Autopsy Autopsy vs *

As i have often heard Kingy spruiking, it's the next posession after a clearance that is key, as today's 42 to 22, ( centre square 20 to 6) tally clearly illustrates.

Hopefully our next coach and his assistants can address this and turn our clearance dominance into the lethal weapon it should be with the 6-6-6 rule in play.

Absolutely. Clearances and contested possession used to be the key stats, now they’re nothing. Sent this to my Pie mate during the first quarter when they were down four goals.

7DB37F34-304D-4BF2-9EB4-9C94B2F05980.jpeg

As you can see, they’re murdering Port in clearance, yet being killed in uncontested possession. And they’re 4 goals down.

We all know what this looks like. It’s Ziebs in the midfield. Gets it, hacks it, they intercept and slingshot it back.

Here’s another screengrab, from today.

7C7F9BE8-9B1A-4008-960F-5429710AC049.jpeg

Someone said that Ross Lyon might be good for us, as we lack team defence. Nail, meet head.

It doesn’t matter how many times you win clearance, unless you’re ultimately scoring from clearance. We’re not, and we’re also not defending transition well at all.

I wouldn’t expect us to be considering (1) we weren’t very good at it when Noble was coaching and (2) team defence is, as the name suggests, a team thing. It needs training and cohesion. We have no coach and no system right now.

That said, I actually don’t think we’re in as bad a spot as many think.

Simpkin bouncing back, Sleevo’s form, Zurhaar, JHF, Curtis, McKay etc. We have a lot of good pieces relative to our results. It’s our system that’s garbage. Obvs there are big holes in the list, but our best players are young. That’s cause for optimism. (Remember in 2016 when it was the opposite?)

I think Clarko or another good coach could do a lot with our list. Just don’t read too much into the rest of the year. Just monitor the quality of individual performances. We have zero system, which in 2022 means all the things we all wrong our hands over here (difficulty scoring, ease being scored against)

But you can always coach system. You can’t coach talent. I mean you can, but I don’t think Geelong are a consistently good side because they keep drafting amazing players. They’re a consistently good side because they consistently coach a group of players of various abilities to play well with each other.

Our lamentations this year have all happened because our players are, collectively, running around like headless chooks.

Get a good coach and a few strong senior players in from other clubs, and I wouldn’t be shocked to see us have the year next year that a lot of us hoped we’d have this year.

Amazing how the shittest bloke in the AFL manages to drag himself away from
High Schools long enough to kick 5 against us everytime.

Mate, hard agree. Stringer having a day out is a sign that your pressure level isn’t up to scratch.

He’s a shitshow bellweather.

Dangerfield is just a physical beat, not overly crafty.
In a lot of ways this type of matchup suits Bonar , as he has the physical attributes to match which few do.

I'm just not sure Bonar is that good.

He is going okay, defended well for the most part, with lots of spoils, and apart from the shocking switch kick, he used the ball ok, and one absolute gem of a kick. We do not have a defensive structure for defence or attack it seems and he might benefit from some decent coaching. None of our KP defenders have any flexibility to cover the ground so until we find one, he is the guy.

Look. Umpires have a tough job.
But you don't also have be a turd for the sake of it.
That first decision against LDU for tossing ball to Goldy instead of just straight back to ump smacked of a maggot trying to impose himself on the game.
Sure, LDU got it wrong, but Goldy was about to give it back to him. Anyone with commonsense would have just let it slide. But not that dickhead.
I don't know his name. I don't care what it is, or what he does for a living or how many games he's umpired, or what his wikipedia page says, or what he oval he practices running backwards at. He is not important and I have no interest in knowing any more about him.
He is a nothingness and that decision showed he has no place in the game.

Difference between two sides tonight...

One side knows where they are at and is aiming to improve. The other has a long painful road ahead paying overs for players with very little upside.
Giving to much credit to these cheats..... 30 odd more years of sitting mid table.

I’m not really buying potting individuals after that game. Sure Spicer and Lizard aren’t ready, Dawson and Bonar had some bad moments, LDU down on his best etc. but I can’t really knock anyones effort. This was a system breakdown for me, more then anything else.

To dominate clearances and contested ball in that manner. To break even on i50s. All the while still getting done by 50.

IMO… This is the result of 3 different coaches in 4 years. This is the result of what they’re being taught.

People can point to skills as much as they like, but how often did we actually have a clear option when we f***** a skill? Often it’s a decision making error because they don’t know wtf to do. There is not clear structure of what to do once we win the clearances. The break down is obvious across the entire ground, but particularly evident in our mids and forwards. Jordan Lewis & Jono Brown pointed it out today, our forwards have no idea wtf they’re supposed to be doing for each other.

Our inability to pressure in our f50 has been a significant factor in us getting blown away this year. That isn’t just because Spicer is scared of his shadow or Mahony is slow or whatever other bs posters on here are convinced as to why it happens.

It’s just one example, but our players need good coaches. Something they’ve been neglected for some time. Sonja needs to get this next round of decisions right.
Hard like.

It’s system. It’s coaching.

Also, when’s the last time we (almost) matched an opposition in Inside 50s? I don’t think we’ve won I50s once this year, we lost it in both our wins.

There’s green shoots if you don’t need everything to happen right now.

Difference between two sides tonight...

One side knows where they are at and is aiming to improve. The other has a long painful road ahead paying overs for players with very little upside.
Yep, * have a hard road ahead.

He is going okay, defended well for the most part, with lots of spoils, and apart from the shocking switch kick, he used the ball ok, and one absolute gem of a kick. We do not have a defensive structure for defence or attack it seems and he might benefit from some decent coaching. None of our KP defenders have any flexibility to cover the ground so until we find one, he is the guy.

Patch didn't think he played well as mentioned in the presser.

Just want to highlight the Turner & Archer point. I’ll give match committee a pass this week because on unavailability, however we can not carry a back 6 full of lock down players with one attacking half back next year. The modern game does not allow sides to have a back 6 made up of purely defensive players. We have an inability to play an attacking style with this dynamic. It’s no knock on the individuals, but it’s been a problem for as long as I can remember. Every week we get sliced by multiple opposition half backs, every side bar us has multiple.

We need Stephenson and another genuine running rebounding half back (potentially even a third) next year to play 22 games in defence. People wonder why other 2021 bottom sides ball movement look far better then ours this year, every single one of them has a group of defenders that set up their attack - Hawthorn have Jiath/Impey/Scrimshaw/Sicily, Adelaide have Dawson/Smith/Milera, Collingwood have Daicos/Quaynor/Noble/Moore/Pendlebury, Carlton have Saad/Williams/Docherty/Newman, Essendon have Hind/Redman/Ridley… North have one of Stephenson or Hall at a time with McDonald (who played wing for 90% of Nobles coaching career) + a bunch of lockdown defenders (no disrespect to 🪣 who is a [emoji294]️).

It needs to f****** change.

Our list is too unbalanced by the same types - Hayden, Perez, Turner, Atu, McDonald, Archer, Bonnar, Goater, Bergman, Young, Scott.

I reckon this will be trimmed down to 5 or 6 by the end of 2023.

No real speed or sling shot types amongst any of them.

Stephenson is playing probably his best footy in his current role as a designated kicker and Scott seems to working hard transitioning and accumulating more than ever. Might end up on a wing like a Langdon type at Melbourne.

I think TT might be a fantastic half back type as he can run, carry and use it really well to setup scores from our defence that are non existent currently?

I in hate this , this pathetic piece of s**t team so much and can't wait for the day we truly rise above the drug cheats..... I really hope this s**t footy club continue on their mid table finish for the next 30 off years. Sitting close to these pricks and going to school ( in the 80's ) l understand how low they are. In a couple of years years we will be finishing higher then these child molestering drug cheats. My hate for these dirty drug cheats will never die.
Last time I post tonight and Sorry for going over the top but the hate remains.

How do you lose a game of football by 8 goals with the stat.

View attachment 1461923
This alone should win you the game.

…well from Level 1 we have nothing to offer across the CHF line and when it is there we turn it over with dumb decisions.

Some blokes have an over inflated opinion of their level skill

…well from Level 1 we have nothing to offer across the CHF line and when it is there we turn it over with dumb decisions.

Some blokes have an over inflated opinion of their level skill
Yep … agree .
I reckon we kicked it to spicer over 1/2 dozen times tonight with 2 defenders towering over him .

I had to go watch after reading your comment. Strange for a coach to single a player out like that I feel. Said it wasn’t his best game, maybe a slight challenge from the coach for the last month of footy for Bon Bon

Same here. Does this mean he has been happy with those he doesn’t mention, because ….

I in hate this , this pathetic piece of s**t team so much and can't wait for the day we truly rise above the drug cheats..... I really hope this s**t footy club continue on their mid table finish for the next 30 off years. Sitting close to these pricks and going to school ( in the 80's ) l understand how low they are. In a couple of years years we will be finishing higher then these child molestering drug cheats. My hate for these dirty drug cheats will never die.
Tell us what you really think 🤣