Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

Shocking day by a huge amount of Blues players,disposal was atrocious!!
Waite needs to take a good hard look at himself,just not good enough:thumbsd:
Was always going to be a tough aske getting two massive injuries so soon into the game with the reliance as bloody Brock(no legs) McLean as the sub,whoever was responsible for that should have their arse on a platter:rolleyes:

Yep that game was over 5 mins into the first qtr when the bombers indicated their intentions and our fellas indicated ours.

The game may be over but the shame of that should sit with us for a long long time.

Make no mistake we squibbed it today. Squibbed it. I am not known to knock us, but we ought to acknowledge what actually happened. They came out to hurt us and we retreated.

SHAME ON US.
Yep embarrassing effort to be beaten by a team today that you considered only had 1 or 2 players capable of playing in our starting 22, you should hang your head in shame as you got way ahead of yourself last week just like our players today, glad I didn't buy into your unbelievable attack on the EFC.

These games and the ongoing rivalry always throw up surprise results and previous form is irrelevant let alone disgustingly over rating our own list.

The match preview thread ought to be re-opened and an open invitation extended to bombers fans to enter that thread with impunity. We ought to cop the same shallacking the players did today.

Holy shit. I didn't think there was any way you could redeem yourself in my eyes but you have just done it. I know you said you were all about having fun with talking smack, but I thought you were just full of shit. Well, I take it back. Kudos to you mate, respect. I am pleasantly surprised :thumbsu:

Essendon has a habit of doing this to us when we get a bit of good media. Remember the "new Fab 4" newspaper articles a couple of years back when Brock Mclean first joined the club? No more good press, please, we don't deal with it.

We have to learn to deal with it, because if we want to be premiership chances we are going to get alot of hype.

Once Carrazzo went off, our midfield balance went and Stanton just did what he liked, if we don;t dominate in the midfield our defence is under seige...they were exposed today could not handle it, having said that Hendo was ok

They did to us today what we did to Collingwood last week, got right in our faces and physical, we were never really in the game, shame say Army wasn;t the sub he may have helped with Stanton, even Gibbs may have been better, dunno, terrible, half hearted effort we looked like we were still popping corks from last week.

Can;t take anything away from Essendon they were the better side on the day, worst Carlton performance for years

I'm sure that EF loss burnt in their guts, it showed today.

In - Warnock, Thornton, Armfield
Out - Hampson, Bower, Carrots (injured)

If Yarran is unavailable then maybe AJ?

Warnock needs to come in agaisnt Sandilands and Bower was hopeless.

Can anyone see Robinson getting dropped? I mean to me he played the worst game of his life and probably worst on the ground.

Murphy for me was BOG, Henderson was good, Judd was trying and tbh Waite didnt seem to bad just got bullshit of deliveries.

Worst 5
1. Robinson
2. Garlett
3. Hampson
4. Yarran
5. Lucas

Ratten didn't react well to Thompson's coaching today.

Was going to say good game, you guys still deserve to be top 4 but comments like this are just ignorant

Thompson may have won us the game last year against Geelong, and I doubt any Essendon supporter would disagree, but just because Essendon were underdogs after last weeks performance, Thompson performed a miracle and had that much influence we turned it around within a week!? Give me a break

Hird is the senior coach - love him or hate him, hard to deny he is one of the best footy brains of the last 30 years and to refer to "Thompson's coaching" as the reason we won is just sour grapes!

Look forward to the return game and GO BOMBERS!!!

Christ Stanton and Watson are good footballers, they were superb.

Not a good day (and no none of this loss we had to have bullshit), but seeing how they respond will be interesting. I saw too much in the last three rounds that suggests we are in for a very good year.

Hendo was really good, damn he is turning out well. I actually thought Waitez effort was brilliant, he really just needs to nail them like was in the last fortnight.

Hate losing the the scum, not the end of the world, they just outplayed us. We will bring the pain next time. Seems to be a bit of a pattern developing where we aren't too good at the start of the year but punish them on the 2nd outing, we don't forget and we will destroy them next time.

Yep embarrassing effort to be beaten by a team today that you considered only had 1 or 2 players capable of playing in our starting 22, you should hang your head in shame as you got way ahead of yourself last week just like our players today, glad I didn't buy into your unbelievable attack on the EFC.

These games and the ongoing rivalry always throw up surprise results and previous form is irrelevant let alone disgustingly over rating our own list.

It is all the more embarrassing for me because of their list. I said in the preview thread that the outcome of the game hinged on the way we played. And it did. What I didnt expect and cannot come at is the pea hearted effort we put up.

Carrots got driven into the ground and not a single player remonstrated with whoever did it. Injuries or not, we looked timid out there today. Long time since I have seen players we send out wearing our jumper that appeared to back off a contest, I saw it numerous times today. And I am shamed that I did. I dont get to see a lot of footy live these days. That may be a blessing in disguise.

We seem to be tv stars. But if the game gets willing we seem to back away from the contest and hope they dont see us cowering. We didnt fire a shot today. Shameful. Dont really know any other word for it. Shameful.

I'm just going to say that they're a bunch of LIARS!

Saying shit like we're not going to get fat-heads, in the past we couldn't handle being favourites just to win games, but now we've matured and can handle anything, we'll be taking the Bombers very seriously.

All lies.

I've gone from watching a Carlton side with the most intensity it's had probably since the early-mid 90's one week, to watching a side with about as much intensity as our 2005 mob.

This is also a VERY disturbing way to lose, Essendon came out with the intention to go at us hard which is what Hawthorn's been doing to us. We still can't handle that, so unless something changes, we're going to lose to the Hawks again too.

As for our players today, very few can hold their head up high, Murphy, Betts and Laidler for being courageous and playing through his injury and maybe add Simpson and Judd, but that's about it.

Hendo put in an absolute STINKER! And I know there'll be a lot of supporters here who don't like to read stuff like that but if he's going to be praised for great performances then it's fair to criticise his poor performances. Shit kicks, dropping an uncontested mark (thanks partly to Mr.McLean but I'll get to him shortly) and very poor defensive work, whether he was on Hurley or Crameri.

Now as for Mr.McLean, I don't care if he gets 500 disposals at VFL level he is not to wear the Navy Blue anymore if we want to win a flag. He's far too slow and he left his opponents free a lot of the time. He doesn't make good decisions, there was a passage of play where there was a boundary throw in and he got the ball, had about 3 team mates to his left all free and instead hand balled to someone under pressure, ball got turned over and they scored. Sorry but for a guy who's supposed to be playing for his footballing career, he didn't show me anything to suggest he's anything more than a fringe player.

I'm still pretty disappointed (and/or drunk) so I'll leave it to just the following:

1. Jeff Garlett needs a spell in the reserves, I understand that because we are playing on the wide expanses of Subiaco next week - he will probably be retained, but today he was lazy and soft. His kicking is overrated by most on here, and he needs to pull his finger out when things aren't going our way.

2. Sean Hampson - replace him with Warnock ASAP. Was comprehensively beaten in the ruck and added nothing for us around the ground.

3. Selection: Having players like Brock McLean and Nick Duigan (last week) as substitute players is wrong IMO. The substitute needs to be an explosive/flexible player that can readily fill any holes that have been identified as the game has gone on. I know everything is better in hindsight, but I think we got it wrong in bringing McLean back for this one - against a side we knew were going to try and out-gun us with speed.

4. Pussy: I can't believe when they came out and went the knuckle (see: Longergan on Carrazzo) we sat back and let these punks push us around? There is only one word for it: Soft.

5. Mitch Robinson: Terrible today, played selfishly, woeful kicking, took too long to dish the ball off to decent disposers running past (i.e Yarran, Gibbs etc) and then ended up butchering the ball.

I'm sure there is more that I have forgotten to add - but I'll leave it at that for now.

Holy shit. I didn't think there was any way you could redeem yourself in my eyes but you have just done it. I know you said you were all about having fun with talking smack, but I thought you were just full of shit. Well, I take it back. Kudos to you mate, respect. I am pleasantly surprised :thumbsu:

I must say Lance I didn;t see todays result coming, Essendon completely out played us and won fair and square, so good win, you have the bragging rights :thumbsu:

Look forward to later in the season

I'm still pretty disappointed (and/or drunk) so I'll leave it to just the following:

1. Jeff Garlett needs a spell in the reserves, I understand that because we are playing on the wide expanses of Subiaco next week - he will probably be retained, but today he was lazy and soft. His kicking is overrated by most on here, and he needs to pull his finger out when things aren't going our way.

2. Sean Hampson - replace him with Warnock ASAP. Was comprehensively beaten in the ruck and added nothing for us around the ground.

3. Selection: Having players like Brock McLean and Nick Duigan (last week) as substitute players is wrong IMO. The substitute needs to be an explosive/flexible player that can readily fill any holes that have been identified as the game has gone on. I know everything is better in hindsight, but I think we got it wrong in bringing McLean back for this one - against a side we knew were going to try and out-gun us with speed.

4. Pussy: I can't believe when they came out and went the knuckle (see: Longergan on Carrazzo) we sat back and let these punks push us around? There is only one word for it: Soft.

I'm sure there is more that I have forgotten to add - but I'll leave it at that for now.

Number 3...definitely got the sub wrong I said that earlier, needs to be an explosive type, running mid etc not McLean,

I hate to say this but we showed them no respect, the McLean as sub

I'm just going to say that they're a bunch of LIARS!

Saying shit like we're not going to get fat-heads, in the past we couldn't handle being favourites just to win games, but now we've matured and can handle anything, we'll be taking the Bombers very seriously.

All lies.

I've gone from watching a Carlton side with the most intensity it's had probably since the early-mid 90's one week, to watching a side with about as much intensity as our 2005 mob.

This is also a VERY disturbing way to lose, Essendon came out with the intention to go at us hard which is what Hawthorn's been doing to us. We still can't handle that, so unless something changes, we're going to lose to the Hawks again too.

As for our players today, very few can hold their head up high, Murphy, Betts and Laidler for being courageous and playing through his injury and maybe add Simpson and Judd, but that's about it.

Hendo put in an absolute STINKER! And I know there'll be a lot of supporters here who don't like to read stuff like that but if he's going to be praised for great performances then it's fair to criticise his poor performances. Shit kicks, dropping an uncontested mark (thanks partly to Mr.McLean but I'll get to him shortly) and very poor defensive work, whether he was on Hurley or Crameri.

Now as for Mr.McLean, I don't care if he gets 500 disposals at VFL level he is not to wear the Navy Blue anymore if we want to win a flag. He's far too slow and he left his opponents free a lot of the time. He doesn't make good decisions, there was a passage of play where there was a boundary throw in and he got the ball, had about 3 team mates to his left all free and instead hand balled to someone under pressure, ball got turned over and they scored. Sorry but for a guy who's supposed to be playing for his footballing career, he didn't show me anything to suggest he's anything more than a fringe player.

Agree with everything except the last paragraph, Brock put is body in today. I would rather 18 Mcleans putting their body on the line than 18 Garletts, Hammers, Yazz's, and Lucas's that didnt fire a shot. Every piece of ammo they have is still in their magazine.

The truth is we were fantastic last week - really good.

This week we were really poor - based off last weeks performance we had every right to be excited - I for one thought that after three successful games, we had put this type of crap brain fart performance where it belongs back in the dark days of our spooner years.

I don't think anyone could have expected the boys to slip so far so easily - this was not about a few bad players - the team looked like crap - I also think Ratten was out coached - he has to own that.

We have a fast team - that is our style, balanced with good talls. Our fast smalls need to realise their input is not optional - it has to happen, they do not have luxury of performing when they feel like it - like any big tall full forward, the team relies on them and they have a god damned obligation to deliver.

Here are some hard facts.

Kruze was great last week - but fell off today. Warnock is a much more reliable full time tap ruckman and needs to be given that spot - the other need to rotate between second ruck, full forward and back - DO NOT LISTEN TO THAT MUPPET from the DOGGIES - we can have all three - rotate them if need be. The reality is that Kruze is not as good as people WANT him to be - he occasionally shows flashes but so does hammer, Warnock is simply better at the specific job and needs to make it his own.

Brock :- we can not afford to have him with his pace, the selection committe only raised him due to injuries - and it wont happen again, its sad, any other team playing style could accommodate him, but you are only as fast as your slowest mid - nothing can be done to change that.

Gibbs :- he has a purely defensive game, he is incredibly static with the footy, little run, no carry absolutely ZERO presence. The expectations on Gibbs is somewhere around Carey - yes - that good, right now I rate him somewhere around Digby Morel. He is doing his defensive job each week, provides a strong support role across the half back and is great-but as some people are saying, AND THE CLUB HAS ALSO STATED PUBLICLY he needs to step up a level and prove himself and take the next step and stamp himself on games - that was the CLUB and Ratten - so its not misplaced. He needs to stop doing his hair, prancing around like a spanish riding horse and get dirty.

Bower was highlighted as being given one last chance by the club and Ratten based on his desire to perform. He must realise he will be dropped this week for Thornton - I would like to see Watson given another shot in there -

Russell needs to step up - and if Walker gets himself back into the team then he represents the archetypal carlton player - he is our number one goal kicker and provides a massive boost to the team -

For anyone who has seen Bootsma play - they would agree this guy needs to get himself into the firsts ASAP - this may not happen this year - but he is absolutely what we need in the team.

Ratten slipped back into rabbit in the headlights mode - sad to see, he was a stunned mullet and got completely out classed - VERY WORRYING as this has happened before.

We need some of our specialist keys to get fit and injury free to get some game time - they are required.

Not enough rotation in players -

I think Armfield just cemented his spot as an essential carlton player today - and he wasn't even on the ground

Poor skills and average intensity. Having said that it was just one of those days where we were ordinary and everything seemed to fall their way. It happens. It's just seems worse cause it was against Essendon. Confident we'll bounce back (not necessarily next week :cool:)

As for the Dons, well they surprised me a bit but i think we'll be there come the point end of the season, dunno about them. Long way to go.

It's certainly been a strange couple of weeks, Blues beat collingwood by 10 goals 1 week, Blues lose to the Bombers by 5 goals the next, then Collingwood start favourites against the Bombers the following week. (pretty sure we'll start favourites anyway)

The match preview thread ought to be re-opened and an open invitation extended to bombers fans to enter that thread with impunity. We ought to cop the same shallacking the players did today.

If those, including yourself, who were talking us up too much and talking Essendon down, want to be smacked around as some sort of penance, then feel free to head over to their board and cop your licks. I'm sure they will accommodate.

The rest of us that are a little more objective, and try not to denigrate our opposition, can continue to enjoy a troll free board while you are gone.

It is all the more embarrassing for me because of their list. I said in the preview thread that the outcome of the game hinged on the way we played. And it did. What I didnt expect and cannot come at is the pea hearted effort we put up.

Carrots got driven into the ground and not a single player remonstrated with whoever did it. Injuries or not, we looked timid out there today. Long time since I have seen players we send out wearing our jumper that appeared to back off a contest, I saw it numerous times today. And I am shamed that I did. I dont get to see a lot of footy live these days. That may be a blessing in disguise.

We seem to be tv stars. But if the game gets willing we seem to back away from the contest and hope they dont see us cowering. We didnt fire a shot today. Shameful. Dont really know any other word for it. Shameful.
I dont disagree with most of what you are saying but the thing that worried me was that too many times the underdogs turn up more hungrier in these contest and yes its an indictment on our maturity as a team who thinks they can contend for a premiership but there was always going to be one loser this week with the build up we had from all and sundry!!!

I must say Lance I didn;t see todays result coming, Essendon completely out played us and won fair and square, so good win, you have the bragging rights :thumbsu:

Look forward to later in the season

respect to you mate :thumbsu:

I love the Carlton Essendon rivalry, and I thought there wasn't much respect paid to it this week. I am proud to go for the most successful club ever, and I hope you feel the same :thumbsu:

We still lack the physicality of the top teams. No retribution for the carazzo tackle was appalling. Let them does as they please around the contest. Very disappointing.

I've said it numerous times on here. Bower is just not up to it!! Disposal is a liability, and he isnt able to take responsibility for a man.

Don't understand why Hammer didn't spend large portions of time up forward. Using Lucas and Bower as your full forwards was just a massive **** up from Ratten. Bower just has no strings to his bow, we should know that by now.

Will be interesting to see how this group bounces back. A lot of them believe they are Hollywood superstars, and are playing as such

Haven't been down to the VFL this year, hearing all the hype about Bootsma. Could someone tell me a little bit about him and if they reckon he's a chance of playing this year?

Worst loss since 93 GF. Biggest essendon upset in 30 years.

Excuse me, but nah. Even last year against Geelong was bigger.

I think there's been a bit of an over reaction to this game. Every premiership team let alone good teams lose games, and fortunately you had a bad one against us. I'm sure you will be fine! :)

The players have humiliated themselves, us members, club staff etc.

I will not watch us play until they get the respect back we just lost today.

I didn't have 1 thing to get excited about today, not 1 thing.

The skill errors were laughable.

Lucas cannot hit the side of a barn.

Robbo was woeful, he didn't kick a drop punt today.

I'm sick of Simmo running into open goals & missing.

Don't get me started on Waite, sure he got the ball often but he can't think under pressure. How will he cope in a GF.

Why the did we groom Thornton to play forward ( which he was doing well ) & now start playing Bower, Jammo, Laidler in that role.

Garlett did not play a team game today.

Hampson back dropping his marks.

McLean was playing forward, OMG.

We were nearly at full strength today. We don't have depth.

Hendo you can sell candy, but you can't stop & prop & think you can sidestep players.

I hope Ratts manlove for Bower is over.

I knew it was going to be a nightmare when I got to train station & found no trains running on my line.

Today was the big test. Over the past couple of years whenever we get high praise, we dropped our bundle. I thought we had become mentally stronger, but this is clearly not the case.

I watched the game on replay as I was at a wedding today, and I don't know whether it was the world's worst commentary team or the fact that we have lost all of our day games (including preseason) and won all of our night games, but it just felt off today.

Essendon were doing what we do. Wait for or cause turnovers and have players running free into the attacking 50. Now they are a fairly quick side but should not be quicker than us. Our setups and our gut running were just not there.

It stings. Feels like a false dawn all of a sudden.