 8 Teams

DIV 2 - In: Heidelberg (Div 3) and DC & Mont (Div 1). Out: OP & Macleod (Div 3) and Whittlesea (Div1). 6 Teams

Div 3 - In OP & Macleod. Out: Heidelberg. 8 Teams
But the first 5 rounds isn't true grading is it. Whats to say if DC & Mont go down they arent a level above div 2 and Whit a level below the div 1 teams, you end up with the same issues. Your not comparing results between teams in different divisions to get a better understanding of each teams strengths.

It's how grading how has always been done. 4-5 rounds gives a good enough indication to know where teams are at.

Whittlesea have played every other team in Div2 and comfortably accounted for them all. They also have players to come back in. They'll will be more than competitive in Div 1 (having seen them with my own eyes). DC have played 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th and 8th and lost to them all.

It's not an exact science, but creating one division from Div2 and Div3 massively disadvantages the teams currently in Div 3. Likely because the clubs are pulling the strings, not the league.

Soon we will have 'Development' sides interchanging divisions.

Imagine if there was a simple way of doing things....oh the past......

Soon we will have 'Development' sides interchanging divisions.

Imagine if there was a simple way of doing things....oh the past......
3 teams playing at three different places..

The will wonder why there is not crowd for the seniors as the ressies boys and unders don't come back to the club after playing in Kinglake or some shit.

Let's play a game.

Its Monday night, NFNL still have not made a call on PlayHQ (despite many rumours that 2 Divs is a lock) so there is NO fixture up for people to know what is happening.

When do we reckon the public will know, Thursday after selection is my bet however with the competence they have shown in past maybe they will send a pin to all players Saturday morning on where they should head to.....

We may also get their post about selections last week in a few weeks.....

Such a professionally ran organisation on the ball and in touch....(cough)

Let's play a game.

Its Monday night, NFNL still have not made a call on PlayHQ (despite many rumours that 2 Divs is a lock) so there is NO fixture up for people to know what is happening.

When do we reckon the public will know, Thursday after selection is my bet however with the competence they have shown in past maybe they will send a pin to all players Saturday morning on where they should head to.....

We may also get their post about selections last week in a few weeks.....

Such a professionally ran organisation on the ball and in touch....(cough)
They sent clubs emails saying the two divisions will happen. Whittlesea will go up it said and they easily accounted for Laurimar who were 3rd. They won by 3 and a bit goals on that cow paddock and with the rain in the morning, that equates to About a 10 goal win I reckon. So everything the league thought would happen has, so unless a massive change occurs the two divisions should come into effect tomorrow.

Plus they already know some fixtures. Hursty v north at yarrambat being promoted flat out..

Whittlesea vs Mernda 15s called off a few weeks ago as well.. happens everywhere and every league.. not saying this year hasn’t been worse or better but clubs getting on front foot.. meeting in the middle before a game? Come on…

Clubs will need to get stronger - be clear at start of year with ALL parents on code of conduct.

If parents are the issue then there will be consequences AND actually do it.

Clubs will need to get stronger - be clear at start of year with ALL parents on code of conduct.

If parents are the issue then there will be consequences AND actually do it.

Take points off them, no participation awards for little johnny. Ban parents and their kid.

In saying that, growing up in the old DVFL in the 70s and 80s I saw some wild all ins, not condoning it but we have not changed how we penalise anyone so this will continue. The NFNL will throw a fine at clubs and think they have solved problems.

Videoing is costly but maybe time for FrogBox (seen in local cricket which many clubs do not have the $$$ like local footy clubs) positioned somewhere for all games, for protection as well as evidence. Cannot be hard to implement videoing like that....but that wont pay for the lattes at HQs so fines it is.

I agree with most of that Denny .....

• parental suspensions
  • team points loss
  • awards loss for players
  • fines are severe on volunteers/clubs trying to control f-wit parents, but if done the parents pay it or little Johnny/jill don't play until done.
  • little Johnny/Jill get one mulligan for poor parental behaviour and then if it keeps happening - out of club.

Where we differ is that whilst they don't get everything perfect - I think the pile on at the moment re the NFNL's NEW staff is a little premature. It's a brand new team basically so let's get a sample size of 12 months before all the armchair critics can feel validated.

Side note: think they got 19's thing wrong

northcote park should have been thrown out of the league for what their u 19s did in 2007 grand final. I'll never forget it

Whilst is sounds like something deplorable Logan, a group of young adults behaving very poorly is a little different from these 'weekend warriors' of parents coming to games and stuffing it up for all the kids.

As for under 19 behaviour - should fall into a code of conduct, fines, etc of the senior club.

Fines do nothing. Fines pay for the NFNLs staff wet lunches and long lattes at the Uni.

Get video, send to Dan Does Footy, embarrass the players, parents and Clubs. Look at how it worked against the antisemite in NSW on the weekend, time to show these faceless morons their face.

Either show strength and leadership or the 'new' NFNL band will not only be tarred with the brush of past, they will have earnt it.....I know where my punting money will be placed.....

Fines do nothing. Fines pay for the NFNLs staff wet lunches and long lattes at the Uni.

Get video, send to Dan Does Footy, embarrass the players, parents and Clubs. Look at how it worked against the antisemite in NSW on the weekend, time to show these faceless morons their face.

Either show strength and leadership or the 'new' NFNL band will not only be tarred with the brush of past, they will have earnt it.....I know where my punting money will be placed.....
Just send under cover league representatives to troublesome clubs and start handing out red cards in the crowds which result with on the field free kicks. Imagine the embarrassment for a kid seeing Dad red carded in the stand.

I watched my mates kids under 10 match which was virtually a rolling scrum and parents were going off their head (EDFL) I genuinely couldn't understand how you could be that invested in such a low level social game of football.

It would be interesting to understand

• what ACTUAL policy individual competitions can bring in?
  • what needs to be sanctioned by AFL Vic?
  • what legal obligations they need to follow for any rules they bring in against poor parent behaviour?
  • what systems / tribunals or challenges to rulings made need to be ticked off?

This is where volunteers running clubs throw hands in the air and think ... too hard.

Just saw the Kilmore press release.... that joint is not having a good year
All clubs got it, most have posted similar on their socials ... been quite a few issues already around the traps on a Sunday I believe.

Remember when people would say football builds character - sadly these days it often reveals far more about people than anything else.

Take points off them, no participation awards for little johnny. Ban parents and their kid.

In saying that, growing up in the old DVFL in the 70s and 80s I saw some wild all ins, not condoning it but we have not changed how we penalise anyone so this will continue. The NFNL will throw a fine at clubs and think they have solved problems.

Videoing is costly but maybe time for FrogBox (seen in local cricket which many clubs do not have the $$$ like local footy clubs) positioned somewhere for all games, for protection as well as evidence. Cannot be hard to implement videoing like that....but that wont pay for the lattes at HQs so fines it is.
I know domestic basketball bans parents for abuse and threatening behaviour, and this is based on investigation and evidence by refs/officials so maybe now umpire escorts/ground managers need to start taking down names of any and all offenders (they know who the culprits are) Mate of mine got 6 months at domestic basketball for walking onto the court after his son was shirt fronted!!
Understand that its easier to police in a stadium but clubs need to be stronger in this area and start banning parents/offenders from their clubs

I know domestic basketball bans parents for abuse and threatening behaviour, and this is based on investigation and evidence by refs/officials so maybe now umpire escorts/ground managers need to start taking down names of any and all offenders (they know who the culprits are) Mate of mine got 6 months at domestic basketball for walking onto the court after his son was shirt fronted!!
Understand that its easier to police in a stadium but clubs need to be stronger in this area and start banning parents/offenders from their clubs
Only thing Rover is to try not to make volunteers of the smaller match day tasks the police of this though if we can help it.
It's a whole club thing and the senior committee people need to make it VERY clear what the standards are for you to be involved at that club. If you cant do that - then bye, bye. ta ta. take a hike and explain to your kids why they cant play with their friends anymore. This crap MUST stop.

Have been doing some reading on the competitions that have 'thirds' and how it is working for them. It looks like it is in many cases and so is something that I am sure others will look at also. Previously I was staunchly against it due to our experience in the VAFA with SUPER clubs having more than one thirds and how that impacted other clubs. That said, after some reading it seems that it's something worth considering - maybe?

Friday Night Comp for Thirds
  • supports players who want/need to work Saturdays a little better
  • for players not keen on two nights a week training or better for Mon and Wed?

• Could it replace Saturday Reserves football?
  • Could it free up some room for Saturday women's football? (19's, Womens, Senior mens?)
  • Does kit keep more people playing at grass roots level?
  • Does it have a shorter playing season? 10 - 12 games?

It will of course come with issues around:
  • Ground availability/lighting
  • Volunteers
  • Umpires
  • Takes players from Reserves teams?

Have not done enough investigation, but in some comps this is thriving. Not sure.

Have been doping some reading on the competitions that have 'thirds' and how it is working for them. It looks like it is in many cases and so is something that I am sure others will look at also. Previously I was staunchly against it due to our experience in the VAFA with SUPER clubs having more than one thirds and how that impacted other clubs. That said, after some reading it seems that it's something worth considering - maybe?

Friday Night Comp for Thirds
  • supports players who want/need to work Saturdays a little better
  • for players not keen on two nights a week training or better for Mon and Wed?

• Could it replace Saturday Reserves football?
  • Could it free up some room for Saturday women's football? (19's, Womens, Senior mens?)
  • Does kit keep more people playing at grass roots level?
  • Does it have a shorter playing season? 10 - 12 games?

It will of course come with issues around:
  • Ground availability/lighting
  • Volunteers
  • Umpires
  • Takes players from Reserves teams?

Have not done enough investigation, but in some comps this is thriving. Not sure.
Need the ressies boys at training Thursday to keep the bar ticking over and the fines jar full.

Only thing Rover is to try not to make volunteers of the smaller match day tasks the police of this though if we can help it.
It's a whole club thing and the senior committee people need to make it VERY clear what the standards are for you to be involved at that club. If you cant do that - then bye, bye. ta ta. take a hike and explain to your kids why they cant play with their friends anymore. This crap MUST stop.
Spoke with another parent at B’ball training tonight who said parent at u11 practice match was abusing 2 14 year old female umpires!! Ffs! President of club has sanctioned parent!
This is the sort of action that is required at junior levels.