C-section Ammo's 2007

The Reds are joke, have an excuse for every occasion.

Just wait till summer and you won't be able to shut them up about how good they will be in whatever grade they will be.

The Reds are joke, have an excuse for every occasion.

Just wait till summer and you won't be able to shut them up about how good they will be in whatever grade they will be.

I for one, felt a little sorry for the REDS players on the weekend.With so many 'outs' it was difficult for them to be enthusiastic and committed.That they persevered and managed 3 goals in the second half is a tribute to them (the players), as it could have been way worse judging on the first half.

Whilst avoiding club poltics like the plague ( hate the rubbish..love the footy), I reckon having to play without the coach being there is pretty poor.Reds players remained fairly disciplined all day in the more than trying circunstances.

On a brighter note ,introduced myself to Fraser before the game, and found,as one often does,that there are great people everywhere in footy.
Good luck for the rest of the year Scribe.

I for one, felt a little sorry for the REDS players on the weekend.With so many 'outs' it was difficult for them to be enthusiastic and committed.That they persevered and managed 3 goals in the second half is a tribute to them (the players), as it could have been way worse judging on the first half.

Whilst avoiding club poltics like the plague ( hate the rubbish..love the footy), I reckon having to play without the coach being there is pretty poor.Reds players remained fairly disciplined all day in the more than trying circunstances.

On a brighter note ,introduced myself to Fraser before the game, and found,as one often does,that there are great people everywhere in footy.
Good luck for the rest of the year Scribe.
Watching both of the teams go round on Saturday was a bit like watching a train wreck. You didn't want to watch, but as a supporter you felt compelled to. The 2s battled hard but just didn't have a cattle, and the same goes for the 1s. Neither side went into their shell, but it was probably the low point of a year that clearly hasn't turned out the way it was expected to.
The good thing is there are 2 games to go, and with any luck the players can stick together and see the Reds finish 8th.
As for Fraser, I have known about him from his time at OTs, and he doesn't appear to have changed one bit. He gives 100% to everything he does, and a couple of wins to finish the year would be nice for him, if for no one else at the club. The bloke seems to be everywhere.

Watching both of the teams go round on Saturday was a bit like watching a train wreck. You didn't want to watch, but as a supporter you felt compelled to. The 2s battled hard but just didn't have a cattle, and the same goes for the 1s. Neither side went into their shell, but it was probably the low point of a year that clearly hasn't turned out the way it was expected to.
The good thing is there are 2 games to go, and with any luck the players can stick together and see the Reds finish 8th.
As for Fraser, I have known about him from his time at OTs, and he doesn't appear to have changed one bit. He gives 100% to everything he does, and a couple of wins to finish the year would be nice for him, if for now one else at the club. The bloke seems to be everywhere.

What the ?

Before potting me about my english you Goose, maybe get yours right!

I told you last week [abuse removed] and he proved me right by leaving his team to go sking!!!

What the ?

Before potting me about my english you Goose, maybe get yours right!

I told you last week Burgs was a flog and he proved me right by leaving his team to go sking!!!
You have a long memory Quick Eze. Perhaps you should get on with your life.

For the record though, "yours" should have an apostrophe, the word "english" generally starts with a capital "E", unless you are talking about a Top Gun character, "Goose" doesn't, and I have no idea what Burgen did on the weekend, but doubt it was "sking". :D

As for the footy, hard to split the two OCs this year. They both look to have too much for Rupo who will probably be disappointed to miss out on B Grade after spending all year on top.

Rupo were clearly outplayed by a very impressive OC2 today. It was the Parton, Holland show with 13 goals between them and a host of contributors performing at a very high level. The game between the 2 OC's would be worth watching, very similar sides, too bad they don't play in Round 18 so they could smash the crap out of each other. Early days i'm tipping OC2, that may shock a few, but i thought we played better than we did against OC1. We are not that far away in spite of what posters may think, both sides blew us away early with a more committed effort, each game we clawed back but in the end were not good enough. We are very proud of our players who still wore the jumper today in a manner that would make any supporter proud. We have to win our last two games to ensure the double chance, we have everything to look forward now.

$4.00 per stubby
$4.00 for a cold pie
$4.00 for a Hot Dog
$3.50 for a sausage roll

Borders on ridiculous IMO. But we are from the other side of town!!!

Kb,
Bad luck on the wekend. Interesting to read your thoughts re OC2 being superior. A couple of points
(A) The Oc1 ground would have been far more suitable than what you played on on Saturday

(B) OC1 beat you by 4 ?more goals than OC 2 an a ground very suited to your game, unlike the Gramlick?

(c) OC2 appeared to have "added" and improved since early days.

(D) Which game did you have the better side in for?

Prior to this week the form of OC2 was only scratchy.

The finals will be played on a big ground, not the gramlick.

Rupo will be able to expose both sides for pace at Coburg.

The view was we had little chance of winning yesterday, even before we decided to 'rest' 7 players. Once that decision was made, it was up to the chosen 22, which became 19, then 21, to make the most of the situation.

I guess one thing we can say is we lost by less away than we did at home in round 5!!! It also meant that those who played in the backline (such as me) were always going to have a very busy day.

Thankfully, the other results went as anticipated. A far stronger line-up will welcome Parkdale to BSO this Saturday.

With reference to my earlier post on the relative strengths and weaknesses of the finals' sides, I feel Hilton will be able to 'do a Dolly' for Camberwell, in providing an on-ball classy presence, and then proving a massive handful if isolated in the goal-square. Seven goals last week, and 11 yesterday - I guess it's a no-brainer really.

Frankly, I see a fair gap emerging between both OCs and Rupo, but if the kids can keep the double chance, then they may still cause an upset and reach B grade for 2008

Wow you guys have been watching too much TV, resting 7 when you're in such a precarious situation, I'm not sure if this is stupidity or arrogance! I hope that Parky whack you this week and make fools of the decision makers who somehow allowed this to occur!

This slag is aimed at the people running your club, well done to the blokes who turned out to wear the JUMPER, no doubt they gave their all!!

Wow you guys have been watching too much TV, resting 7 when you're in such a precarious situation, I'm not sure if this is stupidity or arrogance! I hope that Parky whack you this week and make fools of the decision makers who somehow allowed this to occur!

This slag is aimed at the people running your club, well done to the blokes who turned out to wear the JUMPER, no doubt they gave their all!!

There was only one decision maker on this one, and he didn't even show up to coach the side. :thumbsdown:

Scribe not only coached a horrifically undermanned reserves unit, but was one of the 21 who played "with a leg tied behind their back" in the senior game.

Betcha this would never happen at Trinity!

Bravo Reds Committee. Why not get rid of a good coach for doing the right thing, but also appoint someone else with only himself at heart? Good thing you sounded him out even before your old coach 'resigned'.

This like Jack is only aimed at committee not the players or Scribe.

Frase- You still haven't answered the question.

WAS HE AT THE SNOW THIS WEEKEND?

QE,

I can't be certain he was up in the mountains, but I now know that he did have plans set in stone several months ago, which he wasn't able to move to let him coach on Saturday.

The only issue I had was not knowing until very late in the piece. Once I did know, I had to worry about what I could control, which was:

1. getting 22 blokes on the park and having a decent crack in the early game; and then
2. trying to stop Bayford/Tempone/Hough/Hendrie from kicking goals.

First but was a success, not so sure about the second one (mind you Tom didn't come back after half time - probably 'coz I bored the pants off him with incessant chatter).

Never mind, what's done is done, and we move on to round 17, sitting in 8th and knowing a win over Parkdale will go a long way to staying in the section for 2008.

Frase

Kb,
Bad luck on the wekend. Interesting to read your thoughts re OC2 being superior. A couple of points
(A) The Oc1 ground would have been far more suitable than what you played on on Saturday

(B) OC1 beat you by 4 ?more goals than OC 2 an a ground very suited to your game, unlike the Gramlick?

(c) OC2 appeared to have "added" and improved since early days.

(D) Which game did you have the better side in for?

Prior to this week the form of OC2 was only scratchy.

The finals will be played on a big ground, not the gramlick.

Rupo will be able to expose both sides for pace at Coburg.

I don't think they are superior there is not much between the two sides, Old Carey are at home as well. There form has definitely been inferior to OC1 and i maybe wrong here, and perhaps i was more shocked by there depth, they had 8 different players than to what we played last time. I was not shocked by the power of OC1, i knew OC2 were very good but possibly not as good as they performed Saturday. It will be a cracker worthy of "B" Grade standard. The players both sides have are exceptional.

Rupo will lift for finals, we will have to be at our best, so far all games have been won by the team who jumped out of the box early as we did in the first lot of rounds. We would need to start much better to put pressure on these quality sides. Coburg should suit,but our skill will have to lift. We will have to focus strongly on the next two weeks as i still believe anything can happen.

QE,

I can't be certain he was up in the mountains, but I now know that he did have plans set in stone several months ago, which he wasn't able to move to let him coach on Saturday.

The only issue I had was not knowing until very late in the piece. Once I did know, I had to worry about what I could control, which was:

1. getting 22 blokes on the park and having a decent crack in the early game; and then
2. trying to stop Bayford/Tempone/Hough/Hendrie from kicking goals.

First but was a success, not so sure about the second one (mind you Tom didn't come back after half time - probably 'coz I bored the pants off him with incessant chatter).

Never mind, what's done is done, and we move on to round 17, sitting in 8th and knowing a win over Parkdale will go a long way to staying in the section for 2008.

Frase

Scribe,

sounds like a good effort on your behalf to pick up the pieces. I would like to again reiterate what a horrible decision this was, to basically tank a game? This is not what ammos footy is all about. The integrity of the competition is compromised when this sort of things happen. I am sure those at HQ would not be happy with such goings on and neither they should be. The hierarchy of the club should be held accountable for this decision.

What is your take on the effect this can have o a playing group? I think it can be disastrous, what about the blokes who stepped up into the ones this week, are they just discarded for the better players who were rested?

There are intangible things in footy called momentum and confidence. In making the decision they have the Reds have lost any hop of this. You didn't need to beat OC, but what about a really strong showing going into the parky game? What about a terrific last quarter that could have built momentum and been used a s a catylist for the next week.

Just a horrible, stupid decision that I hope you weren't a part of, from reading your posts and reports in the record I don't think you are the sort who would condone such a thing. The committee has a lot to answer for down there.

Another question Scribe, were you offered the role of senior coach for the rest of the year? Makes sense, there ahs been abig turnover of plaeyrs and the previous coach probably doesn't know a lot of the list.

Yoru thoughts please, or get the decision makers to post theri explanation.

By the way, as the other guru says, never, never....................

vafa guru.

VG,

Not my decision, but one by which I simply had to abide.

It should be pointed out that the guys who sat out the game were all carrying niggling injuries. They could have played, further injured themselves, and then been unavailable for this week.

We haven't had anything approaching momentum since Rupo turned a 4 goal deficit into a 5 goal win in round 14.

In answer to your final (rather flattering) question - no, I wasn't asked to coach the seniors for the last 4 rounds, and neither should I be. Paul Harris was our senior assistant and played every game in the seniors. I've played less than half and still have another side to coach (and team manage :eek:). My plate was already pretty full.

Neither of us have coached prior to this year, and this tricky situation demanded more coaching experience than Paul or I have had thus far.

Scribe it seems as if you must justify a decision that you do not agree with. You once again conduct yourself with great dignity. You are a great Club man at a ordinary club! Keep punching mate!

But enough of this issue, its not worth all this time!

lets apply our focus to the what shapes to be the game of the season. Carey V Camb should be a cracker. really looking forward to this one.

Scribe it seems as if you must justify a decision that you do not agree with. You once again conduct yourself with great dignity. You are a great Club man at a ordinary club! Keep punching mate!

Of an otherwise fantastic club that is currently undergoing some extremely ordinary goings-on. :(

Nothing 'extreme' about it Mobbenfuhrer... although when you strip the hyperbole from those who have no idea of the goings on at the Club, you will find it quite 'ordinary'

The simple and unremarkable facts are that last Saturday two players were unavailable and five were injured in what is a thin list at the best of times (of those five injured, at least two won't play next week).

Of those that will play next week a rest was long overdue as they'd been beaten from pillar to post for three months - both Meigho and Harro probably should've missed the week before.

As to what others are saying about the Reds - seriously, if it helps you sleep at night, go your hardest. Honestly, we could care less...

Nothing 'extreme' about it Mobbenfuhrer... although when you strip the hyperbole from those who have no idea of the goings on at the Club, you will find it quite 'ordinary'

The simple and unremarkable facts are that last Saturday two players were unavailable and five were injured in what is a thin list at the best of times (of those five injured, at least two won't play next week).

Of those that will play next week a rest was long overdue as they'd been beaten from pillar to post for three months - both Meigho and Harro probably should've missed the week before.

As to what others are saying about the Reds - seriously, if it helps you sleep at night, go your hardest. Honestly, we could care less...

Gary,

Maybe you can answer this question then.

Where was Burgs on the weekend if he wasn't coaching?

I think you meant couldn't by the way buddy!

Quick

If he (Graham Burgan) wasn't at the Gordon Barnard Reserve, I think where he was is a moot point.

Jesus Christ with Simon-Peter running the water could've coached that side on Saturday and walked away with a similar result.

This week, with a few ins and some help from the aforementioned J. Christ, the result may be different.

PS: And no, I didn't mean couldn't. While 'technically' grammatically incorrect, the term 'I could care less' is common parlance in pop-culture, and has its roots in Gen-X irony.

If he (Graham Burgan) wasn't at the Gordon Barnard Reserve, I think where he was is a moot point.

Jesus Christ with Simon-Peter running the water could've coached that side on Saturday and walked away with a similar result.

This week, with a few ins and some help from the aforementioned J. Christ, the result may be different.

PS: And no, I didn't mean couldn't. While 'technically' grammatically incorrect, the term 'I could care less' is common parlance in pop-culture, and has its roots in Gen-X irony.

Unless he (Burgs) is a Yeti (which is possible with that facial hair) he shouldn't have been at the snow! Why sack the coach for a bloke who couldn't careless and goes skiing!!

This could rip the heart out of your club!!!

Why sack the coach for a bloke who couldn't careless and goes skiing!!

This could rip the heart out of your club!!!

Sweet Jesus!! Here we go again...

(i) The coach wasn't sacked - he resigned. After that, he was simply shown the door a little earlier than he otherwise may have liked.

But if 'sacked' is easier for you to justify having a crack... knock yourself out. In fact, what the hell - we tarred and feathered him on the way out and tried to have him committed also.

(ii) No, this will not rip the heart out of the Club... anyone who thinks so is clearly a million miles away from the joint.

Those a little closer to Brunswick Street last week had an altogether clear indication that the Reds are a Club with enormous heart and just how deep Burgs' feelings run for it!

Which brings me to my next point... how about just the tiniest bit of perspective here people... we lost a game of football no one expected us to win.

I have no doubt the power brokers at the Reds knew about last weekend. Forget it, the Reds are not completely finished, hats off to the posters who keep supporting their club, and speak with passion and belief, Jack touched on a very important point, Most Amateur clubs includung us will have their ebbs and flows, Crikey haven,t they won 2 premierships in the last 4 years. i didn't like what happened but it's time to leave them alone.

On more important points, what about the importance of Mazenod V Ormond Saturday, both possibly in season best form, Ormond have a 60/40 chance of making it if they win this week as Ormond have NOBS and Mazenod OC2 in round 18. Any thoughts????