Strategy Changes: Elimination Final v Gold Coast

I don’t want to sound negative but last time I watched Dudley a heck of a lot of rebounds out of defensive 50 came from him calling for the ball and it being spoiled.
I really think he just needs to stay front and centre of the contest and apply pressure. No marks. No leads. Just rack up tackles and hope for the odd shot from general play otherwise Noble and Rioli are going to have a field day.

Jlo's playing with fire making comments that Gold Coasts football isn't "finals" football...
Not sure where you heard him say that but on SEN brekky show he said "I feel Gold Coast play a strong finals brand" 🙄 and on 7 news with rhino yesterday, said gold coast were built for finals because of their strong contest

Emergencies:
[44] Matthew Johnson
[31] Brandon Walker
[21] Oscar McDonald

NOD and Dudley in. No Johnson.
Conspiracy theory incoming.
Erasmus not signing is the smartest move he has made for a while.
Means the pressure is back on the club to play him otherwise he will leave at the end of the year.
If he had have signed the contract in front of him, the club wouldn’t be under that pressure and Johnson would probably be playing

Conspiracy theory incoming.
Erasmus not signing is the smartest move he has made for a while.
Means the pressure is back on the club to play otherwise he will leave at the end of the year.
If he had have signed the contract in front of him, the club wouldn’t be under that pressure and Johnson would probably be playing
Not really. JL said that Johnnos ankle not quite 100% and coming off that injury he had sounds about right. Prob didn't pull up the best after the peel game. On top of that we carrying Fyfe and young who probably aren't peak fitness

The ins make perfect sense if you've been paying attention to the season.

It's been like for like in players in and out all season long. We needed a running mid and small forward. It's always been based on roles.

MJ isn't quite physically right, so Driz is the clear in for Wagner, and Dudley is our obvious small forward.

They were never going to mess with the roles set for the rest of the team, it's about continuity when you've won 12 of the last 14.

AP didnt train according to a facebook photo and post, he will play but its not ideal that he cant manage normal loads heading into finals.

MJ out still surprises me , seems he was a lock in the B22, probably either him or Raz I suppose.
that better be some MC mind games...

because that's more a worry than any personnel in the FWD line.

Ben King is in elite form/runner-up for the Coleman. without a firing AP, we're cooked.

Not really. JL said that Johnnos ankle not quite 100% and coming off that injury he had sounds about right. Prob didn't pull up the best after the peel game. On top of that we carrying Fyfe and young who probably aren't peak fitness
So Jonno, who trained at full pace today in every exercise, is less prepared than Fyfe (who wasn’t seen) JOM (who had shots on goal for the entire training session) and Young (who completed about half of the training duties). Gotcha.

If all you mentioned were on lighter duties then adding another to that mix wouldn't be wise.

Also as Ras been decent , it's a reason they would keep him in the team other than the contract related issue

Yeah like the last time we played Gold Coast with no Pearce. And King had a blinder…oh wait.
different part of the season. there isn't a 'next week' now.

King has kicked 69.17 and is runner up in the Coleman. also Farrar and Long are decent. and Read's a better forward than he is a ruck.

believe me, i hope you're right and i'm wrong!

He's not the most coherent bloke, but he's said "I've said all along I think Gold Coast's brand of footy IS finals brand"

Or to be precise, he's said "I I I I've said all along I think Gold Coast's brand of footy is is finals finals finals brand"
Thanks for interpreting - I'm not fluent in mumbles... Thanks for clearing that up lol

I'm surprised there was a lack of "yeahs" in this presser
You need to clean your ears out mate.
Righteo

not thrilled playing two guys who can't play more than a quarter each tbh. That's not including an underdone Hayden Young and barge arse Darcy.
an early injury and we'll be in some strife against a very strong looking (and hard running) Gold Coast side. The closer to Sat night we get the less confident I become.

All that negativity aside, we're missing a grand total of 2 players from our best team and Gold Coast will take time to adjust to the crowd and intensity, all the Dimma sack cradling from the media this week doesn't change that. LFG.

Thanks for interpreting - I'm not fluent in mumbles... Thanks for clearing that up lol

I'm surprised there was a lack of "yeahs" in this presser

Righteo
not thrilled playing two guys who can't play more than a quarter each tbh. That's not including an underdone Hayden Young and barge arse Darcy.
an early injury and we'll be in some strife against a very strong looking (and hard running) Gold Coast side. The closer to Sat night we get the less confident I become.

All that negativity aside, we're missing a grand total of 2 players from our best team and Gold Coast will take time to adjust to the crowd and intensity, all the Dimma sack cradling from the media this week doesn't change that. LFG.
Wow, right on cue...

Strategy Changes: Elimination Final v Gold Coast