Unofficial Preview Changes for week one of Finals (Out: Madgen, Murphy, Ox : In: Treloar, Howe, Goldsack)

Great to see Trav Varcoe playing as well. Hoping he can play a blinder as a fitting tribute to his sister.
Wouldn’t blame him if he got one touch to be honest. It’s an unbelievable effort for him to even show up.

But knowing Trav he’ll be smashing blokes into the turf and leaving nothing in the tank regardless.

Cox is the one. As long he can get to the ball without getting blocked. If the weagles get away with illegal blocks, holds and arm chops we will be in trouble.
Reckon we’ll be in trouble then.
Don’t expect anything from the umps over there. Crowd will make sure of that.

Treloar and Degoey to just rotate through the forward line.

Not worried about Treloar at all it was a freak type if injury always been pretty solid and from all reports is elite when preparing his body for footy.

Goldsack worries me slightly but would honestly have a 75% fit Gold over Mangden.

Leadership and heart alone makes him a great selection.

Gotta rate the aggots on the selection committee for this game. Saving the most brazen for last. Brilliant.

My favourite final of all time was the previous Pies v Weagles away final. Greatest. Game. Ever!

GO PIES!!

West Coast are a good side but we shouldn’t be too intimidated. In the last 3 months they’ve lost to Sydney, Essendon, Adelaide, North & Melbourne. In the sameness time they’ve had narrow wins against St Kilda, Giants and Port. They weren’t that convincing away against the Lions either. Their best win was probably against us and it would be fair to say we will be better this time. We’ve got this.

Massive, massive risk taking Goldy and Treloar in, but I think it's worth rolling the dice.

Winning week one of the finals is worth the risk.... But it could blow up in our face big time.

Wrapt to see Goldy back has worked so hard to get back and bleeds black and white.

Treloar - what a champ. Was always sure of getting back and he has done it.

Howe... out of all the ins I will be honest this is the one that makes me feel at ease slightly. I love having him in the team. Bloke is a rock down back.

How we should line up:

B - Langdon Goldsack Maynard
HB - Greenwood Howe Crisp
C - Phillips Pendlebury Sidebottom
HF - Treloar Mihochek WHE
F - Varcoe Cox Stephenson
R - Grundy Adams DeGoey
INT - Thomas Mayne Sier Aish

DeGoey to start in the middle.
Treloar up forward.

Mihochek can always move back if need be. Difference is this time we have Cox in the side.

Really liking the dynamic of this side.

This team looks a lot better.

Goldy to go to Kennedy. Both will be underdone. Goldy played and won on him before though.

I agree Treloar forward could be interesting. He will tackle apply pressure and be dangerous. Leave the mids of the past month do their thing.

McGovern i going to be preoccupied with trying to cut Cox down, we need to direct play through Mihochek to keep him honest.

I would tag Shuey with Greenwood. Shuey can be damaging and without Gaff it takes a fair bit of bite out of their midfield if you blunt Shuey.

Massive, massive risk taking Goldy and Treloar in, but I think it's worth rolling the dice.

Winning week one of the finals is worth the risk.... But it could blow up in our face big time.
Very strong side in reality.
If we had Dunn in there I would be confident of a win.
50/50 right now.
Go Pies!:thumbsu:

Schofield played on DeGoey last time, wonder who will play on DeGoey or if west coast predicted more midfield time for him with Treloar playing mainly up forward

Surprised they've omitted Schofield. Doesn't give them much flexibility. You'd assume Hurn might get JDG.

If we lose this.. I will starve myself of Vegemite for the rest of my life like the Ottoman. That's it for me re.. I've f had it.
Mate, I saw the pic of your Vegemite on toast the other day.

You are already starving yourself.

What did you do, just waft the jar over the top of the toast?

West Coast are a good side but we shouldn’t be too intimidated. In the last 3 months they’ve lost to Sydney, Essendon, Adelaide, North & Melbourne. In the sameness time they’ve had narrow wins against St Kilda, Giants and Port. They weren’t that convincing away against the Lions either. Their best win was probably against us and it would be fair to say we will be better this time. We’ve got this.
That assessment is pretty accurate, our second half of the season definitely left a bit to be desired. But at the same time, similar things could be said of the Pies - you don't exactly have a great record against the better (top 8) sides this year - in fact it may be the worst of the finalists.

The changes are what I expected and hoped for as we entered the week.

The experience and class of Howe coupled with the experience and determination of Goldsack greatly strengthens our defence while adding one of our best half dozen in Treloar is a massive boost to an already strong midfield group.

This away final is now a genuine 50/50 contest.

Who's travelling emergency? Don't tell me Blair is. I wouldn't be adverse to the late change of dropping Aish and playing Magden as the extra tall who can play on Darling.

Would have thought they’d take them all over?

Well done to Goldie. Interesting by the selectors but maybe they are thinking of the versatility of Goldie over Magden. If we start to struggle down back when the Weagles bomb long then we could rotate Grundy/Cox helping back and possibly the Sack venturing further up the field occasionally?

Can't wait for Sat.

Unofficial Preview Changes for week one of Finals (Out: Madgen, Murphy, Ox : In: Treloar, Howe, Goldsack)