Preview Changes and pre match discussion vs Adelaide [Thursday teams - no change!]

Out: Augustus, Daniel, Trembath (INJ), Lil KONT, Spargo

In: George, Hardeman, Goater, MWhitlock, Goad

B: Parker-Comben-Goater
HB: Blamires-Dawson-Sheezel
C: McKercher-LDU-Simpkin
HF: Curtis-Darling-George
F: Zurhaar-Larkey-ZDuursma
R: Goad-O'Sullivan-Wardlaw
IC: Xerri-Stephen-Whitlock-McDonald-Hardeman

Em: Harvey Powell Kont
I thought the Kont was pretty good today, I liked his energy and he has a bit of toughness that not all of his team mates do. I would be keeping him in.

Lol dropping Daniel? Who's probably coming top 5 in the b&f right now?
For what

Taking kickouts that he kicks 15 metres to the back pocket - he’s a handbrake to us going forward and a liability when defending

**** him off

Clearly we ain’t dropping Daniel. Has been a great driving force off the backline all year.

I watched back and LMac getting more hate than he deserves. He held his direct opponent without a goal. Spoiled well. Made a couple of brain fades but such is the backline. Chom cost us a couple of goals, Bull cost us a couple but is learning the role. Logue cost us a couple.

I want Stiffy in, Harvey is looking very interesting in his role. Matlock looking more comfortable the last few weeks and getting closer.

The interesting watch for me this week is Larkey didn’t look fit to me. Didn’t cover the ground well and down on confidence. Obviously won’t drop him but curious what he is carrying

I'd be lying if I said the thought hadn't crossed my mind. Larkey arguably needs to be playing more of a decoy game. He is a smart player, so has no excuses not to compete and work over opponents on the lead.
The ironic thing is if Larkey plays a decoy-ish role he’ll probably kick more than he’s ever done. He’s a great player but cannot compete with a pack of defenders.

I think Hardeman needs in asap for who unsure, by end of year we need be at 10 wins and have Hardeman and Dawson as best 23 locks and hopefully some significant footy into Whitlock and to a lesser extent Goad. I also think Harvey deserves another shot has some definite attributes

So how long has it been since we won at football park?

Never won at Adelaide Oval, think our last win v Crom was 2003 over in S.A.
. Thilthorpe
. Walker
. Keays
. Rankine
. Rachelle
. Umpires
. Be prepared

Clearly we ain’t dropping Daniel. Has been a great driving force off the backline all year.

I watched back and LMac getting more hate than he deserves. He held his direct opponent without a goal. Spoiled well. Made a couple of brain fades but such is the backline. Chom cost us a couple of goals, Bull cost us a couple but is learning the role. Logue cost us a couple.

I want Stiffy in, Harvey is looking very interesting in his role. Matlock looking more comfortable the last few weeks and getting closer.

The interesting watch for me this week is Larkey didn’t look fit to me. Didn’t cover the ground well and down on confidence. Obviously won’t drop him but curious what he is carrying
Lmac hate isn't the word. We need more attacking run from the backline. Who else do you think is the logical player to make way? He can be doing an ok job and still need to move.

Realistically of the players to go from that backline these blokes are the most like for like
Lmac
Zurhaar

I'd be going the one likely to finish up that is struggling over one that is trying to play a new role, but either or will work.

Lmac hate isn't the word. We need more attacking run from the backline. Who else do you think is the logical player to make way? He can be doing an ok job and still need to move.

Realistically of the players to go from that backline these blokes are the most like for like
Lmac
Zurhaar

I'd be going the one likely to finish up that is struggling over one that is trying to play a new role, but either or will work.
Some people just don’t like him.

I honestly don’t think our run off half back was the problem this game. I think polish going into 50 was. We clearly got it in enough but didn’t capitalise. They were more efficient and accurate.

We also did make enough errors that gave goals we could have prevented so we got it on both ends. That’s the polish we hope we can add.

Some people just don’t like him.

I honestly don’t think our run off half back was the problem this game. I think polish going into 50 was. We clearly got it in enough but didn’t capitalise. They were more efficient and accurate.

We also did make enough errors that gave goals we could have prevented so we got it on both ends. That’s the polish we hope we can add.
Lmac was good as far as stopping Rosas goes.

But Hardeman is capable of providing the polish you mention better than Lmac and is probably close in terms of defensive ability.

Lmac was good as far as stopping Rosas goes.

But Hardeman is capable of providing the polish you mention better than Lmac and is probably close in terms of defensive ability.
I think there's probably a level of experience that McDonald brings regarding positioning and defensive tactical nous that Hardeman doesn't have just yet, but the attacking aspect balances it out for mine

I think Hardeman could replace Zurhaar and be a slight upgrade. Then Zurhaar could work on his defensive game in the reserves for a few weeks, come back and hopefully by then replace one of the other HBs we don't like as much.

There's a real let down game coming I feel. A lot seems to have been poured into the last three weeks and I think there's a chance it all comes crashing down at some point. Over there feels like a perfect time for a down game from some of the prime movers.

Send Daniel forward, in the Spargo role currently. We need to fill that HF Bermuda Triangle.

Give Harvey a go off HB.

In: Stiffy Harvey
Out: Spargo LMac

If Trembath needs a rest, bring Dova or Banch back, and tell them to get front and square, and go in a bit more mobile.

There's a real let down game coming I feel. A lot seems to have been poured into the last three weeks and I think there's a chance it all comes crashing down at some point. Over there feels like a perfect time for a down game from some of the prime movers.

Yep, sorta " heads have dropped " game. So close to that brass ring, but coming up short ( see Melbourne Storm 😥😥😥 )

Lol dropping Daniel? Who's probably coming top 5 in the b&f right now?

Because he can’t defend and his unaccountability ruins our defensive structure. He constantly sags off his opponent but he isn’t an intercept threat.

Not to mention his kicking is about as damaging a pee-pee gun in a war zone.

He better not. Blamires was really reliable today.

I really like what he brings to the table.
Kicked a few great goals this year from limited chances.

I'd almost try him on a HFF. He's the one I reckon, should have played on Blakey.

Because he can’t defend and his unaccountability ruins our defensive structure. He constantly sags off his opponent but he isn’t an intercept threat.

Not to mention his kicking is about as damaging a pee-pee gun in a war zone.
I pity the supporters who can't see this.

And slow. Hardeman is an enormous upgrade IMMEDIATELY, none of this waiting until the season is completely cooked required.

They don’t change the team because of stability but I think dropping a senior player sends a stronger message of if you are playing like trash you go to the VFL like any other person spudding it up.

Based on what I saw today we should beat the Crows next week.
Mate… 15 years without a win at Adelaide Oval. The Crows literally just need to rock up to the game on time. It’s a pitifully embarrassing record that we will just keep extending.

There is absolutely no reason for optimism. We still lose games and we don’t win at Adelaide Oval.

Out: LMac & Daniel
In: Hardeman & Harvey

Hardeman had the game we've been waiting for in the VFL, and is clearly a long-term best-23 player. He is an 80-metres gained player with his ability to run and his great left boot.

Harvey is possibly leading the B & F in the VFL. Bigger, stronger, better defender, and longer kick than Daniel in the same role.

Could argue it's tough on both LMac and Daniel, but that's what happens in good teams.