Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

Carrots got driven into the ground and not a single player remonstrated with whoever did it. Injuries or not, we looked timid out there today. Long time since I have seen players we send out wearing our jumper that appeared to back off a contest, I saw it numerous times today. And I am shamed that I did. I dont get to see a lot of footy live these days. That may be a blessing in disguise.

Great call, that was a filthy tackle and not one of them stood up, last week they would have gone nuts over it and made Lonergan pay (Lonergan is still crap)

Hows this for an alternative scenario. Lonergan drives Carrots into the ground, I hesitate to say determined to physically hurt him in order to give Stanton a chop out from the tag. 2 or 3 players run in and sit Lonergan on his arse with intent. We cop a free against us and they kick a goal. But the message that sends to the rest of their players and to ours is we wont cop that and will give as good as we get.

Instead we sent them a message loud and clear that we are not up for that kind of contest and they dominated us from that moment on. I dont care that we were up at 1/4 time, the game was already over. I said to the people I was at the game with, that they have hurt us physically lets see if they have hurt us mentally. They had.

Agree with everything except the last paragraph, Brock put is body in today. I would rather 18 Mcleans putting their body on the line than 18 Garletts, Hammers, Yazz's, and Lucas's that didnt fire a shot. Every piece of ammo they have is still in their magazine.

Nope, he has poor awareness, and left his direct opponent free many times today. The fact that he lacks speed means he should be defensive side of his direct opponent, instead he let them free and when they got the ball they had a paddock. He put his body on the line but what did that achieve? Did it actually help the side? No, but his poor defensive work and lack of speed and awareness certainly cost the side.

As for Jeffy, Hammer, Lucas and Yazz, they should all be dropped. Ratten has to make a statement that half hearted crap like that is not to be tolerated. Robinson should be added to that list too, so many times just bombed the ball forward without even looking where he's kicking. Not only that, his kicks were all mongrels giving our forwards very little chance.

Waite also should spend the entirety of next training session having set shot practice.

Now, I was at the game, so I don't know this for sure, but I'm willing to bet we had more inside 50's than them or atleast broke even. If that's the case it shows that our delivery was poor and that our forwards were also equally as poor. It is so damn frustrating when you know thehy're capable of so much better than that. On the flip side, it seemed like the Bombers were scoring almost every time they got it in there.

We lost to a team that is second rate to us in terms of talent and skill by 5 goals and sadly that flatters us, it should've been by a lot more. And what hurts further still is that they were depleted while we were almost full strength.

And one more thing, I'm disgusted with the entire playing group for ignoring the Carrazzo incident. Mate what was that shit head thinking? He blatantly went out with the intention to injure him and not one Carlton player takes a stand. That shows you the intent right there. Unreal and I hope Hird and that ****wit that tackled Carrazzo get injured because no doubt Hird was the one who told him to take him out.

OK. So I only watched a portion of the game as I was helping my sister move. But what I watched was very disheartening. A lack of pressure and run was the real issue in my opinion and a large part (but not all) of that comes from the injuries which limited our ability to rotate.

Hopefully Armfield is up for next week, and maybe even Walker (not sure how he did in the VFL). Carazzo is a big loss

I'm giving my opinion and feeling on the incident, if you don't like it piss off.

Now this shits me, they come on here and try and piss us off even more on purpose, as if I'm not pissed off enough already.

Where were you when we belted you when it matters? Did you fly your stupid flag when we beat you by 10 goals in the elimination final?

Make no mistake you only won today because our team was full of imposters from the Benny Hill show.

Your Blues felt no need to fly the flag in the context of a fair tackle.

Bit of an overreaction by some IMO. Sure we were average but i think some have lost the plot cause it was essendon. We're better than what we dished up today and I'm sure theyll bounce back. Im putting down to one of those days. Happens to everyone.

Your Blues felt no need to fly the flag in the context of a fair tackle.
You copped a card, you have had most of your posts deleted. I can't for the life of me figure out why you want to stick around and argue the point. There's no future in it.

A silver lining:

We have at least two players with excellent intensity and dash to come back in Armfield and Walker.

Brock Mclean, despite being ridiculed for his speed had 8 clearances, the most in our side a goal and a goal assist. A good return IMO.

Jobe Watson went crazy untagged with 13 clearances and 30 odd disposals. With Carazzo and Armfield down we didn't really have a tagger to go with. Unlikely to happen next time, although we need a player to step into the void (I'm thinking Robbo).

It could be a good reminder that we aren't invincible and our players have to work to win. Better now then finals

How about giving Rowe a go? He was pinched off of Norwood and if he is not going to play then send him back because the legs could use him.

A few observations:
- Why didn't Ratten move Gibbs into the middle earlier in the game? Waited till last quarter when game was over. Would've thought he would be part of the rotation earlier when we were getting smashed and Carazzo was done for the day
- We are being too kind to Lucas. Easily our weakest player today and I have real concerns about him living up to his draft value
- McLean not great but wasn't our worse. Must be given another go or his papers are stamped!
- Our skills are my biggest concern. Sure we were well pressured but even when in the clear, we missed some easy targets and where it counts ie through the corridor and in front of goals
- Ellard and Collins in our best today with Warnock kicking a couple for the Northern Blues

Changes:
In: Thornton, Ellard, Collins
Out: Bower, Curnow, Lucas

No harm in musing about the game.
We will be the judge of that. There is harm in parking yourself in a ranting thread for the opposition and repeating yourself. How far do you want to go with it?

Zero point in talking about bringing in new players. We lost one game and were far below the output of our first three games. People were singing the praises of Hampson, Yarran and Bower the first few games and now want them dropped. Our problem was not in our personnel, it was in our application. Let's work on that first.

A few observations:
- Why didn't Ratten move Gibbs into the middle earlier in the game? Waited till last quarter when game was over. Would've thought he would be part of the rotation earlier when we were getting smashed and Carazzo was done for the day
- We are being too kind to Lucas. Easily our weakest player today and I have real concerns about him living up to his draft value
- McLean not great but wasn't our worse. Must be given another go or his papers are stamped!
- Our skills are my biggest concern. Sure we were well pressured but even when in the clear, we missed some easy targets and where it counts ie through the corridor and in front of goals
- Ellard and Collins in our best today with Warnock kicking a couple for the Northern Blues

Changes:
In: Thornton, Ellard, Collins
Out: Bower, Curnow, Lucas

McLean will be even more exposed on the Subiaco Oval. McLean - out, Armfield - in is a no brainer for me.

Zero point in talking about bringing in new players. We lost one game and were far below the output of our first three games. People were singing the praises of Hampson, Yarran and Bower the first few games and now want them dropped. Our problem was not in our personnel, it was in our application. Let's work on that first.

It's not just that they had a bad game, they lacked so much intensity along with Lucas and Garlett. They need to learn that they must bring it like last week every time. Our slogan was no passengers, we should be avoiding more lies and stay true to that.

respect to you mate :thumbsu:

I love the Carlton Essendon rivalry, and I thought there wasn't much respect paid to it this week. I am proud to go for the most successful club ever, and I hope you feel the same :thumbsu:

Agreed

It's not just that they had a bad game, they lacked so much intensity along with Lucas and Garlett. They need to learn that they must bring it like last week every time. Our slogan was no passengers, we should be avoiding more lies and stay true to that.

Many of us have heard some of the robot speak platitudes before. We are not getting ahead of ourselves, we are taking it one week at a time, yada yada. But unless selectors punish half hearted performances there is a message sent to the entire list. It says to the battlers in the magoos, dont bother and it says to the front runners, no worries next week I will slot one from the boundary or do some aerial work and I am safe and I will get that chance because they wont be too savage.

I think slow of mind or not, Mclean earned another shot. I dont care about the venue or the opponent. He had a fair dinkum crack. Many others did not. How can you drop him? What message do we want to send? If you are fast and flashy no worries mate if you go missing, but if you are slower but work your arse off with your limitations, thanks for coming but maybe we can give you another crack later in the year.

Nope, if they do that Sticks may as well send another letter out to members this week saying we are not that serious, we just have a great PR machine.

We still lack the physicality of the top teams. No retribution for the carazzo tackle was appalling. Let them does as they please around the contest. Very disappointing.

I've said it numerous times on here. Bower is just not up to it!! Disposal is a liability, and he isnt able to take responsibility for a man.

Don't understand why Hammer didn't spend large portions of time up forward. Using Lucas and Bower as your full forwards was just a massive **** up from Ratten. Bower just has no strings to his bow, we should know that by now.

Will be interesting to see how this group bounces back. A lot of them believe they are Hollywood superstars, and are playing as such

I always know when Bryce Gibbs goes on The Footy Show we generally lose and he puts in a shocker.

Many of us have heard some of the robot speak platitudes before. We are not getting ahead of ourselves, we are taking it one week at a time, yada yada. But unless selectors punish half hearted performances there is a message sent to the entire list. It says to the battlers in the magoos, dont bother and it says to the front runners, no worries next week I will slot one from the boundary or do some aerial work and I am safe and I will get that chance because they wont be too savage.

I think slow of mind or not, Mclean earned another shot. I dont care about the venue or the opponent. He had a fair dinkum crack. Many others did not. How can you drop him? What message do we want to send? If you are fast and flashy no worries mate if you go missing, but if you are slower but work your arse off with your limitations, thanks for coming but maybe we can give you another crack later in the year.

Nope, if they do that Sticks may as well send another letter out to members this week saying we are not that serious, we just have a great PR machine.

think he's safe with carrots injury...must say he just lacked something at crucial times today

I dont recall suggesting anything of the sort.

I mentioned Gibbs because like Carlton, he has been talked up massively all through the pre season. I'm just waiting to see him grab a game by the scruff and just run with it, i'm sure he's done it in the past.... but if he's as good as we all think he is then he needs to do it more often.

Yep

Why are the Mods shutting down the game day threads, we ought to keep them open and cop every bit of abuse coming to us. I flew down for the game. Dont think I have seen them dish out such shite in a long time. I posted to the game day thread from my phone as I walked out of the ground but it was already closed when my post got through. I responded to MSR's warning and said he can give me my yellow card now, because that was a shameful display from a top rated team. Shameful. Could not find a Carlton player in the top 10 on the ground and they have a second rate list. It doesnt get more shameful that that. A pea hearted effort.

Feel for you 40yo - I felt disgusted that I wasted a mere 2 hours on the couch. Getting old, I am starting to think there are so many more things deserving emotional attachment.

The bombers are a much more talented side than you are giving them credit for. Poor form.

and I am so pissed off I did not take some of the ridiculous $6+ in a 2 horse race (my family's fault for giving me heaps whenever I take ridiculous odds offered for our oppositon)

Add Yazza and even Gibbs to those two. I want Yazza to be more than a Leon Davis turned backman type - pace and silky kicking skills but not overly accountable and never known to put his life on the line. Gibbsy has to go from being a talent to a star - he should be learning from Judd as that is what I see his potential to be.

Got down to the game today...pretty dissapointed. How do we smash Collingwood, Essendon only sneak home against GC and then they smash us? Doesn't make sense.

Just seemed a lazy effort today, the pressure and run that's been a staple the first few weeks just wasn't there. We had enough supply but if our small forwards don't light up and Waite kicks like shit, we will lose 9 times out of 10. Don't underestimate Carrots worth to the team though, been great the first few weeks and knows how to shut players out of the game, would have been a lot closer if he didn't go down. Hope he's not out for too long.

Did you read my post? I disagreed with ODN about giving Bower, Hampson and Yarran another go because they didn't put in the kind of effort that's expected and then I added Lucas and Garlett to that.

No McLean in sight, but I do think the venue and opponent will expose him quite a bit and you can't have a poor decision maker in the side it just kills momentum and Army is his replacement.

Yep

Feel for you 40yo - I felt disgusted that I wasted a mere 2 hours on the couch. Getting old, I am starting to think there are so many more things deserving emotional attachment.

and I am so pissed off I did not take some of the ridiculous $6+ in a 2 horse race (my family's fault for giving me heaps whenever I take ridiculous odds offered for our oppositon)

Add Yazza and even Gibbs to those two. I want Yazza to be more than a Leon Davis turned backman type - pace and silky kicking skills but not overly accountable and never known to put his life on the line. Gibbsy has to go from being a talent to a star - he should be learning from Judd as that is what I see his potential to be.

just speaking for myself but I'm very ok if you devote yourself to other causes and would just hate to think you're losing money by doing otherwise