Brisbane- Another priority pick this year?

• No.

• Yes- Start of first round/after their first pick?

• Yes- Pick 11 ie. straight after the non-finalists.

• Yes- End of first round.

• A highly indignant NO! not till hell freezes over.

Results are only viewable after voting.

Hello similar username.

Was it a mistake to draft Yeo, Polec, Schache and Docherty?

Look I agree in extended contracts for draftees but that wouldn't change them wanting to leave would it?

Two issues that are completely Brisbane's fault:

1 - the club could not create an environment to retain their players. Hiring and giving list management power to Voss. Hiring Leppa. Appointing Rockliff captain. All massive mistakes from a staff retention point of view.

2 - Brisbane is repeatedly drafting the wrong players. I don't mean skill wise, I mean with the wrong personality type. I find it amazing that Brisbane has not employed psychological specialists to create psych profiles and pysch test draftees before they draft them to determine go home factor. And if they have - they haven't done a good job.

I'm sorry but Brisbane has been incompetent. And If Brisbane want special handouts because of their incompetence there is no way they should be aallowed control of key footy functions until they prove otherwise.

Look I agree in extended contracts for draftees but that wouldn't change them wanting to leave would it?

1 - the club could not create an environment to retain their players. Hiring and giving list management power to Voss. Hiring Leppa. Appointing Rockliff captain. All massive mistakes from a staff retention point of view.

2 - Brisbane is repeatedly drafting the wrong players. I don't mean skill wise, I mean with the wrong personality type. I find it amazing that Brisbane has not employed psychological specialists to create psych profiles and pysch test draftees before they draft them to determine go home factor. And if they have - they haven't done a good job.

I'm sorry but Brisbane has been incompetent. And If Brisbane want special handouts because of their incompetence there is no way they should be aallowed control of key footy functions until they prove otherwise.

So to confirm we just need to fix our culcha?

Not just that.

You are drafting the wrong players. Players that want to go home. Draft more locals. Draft more robust personality types. Personality types that should by now have been measured and targeted scientifically.

The fact remains that Brisbane (or any club) is basically admitting their incompetence at list management whenever they apply for a priority pick.

Clubs applying for priority picks are admitting their own list management incompetence and don't deserve to be trusted to manage their own clubs list.

It's a cop out to blame 'go home factors'. Good non Vic clubs manage it. Look at Sydney. Look at WC.

Draft more locals.

Which local should we have taken with pick 2 in 2015?

Draft more robust personality types. Personality types that should by now have been measured and targeted scientifically.

You'll have to elaborate on the science behind drafting players that won't leave. I suspect that's wank. Jarrod Berry and Sam mayes are completely different people and they are both committed long term to the club.

The fact remains that Brisbane (or any club) is basically admitting their incompetence at list management whenever they apply for a priority pick.

Clubs applying for priority picks are admitting their own list management incompetence and don't deserve to be trusted to manage their own clubs list.

I don't particularly have an issue with the AFL taking control of a club's list management. I'd argue they almost have with Brisbane given they basically walked Noble into the door.

It's a cop out to blame 'go home factors'. Good non Vic clubs manage it. Look at Sydney. Look at WC.

WA is a football state. West coast and Fremantle have more AFL level locals on the list and in fact drafting only locals would actually be feasible for them.

Sydney is a weird case because they're the only club in the northern states that aren't heamorraging players. Did lose Tom Mitchell last year.

Why did Joel hamling leave the bulldogs?

Which local should we have taken with pick 2 in 2015?

You'll have to elaborate on the science behind drafting players that won't leave. I suspect that's wank. Jarrod Berry and Sam mayes are completely different people and they are both committed long term to the club.

I don't particularly have an issue with the AFL taking control of a club's list management. I'd argue they almost have with Brisbane given they basically walked Noble into the door.

WA is a football state. West coast and Fremantle have more AFL level locals on the list and in fact drafting only locals would actually be feasible for them.

Sydney is a weird case because they're the only club in the northern states that aren't heamorraging players. Did lose Tom Mitchell last year.

Why did Joel hamling leave the bulldogs?

Funny approach. Sydney are weird? I'd say best practice and would be modelling them if I were Brisbane. But ok they're weird...

Basic recruitment and selection psych profiling is wank?

You actually sound like you could be in charge of Brsibane....are you?

If you could have profiled Schache and he was a flight risk. You don't draft him. Draft someone else or trade down. There are always options. But no Brisbane believed a kid who said he liked the Lions because his dad played there. ..

Hamling left for sick family. It happens. When players happen to leave all the time....well it just ain't happenstance.

Funny approach. Sydney are weird? I'd say best practice and would be modelling them if I were Brisbane. But ok they're weird...

Basic recruitment and selection psych profiling is wank?

You actually sound like you could be in charge of Brsibane....are you?

If you could have profiled Schache and he was a flight risk. You don't draft him. Draft someone else or trade down. There are always options. But no Brisbane believed a kid who said he liked the Lions because his dad played there. ..

Hamling left for sick family. It happens. When players happen to leave all the time....well it just ain't happenstance.

If I knew you couldn't read I'd have approached my response pictorially so apologies for that. Sydney are a weird case because every other club in their situation is losing players. Is that really that difficult to grasp?

What you suggested is wank, yes. I'll just put what you stated out there again.

"Personality types that should by now have been measured and targeted scientifically."

Explain the methodology behind measuring said personality types, explain the analysis that must have occurred to create a correlation between personality type and players leaving football clubs with some sort of statistical significance. Explain how they'd account for the multifaceted nature of life in a football club. Does the player get along with other players in the club? Staff members? Will drafting one personality type put other players off?

My point being there's actually no way to quantify a player leaving a football club with their personality type; ergo, absolute wank. There is some commonality with our players that leave though; they want to move closer to home. We draft more interstate players so we see the effect more. Pretty simple stuff really.

Schache openly stated his desire to come to the club his dead father played for, he wore his number during his time at the lions. What specific personality traits should the club have looked for when drafting him? He was fine in December and happy to stay, that has changed now, what personality trait drove that decision?

Should the bulldogs have profiled Hamling to ensure that he wasn't the type of player to have a family member that could get sick? Maybe they should fix their culture?

Which begs the question why you were awarded a women's licence?

Another ill-conceived concession to a basket case of a club.
Jeff. Whatever the Lions administration did to upset you so much and offend your (perhaps artificially inflated, I'm not sure) sense of self is by far their biggest win, simply for the value that your salty and clearly, extremely transparent posts provide to us loyal supporters.

If I knew you couldn't read I'd have approached my response pictorially so apologies for that. Sydney are a weird case because every other club in their situation is losing players. Is that really that difficult to grasp?

What you suggested is wank, yes. I'll just put what you stated out there again.

"Personality types that should by now have been measured and targeted scientifically."

Explain the methodology behind measuring said personality types, explain the analysis that must have occurred to create a correlation between personality type and players leaving football clubs with some sort of statistical significance. Explain how they'd account for the multifaceted nature of life in a football club. Does the player get along with other players in the club? Staff members? Will drafting one personality type put other players off?

My point being there's actually no way to quantify a player leaving a football club with their personality type; ergo, absolute wank. There is some commonality with our players that leave though; they want to move closer to home. We draft more interstate players so we see the effect more. Pretty simple stuff really.

Schache openly stated his desire to come to the club his dead father played for, he wore his number during his time at the lions. What specific personality traits should the club have looked for when drafting him? He was fine in December and happy to stay, that has changed now, what personality trait drove that decision?

Should the bulldogs have profiled Hamling to ensure that he wasn't the type of player to have a family member that could get sick? Maybe they should fix their culture?

For $100k or less any half decent organisational pychologist could put in place a predictive model on retention. They do it in the corporate world all the time. And yes certain identifiable personality traits and markers will be present that inform the likelihood of retention.

s**t mate any doubts just type 'psychological profiling for staff retention' into google. And no I didnt use google - but I worked closely with an organisational pychologist in a HR consulting firm. It's their bread and butter.

I can't believe Brisbane haven't done this. I can't believe they haven't hired key Sydney personnel to implement a retention culture.

Incompetence.

And they jus stick their hands out to repeat the same errors.

For $100k or less any half decent organisational pychologist could put in place a predictive model on retention. They do it in the corporate world all the time. And yes certain identifiable personality traits and markers will be present that inform the likelihood of retention.

s**t mate any doubts just type 'psychological profiling for staff retention' into google. And no I didnt use google - but I worked closely with an organisational pychologist in a HR consulting firm. It's their bread and butter.

I can't believe Brisbane haven't done this. I can't believe they haven't hired key Sydney personnel to implement a retention culture.

Incompetence.

And they jus stick their hands out to repeat the same errors.

Can you name literally one marker?

Not just that.

You are drafting the wrong players. Players that want to go home. Draft more locals. Draft more robust personality types. Personality types that should by now have been measured and targeted scientifically.

Just in case you hadn't noticed our CEO, football dept manager and current coach are all AFL appointments in everything bar name. They were pretty much responsible for all of them. Heck even when we were on the verge of a complete board spill the AFL stepped in and orchestrated a compromised solution that they clearly favoured. So essentially we currently are run by the AFL. Some of the appointments will take time to fix the issues that have been created by years of incompetent management.

In the meantime we've put in place the most comprehensively resourced welfare department in the league as far as personnel goes (stated by Fagan in one of his interviews) and we've bulked up our academy development system, as well as hiring a bunch of assistant coaches from development backgrounds. Certainly our facilities need to be sorted out ASAP but its not like we've been ignoring them.

From a drafting side of things, its a bit of a gilt edged sword isn't it. Do you go for an inferior talent and try to draft qlders as a priority (not to mention possibly compromising your list profile strategy) or do you draft the talent and back in the systems you've now put in place to retain them. Its probably a balance of both realistically. We certainly do have a bit of an emerging system in our drafting. We'll usually go vic country over vic metro, and it seems that we're going for groups of guys who have come through the same pathways to a degree. We do for a fact take into personalities when we're drafting, and you'd be quite shocked at the number of names that we've had to put a line through over the past few years especially, due to either not fitting the right character traits or players flat out saying they dont want to be drafted up north and will leave in 2 years.

I guess the question is is whether the AFL will deem it necessary to provide some assistance to those it has put in place in order to try to ensure that the turnaround doesn't take so long that it goes beyond tipping point. Now whether a priority pick is the solution I'm not sure. I do know it certainly can't hurt.

Then there's always the whole line around that a teenager won't solve anything which is true to a degree and that we should be forced to trade it for players. The only issue is that trades require 3 parties to agree and despite throwing bunches of cash at every major free agent or out of contract player over the last few years we still can't get one to come here, so thats not really a realistic solution either.

Personally I would be reasonably happy with the minimum contract for first round draftees being 3 years with a club optioned 4th year (salary increases year on year to be set) and 2 years with a club optioned 3rd year for all other rounds. Add to this the scrapping of the 95% rule requiring teams to pay most of the salary cap even if their list profile and age doesn't' reflect this.

Currently the salary cap and the draft are the two main mechanisms of equalisation that the AFL put in place to try to ensure an even competition, however at present they're not really working that effectively. Rather than settling into playing AFL and life as a professional sportsperson players are being expected to decide the next 3-5 years of their lives 1 - 1 1/2 years into their career, sometimes even less, or facing a whole bunch of scrutiny because they haven't. Thats not a whole lot of time to get a player embedded into life as an AFL player with all the things they need to adjust to lifestyle wise, let alone getting them doing that while living away from their family and cooking, cleaning etc for themselves. So all of a sudden one of your two main advantages in being low on the table can be gone two years into their development, before you've had time to really obtain any sort of value from it.

Now this isn't a Brisbane only issue, all clubs go through it, albeit on a reduced scale to those in states that have lower drafted player numbers. And don't get me wrong this isn't saying Brisbane isn't to blame for these issues, we certainly are culpible, but the above would certainly assist in our ability to turn the ship around, and weather bad times without things going to absolute crap.

Secondly is the salary cap and this rule you have to pay 95% of it. Honestly i'd be flabbergasted if anyone thought the current list at Brisbane should be getting 95% of the GWS or Adelaide sides at present. What it creates is a system of mediocre players getting overpaid until such time as the list talent catches up with the rest of the competition. You're then susceptible to those players not wanting to take a pay cut later down the track and going elsewhere to a team that can pay what they're after. You also limit the size of the contract that a team like us can throw at an off contract or free agent. Sure, it was brought in to ensure that teams were paying most of the cap and not deliberately staying a long way under, and therefore being noncompetitive. However in a system where players must agree to a trade this means that sometimes while the desire to pay the cap is there, in reality the ability is not. Once again the inability to attract players is certainly some of our own making, but having a whole 10-15% of the cap available to do so certainly couldn't help bridge some of that gap.

Overall I'd take both of the above over any number of picks, because what they do is enable any team finding themselves in a similar situation to weather the storm much better or not slip as far. A priority pick may help this time, but what is helping to stop the cycle repeating again.

As for the use of Sydney as an argument they've had that extra cap space and while they are a well run club no doubt, that space certainly would have helped. Its not like they haven't seen high picks leave either though. Jetta, Lamb, Mitchell are all playing elsewhere. They've just been able to paper over it through good player development (something we're now working on) and good late round draft picks and trades. It will be interesting to see where it goes for them now that they don't have the extra space. Will club culture and development systems overcome it, it will be interesting to watch.

Apologies that was longer than I intended.

Can you name literally one marker?

I'm not the expert. I'm saying the expertise is readily available. Can you see the difference?

So no then.

Don't be definitive about something you have no idea about.

Simply not that easy. Oversimplifying something you don't understand to put the boot into a club makes you look silly.

Just in case you hadn't noticed our CEO, football dept manager and current coach are all AFL appointments in everything bar name. They were pretty much responsible for all of them. Heck even when we were on the verge of a complete board spill the AFL stepped in and orchestrated a compromised solution that they clearly favoured. So essentially we currently are run by the AFL. Some of the appointments will take time to fix the issues that have been created by years of incompetent management.

In the meantime we've put in place the most comprehensively resourced welfare department in the league as far as personnel goes (stated by Fagan in one of his interviews) and we've bulked up our academy development system, as well as hiring a bunch of assistant coaches from development backgrounds. Certainly our facilities need to be sorted out ASAP but its not like we've been ignoring them.

From a drafting side of things, its a bit of a gilt edged sword isn't it. Do you go for an inferior talent and try to draft qlders as a priority (not to mention possibly compromising your list profile strategy) or do you draft the talent and back in the systems you've now put in place to retain them. Its probably a balance of both realistically. We certainly do have a bit of an emerging system in our drafting. We'll usually go vic country over vic metro, and it seems that we're going for groups of guys who have come through the same pathways to a degree. We do for a fact take into personalities when we're drafting, and you'd be quite shocked at the number of names that we've had to put a line through over the past few years especially, due to either not fitting the right character traits or players flat out saying they dont want to be drafted up north and will leave in 2 years.

I guess the question is is whether the AFL will deem it necessary to provide some assistance to those it has put in place in order to try to ensure that the turnaround doesn't take so long that it goes beyond tipping point. Now whether a priority pick is the solution I'm not sure. I do know it certainly can't hurt.

Then there's always the whole line around that a teenager won't solve anything which is true to a degree and that we should be forced to trade it for players. The only issue is that trades require 3 parties to agree and despite throwing bunches of cash at every major free agent or out of contract player over the last few years we still can't get one to come here, so thats not really a realistic solution either.

Personally I would be reasonably happy with the minimum contract for first round draftees being 3 years with a club optioned 4th year (salary increases year on year to be set) and 2 years with a club optioned 3rd year for all other rounds. Add to this the scrapping of the 95% rule requiring teams to pay most of the salary cap even if their list profile and age doesn't' reflect this.

Currently the salary cap and the draft are the two main mechanisms of equalisation that the AFL put in place to try to ensure an even competition, however at present they're not really working that effectively. Rather than settling into playing AFL and life as a professional sportsperson players are being expected to decide the next 3-5 years of their lives 1 - 1 1/2 years into their career, sometimes even less, or facing a whole bunch of scrutiny because they haven't. Thats not a whole lot of time to get a player embedded into life as an AFL player with all the things they need to adjust to lifestyle wise, let alone getting them doing that while living away from their family and cooking, cleaning etc for themselves. So all of a sudden one of your two main advantages in being low on the table can be gone two years into their development, before you've had time to really obtain any sort of value from it.

Now this isn't a Brisbane only issue, all clubs go through it, albeit on a reduced scale to those in states that have lower drafted player numbers. And don't get me wrong this isn't saying Brisbane isn't to blame for these issues, we certainly are culpible, but the above would certainly assist in our ability to turn the ship around, and weather bad times without things going to absolute crap.

Secondly is the salary cap and this rule you have to pay 95% of it. Honestly i'd be flabbergasted if anyone thought the current list at Brisbane should be getting 95% of the GWS or Adelaide sides at present. What it creates is a system of mediocre players getting overpaid until such time as the list talent catches up with the rest of the competition. You're then susceptible to those players not wanting to take a pay cut later down the track and going elsewhere to a team that can pay what they're after. You also limit the size of the contract that a team like us can throw at an off contract or free agent. Sure, it was brought in to ensure that teams were paying most of the cap and not deliberately staying a long way under, and therefore being noncompetitive. However in a system where players must agree to a trade this means that sometimes while the desire to pay the cap is there, in reality the ability is not. Once again the inability to attract players is certainly some of our own making, but having a whole 10-15% of the cap available to do so certainly couldn't help bridge some of that gap.

Overall I'd take both of the above over any number of picks, because what they do is enable any team finding themselves in a similar situation to weather the storm much better or not slip as far. A priority pick may help this time, but what is helping to stop the cycle repeating again.

As for the use of Sydney as an argument they've had that extra cap space and while they are a well run club no doubt, that space certainly would have helped. Its not like they haven't seen high picks leave either though. Jetta, Lamb, Mitchell are all playing elsewhere. They've just been able to paper over it through good player development (something we're now working on) and good late round draft picks and trades. It will be interesting to see where it goes for them now that they don't have the extra space. Will club culture and development systems overcome it, it will be interesting to watch.

Apologies that was longer than I intended.

That was a good read and a reasoned response. Yes Sydney had a cap advantage but I doubt that's the factor. Most staff prefer a good work environment/manager to extra pay for instance.

I know AFL recruiters will do some basic psych profiling. What I am saying is that Brisbane should have commissioned a study involving the collation of stats on players leaving - I reckon GWS and GC would have helped pay for it. I actually reckon the AFL would have paid for it and forced players to participate. And there is enough info at an AFL organisational level to get some data that would allow a decent psych test be constructed to predict retention and draft accordingly. (And that may mean trading up or down)

It's not as simple as asking - 'do you want to come here?' many players will do the opposite of whatever they answer.

I agree on 3 years for draftees with a 4th year option.

I also agree on more cap flexibility. No way should s**t players at s**t clubs earn 95% of good players at elite clubs.

So no then.

Don't be definitive about something you have no idea about.

Simply not that easy. Oversimplifying something you don't understand to put the boot into a club makes you look silly.

No I know enough to know it can be done and I've seen it done.

Just because I can't put an aeroplane engine together doesn't mean I won't fly in a plane.

Saying otherwise is just silly.

That was a good read and a reasoned response. Yes Sydney had a cap advantage but I doubt that's the factor. Most staff prefer a good work environment/manager to extra pay for instance.

I know AFL recruiters will do some basic psych profiling. What I am saying is that Brisbane should have commissioned a study involving the collation of stats on players leaving - I reckon GWS and GC would have helped pay for it. I actually reckon the AFL would have paid for it and forced players to participate. And there is enough info at an AFL organisational level to get some data that would allow a decent psych test be constructed to predict retention and draft accordingly. (And that may mean trading up or down)

It's not as simple as asking - 'do you want to come here?' many players will do the opposite of whatever they answer.

I agree on 3 years for draftees with a 4th year option.

I also agree on more cap flexibility. No way should s**t players at s**t clubs earn 95% of good players at elite clubs.
Hi. Organisational psychologist here.

Producing a profile based on personality and recruiting to that one specific profile is fraught with danger, and selecting one single personality type is not only a poor idea in terms o team dynamics and variety of style and approach within the team, but it also disregards the fact that personality attributes are not abilities but preferences, and it is in fact an understanding of your strengths, weaknesses and the relative interplay with other teammates that produces a strong bond and team identification.

It doesn't work how you think it works.

Producing a profile based on personality and recruiting to that one specific profile is fraught with danger, and selecting one single personality type is not only a poor idea in terms o team dynamics and variety of style and approach within the team, but it also disregards the fact that personality attributes are not abilities but preferences, and it is in fact an understanding of your strengths, weaknesses and the relative interplay with other teammates that produces a strong bond and team identification.

He still doesn't get that he insisted above that you can just recruit one kind of personality type and expect all to be peachy. Such a gross oversimplification of the process.

It is looking highly likely that we will be finishing 18th this year, we have 1 win and a percentage of 67% and IMO a 3-4 win season is the best case scenario. The evenness of the competition has really hotted up this year except for us unfortunately. The clubs percentages in the 4 spots above us are 91.4%, 92.1%, 94.3% and 76.5%.

If it wasn't for the Bombers supplements bans last year we would have been clear last with only 2 wins for the season.

2015- 4 wins, 67.5%.
2016- 3 wins, 61.6%
2017- 1 win (so far), 67%.

That's 7 wins in 52 games.

If it was me I would like to see us use any PP to somehow get in a 20-24 year old A grade talent from another club, eg. Jacob Hopper, Matthew Kennedy, Darcy Parish, Nakia Cockatoo, all OOC 2017 as far as I am aware.

Nakia Cockatoo...A Grader..... Ive seen enough...

Maybe I haven't made myself clear.

All I'm suggesting is that you can establish a psych profile of people likely to stay. That there will be traits that indicate this.

Of course it would be ridiculous to recruit one personality type. I do think you can recruit for retention as there will be factors that inform this.

And yes you don't use one psych test in isolation - a combination of selection techniques are used.

Genuine question. If you were given access to all AFL players, Do you think you or your colleagues could design a recruiting process to improve player retention? I bet you could.

Priority picks do nothing to resolve short-term problems.

No one is claiming otherwise. Brisbane need short, medium and long term supports. No one is claiming that a pp will solve all of our problems. It is one ingredient.

If they win two games or fewer, they should get one. Either pick 11, or after the first round. They're entering the twilight zone now, and there's no Paul Roos to save them.

Jeff. Whatever the Lions administration did to upset you so much and offend your (perhaps artificially inflated, I'm not sure) sense of self is by far their biggest win, simply for the value that your salty and clearly, extremely transparent posts provide to us loyal supporters.
It's amazing the amount of fairy tales Lions fans around here hang their hat on.

I guess when reality is as frightening as the Brisbane Lions, you need to hang your hat on something.

It's amazing the amount of fairy tales Lions fans around here hang their hat on.

I guess when reality is as frightening as the Brisbane Lions, you need to hang your hat on something.
Vague reply that shirks the issues in the original post.

What are we doing?