All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread

Hearing cops called to a junior game at Epping yesterday with a knife involved. Anyone confirm?
What's the potential solution here?
  • You can not ban people from public places, only inside the social rooms or from taking a role within the club.
  • Unless people press charges, police can do little.

So unfortunately, it is left to volunteers to try and police matters with a minority of lunatics. I can just imagine trying to have that conversation with some of these people. Sheeesh

I think we need to be really firm with this and:
  • if an umpire is abused and reported to NFNL and there is a significant fine - parent pays or child does not play.
  • significant parental poor behavior, than means little johnny/Jilly cant play IF parents act up.
  • clubs lose points and % for bad behavior - kids miss out on finals.
  • if on field incidents of violence are increasing - increase the penalties given so players understand there are consequences

I think until it hurts some of these 'adults' by their kids not being able to play, then they will just continue as the repercussions just don't matter to them.

What's the potential solution here?
  • You can not ban people from public places, only inside the social rooms or from taking a role within the club.
  • Unless people press charges, police can do little.

So unfortunately, it is left to volunteers to try and police matters with a minority of lunatics. I can just imagine trying to have that conversation with some of these people. Sheeesh

I think we need to be really firm with this and:
  • if an umpire is abused and reported to NFNL and there is a significant fine - parent pays or child does not play.
  • significant parental poor behavior, than means little johnny/Jilly cant play IF parents act up.
  • clubs lose points and % for bad behavior - kids miss out on finals.
  • if on field incidents of violence are increasing - increase the penalties given so players understand there are consequences

I think until it hurts some of these 'adults' by their kids not being able to play, then they will just continue as the repercussions just don't matter to them.
Super hard for the league to police as there are so many matches and it’s unlikely they are there.

No parents on field.
No parents in change rooms.
Umpire abuse will result in cancelled games on the spot.

These adults are genuinely sick.

Super hard for the league to police as there are so many matches and it’s unlikely they are there.

No parents on field.
No parents in change rooms.
Umpire abuse will result in cancelled games on the spot.

These adults are genuinely sick.
YJFL have no parents on field and no parents in change rooms already

Another email from NFNL telling people to be good or else coming....Taking a stand....well, that email will probably come after breakfast at the Uni Cafe at 10am.

Also fines for a volunteer not putting proper numbers against players online before the game. Disgrace that act.
How do umpires report players if no number is listed ?

I played in a school match back in year 12 against the long-gone Niddrie Tech. The game was cancelled at half time after an all-in brawl and a pit bull was released on the field, and a sawn-off shotgun appeared out of a car boot !

In terms of the latest spate of bad behaviour, I think it’s the culmination of many years of footy being used by a section of people as a sanctioned outlet for violence. We're at a point where the parents are from the last of the age where belting blokes on field was commonplace, and considered tough.

How often do we hear the comment “if that didn’t happen on the footy field, he’d be arrested”? Well maybe it’s time to remove the metaphorical fence between the footy field and the real world. If a bloke gets a broken jaw, and it’s upheld at the tribunal, then suspend the perpetrator for YEARS, if not for good. Not just 8-10 weeks. Then the police should be involved to investigate it. Until we start taking violence seriously, nothing will change. I reckon TNFS has been great for the exposure of the NFNL, but I was pretty disappointed that one of the blokes criticised Macleod for "squealing" and reporting the players from the Stars. This exactly the attitude that should be removed from the game

In terms of junior footy, we will never weed out moronic parents, but a start would be for the clubs to be more thorough in their appointment of coaches. Look for more coaches who are there to teach the game, and make the players better, not a win-at-all-costs attitude. If I'm running a club, I'm looking for a person who is developing ALL players that stay at my club for years. If a premiership comes from that, then great. I'm not looking for a person who focusses on a couple of gun players to keep some noisy parents happy, and to the detriment of everyone else. If the parents don't like it, then let them leave. Do you really want them anyway?
Set a standard at your club that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated. Make it clear that any off-field incidents will have an immediate effect on the child. If you want to act like a complete peanut, well sorry, little Johnny will be unable to play. That's very rough on the child, but until some fair-dinkum penalties are dished out, nothing will change. It's almost impossible to ban a parent from attending, but it's very easy to not pick a child to play.

I played in a school match back in year 12 against the long-gone Niddrie Tech. The game was cancelled at half time after an all-in brawl and a pit bull was released on the field, and a sawn-off shotgun appeared out of a car boot !

In terms of the latest spate of bad behaviour, I think it’s the culmination of many years of footy being used by a section of people as a sanctioned outlet for violence. We're at a point where the parents are from the last of the age where belting blokes on field was commonplace, and considered tough.

How often do we hear the comment “if that didn’t happen on the footy field, he’d be arrested”? Well maybe it’s time to remove the metaphorical fence between the footy field and the real world. If a bloke gets a broken jaw, and it’s upheld at the tribunal, then suspend the perpetrator for YEARS, if not for good. Not just 8-10 weeks. Then the police should be involved to investigate it. Until we start taking violence seriously, nothing will change. I reckon TNFS has been great for the exposure of the NFNL, but I was pretty disappointed that one of the blokes criticised Macleod for "squealing" and reporting the players from the Stars. This exactly the attitude that should be removed from the game

In terms of junior footy, we will never weed out moronic parents, but a start would be for the clubs to be more thorough in their appointment of coaches. Look for more coaches who are there to teach the game, and make the players better, not a win-at-all-costs attitude. If I'm running a club, I'm looking for a person who is developing ALL players that stay at my club for years. If a premiership comes from that, then great. I'm not looking for a person who focusses on a couple of gun players to keep some noisy parents happy, and to the detriment of everyone else. If the parents don't like it, then let them leave. Do you really want them anyway?
Set a standard at your club that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated. Make it clear that any off-field incidents will have an immediate effect on the child. If you want to act like a complete peanut, well sorry, little Johnny will be unable to play. That's very rough on the child, but until some fair-dinkum penalties are dished out, nothing will change. It's almost impossible to ban a parent from attending, but it's very easy to not pick a child to play.
Unfortunately to many bogans at club executive levels. Some of the behavior I’ve seen from senior and junior clubs over the years is a disgrace.

People keep saying “clubs need to control them” but the often Bogans in charge don’t think anything of it.

Reading about it in the MPFNL seems the demographic is 30-40 years old.. which I suppose that could work.

Yep started it from scratch this year and already have 10 sides which is impressive for a region with not the biggest population base.

YJFL have no parents on field and no parents in change rooms already

EDFL juniors have similar where parents aren't allowed at the huddles and kick to kick can only happen at the arch's.
It's a weird experience as I'm accustomed to seeing a bustling field at the breaks when you go to senior local footy quarter breaks and there's kick to kicks happening amongst the rest of it.

It would be interesting to understand

• what ACTUAL policy individual competitions can bring in?
  • what needs to be sanctioned by AFL Vic?
  • what legal obligations they need to follow for any rules they bring in against poor parent behaviour?
  • what systems / tribunals or challenges to rulings made need to be ticked off?

This is where volunteers running clubs throw hands in the air and think ... too hard.
dont hear about these incidents in Yarra league?

its Jnr rep Time so here we go again.
6 time Premiership coach Phil Plunkett put in to coach the u15 First team.
squads all picked and approved by Mr LeGassick.
then Phil gets the nudge and told sorry mate you can coach the twos team.
Le Gassick's mate with absolutely zero coaching experience at any level is coaching the ones team.
Cant have someone in charge who actually knows what they are doing, might stop the endless rorting.
If you all think that Academies etc are making kids transfer from weak clubs to strong clubs, stick your head into the absolute disgrace the NFNL's rep program is. This is why and when most kids transfer.
want to get in to the Rep squad, come play here, want a knights trial? you better make Rep.
disgraceful and the NFNL have let these people do this for years and years.

its Jnr rep Time so here we go again.
6 time Premiership coach Phil Plunkett put in to coach the u15 First team.
squads all picked and approved by Mr LeGassick.
then Phil gets the nudge and told sorry mate you can coach the twos team.
Le Gassick's mate with absolutely zero coaching experience at any level is coaching the ones team.
Cant have someone in charge who actually knows what they are doing, might stop the endless rorting.
If you all think that Academies etc are making kids transfer from weak clubs to strong clubs, stick your head into the absolute disgrace the NFNL's rep program is. This is why and when most kids transfer.
want to get in to the Rep squad, come play here, want a knights trial? you better make Rep.
disgraceful and the NFNL have let these people do this for years and years.
The league spent 90k on junior rep footy last year. Someone please explain why?

Any decent kid plays knights. Seems like a giant waste of money

The league spent 90k on junior rep footy last year. Someone please explain why?

Any decent kid plays knights. Seems like a giant waste of money
ask Mr Le Gassick who his specialist coaches are??
all business partners, just like the last 5-6 years.

$90k I'm confused?

I thought I read somewhere a while back that the NFNL Academy charged $60-70 for trials, then around $150 for the next 4 sessions, and then $300 for final squad.

Normally it's 2 x U15 Boys, 2x U15 girls, 2 x U14 boys - if it's 60+150+300 to make squad then there's what 150 players which means around $75k collected from either clubs or families of participants - or if $300 is the total amount its approx $45k.