I worked with him for 3 years. Not a bad bloke outside of footy![]()
(I believe you worked with him)

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I worked with him for 3 years. Not a bad bloke outside of footy![]()
Mate, fair dinkum, you sound like playing Phillips would have won us the game, but instead we have chosen to cop another loss.
His best footy for mine was in 2023. If the illness is still affecting him, it is permanent and career-ending. I do not believe it has anything to do with his playing time.
Lock in one of them for 10 coaches votes and 0 coaches attention then.Both Zorko and Wilmot provide 90% + of their rebound, and scoring chain starts, hope, but don't expect they have some close attention from the get go, along with Lachie Neale of course
Would have loved to see wilphil lockdown on nealeBoth Zorko and Wilmot provide 90% + of their rebound, and scoring chain starts, hope, but don't expect they have some close attention from the get go, along with Lachie Neale of course
Would have loved to see wilphil lockdown on neale
konstanty should try lock down zorko or wilmot
daicos only had a impact on the game after will phill was subbed off, he had 20 pressured disposals that were ineffective while will phill was tagging himNeale would run him into the ground like Daicos did.
daicos only had a impact on the game after will phill was subbed off, he had 20 pressured disposals that were ineffective while will phill was tagging him
ask clarko, if neale has 20 pressured disposals at 3 quater time and no impact and then will gets subbed off he has done his job and had a good gameAnd why was Will subbed off?
And why was Will subbed off?
& I think that’s what I find most frustrating. I am a big Will fan but him aside, it’s the unaccountability that applies to not just games but contract lengths as well. Probably why we are (& will be) culture-less since 2017. All standards are created equal…but some standards are more equal than others.Our midfield has gotten comprehensively pantsed in multiple games this year. The games where it didn't look quite so bad were the games that Will Phillips played. Do I think he's some elite saviour and the answer to all our problems? Of course not.
But every bloody talking head in the AFL world has correctly identified our biggest issue is a lack of defensive effort and talent in the middle of the ground (not just midfielders, but wingers/flankers too). For all his supposed "limitations", Phillips excels at this.
Will Phillips has only played in 4 of our 8 games this year, and yet he's 8th for NMFC in total tackles, 7th for total clearances, and has more Goal Assists than guys like Xerri and Sheezel.
I swear people have become so blinded by SuperCoach scores and stats that they think a dude who quote-unquote "only" gets 15 disposals in 60% TOG is some kind of failure, when the reality is Will Phillips plays his role and plays it well.
But beyond the issue of Will Phillips specifically, the team selection is just straight up indefensibly bad this week. Guys who played shithouse in the AFL were not dropped, and guys who played shithouse in the VFL were rewarded with inclusion in the 26 man squad. It speaks volumes about the complete lack of accountability and standards at North at the moment and is an accurate reflection on where we are on the ladder yet again.
no one is questioning wardlaw being in the team, everyone here knows wardlaw is a gun, the only question is why can’t they play togetherThe bloke replacing Phillips is very good defensively
They can and it’s by moving Powell to a wingno one is questioning wardlaw being in the team, everyone here knows wardlaw is a gun, the only question is why can’t they play together
daicos only had a impact on the game after will phill was subbed off, he had 20 pressured disposals that were ineffective while will phill was tagging him
no one is questioning wardlaw being in the team, everyone here knows wardlaw is a gun, the only question is why can’t they play together
You missed his epic chase the other week obviously. That's the sort of thing we need more of from Will.As many as he can in half a game. Baily scott 3 touches and keeps his spot. Midfield coach is cooked.
Libba is one of the best mids in the comp right now. Slow plodder, wins it inside. They have 2 defensive inside mids in that team and they are dominating.
Well, is any of them more important to Brissie than Merrett is to Essendon? Probably not. Yet this didn't move us to clamp down on Merrett or even to have anyone in the vicinity of himBoth Zorko and Wilmot provide 90% + of their rebound, and scoring chain starts, hope, but don't expect they have some close attention from the get go, along with Lachie Neale of course
How many years does that take?I’m not hating on Willphill, I know it looks like it, but I honestly think there’s a player there. He just needs to build his fitness up.
60% of game time is really three quarters.Our midfield has gotten comprehensively pantsed in multiple games this year. The games where it didn't look quite so bad were the games that Will Phillips played. Do I think he's some elite saviour and the answer to all our problems? Of course not.
But every bloody talking head in the AFL world has correctly identified our biggest issue is a lack of defensive effort and talent in the middle of the ground (not just midfielders, but wingers/flankers too). For all his supposed "limitations", Phillips excels at this.
Will Phillips has only played in 4 of our 8 games this year, and yet he's 8th for NMFC in total tackles, 7th for total clearances, and has more Goal Assists than guys like Xerri and Sheezel.
I swear people have become so blinded by SuperCoach scores and stats that they think a dude who quote-unquote "only" gets 15 disposals in 60% TOG is some kind of failure, when the reality is Will Phillips plays his role and plays it well.
But beyond the issue of Will Phillips specifically, the team selection is just straight up indefensibly bad this week. Guys who played shithouse in the AFL were not dropped, and guys who played shithouse in the VFL were rewarded with inclusion in the 26 man squad. It speaks volumes about the complete lack of accountability and standards at North at the moment and is an accurate reflection on where we are on the ladder yet again.
How many years does that take?
Even with that history, there's not a chance in hell we give him seven years of grace to prove himself.Like I wrote in Wills thread I think he’s around 12~24 months behind Powell in his development due to illness and injury, so about that long.