Autopsy Autopsy vs *

I think the more frustrating thing is *Essendon were just as poor and only really scored heavily from our complete and utter inability to punish them from clearances and when they hilariously turned it over!

With a full strength team, I reckon we actually beat them convincingly.

I think the more frustrating thing is *Essendon were just as poor and only really scored heavily from our complete and utter inability to punish them from clearances and when they hilariously turned it over!

With a full strength team, I reckon we actually beat them convincingly.
They've beaten us 6 years in a row. Fair to say with half a team or a full team that they have our measure at this time.

What do people think, is the game worth watching on replay? (I unfortunately missed it....hospital again)

Or best just to give it a miss? Maybe just look at the highlight visions?

What do people think, is the game worth watching on replay? (I unfortunately missed it....hospital again)

Or best just to give it a miss? Maybe just look at the highlight visions?
Depends on how much a sadist you are..
in all seriousness I watch all the games and it’s pretty much the same, we’ve got some good players(who can’t run out games) and a lot of very average.
Watch it as it’s not all doom and gloom you can see where the improvement will come from but the end of year can’t come quick enough, turn over players and get a different coach in, hopefully we haven’t cooked a bunch of them in the process.

Depends on how much a sadist you are..
in all seriousness I watch all the games and it’s pretty much the same, we’ve got some good players(who can’t run out games) and a lot of very average.
Not all doom and gloom but the end of year can’t come quick enough, turn over players and get a different coach in, hopefully we haven’t cooked a bunch of them in the process.

Ha! That is true, think we are all sadist for continuing to watch! (I watch all games too just missed this and last week due to my health)

OK thanks, sounds like a very similar theme of the season if that is how it played out.

Yes it simply seems like the year can't end quick enough, settle on a new coach, and see if we can start improving asap.

Thanks again.

You certainly do get a different view of the game from level 3. I thought there were some aspects of the game which were a vast improvement on earlier in the year. We were excellent in the midfield and around clearances. I also thought when we invariably kicked it to essendon in their backline we were pretty good at locking them in and clogging up their ball movement out of defense. The difference was that, Zurhaar aside, we made scoring from our inside 50s look particularly difficult and they too often made it look quite simple. James Stewart ffs!
Plus, as others have mentioned, we were playing a couple short. I hope he doubles his weight in the future and comes good, but Pheonix seriously looked like an under 14 playing against men.

You know something… North did plenty of things right in that game. For what it’s worth, I think if we had a dominant key forward (say a Harry McKay/Curnow/Hawkins) in addition to Larkey plus a capable small forward playing we would have given that game a red hot shake.

Alas, the connection between mids and forwards (a bit of ball usage and a bit of leading patterns) wasn’t there to make us a scoring threat.

3 tackles in our forward 50 for the game ain’t it. Couldn’t bring it to ground.

Essendon needing to create a lot of their scoring chains from the d50 is not a good way to play football and it’s clear why they are where they are. It would have been good to be able to stop those chains a bit more effectively, but with better entries we would’ve take that away from them in the first place.

Individually:

- I’ve seen some criticism of Dawson. I thought he showed a bit. His disposal was pretty tidy and looks like he’s not afraid to run with the ball and create. With a pre-season under his belt and a better system (or a system at all) I think he can be an AFL quality player.

- Jy took it personally and tried his guts out.

- Would like to see our effective tackles percentage. Felt like we couldn’t stick one all day.

- The hatred I have for Jake Stringer is at times unhealthy.

Of course he is going to cop criticism, because you know what?

He is no longer an untried player who some like to salivate over. Instead now he is one of the culprits, because he has run out there, played a sold game, rather tthan taking 10 contested marks, ran off his opponent and delivered the ball lace out to our leading forwards.

Its the North Melbourne Bigfooty way.

Of course he is going to cop criticism, because you know what?

He is no longer an untried player who some like to salivate over. Instead now he is one of the culprits, because he has run out there, played a sold game, rather tthan taking 10 contested marks, ran off his opponent and delivered the ball lace out to our leading forwards.

Its the North Melbourne Bigfooty way.

Not to mention his name isn't Kallanisimo D'awsonio, even though I reckon Dawson had the better game (in a set up Massimo should have been cleaning up in).

Agree but I was meaning where the payback has been on the big stage for all to see.

Richmond killing Dangerfield on grand final day, Hawthorn breaking Geelong in 2008 and then in the ~2013-15 finals etc.

There was a period Geelong absolutely terrorised Richmond, it must've been fun for them to pay it all back.

A premiership that featured us dissecting * and Sydney on the way would be kinda nice in the same way.
Geelong too.
It’s strange that our last finals wins came against Sydney, Richmond, Geelong and * in that order. We’ve been made to pay for those since (Richmond excluded)

Just noticed Zach Merrett had 172 fantasy points.

38 possessions and a goal. 688 metres gained.

Ummmm..did we try and tag at any stage or did we let him run free? Who would we say was on him, if anyone?

Big call but there's going to come a point where I'll be preferring Brad's '8th & mediocre' over whatever clusterf*** rubbish the past few years have been.

Not quite there but getting close if this goes on another year.

Stringer 5 goals.

Who was on him? Surely not McKay.....McDonald?

Stringer was damaging early in the game, and late (in junk time).

Early on he was in the middle and had Greenwood for company, handing off to McDonald when he went forward. That wasn't working well early and he kicked a couple (and a behind I think) in the first on Greenwood. He might have got one on McDonald, who kept him quiet through the middle of the game.

He then kicked a couple more in the last when the game had opened up and even Wright was finding space on McKay (who slaughtered Wright for 3 quarters).

Something like that. So basically I thought McDonald did a decent job on him, Greenwood - not so much.

Ummmm..did we try and tag at any stage or did we let him run free? Who would we say was on him, if anyone?
I was concerned too but then his best highlight was a lace out kick inside 50 to Luke McDonald.

His supercoach score would be -172.

I'd say it was more a case of not having specific midfield matchups, but rather each midfield trying to find their own space. Hence Merrett and Simpkin getting a crapload of footy (though LDU had somewhat of a tag).

We dominated the clearances, but Merrett got his footy in transition when our defensive structures were crap (ie the whole game) and finding space through the middle of the ground and the wings was easy for hard runners like Merrett.

I was concerned too but then his best highlight was a lace out kick inside 50 to Luke McDonald.

His supercoach score would be -172.

Yeah ok cool. Thanks mate.

Merrett is the king of cheap possessions in the league with no damage. He does run hard to get space though which we need more of.

* Redman was great, wish we had a running back flanker like him

It was Harry "Mason Redman" Himmelburg all over again from the GWS game.

Blonde haired man buns off half back kill us every time.

I'd say it was more a case of not having specific midfield matchups, but rather each midfield trying to find their own space. Hence Merrett and Simpkin getting a crapload of footy (though LDU had somewhat of a tag).

We dominated the clearances, but Merrett got his footy in transition when our defensive structures were crap (ie the whole game) and finding space through the middle of the ground and the wings was easy for hard runners like Merrett.

Thanks astrovic and yes I noticed Simpkins, the outside team like the * are will always kill us on the outside until we get more run and endurance and winning a clearance means nothing if the opposition set up for it (which they actively have in previous games).

What really killed us was Redman getting 30 possessions at 120% disposal efficiency. No that's not a typo. Dude had the perfect game, right down to being a complete flog in true * style when he kicked a goal.

Merrett is a crab, but crabs can hurt you when allowed their crabbiness.

What really killed us was Redman getting 30 possessions at 120% disposal efficiency. No that's not a typo. Dude had the perfect game, right down to being a complete flog in true * style when he kicked a goal.

Merrett is a crab, but crabs can hurt you when allowed their crabbiness.

Yep ok, didn't see Redmans stats until you posted that which is a game he will never produce again I suspect. Flog like Hooker who rubbed Nielson's hair after his goal no doubt.

I don't rate Merrett (yes he can play but he is below the best) and yes, exactly right if not given the opportunity he will take advantage. Not a player who will produce in a final or better opposition though.