Autopsy Autopsy vs *

As i have often heard Kingy spruiking, it's the next posession after a clearance that is key, as today's 42 to 22, ( centre square 20 to 6) tally clearly illustrates.

Hopefully our next coach and his assistants can address this and turn our clearance dominance into the lethal weapon it should be with the 6-6-6 rule in play.

Whatever happens this season is neither here nor there. It’s too hard to de program a team in 8 weeks.

We can win the hard ball. That’s a good start. Clarkson will sort the next layer out.

Whatever happens this season is neither here nor there. It’s too hard to de program a team in 8 weeks.

We can win the hard ball. That’s a good start. Clarkson will sort the next layer out.
Let us hope so

Mate I saw zero today that would suggest he is any good. The issue is the NMFC BF bar is so low, that we don't see it.

I'd never play him again, like Hughes who played his one and only game against * many years ago now.

It isn't personal, he like many other isn't up to this caper. * are 14th FFS.
Buckets was pretty average in his first few games, pretty normal. Thought he showed some okay things but also did some poor things.

Way too early, rain it in.

Juke Box Guitar GIF by George Michael

We’re 3 games away from the end of a horrible season where everything that could go wrong has gone wrong, these blokes are mentally exhausted and it’s showing on field. We’ll get a new coach, a new game plan, a priority pick and about 5 - 6 new players. We’ll be okay.

Really likes seeing the boys play an aggressive strategy, even if it didn’t work out.

Weaknesses we can address in one trade season:

1) another key forward. Gunston isn’t exactly Jeremy Cameron, but if we had him tonight instead of JZ it would have meant multiple goals of differences
2) an experienced key defender. In hindsight it would have been better to play Walker instead of Bonar for his 1v1 capabilities, but relying on a 1 gamer and Bonar was just a bridge too far
3) real wingers. Give me blokes who can run 14km in a match and still kick straight most of the time. It would change the quality of our overall squad immediately.

Amazing how the shittest bloke in the AFL manages to drag himself away from
High Schools long enough to kick 5 against us everytime.

Well we are a young list.

Dawson playing his first game. He should be excluded, from ANY criticism. I was sceptical on us, drafting him. However, he looked at home, in an oblique way.

I think he is a 3rd tall option, so if McKay and Corr take the main threats I think he will be okay on a 3rd tall or a medium forward. The problem is we have Bonar back there kind of filling the same role.

I’m not really buying potting individuals after that game. Sure Spicer and Lizard aren’t ready, Dawson and Bonar had some bad moments, LDU down on his best etc. but I can’t really knock anyones effort. This was a system breakdown for me, more then anything else.

To dominate clearances and contested ball in that manner. To break even on i50s. All the while still getting done by 50.

IMO… This is the result of 3 different coaches in 4 years. This is the result of what they’re being taught.

People can point to skills as much as they like, but how often did we actually have a clear option when we f***** a skill? Often it’s a decision making error because they don’t know wtf to do. There is not clear structure of what to do once we win the clearances. The break down is obvious across the entire ground, but particularly evident in our mids and forwards. Jordan Lewis & Jono Brown pointed it out today, our forwards have no idea wtf they’re supposed to be doing for each other.

Our inability to pressure in our f50 has been a significant factor in us getting blown away this year. That isn’t just because Spicer is scared of his shadow or Mahony is slow or whatever other bs posters on here are convinced as to why it happens.

It’s just one example, but our players need good coaches. Something they’ve been neglected for some time. Sonja needs to get this next round of decisions right.

There were 8 blokes out there today not fit to play AFL. Got a long way to go and Clarke ain’t solving it in an offseason
He will be working the phones pretty hard tonight. He should have worked out by now who he is bringing in.

In that case, apologies to Buddy, Gunston, Logue, Lloyd, and Battle if they intended on having an early night.

I think he is a 3rd tall option, so if McKay and Corr take the main threats I think he will be okay on a 3rd tall or a medium forward. The problem is we have Bonar back there kind of filling the same role.

Give Bonar a proper chance, in the midfield, where he was drafted. Big body, quick enough, could replace Greenhead.

Would have liked to have seen Walker come in to take the second tall to look at what Dawson was like as spare man and Bonar getting a small.
Team selections/ match ups were quirky to say the best. Downright armature umpiring made it more difficult. Ball use made it impossible.

I’m worried Larkey will be physically cooked before we can get decent support around him, he looks sore and worn out unsurprisingly given how often he gets double/triple teamed manhandled rag dolled, he must be the forward with the least free kicks for in the history of the AFL. Whatever else we do (and plenty has been said about our forward line) recruiting at least two more experienced forwards is a priority otherwise next year could be his last season ☹️

Weird game.
Few things noticed.

- Charlie Lazzaro needs to find a football identity and fast. Not potting him, really want him to succeed but needs to decide what kind of player he wants to be.

- Said it in his thread but JHF needs to be force fed the ball at all costs 20+ as a team goal. Good things happen.

-Forward structure from a mark 60-70m out is horrendous. No blocks, no movement no kick to advantage unless it’s JHF, LDU or Stephenson.

- Essendon were quite happy to let Jy roam free and get 29 uncontested. He played well but it didn’t hurt them at all.

-Only room for one of Turner and Archer.

- We need to make sure this team is good enough to make the most of LDU and Zurhaars 23-28y.o years.

- Blanket term which I normally hate, but we just need blokes that can kick. Out of the 22 I would say 6 are strong by foot, 4 are solid but not good enough to be creative and then 10 suspect players by foot. Doesn’t cut it, not in modern footy.

-We miss more handballs than any other team in the comp.

- Zurhaar is a superstar.