Unofficial Preview Changes and pre-match discussion Vs Port Adelaide at Adelaide oval

Port were absolutely out on there feet to end that game. Now have to travel back to Adelaide and have a 6 day break.

If we cannot start well next week and bring the pressure then we should just close the joint up and pack it in.

Should be a non negotiable to bring pressure every week, however next week even more so.

Mate... it will be over before quarter time.

We need to do something about our midfield. LMac is in pretty good form and he was a midfielder when drafted. Put him in there as a defensive mid and give it a try. He's a big body and will at least have a crack. What do we have to lose? Put Sheezel back to half back.

Yeah and we have to try something. Id even go Logue in the middle as a really big body and then resting forward. Time to throw the magnets around. They may not be long-term solutions but something needs to be done to short circuit the certainty of getting beaten up

Peter Waiting GIF by Big Brother 2022

I was thinking that even if some (maybe all) of our players have average skills and are generally average footballers, ANYONE can be elite in effort, two way running, tackling, pressure and intent. That doesn’t take skill. It takes DESIRE!!!! Ffs north boys JUST HAVE A CRACK EVERY WEEK. PLEASE!!!!!!!

Changes/structure amendments I'd make;

• The Sheezel midfield experiment isn't working. I love the kid but he looks lost in the midfield and unfortunately is getting exposed. Send him to HBF where we know he can be elite.
  • Toby Pink in for Comben, but not trying to suggest a 1-for-1 playstyle. Pink to play a true KPD role, and we just don't faff about and try and force a floating 'interceptor'.
  • Hardeman in for LMac - harsh on LMac who has actually been decent this year, but we aren't pushing for finals and we need to get games into Riley. LMac goes to the bench but rotates through the back six when guys like Archer or Hardeman are on the bench.
  • Zurhaar moved to the wing. He's offering nothing as a forward and goes missing for too long. Send him to a wing and tell him his two primary jobs are to be a marking target in transition, and a defensive bull when the opposition has the footy. If he can stream forward for goals, that's a bonus.
  • Primary midfield of LDU/Wardlaw/Phillips. Tell LDU that we don't expect him to be the gritty contested ball winner - we have Wardlaw and Phillips for that. We want him to concentrate on being on the end of handballs so he can use his vision and footy IQ to get into space and get the clearance.
  • Larkey to CHF and tell him that we're no longer grading him on goals per game, but marks. Frees-For don't count so stop playing for them and sooking to the umpire.
  • Simpkin and Ford as our primary HFFs.
  • Bench of Daniel/Powell/McDonald/Teakle. Daniel to rotate in the HBF/Wings, Powell with the HFFs/HBFs, and Teakle to give Darling a chop-out and act as backup ruck so our forward structure isn't exposed whenever Xerri is on the bench.
  • Luke Parker as the sub.

1745143087880.png

This happened last year in R23. The fact that it's happened this year by R6 is mad. Where do we go from here? Is it a steady limbo into the annals of 100-point loss hell?

Start of last year was woeful. Even the second half was pointless. We didn’t evolve at all. Keep pushing shit up a hill and then manipulate the public, fans, the AFL and especially the players that we hope “we are on the right path”

Get ok with feeling this way because after so long of this it’s liberating to become detached and concentrate your passions on better things in life :)

North are lying to us and selling us a dream. Especially the top. The players are too but they are a fabric of their environment. Look at what’s happened to Sheezal….

I can’t see us winning another game for the remaining of the year and even if we do, it believe it’s not going to matter much because we as a club don’t stand for shit anymore apart from being a nice positive fluffy place to be. Everyone is united and no matter win or loss you wouldn’t even notice. That tells me we won’t change, we’re ok with either of it. No one fears losing their job, no one is scared to disappoint their seniors, everyone would be sooo complacent? Another few years of this and barely any coach of anyone could develop this mentality out of us

We need to absolutely hate losing, an over correction. This soft and cuddly approach is pushing us further and further into the depths of invisibility and the players are happy either way because that’s what they have been taught and developed into.

I'd love to see 4+ players out but what I think is that our best 22 is still terrible so when you factor in new players coming in and trying to cement a spot in the team we'll probably give up more points despite it probably being better in the long run. And when we give up more points week in week out the pressure builds and the world caves in on Clarko/Sonja and forces the hand

Why is Bailey Scott not in the team? He has been our most consistent player for many games and actually cares about defending. Sure he might cook the odd kick, however we are also paying 1m+ to a player that constantly torches the ball or doesn’t kick to our advantage.
Poor defensively, dumb runner, can,t mark or kick. He's had 100+ games to show something and hasn't

I’ve taken the time to consider the next steps here. Honestly, we’re almost “full strength”, so it’s not so much about personnel, rather game style. Having said that, we need to pull some levers to change our identity on the fly (add some edge).

With that said…

INS:
Phillips
(as a hard tagger). In strategic matters, when in doubt the guiding principal of “do what your opposition least wants you to do” is a decent rule of thumb.
Archer (if fit, but probably isn’t).
Hardeman.
Scott (need run late in the game, and he replaces Stephens)

OUTS:
McKercher
Fisher
Tucker
Stephens

• The Sheezel midfield experiment isn't working. I love the kid but he looks lost in the midfield and unfortunately is getting exposed. Send him to HBF where we know he can be elite.
  • Toby Pink in for Comben, but not trying to suggest a 1-for-1 playstyle. Pink to play a true KPD role, and we just don't faff about and try and force a floating 'interceptor'.
  • Hardeman in for LMac - harsh on LMac who has actually been decent this year, but we aren't pushing for finals and we need to get games into Riley. LMac goes to the bench but rotates through the back six when guys like Archer or Hardeman are on the bench.
  • Zurhaar moved to the wing. He's offering nothing as a forward and goes missing for too long. Send him to a wing and tell him his two primary jobs are to be a marking target in transition, and a defensive bull when the opposition has the footy. If he can stream forward for goals, that's a bonus.
  • Primary midfield of LDU/Wardlaw/Phillips. Tell LDU that we don't expect him to be the gritty contested ball winner - we have Wardlaw and Phillips for that. We want him to concentrate on being on the end of handballs so he can use his vision and footy IQ to get into space and get the clearance.
  • Larkey to CHF and tell him that we're no longer grading him on goals per game, but marks. Frees-For don't count so stop playing for them and sooking to the umpire.
  • Bench of Daniel/Powell/McDonald/Teakle. Daniel to rotate in the HBF/Wings, Powell with the HFFs/HBFs, and Teakle to give Darling a chop-out and act as backup ruck so our forward structure isn't exposed whenever Xerri is on the bench.

View attachment 2289630
Kudos for having a crack at a new 22.

Mostly don’t mind it.

I don’t think putting Zurhaar in a role that requires accountability is going to do anyone any favours though.

View attachment 2289630
Don’t mind it - personally disagree with only a few parts of the team.
I’d keep Logue out of the side - don’t think he’s up to it and definitely don’t think we need 3 talls in the side with Archer and McDonald. But if we do go another tall - K. Dawson actually has a bit of toe and can kick, I would like to see him get some games.
Happy with FOS on the wing but structurally I think we need at least one of Scott/Stephens who actually know how to play wing at AFL level / the desired running patterns so wouldn’t put Zurhaar there.
Fordy doesn’t look up to it at the moment either, would not have him near the side, I’d rather we give Payne a go but I will acknowledge I genuinely think the kid would only get a couple touches, his form is just more deserving. My preference is Scott to take up the half forward spot he played regularly in 2021, he finishes well around goal and runs all day.
I’m 50/50 on Daniel - kinda hate watching him - I’d give him a spell tbh.
If we’re taking Sheezel out of the guts, I’d be getting him forward - just play how he did as a junior, get back to that.

The goal is that if Sheezel & Scott play as genuine high half forwards they have the running power up forward to push them high and run them back - like Geelong do with Close and Miers. Same goes with having O’Sullivan and Stephens on the wing who can float back into defence and can both run all day.

It really then boils down to - can a midfield of Parker, LDU, Wardlaw, Simpkin and Phillips beat Port’s. I’d be making Simpkin play an accountable role on Butters - similar to the one he played on Walsh in our 2021 win.

View attachment 2289630
Like it but if xerri is injured, rest him.

Chom to FF. He can mark still. Larkey to Chf to get him in the game. Rest darling.

Zurhaar accountability on the wing.

Parker hff, Ford emergency

Logue will be puffed out just moving into the midfield.

View attachment 2289630
Unfortunately Zurhaar doesnt have the tank to play on the wing unless we play the game through the opposite wing ;)...Powell would be the better option eventhough l think a stint in the vfl would be better.

Having Pink in for Comben l like and we could have had Logue as the floating interceptor if he wasn't taking on Tilthorpe...

l wouldnt mind trying Hardeman on the wing if we could find another player to put out..

I would love to see a hail mary best 23. Something that shows our current bunch of spineless campaigners that their spots aren't actually sacred. If they spit the dummy, who cares. If they cruise around at VFL level and dominate, who cares. You don't come back till you shed your ego and defend like your life depends on it. Oh, and if you're a forward, till you lead at the mother****ing ball. It's a nice pipedream anyway.

B: Arch Pink LMac

HB: Hardeman Corr FOS

C: Stephens Wardlaw Simpkin

HF: Duursma Comben Sheezel

F: Payne Maley Curtis

R: X Parker Phillips

IC: Teakle Konstanty Kawson Scott

S (tactically planned for Payne who'll run out of gas): Who cares

Don’t mind it - personally disagree with only a few parts of the team.
I’d keep Logue out of the side - don’t think he’s up to it and definitely don’t think we need 3 talls in the side with Archer and McDonald.
Esp against Port. If we want to improve our transition then we need more run over height. Arch and Hardeman come in to join Sheez and LMac to give us more speed. Corr and one of Logue/Pink can take responsibility for Georgiades and Lord. We'd match up ok and look more solid defensively.

IDC - as long as comben and logue GTFO

I don't mind the call to try him deep forward with Larks pushing up the ground. They can swap throughout the game to exploit match ups. Agree though for all the sexy intercept marks he coughs up way too many goals.

Unofficial Preview Changes and pre-match discussion Vs Port Adelaide at Adelaide oval