Preview Changes V Blues

• Thread starter Thread starter McCauley

I don't care, never have and never will care what the great unwashed think. You can garnish as much support as you want, You are wrong, you took those quotes out of context.

Mate - you ARE the great unwashed.

we need outside run against Carlton, Lyons isnt gonna give us that, Bernie can give us that if he is switched on

So I just looked at our selections and noticed Vince was in, I thought to myself 'I wonder if big footy has melted yet.'
Silly question really?
Also it's a good selection and we shouldn't trade DMac to to dogs.

Who are the great unwashed?

Anyone who can not treat my opinion with respect. They are the great unwashed on this board.

You're allowed to agree, disagree or even argue the benefits of something else regarding the topic being discussed but suggesting my option deserves a red card for suggesting it, is completely disrespectful.

I fly off the handle but I always show respect to someone until they disrespect me.

Not wasting my time with the other 2

Atleast we'll find out what Bernie Vince is made of.

He's just used up his last credits I reckon. This is a massive game for us, and Bernie.

I'm happy for the club to back him in, but only if he's under no uncertain terms about what he owes the club.

Anyone who can not treat my opinion with respect. They are the great unwashed on this board.

You're allowed to agree, disagree or even argue the benefits of something else regarding the topic being discussed but suggesting my option deserves a red card for suggesting it, is completely disrespectful.

I fly off the handle but I always show respect to someone until they disrespect me.

Not wasting my time with the other 2
I put forward the notion that Tex needed a rocket...

"Bullshit thread, nice job" or something was your take.

Turn it up mate.

I propose the mods create a new board and call it the 'Petty and Precious' board. Getting pretty tiresome having to wade through all the petty arguments and precious people posting on this board of recent times.

Can we all just harden the F*CK up!!??

I reckon you are spot on. If anyone has watched Sando talk recently, he isn't happy with Bernie at all. He obviously wants a fit and firing Bernie, so bringing him back after a dominant game in the SANFL is him hoping that he can translate that back to the AFL. However, another poor performance and Lyons will come in, bookmark it.
It's been my experience that people tend to take more notice of what you do rather than what you say.

I'm guessing that Bernie may hear Sando telling him that he needs to try harder, etc, etc but the thing he takes most notice of is seeing that Sando has picked him in the team again after only one match. I really don't think that will have much, if any, effect on his actions.

I put forward the notion that Tex needed a rocket...

"Bullshit thread, nice job" or something was your take.

Turn it up mate.

Because it was. It was only round 2.

Give him a few weeks and understand why his form wasn't great before suggesting he needs a rocket. He didn't need a rocket, the players kicking it to him did.

I hope for Bernie he has his best game since he put on the golden jacket.... If not, I hope for Sando that he drops him as quick as he dropped stiffy.

Bring Lyons in.

Do people realise Bernie has a very different role now than when he win the club champions award?

His inside midfield minutes have decreased and now he has to play as an outside running midfielder who doesn't get as many looks as he used to.

Lyons should have come in for Crouch - like fir like however, Vince should have come into the side for Porps as a like fir like.

If they wanted Smith in, he should have come in for either Laird or MJ as like for like players.

Not for Porps it doesn't as he is badly lacking match time to regain touch.

Why not take Johnson, McKernan, Martin or someone who has actually been playing most games?
What difference does it make to Porps? His SANFL team has already played this round, so he's not going to get a game either way, whether he's travelling emergency or not.

Johnson & Martin weren't named on the emergency list, so they're not eligible for selection anyway. That just leaves McKernan, whose SANFL form is woeful at best and who is only on the emergency list by default, in case something happens to JJ or Jacobs between Thursday and Saturday afternoon.

Which makes the decision for him not to play for West stranger. If he is fit enough to be an emergency, he fit enough for the Crows. He can't find form not playing.
Problem is that West played on Thursday.. before team selections were officially announced.

But in seriousness, One more shit game from Sauce and he may be close to the plank?

We cannot get smashed again at clearances this week...

Love to see Tambling come in and Martin....
Who's going to replace him? Graham and McKernan are the only two possible options. I'll take an under performing Jacobs ahead of both of those any day of the week.

you cant just play a team of youngsters, thats true.

my problem with playing Vince over Lyons is that we know what we'll get from Vince. He's a seasoned performer now and has proven to be not good enough this season so far.

Lyons on the other hand has had better or at least equal form as Vince did in the SANFL last week, for much much longer, and we dont know what he'll give us at AFL level.

we've chosen a guy who's recent history tells us will underperform over a guy that could be anything.
By dropping Johncock and Vince last week, with VB injured, we were down around 500 games experience last week. The team still managed to win and win well, albeit against one of the weakest teams in the competition.

This week we've dropped Porps, who is a 114 game player. The selectors had the option of replacing him with a debutant, or a 111 game player. Unlike last week, we have a serious opponent this week, who could well kick our butts. In the short term, even an average game by the 111 game player is likely to be more productive than a good game by the debutant. In the longer term, the club would probably benefit more in the longer term by continuing the debutant's player development.

At some point you have to reach a tipping point - when the number of rookies in the team is too many and the lack of experience begins to hurt. This is a fine line - between success (as per our game vs Bulldogs) and failure (GC & GWS ongoing inability to win games). We already have 11x players in the team with <50 games experience and just 5x with 100+. Is it wise to alter that mix further, changing the balance to 12 & 4? Is that the tipping point, particularly against a quality opponent such as Carlton?

I can understand why the selectors chose Vince over Lyons. I also think that people throwing hissy fits over this need to grow up and think before they hit the send button. Yes, we'd all like to see Lyons get a game (sooner rather than later), but the selection of Vince this week makes a lot of sense.

I love hearing the argument from those saying Lyons is too inexperienced. Where is he actually supposed to purchase this "experience" from? Is it available at the AFL store, because I thought the only way to get it was to play? People didn't seem to have a problem with playing Crouch this week, but now that he's out, the don't want to bring the older Lyons in?

And don't get me started on Vince's re-selection... :mad:
It's a collective thing. Last week they brought Laird (0 games), Lynch (12) and Kerridge (1) into the team, at the expense of Johncock (227), Vince (111) and VB (166) - only the VB/Kerridge move was forced. Now we're proposing swapping Porps (114) for Lyons (0).

At some point a tipping point must be reached, when the team has too little experience and falls to GC/GWS failure levels. Changing the balance from 11x <50 gamers & 5x 100+, to 12 & 4, may just push us over the edge.

When seen in isolation, playing Lyons instead of Vince makes a lot of sense. However, when viewed in the broader context, Vince over Lyons is almost a no-brainer.