Preview Changes: R7 vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Fog deserves to be dropped. Too many people have a love affair with him. Unfortunately the idea is better than the reality. He ain’t built for the modern game.
Ok fair but to bring in Mackay and not Worrall is typically of this club to continually back in mediocre talent

He has slim down from last year and will continue to do after another preseason. He will come back in the team as a forward. Really it’s him or Himmelberg in future weeks as Thilthorpe can pinch hit in the ruck.
It's him or Himmelberg, and based on last week's performance, Himmelberg has him covered by the length of the Flemington Straight.

Yes, he's slimmed down - he still has a loooooong way to go in that department though. His problem isn't fat, it's excess muscle bulk.

Crows: "Darcy, we want you to play a new role, one you have never played before at AFL level. We'll see how you go"

Fogarty: "Alright, but this will be difficult for me. I've never played that role before, and I suspect it will take some time to work out"

Crows: "No worries, look this is just a development year. We're picking you not because of SANFL form, which let's be honest has been inconsistent, but because we believe you can succeed at the next level and want to develop you there"

* Three weeks later *

Crows: "Darcy. What the hell mate. We expected you to be amazing in just three games! Instead you were pretty poor. fu** off. Into the SANFL you go"
Scorpus, what you don't understand is that we're sitting 3-3

This is a MUST WIN GAME

It's fine to throw around the "development" word but this just isn't the time for it

Who else do you propose they select, to fill the positions vacated by the two small defenders? Murray is replacing one, fixing the structural failure which Hawthorn exposed last week. Which small defender-type player do we have in the SANFL, let alone one which is actually in moderately good SANFL form?

Mackay wouldn't be playing this week if either of Hamill or Brown were available - but guess what, beggars can't be choosers. Neither are available, and we've run out of small defender-type players in the SANFL to replace them. Is it ideal that he's playing? Hell, no. I'd much rather see Brown or Hamill out there. I just don't see that they have any other options this week.
Ronin O'Connor has played quite a bit of footy as a running back for Claremont and he is quite quick especially off the mark and has shown he can completely blanket players in that role....another that needs to be tried at the level sooner than later. And don't give me the "but he's 190cm argument either.

Why? They were never going to pick 3x 195cm+ defenders in the same team, and Murray has been selected ahead of him all season.

His chance will come, but for now Butts & Murray are ahead of him in the pecking order, and there are only 2x KPD spots available in the team.
Worrell doesn't play as key defender though. He could have played on GWS 3rd tall, freeing up Doedee.

I can tell you don't watch the SANFL if you think both play anywhere near a similar game and would be selected over one another
Even if he doesn't play as a KPD, even if he's a more natural replacement for Kelly & Doedee, there's still no vacancy for him right now. He's not replacing Hamill or Brown.

So they brought in two players to add height and run when one player could have given you both in Worrell leaving another spot open for another mid or forward. Real smart strategy AFC.

So are you saying he can't find his own ball or that he requires silver service to succeed?
I think he has the qualities to be made a focal point, lead up connection in the chain. If he’s not working hard enough to be that then back to Lucindale I guess. The 22 isn’t employing a lead up connector this week so I guess the idea is to drive the ball into forward 50 deep mostly.

He wasn't doing much in the SANFL before we selected him. So why did we? And why then did our selection criteria change to be performance based after a couple of weeks? Why are we chopping and changing him around?

And most of all: is this what a team should do to develop players?
Why did we? What other options did they have at the time? Berry was in the AFL team, Sloane & Crouch were both injured, Pedlar was 1 game back from injury and well short of match fitness. It's not as if they were spoiled for options.

Now Berry is back, and Fogarty is straight out of the team.

I do find it funny that some posters defend Fog to the end of the earth, but want McAdam dropped. Despite being slightly out of form, McAdam is still generally more consistent than Fog and is still young in afl terms.
McAdam has played 1 good quarter out of his last 12.

That's not slightly out of form... but horribly out of form!

Scorpus, what you don't understand is that we're sitting 3-3

This is a MUST WIN GAME

It's fine to throw around the "development" word but this just isn't the time for it
... and there's the trolling you're so famous for.

So at various points this year we've had the following players injured in defense

Talia
Kelly
Brown
Hamill
Milera
Hinge

How exactly does Worrell get a game? He hasn't been selected for a medium/tall defender (Kelly), hasn't been selected for a small (Brown), hasn't been selected for a half back (Hamill).

Is he purely cover for Doedee? What gives?
May as well let him loose off a wing...

When do we play Essendon?

Fine... he can replace Doedee or Kelly then, either way, he's not replacing Hamill or Brown.
I’m not having a go.
I feel his shot is coming through blokes that are hitting it out the park. Playing for their live. He’s got the hardest road in atm while keeping up form in sanfl.

Berry replaced him and just turned 19. However, Mackay replaced Hammill instead of Worrell getting a chance.
You could argue that 1-game player Murray replaced Hamill, with Mackay replacing the 172 game 28yo Brown. Does that make you feel better?

Why did we? What other options did they have at the time? Berry was in the AFL team, Sloane & Crouch were both injured, Pedlar was 1 game back from injury and well short of match fitness. It's not as if they were spoiled for options.

Now Berry is back, and Fogarty is straight out of the team.

Could have easily played Hately. We didn't. We chose to pick him on the back of limited form then later decided that limited form wasn't good enough