Analysis Back to The Future, Re-Developing Victoria Park.

I think constitutionally the State government supersedes council. So if the upgrade goes ahead then its a given AFLW games will be there. Of course the council could take it to court if they disagreed.

Also, if it's for AFLW then I think the Greens council will approve anyway - daytime matches, maybe not night time games. The ground gets an upgrade without the council having to pay for it.

Might also mean that Vic Park becomes the home ground for a VFLW team.... Collingwood aligned or not

I hope you are correct, but I'm not sure. Yarra Council own Vic Park, it is not Crown land. Unlike the MCG which is Crown land, managed by the MCC Trust as the Committee of Management. In that case, the State does have rights over the stadium, but at Vic Park?

I agree with you about the polictical persuasion of the Yarra Council. Left wing, Green, even a Socialist Left councillor who still talks about 'Imperialism'. You'd think and hope they'd be open to supporting a women's team based at the old ground. But then, they might also be opposed to the hyper masculine and bullying culture which - superficially at least - appears to have prevailed in the AFL over many years. Eddie has been aligned with that, even if its just a perception, and if he (or a representive of our club) goes begging to Yarra (which I believe he has done in the past) he might get a poor reception.

I hope you are correct, but I'm not sure. Yarra Council own Vic Park, it is not Crown land. Unlike the MCG which is Crown land, managed by the MCC Trust as the Committee of Management. In that case, the State does have rights over the stadium, but at Vic Park?

I agree with you about the polictical persuasion of the Yarra Council. Left wing, Green, even a Socialist Left councillor who still talks about 'Imperialism'. You'd think and hope they'd be open to supporting a women's team based at the old ground. But then, they might also be opposed to the hyper masculine and bullying culture which - superficially at least - appears to have prevailed in the AFL over many years. Eddie has been aligned with that, even if its just a perception, and if he (or a representive of our club) goes begging to Yarra (which I believe he has done in the past) he might get a poor reception.
Just to be a bit Cliffy Claven on you, land owned by any level of government is "Crown land" - this includes Vic Park. The effective difference between Vic Park and the MCG is that the latter is managed by an administrative body, the MCG Trust, rather than directly by the relevant local/state government, so it is (hopefully) less influenced by political bias.

I personally reckon people need to move on from Vic Park. It's time was already up when Eddie pulled his b/s move of naming it McHale Stadium without any power to do so.

Change rooms, Scoreboard, public toilets... hopefully improved lighting.... but maybe that's a stretch. $2million doesn't buy much these days.
If only there was an old scoreboard... A few toilet blocks were removed, but there’s still some that a minor refurb could bring up to standard. The lights aren’t much worse than the Holden Centre and I’d argue better than Princes Park.

Might also mean that Vic Park becomes the home ground for a VFLW team.... Collingwood aligned or not
Only Darebin remains, all other teams are now VFL or AFL clubs or heavily aligned with them.

Yep those that can . . do - those that can't - or won't, bitch and criticize those that do.

The first instinct is to try and help the guy understand the truth behind the undeniable bias and rubbish he continually posts.

But you just have to sit back and laugh at the cluelessness, accept that some people won't change their opinion, in spite of evidence, and move on with your life.

Just to be a bit Cliffy Claven on you, land owned by any level of government is "Crown land" - this includes Vic Park. The effective difference between Vic Park and the MCG is that the latter is managed by an administrative body, the MCG Trust, rather than directly by the relevant local/state government, so it is (hopefully) less influenced by political bias.

I personally reckon people need to move on from Vic Park. It's time was already up when Eddie pulled his b/s move of naming it McHale Stadium without any power to do so.

I thought Council owned land was not Crown land, but happy to be corrected.

Been a while since I have looked at it all, but think it is just dumb terminology anyway. Crown land is any land owned by government, but there is also the Crown land reserves act, etc. All I know is CFC was just a tenant and Eddie should never have made out he could rename the stadium!

Scroll up a bit mate.

Enjoy the game tonight. That's assuming you can still enjoy football, given we've wasted so much money on letting women play.

Yeah love the Pies, flying into Adelaide shortly for the game, enjoy it on the couch no doubt on channel 7.

Going to Adelaide to sit in the stands? I guess that makes you somewhat of a fan.

I love Collingwood so much I'm flying your plane, driving the team bus, sitting next to Nathan in the coach's box, making the sandwiches and picking the leftover turf out the players' boots after the game.

What that has to do with anything, * knows.

Local governments have no actual power. The state government can override it

giphy.gif

If i may interrupt Willy wonka,
Hey guys, sorry if its been mentioned already but i can't find it: I've read people claiming that both the Sherrin stand and the Ryder stand are going to be demolished on different websites..
So what is the true situation down there in sunny Melbourne.
I saw whats become of Moorabbin when last visiting for the footy and was horrified.

If i may interrupt Willy wonka,
Hey guys, sorry if its been mentioned already but i can't find it: I've read people claiming that both the Sherrin stand and the Ryder stand are going to be demolished on different websites..
So what is the true situation down there in sunny Melbourne.
I saw whats become of Moorabbin when last visiting for the footy and was horrified.

I’ve not heard this. Both stands have heritage protection so it seems highly unlikely. Plus City of Yarra have spent a lot on the Ryder Stand, so it wouldn’t make sense to then turn around and seek demolition.

I read a comment on facebook about Ryder Stand, but this was quickly shot down by the page admin (?) as it's structurally sound and the umps have a long lease. They were less certain on the fate of the Sherrin Stand on the basis of concrete cancer. Sorry can't find the comment now, but that was the general gist.

My thoughts are it would be rather pointless putting money into improving facilities without the Sherrin Stand remaining as Vic Park just wouldn't have the necessary capacity without it.

I read a comment on facebook about Ryder Stand, but this was quickly shot down by the page admin (?) as it's structurally sound and the umps have a long lease. They were less certain on the fate of the Sherrin Stand on the basis of concrete cancer. Sorry can't find the comment now, but that was the general gist.

My thoughts are it would be rather pointless putting money into improving facilities without the Sherrin Stand remaining as Vic Park just wouldn't have the necessary capacity without it.

Yeah, that was some of the stuff i was reading too.

Heritage Victoria has to sign off on any demolition. The removal of the walls from around the ground - which the locals fought hard for and Yarra supported, but in retrospect could have stayed up for football reasons - took many months of negotiation with HV. The removal of the Rush Stand walls and awning (with part of the frame retained) to open up views and light on the south side of the ground was also part of this negotiation. People now gather on the terraces and have BBQs while watching the footy, and its all good.

But HV would not contemplate removal of the other stands. There would have to be very solid justification to get rid of the stands, and in my experience concrete cancer may not be argument enough, as I believe it can be treated (for a cost of course). I'm hoping to see the stands full again in the years to come, with fans watching the AFLW.:D

I noticed the ch7 interview with Jack Hellier, in which he said the team loved played at Vic Park and that it is their "preferred venue" (exact quote).

I still get goosebumps every time I step foot into that hallowed ground.

8f0a73c388c85179ec6b9559e6a97186.jpg